Commerce, TX 
Outdoor Adventure DGC Share
Uploaded By: JakeGad Hole #2 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
MUCH better than expected

1    3/31/2016   3/31/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 292  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 28.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is still being tweaked as I type this. Tee Pads are on the way. Alternate Tee's will also be coming.

But for today, I will review the course as I played it from the White posts.

course map by Tee 1 on the side of the Outdoor Adventure building.
Tee's are marked with hole number only.
Baskets did have hole numbers on them.
Fairways are mowed, don't throw off the fairway or you are in trouble.
Decent flow to the course, I had no problem finding my way to each tee.
Very good mix of longer open and short tight holes.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes that don't get enough play to be smooth.
Throw off the fairway and your disc will be hard to find and the rough is full of briers.
Too many right handed hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: I played the original course many years ago so i was not expecting much from this course. I believe it is still one of my worst rated courses of all time.

However, this course is actually pretty good.

There are very few wide open holes here, there always seemed to be a few trees in the way.
Basically, the more open the hole was, the longer the hole was.
A few of the holes are in very tight wooded area, these are very short holes that seemed to either be hard right or hard left shots.
The course winds its way around the rope course, in and out of the heavy wooded area with a few holes throwing around cedar trees.

I think the signature hole is #18 that is a blind shot over the pond to the left tucked into a small green area. Cut your right handed hyzer off short and you are in deep dodo.

After playing the round, I stepped into the Outdoor adventure building. They have a small selection of discs for sale and when I asked if i could buy a drink, they GAVE me a small very cold water :) Much appreciated.

Our conversation was about the improvements they are making in the next few weeks. There were several long alternate tees marked on the course. Hole 16 alternate is going to be fun though the woods (instead of a long simi open RH hyzer shot)

FYI, the Outdoor Adventure office is open from 1pm to 6pm, Monday to Saturday (closed on Sundays). They do have a water fountain and restroom.

I will be playing here again after the improvements. They hope to have a PDGA tournament after the course is done.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/27/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: AtownHalla
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good Condition. Variety of holes makes for fun challenging shots. Mowed fairways, friendly people.
Cons: Natural T pads. Confusing arrows to next T's. Fairways are kept mowed, but anything outside of the fairway is knee high, with thick bushes and thorns. Makes for a challening course, but hard to find discs. If you are flying off one side or the other make sure you follow your disc good.
Other Thoughts: All in all the course is fun and has a mixture of long-open fairways to short-technical holes, and it weaves through a thick forest surrounding the challenge course. Off is a must, chiggers are bad in the tall grass.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    3/29/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: billdo11b
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice 18 hole..friendly locals...discs on site if open...
Cons: tees are not same as map...(there fixing that) no signs on sandels shoesa must
Other Thoughts: liked it ...was a intersting course in the wind but we all ahd good time...they have minis on sundays

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/20/2014   8/30/2014
Review By: Circusgary
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has some shorter, more technical holes. I really enjoy the change up.
Cons: the only con is the tee boxes, but I hear they are working on that.
Other Thoughts: played again today with my 16 year old son, we hooked up with two local students. Great guys, awesome positive influence overall just a fantastic round. The course is in really good shape right now. Some longer tee boxes are in the planning stages. Should help some of the more open holes by adding difficulty. Played the Disc Craft Ace race on the 20th of September, the facility is in fantastic shape after the event we played the course, The more I play this course the better I like it. Best vibe of any course so far. Gonna get my TD cert and run an event out their. Thanks for a great day. Even more thank you for setting such a great example for my son!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 coming along nicely

1    5/21/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -makes good use of the various areas available on the land
-shorter, more technical holes in the middle are a good change of pace
-nice over-the-pond shot on 18, fun finishing hole
-much improved from it's original form
-fairways are clean and mowed
-signs for each tee, natural tees
-course map available in the chest next to hole 1
-restrooms and water fountains in the office
Cons: -there are still briars and rough rough off the fairways but it is in much, much better shape than previous reviewers have indicated
-short cedars make for good eye-level obstacles to the basket but you can easily throw over everything; this is the first 8 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is immensely more playable and enjoyable than it must have been for most of the previous reviewers. It has really come along: all 18 holes are finished, the fairways are pretty clear of briars, the wooded holes are trimmed, and new signs are coming soon.

The better part of the course is pretty boring with short cedars as the primary obstacles. There is a subtle bit of elevation change here and there but only one hole (#3) where it really comes into play. The wooded holes in the middle give some needed variety. You must throw across a small, shallow creek on hole 14 and across a pond on hole 18. Hole 18 could still use a substantial amount of clearing around it's basket.

Nothing to write home about but this course will be filled with Commerce A&M students, I'm sure. Worth a play if you're close but not worth traveling to play here.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice variety of fairways - straight-on out in the open, tucked away behind some trees, short runs with lots of trees and creeks to deal with, and finishing off with a shot over a pond. Good Innova DISCatcher baskets, all marked well with their bright yellow collars. The flow of the course was pretty logical and easy to follow for the most part. When you are in the "forest" part of the course, there is plenty of shade.
Cons: The tee boxes, while marked and numbered clearly, are nothing but dirt and/or grass. The rough puts true meaning to the word "rough." They need to put together a map for players to carry with them to help navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: Before playing, consider that this is a fairly new course to the area and is still under development. They are working on putting together a proper course map. The little office building has some basic equipment, and they also have some loaner discs stamped with the school logo that they loan out to players, as well as a public restroom and water fountain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Commerce DG - Revamped

5+    3/27/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: JakeGad
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good for beginners and intermediate players
- Decent variation of throws
- Good variation of short and long holes
- Nice innova baskets
- No wait times
Cons: - Dirt drive pads, no concrete
- Thorns / brush on about 4-5 holes
- Holes 14 and 15 still being developed
Other Thoughts: This course has seen alot of improvement over the years. They have just completed 10 new holes (18 total) utilizing the more wooded part of their land. The OA center sells a few discs/bags, and has bathrooms and water inside. They also put on clinics and mini tourneys every now and then.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Much improved

5+    2/22/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: jbryant28
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is now maintained much better and the nasty briers have mostly been taken care of. It is way easier to keep up with your discs with the course being well maintained.

The back 9 holes add a lot of variety that is missing on the front 9. There are quite a few that force different shots and this makes it quite enjoyable.

There are great baskets with a fun layout. Front 9 is definitely less challenging than the back 9.
Cons: There are currently no public restrooms, and tee boxes are just dirt.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that has come a long ways since it began a couple years ago. The early reviews were spot on, but it is worth giving a second chance since it is better maintained and the back 9 provides a much more interesting experience.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  New Location

5+    10/15/2012   9/15/2013
Review By: Roose.Bryan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a definite upgrade from the previous course at TAMU - Commerce. It moved just beyond the treeline of where the previous course was. It is where the somewhat new Outdoor Adventure building/ropes course is located. The new course is still good for beginners, but has slightly more trees than the old course.
Not too many people play the course, so you won't usually won't have to worry about having to wait for groups ahead of you.
Cons: Still probably too open for almost anyone but beginners.
Other Thoughts: I was a part of the work put into the new course back 4 years ago, and it was supposed to be 18 holes. The project was scrapped and the previous course got put up by other OA workers and our work went to waste. Last year they picked it back up, but only made the front 9 of the originally planned 18. If the ever make the back 9, it will be more wooded and a bit more of a challenge, and much more fun in my opinion. I don't work there anymore, so I don't know any updates, but hopefully the back 9 holes will get made eventually.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Changed design again

5+    1/21/2015   7/31/2013
Review By: eegor
Played: 113  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Innova Discatcher baskets.
Nice variety of distances and difficulties.
Fairways are wide and mowed regularly.
The course is improving as time passes.
Holes 3,4 and 8 are challenging, so they're fun to me.
Very little traffic. I've played the course 7 times. Each time, I was the only person playing the course.
UPDATE: Now the second redesign of 18 holes. It keeps getting better. Two groups of players on the course in the middle of the day on a Wednesday along with me. The course is being played a lot.
Cons: This course has the roughest rough I've ever seen. I've played a lot of west Texas courses that can't touch these briar patches. If you're six inches off the fairway, you'd better be wearing long pants and good shoes. They will probably get hung up on something really sharp. I'd strongly advise against playing this course in shorts. UPDATE: The briars are gone. There is still plenty of honey locust trees to poke you, but they're easier to spot and avoid.

No "public" restrooms or water fountains. There are buildings for the "Outdoor Adventure", but they're for activities related to the college. I have no idea what's in them. UPDATE: Port-a-lets halfway through the course and the new map says there's a restroom in the building at the first tee.

Natural tees. The course isn't played enough to call them dirt. Most of them are grass. UPDATE: Still dirt, but they're somewhat level. There's a metal rake lying near the center of the course. Someone has been using it to level the tees regularly.

Hole 9 leaves you in the middle of the course. UPDATE: Now 18 holes and the last basket is about 150 feet from the first tee.
Other Thoughts: I played this right after it was installed and it was a lot worse than it is now. I didn't review it because I didn't disagree with Gile's review. However, the course has been mowed regularly and grass is now growing and spreading across the fairways. The trees are growing pretty fast, so IMO the obstacles will be much more formidable in 3-4 years. They've grown about 3 feet in one year.

Four of the holes are ace-able if you're an average player. They aren't real short runs, but if you can throw 300 feet, the lines are there. UPDATE: Holes have been lengthened and tees/baskets are better placed for a tougher design. The early holes are still pretty open, but tougher than they were.

I had fun today, but I usually throw straighter instead of longer. UPDATE: The course is more fun to play now -- January 2015

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.