Commerce, TX 
Outdoor Adventure DGC Share
Uploaded By: JakeGad Hole #5 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
coming along nicely

1    5/21/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -makes good use of the various areas available on the land
-shorter, more technical holes in the middle are a good change of pace
-nice over-the-pond shot on 18, fun finishing hole
-much improved from it's original form
-fairways are clean and mowed
-signs for each tee, natural tees
-course map available in the chest next to hole 1
-restrooms and water fountains in the office
Cons: -there are still briars and rough rough off the fairways but it is in much, much better shape than previous reviewers have indicated
-short cedars make for good eye-level obstacles to the basket but you can easily throw over everything; this is the first 8 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is immensely more playable and enjoyable than it must have been for most of the previous reviewers. It has really come along: all 18 holes are finished, the fairways are pretty clear of briars, the wooded holes are trimmed, and new signs are coming soon.

The better part of the course is pretty boring with short cedars as the primary obstacles. There is a subtle bit of elevation change here and there but only one hole (#3) where it really comes into play. The wooded holes in the middle give some needed variety. You must throw across a small, shallow creek on hole 14 and across a pond on hole 18. Hole 18 could still use a substantial amount of clearing around it's basket.

Nothing to write home about but this course will be filled with Commerce A&M students, I'm sure. Worth a play if you're close but not worth traveling to play here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun course

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JediTaz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice variety of fairways - straight-on out in the open, tucked away behind some trees, short runs with lots of trees and creeks to deal with, and finishing off with a shot over a pond. Good Innova DISCatcher baskets, all marked well with their bright yellow collars. The flow of the course was pretty logical and easy to follow for the most part. When you are in the "forest" part of the course, there is plenty of shade.
Cons: The tee boxes, while marked and numbered clearly, are nothing but dirt and/or grass. The rough puts true meaning to the word "rough." They need to put together a map for players to carry with them to help navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: Before playing, consider that this is a fairly new course to the area and is still under development. They are working on putting together a proper course map. The little office building has some basic equipment, and they also have some loaner discs stamped with the school logo that they loan out to players, as well as a public restroom and water fountain.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Commerce DG - Revamped

5+    3/27/2014   3/29/2014
Review By: JakeGad
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good for beginners and intermediate players
- Decent variation of throws
- Good variation of short and long holes
- Nice innova baskets
- No wait times
Cons: - Dirt drive pads, no concrete
- Thorns / brush on about 4-5 holes
- Holes 14 and 15 still being developed
Other Thoughts: This course has seen alot of improvement over the years. They have just completed 10 new holes (18 total) utilizing the more wooded part of their land. The OA center sells a few discs/bags, and has bathrooms and water inside. They also put on clinics and mini tourneys every now and then.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved

5+    2/22/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: jbryant28
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/16/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is now maintained much better and the nasty briers have mostly been taken care of. It is way easier to keep up with your discs with the course being well maintained.

The back 9 holes add a lot of variety that is missing on the front 9. There are quite a few that force different shots and this makes it quite enjoyable.

There are great baskets with a fun layout. Front 9 is definitely less challenging than the back 9.
Cons: There are currently no public restrooms, and tee boxes are just dirt.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that has come a long ways since it began a couple years ago. The early reviews were spot on, but it is worth giving a second chance since it is better maintained and the back 9 provides a much more interesting experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Location

5+    10/15/2012   9/15/2013
Review By: Roose.Bryan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a definite upgrade from the previous course at TAMU - Commerce. It moved just beyond the treeline of where the previous course was. It is where the somewhat new Outdoor Adventure building/ropes course is located. The new course is still good for beginners, but has slightly more trees than the old course.
Not too many people play the course, so you won't usually won't have to worry about having to wait for groups ahead of you.
Cons: Still probably too open for almost anyone but beginners.
Other Thoughts: I was a part of the work put into the new course back 4 years ago, and it was supposed to be 18 holes. The project was scrapped and the previous course got put up by other OA workers and our work went to waste. Last year they picked it back up, but only made the front 9 of the originally planned 18. If the ever make the back 9, it will be more wooded and a bit more of a challenge, and much more fun in my opinion. I don't work there anymore, so I don't know any updates, but hopefully the back 9 holes will get made eventually.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Improving

5+    7/31/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Innova Discatcher baskets.
Nice variety of distances and difficulties.
Fairways are wide and mowed regularly.
The course is improving as time passes.
Holes 3,4 and 8 are challenging, so they're fun to me.
Very little traffic. I've played the course 7 times. Each time, I was the only person playing the course.
Cons: This course has the roughest rough I've ever seen. I've played a lot of west Texas courses that can't touch these briar patches. If you're six inches off the fairway, you'd better be wearing long pants and good shoes. They will probably get hung up on something really sharp. I'd strongly advise against playing this course in shorts.

No "public" restrooms or water fountains. There are buildings for the "Outdoor Adventure", but they're for activities related to the college. I have no idea what's in them.

Natural tees. The course isn't played enough to call them dirt. Most of them are grass.

Hole 9 leaves you in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this right after it was installed and it was a lot worse than it is now. I didn't review it because I didn't disagree with Gile's review. However, the course has been mowed regularly and grass is now growing and spreading across the fairways. The trees are growing pretty fast, so IMO the obstacles will be much more formidable in 3-4 years. They've grown about 3 feet in one year.

Four of the holes are ace-able if you're an average player. They aren't real short runs, but if you can throw 300 feet, the lines are there.

I had fun today, but I usually throw straighter instead of longer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Avoid this course.

1    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: A nasty little thing with 80' wide fairways mowed through a scrubby thorny mess. No real obstacles to throw abound other than a few short cedars. Any shot off the mowed fairway will probably result in both a lost disc and a bloody, insect bitten discer. Good baskets and nice distance variety don't save this sorry 9er. Course dead ends at hole 9 and you have to back track to 8's basket then walk a good distance to get back to the first tee/parking lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.