Yankton, SD
Pierson Ranch Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: Jhuff Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 454ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice beginner's course, pretty park

2-4    9/6/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 96  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, tees, signs. Great old, large trees. Some so big I could not get my arms around the trunk.
Cons: Every shot is straight. Holes 1 & 2 could throw an anhyzer or hyzer route, but the main route is straight. Holes 3-9, straight is really all there is.
Other Thoughts: At first play, I was thinking, 'this is a decent little 9-holer'. Then it became very apparent that there isn't much change in shot selection.

18 holes could have *easily* been put in here.

As a cheap skate, I parked at the Aquarium 2 blocks down the road and walked in for free. I don't mind pay to play as long as I know what I'm getting. I'd rather not pay to play a course I've never played before.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thanks State of SD

2-4    9/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees
-Decent signage
-Good flow, never searching for the next teebox
-Holes 1-3 were fun in the mature trees at the start
-Can't lose a disc here
-Very well maintained, no garbage
-Course will probably never be busy
-Could introduce new disc golfers, you can rent discs at the info booth. I really like how much the State of SD has promoted disc golf. Without them, the state would lose about 1/3rd of its disc golf and some of the more fun courses too.
-Surprisingly, this course has a decent variation in length. A few longer holes mixed in and none of the holes are super short either.
-A possibility of aces here
-Lots of other stuff to do here. Playgrounds, camping just at this site and a plethora of stuff to do at the other nearby rec areas.
-Scorecards near the start of the course. Hopefully they will soon become DSCJNKY's elaborate scorecard/maps.
-Great for introducing beginning players to the game.
-Nice numbered disccatchers
Cons: -Holes 6-8 were really open and not very fun at all.
-Even the wooded holes were not overly challenging.
-Other park activities could get in the way here. Watch out for kids on the playgrounds, soccer players, people using the paths, etc.
-Some may consider pay to play a con
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that isn't that great but it's still hard to fill up the cons section. It is a simple recreational course. It does its job well but don't expect a challenge or very interesting round if you are a seasoned player.

This course is pay to play since it is in a State of SD Recreation Area. Alone this course isn't worth the price of admission but just a few miles down the highway is Gavin's Point which is a better course and is included in your entry fee to this course.

Yankton is a hotbed of average courses. Gavin's point at Lewis and Clark Rec area has just been updated and now includes 18 decent holes. Fantle Memorial is in town and is also 18. This course and the other one in the area are both recreational 9s and are ok.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another campground course

2-4    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: blink
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging in the wooded areas. Well kept area.
Cons: Not a very difficult course. Hole placement isn't very unique. Crammed into a tightly wooded camping area.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the price of the daily pass. Well worth it if you are camping there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/5/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: falcon79
Played: 134  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes use of what space was available at the park. There are signs/hole maps at each tee, and they appear to be getting ready to install concrete tee pads. The baskets are all outfitted with small solar lights, so night golf is an option.
Cons: As the course runs through and around existing park facilities. When non-discers are present, there are going to be problems on several holes. The night lights are a nice touch, but they are not protected and will be busted off by the first errant shot.
Other Thoughts: This is a work in progress for a local Eagle Scout, with obvious support from the park staff. The distances are not great, but in a year or two it should be a nice local resource.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.