Fairbury, NE
McNish Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 233ft.   3 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee B



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Confidence Builder

1    7/2/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short. Very short. This course will have you under in no time, or it should. It is a fun and easy little course in a town with a great small-town feel.

The park is super nice. There is some very picturesque scenery with rock formations, old architecture, and unique water fountains.

Holes are very easy to find and keep track of. Small park and easy to navigate.
Cons: None really, unless you really like to bomb, then this probably isn't for you.
Other Thoughts: Near Fairbury? Stop and play for sure!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 And you almost passed this place by...

2-4    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 104  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To make a good disc golf course, you need a huge piece of land with lots of space to air it out…right? Maybe not.

This is not a big park. You could walk from one corner to the other in 3-4 minutes. But whoever designed it figured out how to pack in nine holes with two concrete tee pads each. The tee pads give pretty different looks on most of the holes, rather than just making it a longer hole.

The holes are obviously short. Most them are in the 150-250 foot range. You won't need your drivers here, and if you have a great arm, you might not even need your mid ranges. My approach shots aren't the best part of my game, and this forced me to work on them right off the tee.

Navigation was easy. Wooded arrows attached to the bottom of the pole point to the next tee. I searched maybe 30 seconds for a couple of the alternate tees, but no more than that.

Most of the trees are old growth, larger trees. You will need to throw low and flat, especially on the uphill holes. There is some nice elevation here.
Cons: If you want some grip-and-rip bomber holes, this isn't the course for you.

There is some water on one of the holes (#5, I think). It's not hard to clear it, but if you throw a low shot or get a bad bounce off of a rock, the water is murky enough that you're probably not going to go after it.

Tee signs are just okay. Another review indicated there may be C tees (not concrete). I wish I'd known to look for these.
Other Thoughts: How many of the holes can you deuce? If you can't deuce most of them, the course isn't as easy as you think.

This park has a lot of character. You tee off next to a tall, thin, stone house (it's used for storage now or something). The later holes play around some pretty retaining ponds that trickle into one another, surrounded by some rock structures. Just a cool little place.

I'm glad I stopped by. If you're nearby, it's right off of Highway 136. These are the little gems that make a disc golf road trip fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, big tee pads (in most cases). Mult. tees and pin placements. There is nice elevation for a park this small. Not very busy when we were there, you can easily get several rounds in if you wish. The course flows pretty well with 9's pin about 50 ft. from 1's tee. Water comes into play on a couple holes, although it's a minor hazard. The course uses the limited amount of park space very well. Great course for beginners.
Cons: This isn't a very difficult course, especially from the "A" tees. Tee signs are just OK, and a couple were missing. A bench was in the middle of a fairway, and you'll need to keep an eye out for cars on the road that cuts through the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was really impressed with this small town course. I loved the fact that although there are only 9 holes, there are 18 tee pads, so you can play a full round easily. It even appeared on a couple holes that there were toe-boards in the grass that indicated a "C" tee, but we only found a couple, and they weren't indicated on the tee signs. The difficulty level increases quite a bit between the A and B tees, so even an experienced player can have some fun on this course. I loved the amount of elevation in the park, and there were a couple of signature, scenic holes. I would certainly recommend this course if you are in the area, Fairbury should be proud to have this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good small town rec course

5+    4/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For its small size, McNish has some decent elevation changes which add some challenge to an otherwise short layout. There's some minor water hazards which are easy to get over provided you don't smack a tree. Dual teepads and dual placements (some of which are more left and right than short and long) give each hole four different routes. It is short, and therefore great for beginners esspecially for learning how to deal with elevation. More advanced players will love the challenge of Hole 9 long to long.
Cons: Not a lot of challenge on some of the holes. Holes 1 & 7 are ace runs when set short. I don't like the way the teepads on hole 4 are so close to the basketball courts. Not much parking, although for this course not much is needed. Non-players may be occasionally in your line of fire.
Other Thoughts: Got my first ace on #6 here, so this little park is kind of special to me. McNish is almost what I would call a perfect "compact" course. It's like a scaled down version of a more challenging 18 holer. The only thing missing is the distance. Convieniently located just one block west of the 136-15 junction and worth a quick round if you're passing through. Best played by doing two laps of alternating tees. First lap: Odds short, evens long. Then the opposite on the second lap. This way you get the feel of an 18 hole layout and save the longest hole for last.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.