Rocky Mount , NC 
Nash Community College Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #1 (Taken 11/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A few fun holes

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #3 and #4 were pretty cool holes. Baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Pads are small and slick if wet at all. No signage at all. Super overgrown over the summer.
Other Thoughts: 3, 4, and 7 (just for ace run potential) are fun to play. If you're in the area, it's a nice warm up for the other courses in the area. Overall though, pretty boring in comparison for a disc course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Warm Up

2-4    2/2/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's short, it's simple, it's mids and putters for the most part.
It's free, and it's well maintained seeing as it is on a state community college property.
It's a quick 9, with talks of expanding to a full 18 in 2013 or 2014.
Cons: No signs of any type. I had to place a call to a local player and get some sense of direction from him. Once you get a gist of layout, its simple to remember and follow later on.
Hole #2's basket can be confusing. The first basket in view is actually number 8's basket. #2's is to the LEFT of that, tucked slightly behind the trees by the fence.
I am not happy that hole 1 and 2 play so close to buildings and a child care center, but as long as players use WISE JUDGEMENT AND DISCRETION when throwing, it should be fine.
Other Thoughts: I like using this course as a quick warm up to play the other local courses like Englewood Park, Sunset Park, or Farmington Park. THese 3 are the real jewels of Rocky Mount NC disc golfing!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs work.

1    11/16/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Discatchers.

Holes 3 and 4 were the only redeeming factor of the course. 3 throws down by the fountain with risk of water. 4 throws over a small ditch with risk of water.
Cons: No signage, small hard plastic tees that were hard to find initially.
Baskets are not numbers and will disappear if someone does not lock them!
Since baskets are not numbered it can be confusing. Hole 2's tee is pointed at basket for another hole while it's basket is hidden behind some trees near the Child Development Center.

Tees were hard to find, The tee for #3 is up by the speed bump.
7 has no pad, just 2 little flags. Hole 8's tee pad is right across the street from hole 7's tee pad.

Several safety issues. Hole 1's tee is just feet from the library and you throw towards a lamp and a large glass window 50 feet to the right of the basket. Hole 2 throws along a fenced in children's area, Hole 7 throws along the road. 9 throws over the corner of a parking lot at the library.
Other Thoughts: ADDRESS WAS WRONG.
I typed in the address in my navigator and it took me to an empty field. When I found the course the navigator said I was at 3424 N. Old Carriage Rd.
No signage to find the first tee. When you approach the course you can see 6 baskets from one spot with no clue where to start.
I found tee 5 first and played 5 to 4. I am very happy I did it this way because I got to finish with the 2 best holes. The first tee is just feet from the front enterence of the library.

This course needs 3 things desperately.
1. Security. Lock the baskets or the will vanish
2. Tee signs. you need to be able to find the tees.
3. a Sharpie. Put some numbers on the baskets to eliminate confusion. While you are at it write the distances on the tee pads.

PHOTOS ADDED

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nash Community College

2-4    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: LeeBo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best 9 hole course I've played. With only three water holes, the water can come into play with a over-thrown toss or just a bad shot. Lots and Lots of Ace Runs especially with Advanced Players. Great Course for beginners.
Cons: Not even being a week old, I can understand that a new course takes time to fulfill it's potential. But this course needs some serious work. With some sort of plastic material for the tee-pads, it's easy to slip and bust your ass while completing a throw. While 8/9 of these holes are NOT over 300 feet, you really don't need to launch one (obviously). That being said, there needs to be concrete pads. The first hole is extremely hard to navigate, if you've never played this course. (Luckily, I was with the designer at the time.) For example, hole #2's tee-pad faces out in an open area and you can see a basket about 240 feet from you. You would think that you would throw towards that basket, but that is an entirely different hole. There is absolutely no way, anyone would ever know to throw towards any basket on any given hole. There needs to be some signs to let you know where your throwing to and where your going. I'm sure there are some OB areas (sidewalks, water, etc.) but again nothing is marked. I don't know whether some sidewalks come into play or not with hole #1 being 5 feet away from the basket in two different directions.
Other Thoughts: I'm simply giving this a 2.5 (decent/typical) average because, this is a very well designed course. I think it has potential to be a 4 or 5 average with all the improvements. I would hope in any later time frame, that RMDG would expand this course to 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center