Springville, UT 
Jolley's Ranch Share
Uploaded By: TheGrim Hole #4 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    5/12/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: dblad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Variety of holes: long, short, obstacles, open shots, landscaped grass, wooded areas, left curves, right curves, blind throws, etc...
Cons: Lack of maps. Make sure to take the course map with you. Picnickers and photo-taking groups are more abundant than other courses. Inconvenience caused by distance away from major cities.
Other Thoughts: Not too difficult for beginners, but still fun and challenging enough for more advanced disc golfers.

Part park, part woods

1    8/12/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Nice diversity of holes
2) Some highly technical holes, some very forgiving, easy holes.
3) Nice baskets
Cons: 1) Some holes were not in an intuitive order - we played at least one hole out of order.
2) Signage is limited.
3) Some holes would be extremely difficult to play alone...blind tee shots.
Other Thoughts: I would hesitate to play this course alone. There are too many blind tee shots and too much brush and undergrowth on at least 4-5 holes, and the risk of losing discs, even for experienced players, is real.

The course is partially in a nicely manicured public park, and partially carved out of river bottom trees and brush. It's kind of schizophrenic that way. It lacks a cohesive flavor. Some people like that, some people don't.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

potential is there

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: was playing this course after rim rock, brians head and Payson. the potential is for sure there, but may need some "more" something. given there were only one pin placement per hole, it would be awesome to know how far things were.
the grass tee-pads themselves were fine.
just rough not to know if one is throwing 265 or 315 on a drive.
bring a screen shot of the map!
the grass in AMAZING and greener than all get out.
we must have been there the day BEFORE the lawn was mowed. zero skips and hard to roll.
Cons: tee pads were fine, but so so. distance to basket?
baskets by playgrounds?

 3.75 out of 5?? nope..

1    7/23/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 71  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I know this is going to be a vague and poor review, but I want to make sure people don't go out to this course thinking they're gonna play a 3.75/5 course.


Pretty setting, nice green grassy park
A few cool holes..maybe 1 over 400 feet.
Nice creek comes into play a little bit.
Cons: Terrible signage
No teepads
Sprinklers all over and near baskets spraying water on you while you putt
People who worked there didn't know anything about the course..Where is hole one? I don't know.
Boring holes for the most part
A little bit out of the way.
Other Thoughts: I don't want to sound like a jerk, but I just wish someone would have wrote this review before I went to the course.. I was disappointed that it didn't live up to the reviews.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Way Fun!

1    6/9/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Ski'ndisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun medium to short course. Beautiful setting, light traffic. Some very technical shots. Not physically taxing.
Definitely worth a trip!
Cons: Needs signage and tee pads!
Took a few minutes to figure out the course layout. Not complex, but without tee pads some hole directions are a bit confusing since the baskets are hidden (5/6), (13/14). But not too tough to figure out.
Some holes are close to playground and foot traffic, nothing too disruptive.. just need to pay attention.
Other Thoughts: Take Exit is 260 not 263 as noted on directions! Get off exit, go east about 2-3 miles until you get to 1300 East (Canyon rd) , take a right go for a few miles past golf course, (stay right) you'll run into the park. Course starts at upper parking lot.
Print course map before you come!
Other than the signage and tee pads, this is a fun course that meanders around the park. If you're going to play Art Dye in American Fork, this is worth the extra 20 min drive for a fun, non crowded course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jolley Good Course

1    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course! I was pleasantly surprised by the layout which offers a great variety of short, long, dogleg left and right throws. Even some blind shots and tunnels. It's great for beginners and pros.

The park and course are very well taken care of. You get a great variety between the manicured, open shots and the rustic, climbing over logs holes.

It's out of the way so it gets less traffic, but it's close enough to make it worth the afternoon trip.
Cons: There is the obvious lack of tee pads, but most of the tee locations are marked with black markers or are clearly worn.

The course has a couple of flow issues that make finding the next tee mildly difficult. As mentioned before most of the baskets themselves have directions to the next tee. The map provided here is also quite helpful.

For being in a canyon it's amazingly flat. I like elevation changes so this falls in the con section for me.
Other Thoughts: A couple holes have you throwing right next to or directly at a creek. It does add an element of danger for losing discs which makes the course that much funner to play.

13A is insane. I couldn't even see a line to throw through. Luckily there is an alternate pad 13B for people who can't bomb a big hyzer up and over.

With a playground, pavilion and benches it's a great place to take the family and throw some plastic!.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: cleverett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ditto to waywu2001, many opportunities to try/perfect new styles or types of play. Each hole presents unique throwing opportunities and the course has been well thought out to stretch the player.

Even though there are no signs, someone has written the next tee location on all of the chain posts. Once you've played through the first time it's a cinch to get to the next tee.
Cons: The biggest con of this course is the lack of tee pads. There are little signs that designate the tee area but there are no clear boundaries for the tee pad.

The only other improvement I could think of would be to have signs that showed the distance and location of the basket.

Lastly there are many families and young couples that come to use this park for taking pictures. This usually doesn't interfere but is something to keep in mind.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is my favorite course in Utah Valley. It is nestled in one of the most beautiful canyons and is usually picturesque. I've had dear roaming the course while I play and you just don't get that anywhere else. The course is challenging to the more advanced player but also beginner friendly.

UPDATE: April, 2014, Tee signs have been planned and concrete has been poured for them. Word around the street is tee pads and signs coming this year.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lots in 1 Course

5+    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Long holes, short holes. Open shots, tunnel shots . . . it had it all. Lots of different vegetation where one minute, you'd be on mowed grass and then another hole would be in the forest. That was fun. Lots of birdie opportunites but it takes skill to earn those chances.
Cons: Some minor issues like the lack of tee pads or clearly marked tee areas. They did have black stakes in the ground but it still would be unclear where the teepad boundaries are. Some course flow issues might be present with the Front 9. Also, for all the creativity that was used with trees and obstacles, the course had little in the way of elevation changes. Also, Watch out for oblivious groups taking family pictures!
Other Thoughts: What a great setting. With multiple pavilions, picnic benches, bathrooms and a nice playground, I could see this as a fantastic venue for a family get-together. I also wonder if they could make it a 27 hole course. Now that would be awesome!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.