Boyertown, PA 
Boyertown Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sbleiler Hole #9 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 244ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

1    9/7/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: VanHolt-Wesztergom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clear view of each basket and each path.
The area is clear and well maintained.
Course difficulty varies but keeps the players interested.
Cons: Nothing wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I played on this course and I was very impressed with the lay out the maintenance of each basket and the concrete starting points. I cant wait to play again. I will recommend this course to all of my friends.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course!

5+    11/17/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: bsbll4z
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice variety from 1 to 18
-Easy to navigate and nice walkways on many holes
-Good for all levels of play
-Open 24/7
Cons: -Trees can become a nuisance with low hanging branches
-Tee boxes are a small but still solid concrete
-Lots of leaves in the fall! Pay very close attention to where your disc flies because it WILL burrow into the leaves!
Other Thoughts: Btown is the first course I ever played and I am hooked! It's about time they utilized all the space in the park!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Par 3 course

1    9/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Park and the course for the most part utilizes less used park land. Plenty of woods and line shaping here and even a decent field hole. the course demands a player to throw forehand and backhand off the tee and thus develop an overall game.
Most holes are reachable off the tee and thus every throw is important to score well. A few very unique holes with tight lines and different looks. its a great course to practice or learn the game on as its not overwhelming but remains challenging. Caters to all level of player due to its short length yet demanding gap hitting. Concrete tees and signs are first rate. Elevation and woods were maximized by the designer.
Cons: Tees are short but you should not need a run up for flicks or the multitude of tricky 225-300 ft shots here. I wasnt affected by them. Just be mindful of the walking path on a few early holes. My only real complaint was a few low hanging branches which were in the main fairway that could be polesawed easily yo open the primary lane up. A few times due to this i was tempted to use other routes and go outside the fairway and in time I think the holes will suffer from players opening up and ttampling non fairway areas. Could be remedied by just clearing the optimal fairway of branches.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and is easily the best course on the immediate area. I expect in a few years some talented players will emerge from Boyertown due to its forcing backhand and flick ability and its emphasis on putting due to it being a par 3....well done to those involved here!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sure Shot!

2-4    11/11/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full disclosure...I should state that I have very little to compare to as my list of courses played are very few. With that said, I think the course is designed well and play is fluid. The difficulty level seems like it could rise and fall with varying seasonal changes providing good play with a changing handicap. Tee pads are new and tee markers are clear, readable and helpful.
Cons: The foot traffic through the park is distraction. Not being a seasoned veteran, I could see the possibility of a rogue disc heading into close playground equipment(and quite possibly kids) on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The cons definitely should not deter you from playing the course. It has something for everyone. It's clean, challenging and fun!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Crooow
Played: 157  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and brand-new DISCatcher baskets. Mostly wooded holes but a couple of open ones as well. Brand new tee signs located on posts behind the pads - very accurate and helpful. Easy to find your way around without a map. Great for families, beginners and folks who want an easy round. Good bathroom facilities, a water fountain and a big pavilion. Other activities for the family (trails, playground, a pool with splash park). Easy to get to off Route 100.
Cons: Tee pads just a little short. Overall course length is short - only 5 holes over 300 feet and two of them barely over 300. After #6, it starts to get a bit repetitious. Lots of poison ivy. Usually one line to each basket from the tee. The biggest con is that there are hiking trails near many of the holes and we frequently had to wait on people so we could throw. Also one family set up their picnic between the fairways for 17 and 18 although they did move when they saw us on the tee pad. They came back as soon as we played.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a community park - it doesn't offer much for the "serious" disc golfer. Most of the holes have a nice spread of trees to avoid and many have protected baskets. I enjoyed the first 5 holes the best and also liked #11 with its basket across the little stream. It does force you to hit your lines but you should be able to '3' every hole with a few birdies thrown in. Hit a tree and you might get a bogey. There isn't much elevation to start the course (or it's irrelevant as the land may undulate but the landing area is about the same elevation as the tee area). The wooded holes later have some slight elevation change but it's really "throw up a slight hill" on one hole followed by "throw down a slight hill" on the next. Since the holes are fairly short, there isn't much of a challenge. But it's a pleasant course that meets the objective of a community park. Not a destination course but okay to play. I liked it fine. I went around with another player and it took about 45 minutes to play so we went around again and it took 40 minutes since we were then familiar with it. Certainly I would play the first part of the course again if I were nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential - Lots of Traffic

2-4    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Whisler83
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete easy to locate tee boxes
- Well maintained, very clear fairways
- Moderate difficulty, only 4 of the 18 were quite challenging
- For such a small course, there are a lot of interesting obstacles
Cons: - Hole 13 and 14 are covered with poison and way over grown, this part may be new but it needs a lot more work.
- A lot of traffic. This community park is very popular and if you are into disc golf to get away from it all, this course may not be for you. When I was golfing there were kids playing, people reading and picnicking, and joggers all over the place. Holes 10 - 15 were the only ones that were away from the general population but they were a little overgrown.
- NO Tee Maps or Signs to indicated where to throw, next tee, par, distance, and what number tee you were throwing from. I think this is all coming soon because, as previously stated, this course has recently been redesigned/improved.
Other Thoughts: Once the signs are put up, this course has a lot of potential. If you are looking for a place to bring your family or if you are relatively new to disc golf, Boyertown Park DGC may be just the right place to learn and not lose a lot of discs :)

Total time with 4 Golfers: 1h 30m

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.