Boyertown, PA 
Boyertown Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sbleiler Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 301ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Worth the trip

5+    8/17/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: wmjar
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage, easy to find next tee box, very little chance of losing discs. The list goes on and on. The course is in a very nice town park that is easy to find even if you dont know the area well. Good mix of tight shots and open shots
Cons: The only problems with Boyertown are minor. The park esp on weekend can be crowded with picnicers, birthday parties and other events that the park is used for. Thus makes some shots dangerous and depending on when you go, skipping a hole may be the best choice. I've played only in the Summer so in other seasons, should not be a problem. Big time players may find this course to be easy, but great for beginners to advanced ametures.
Other Thoughts: Making a 45 minute drive here, for me is well worth it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Crooow
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and brand-new DISCatcher baskets. Mostly wooded holes but a couple of open ones as well. Brand new tee signs located on posts behind the pads - very accurate and helpful. Easy to find your way around without a map. Great for families, beginners and folks who want an easy round. Good bathroom facilities, a water fountain and a big pavilion. Other activities for the family (trails, playground, a pool with splash park). Easy to get to off Route 100.
Cons: Tee pads just a little short. Overall course length is short - only 5 holes over 300 feet and two of them barely over 300. After #6, it starts to get a bit repetitious. Lots of poison ivy. Usually one line to each basket from the tee. The biggest con is that there are hiking trails near many of the holes and we frequently had to wait on people so we could throw. Also one family set up their picnic between the fairways for 17 and 18 although they did move when they saw us on the tee pad. They came back as soon as we played.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a community park - it doesn't offer much for the "serious" disc golfer. Most of the holes have a nice spread of trees to avoid and many have protected baskets. I enjoyed the first 5 holes the best and also liked #11 with its basket across the little stream. It does force you to hit your lines but you should be able to '3' every hole with a few birdies thrown in. Hit a tree and you might get a bogey. There isn't much elevation to start the course (or it's irrelevant as the land may undulate but the landing area is about the same elevation as the tee area). The wooded holes later have some slight elevation change but it's really "throw up a slight hill" on one hole followed by "throw down a slight hill" on the next. Since the holes are fairly short, there isn't much of a challenge. But it's a pleasant course that meets the objective of a community park. Not a destination course but okay to play. I liked it fine. I went around with another player and it took about 45 minutes to play so we went around again and it took 40 minutes since we were then familiar with it. Certainly I would play the first part of the course again if I were nearby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great new course to play

5+    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: -Signage is super easy to follow
-Tee pads for each hole
-Flow of course makes for a quick round (I played it twice in no time even on a hot day)
-Good mix of open holes and wooded holes that require accuracy
-Not too strenuous of a walk
-Includes some holes where water comes into play which is always fun (no danger of losing a disc in the small creek)
-Water fountains and bathrooms on premises
-Fun/exciting place to shoot a low score since birdies can be had on every hole
Cons: -Length of holes are shorter than I would like
-A little danger of hitting joggers or walkers on first few holes since they flow alongside a paved path but if you even half know what you are doing it isn't a problem at all
-Nothing else bad to speak of and those first two really aren't cons, more just being nitpicky. I enjoyed playing here alot and will be back in the future.
Other Thoughts: I am by no means a pro, but I do play most weeks and this course I found to be fairly easy. This isn't a bad thing in my opinion because it provides a nice break from some other courses where shooting only a few over par is good. It also is a great place to get a start into the disc golf game or introduce it to someone else. Use of all types of shots (bakhand, forehand, and overhand) are all necessities to do well and will improve your accuracy.

Very Nice Course

1    6/23/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: This course is amazing and has a little bit of everything. From wide open fairways, to the middle of the wood, to over water. The disc golf course is very well maintained, and on each of the hole signs they show you the direction to go to the next tee, so navigating through the course was really easy, follow the walking path to find hole one and after that you'll have no problems.
Cons: Not too many cons, but the parking lot was packed when I went, but that was because they had a swim meet going on, however there was better parking close to hole 17, which would be a better choice to park.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is fantastic, and I'm glad I found out about this one because I was using French Creek before which is a good course, but no variety there. This course a little bit of everything, but it's not rediculously challenging either. It's the perfect balance which will get me to come back and do it again despite the tight parking.

 Great Potential - Lots of Traffic

2-4    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Whisler83
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete easy to locate tee boxes
- Well maintained, very clear fairways
- Moderate difficulty, only 4 of the 18 were quite challenging
- For such a small course, there are a lot of interesting obstacles
Cons: - Hole 13 and 14 are covered with poison and way over grown, this part may be new but it needs a lot more work.
- A lot of traffic. This community park is very popular and if you are into disc golf to get away from it all, this course may not be for you. When I was golfing there were kids playing, people reading and picnicking, and joggers all over the place. Holes 10 - 15 were the only ones that were away from the general population but they were a little overgrown.
- NO Tee Maps or Signs to indicated where to throw, next tee, par, distance, and what number tee you were throwing from. I think this is all coming soon because, as previously stated, this course has recently been redesigned/improved.
Other Thoughts: Once the signs are put up, this course has a lot of potential. If you are looking for a place to bring your family or if you are relatively new to disc golf, Boyertown Park DGC may be just the right place to learn and not lose a lot of discs :)

Total time with 4 Golfers: 1h 30m

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.