Boyertown, PA 
Boyertown Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: sbleiler Hole #9 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Boyertown

1    11/28/2014   11/28/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice DIScatcher baskets in great shape. The course weaves its way through the park with a mix of lefty and righty holes with a little elevation, a little water (its OB but shallow), and some other additional challenges. Some greens are quick for an added challenge. It is a par 54 course that will challenge good players for birdies and at the same time encourage people to pick up the game without overwhelming them. While quite wooded, the course doesn't really have any pinball holes, which is a plus.
Cons: There is a walking path that comes into play on a significant number of holes. It is OB, and when it is busy the temptation will always be there to just throw anyway. That is a quick way of getting a course pulled and negative publicity on this game. Take care when people are nearby, and skip a hole if you have to. There is a little bit of repetition here, and I understand the limited room the designer had, but just can get repetitive from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This breaks up the number of courses in the area with long bomber holes. If you don't mind packing the patience and want to work on the short game, or have friends that are starting to pick up the game, bring them to Boyertown.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home course #1

5+    11/3/2014   11/5/2014
Review By: Onenationunderpar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent wooded course with great tees and baskets. Course has a great flow to it. Mostly technical mid range shots, some that benefit the flickers and others that traditional throwers will prefer. Park is maintained very well. Almost no brush to contend with as far as loosing discs. Hole 14 is the only one where that becomes a problem on the left side. Good course for beginners but yet challenging enough for pros to enjoy as well.
Cons: In fall the leaves become a huge problem with discs sliding under and becoming buried. Lots of foot traffic in the park so there are times you may have to wait as to not endanger other park goers.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and is located not even 5 mins from my house. I've played this course when it was only a small nine hole and am very happy to see it progress and become bigger better and more followed by the pro league. I have hole #16 aced here that was documented by BDGC one night at there random draw dubs event! All the guys that go out to this weekly event are great people and fun to play with. Record round for me is a -9.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Intermediary

1    9/18/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Despite being located in a popular park with its winding paved walking path, it is well designed, as most holes play away from this trail.

Even without a map, easy enough for a first-time visitor to navigate (tee-1 to left of pavilion, or start at tee-17, to right of pavilion / next to parking lot. Course flows in a clockwise manner, with some interspersed zig-zagging.

Difficult to lose a disc, as there is minimal underbrush, and what little exists is not very thick.
Cons:
Single tee/basket. While the tees are concrete, they are short (just enough room for an abbreviated X-step), and most have a sharp drop-off.
Other Thoughts:
The course is set in the midst of a multi-purpose (baseball-oriented) public park, playing primarily (a couple out in the open holes) underneath the tall, scattered trees. The landscape is gently undulating, so there will be some type of non-severe elevation change on practically every hole. Straight of the tee, with a twinge of turn/fade, missing a random tree or two, will suffice on most holes - only a few are tight and/or require a more-pronounced shape.

With holes ranging from the low-200s to the mid-300s, and an average length of ~265', and most having moderately-generous flightpaths with minimal penalties for missing them, this course is geared towards an intermediate-level audience. Good place for beginners to face more challenges than what is proffered at a typical beginner-focused course, and a bevy of birdy opportunities for the advanced player who is throwing well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    9/7/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: VanHolt-Wesztergom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clear view of each basket and each path.
The area is clear and well maintained.
Course difficulty varies but keeps the players interested.
Cons: Nothing wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I played on this course and I was very impressed with the lay out the maintenance of each basket and the concrete starting points. I cant wait to play again. I will recommend this course to all of my friends.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boyertown

5+    8/11/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New player friendly course.
- Mix of open and tunnel shots
- Easy to get around, next holes clearly marked
- You can see all the baskets from the tee box. You may have to move around a bit from side to side to clearly see them
- Hard to loose a disc
Cons: - Bring bug spray. They can get pretty bad
- Experienced players looking for long drives and a very difficult course will be disappointed
Other Thoughts: Not really a con, its in a community park. Their is a playground off to the right of tee box 1 and their is a path that goes throughout the course so you will get some heavy traffic on weekends and week day nights.

The course is very well maintained. Their is a creek that runs throughout the park that can come into play on a few of the holes.

I work within walking distance and usually play 18 at lunch. I can complete this course in about an hour,

UPDATE 9/17/2014

I saw a post in Boyertown Disc Golf Club's facebook page that they are proposing to extend the tee boxes and have alternate pin placement. If this goes through, this will take this very good course to a great course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love it

5+    8/5/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: Ibuyen
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy for new comers.
Not much of a hike around the whole course.
Hard to lose a disc
Pathways
Cons: Traffic of people
Low tree branches
Other Thoughts: I live five mins away, I try to play almost everyday. It's fun and easy.
Parking is easier by the side of the one baseball field in the front.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course!

5+    11/17/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: bsbll4z
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Nice variety from 1 to 18
-Easy to navigate and nice walkways on many holes
-Good for all levels of play
-Open 24/7
Cons: -Trees can become a nuisance with low hanging branches
-Tee boxes are a small but still solid concrete
-Lots of leaves in the fall! Pay very close attention to where your disc flies because it WILL burrow into the leaves!
Other Thoughts: Btown is the first course I ever played and I am hooked! It's about time they utilized all the space in the park!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Par 3 course

1    9/12/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Park and the course for the most part utilizes less used park land. Plenty of woods and line shaping here and even a decent field hole. the course demands a player to throw forehand and backhand off the tee and thus develop an overall game.
Most holes are reachable off the tee and thus every throw is important to score well. A few very unique holes with tight lines and different looks. its a great course to practice or learn the game on as its not overwhelming but remains challenging. Caters to all level of player due to its short length yet demanding gap hitting. Concrete tees and signs are first rate. Elevation and woods were maximized by the designer.
Cons: Tees are short but you should not need a run up for flicks or the multitude of tricky 225-300 ft shots here. I wasnt affected by them. Just be mindful of the walking path on a few early holes. My only real complaint was a few low hanging branches which were in the main fairway that could be polesawed easily yo open the primary lane up. A few times due to this i was tempted to use other routes and go outside the fairway and in time I think the holes will suffer from players opening up and ttampling non fairway areas. Could be remedied by just clearing the optimal fairway of branches.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and is easily the best course on the immediate area. I expect in a few years some talented players will emerge from Boyertown due to its forcing backhand and flick ability and its emphasis on putting due to it being a par 3....well done to those involved here!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sure Shot!

2-4    11/11/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Full disclosure...I should state that I have very little to compare to as my list of courses played are very few. With that said, I think the course is designed well and play is fluid. The difficulty level seems like it could rise and fall with varying seasonal changes providing good play with a changing handicap. Tee pads are new and tee markers are clear, readable and helpful.
Cons: The foot traffic through the park is distraction. Not being a seasoned veteran, I could see the possibility of a rogue disc heading into close playground equipment(and quite possibly kids) on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The cons definitely should not deter you from playing the course. It has something for everyone. It's clean, challenging and fun!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good spot for experienced players

5+    10/8/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course suited to intermediate and above players, may frustrate beginners. Good variety w/ precision woodland drives. both uphill and downhill. on a number of holes. Only a few truly "open" fairways, particularly #4 and #5.
Cons: As others have noted : Vast quantities of poison ivy approx May through Sept... stay away if you are highly reactive. Tee boxes restrictive on some holes. Several diabolical tee shots through very narrow corridors.
Other Thoughts: A good community park course w/ intelligent design that will hopefully only improve with time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.