Killington, VT 
Killington Resort Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: great white buffalo Hole #12
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
the beast

1    8/16/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: discrun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great mountain views.
Cons: I felt like I was on one of their hiking trails vs dg course. Extremely easy to loose discs in the tall grass. Yes, there are some fun holes but they are far and few. I was there on a sunny day and the fields get very hot and buggy.
Other Thoughts: They have so much land I would think they could put the course in an area away from mt bikers and hikers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hiking with discs

5+    8/6/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: DiscFan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/1/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, level, most are rubber topped. Baskets are good quality and catch well. Killington has put up plenty of signage to help you navigate the hikes between holes.

Cons: The amount of crossover traffic is ridiculous. Not only are there mountain bike trails crossing over the hikes you have to take to the next hole, the 1st hole plays down the hill slightly from the top of the lift where you get off and start. You are literally throwing down onto the start of one of the most popular new bike trails they have put in. The bikers are rightfully congregating and riding to this spot...which is directly between the tee pad and the first basket!!!?
And it didn't improve from there! The second hole is a 60 foot throw to a dogleg back 90 degrees to another 60-70 foot throw to the basket. No real drive (obv) and no real way to play it. Horrible.
The fairways are barely cut (grass) and the rough is ridiculous...you could be 6 inches from your disc and if you don't move the brush correctly you are out of luck. Easy to loose discs here.
The course is so short it's scary. I don't have a huge arm and could play the entire beginning of the course with a putter.
For instance 3 and 4 are now taking up the same space as the old 11. I realize this is only relevant to someone who played the old course....but 2 to 1 gives some idea of how short it is now.
Other Thoughts: The thing that upsets me most about this course is the fact that I'm afraid that people coming to visit Killington's new adventure center will say "oh, disc golf...maybe I'll try that...I've heard of it..." And then think we are all insane for loving the sport.
New people to the sport might like the short play...but the loss of plastic and high price to play would ruin the day. Not to mention the endless hiking, dodging mountain bikers and muddy mess of a course. I don't think they are going to win over any players. It stinks.
For seasoned players this course is a joke. No drives for the most part, horrid layout, bad use of land, too much crossover with other traffic.

The best parts of the old course have been eliminated (the back 9), and no thought was seemingly put in to the redesign.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Winter paradise=dg adventure

1    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located at killington ski resort famous for its steep terrain and large amount of acreage.

Elevation- first off this is a ski resort so the terrain can be very steep and elevation is used in dramatic ways. Downhills and massive uphills that test your ability to throw long and accurate throws. You throw up, down and along multiple ski runs as well as across and through the woods in between.

Appalachian beauty- experience the beauty of the green mountains in the summer as you bomb one down snowshed slope. Fantastic views provide some picturesque drives.

Variety- about 5-6 wooded holes and 12-13 open holes. This provided variety from tight wooded lines throught the woods and open bombers. Thirteen and fourteen are empty your bag holes where you throw 100 feet farther than you average distance. Distance variety also factors in here. Hole lengths rsnge from 190-540 with most holes being around 280-300. There are a few duecable holes here and some tough pars along the extremely uphill slopes.

Amenities- the tee signs were good and flypads were installed on every hole. This is on the premecice of a ski lodge so there are bathrooms and food in the k1 lodge. Navigation was extremely easy and it seemed almost impossible to get lost because of the abundance of paper signs pointing towards the next tee. There is a practice basket by the first tee,

For a seasonal course the have permanent basket locations and the baskets catch well.
Cons: Some of the walks between holes are long and strenuous due to the elevation changes that are on the walks.

Losing discs is easy, stray off the fairway too far you may find you disc has flown down a steep area of woods or area of this rough.
Other Thoughts: I love killington in the winter and it was a good treat to get to play it in the summer and experience the great disc golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Elevated Disc

1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 57  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This newly installed gem at the base of the mountain is what more ski resorts need to learn from when designing courses.Yes we want terrain elevation both up and down. You can find it here, and not the kind that is hell on the body and disc, but the kind that makes the round more fun and enjoyable.

Yes we want a mix of wooded and open holes. Right on here. You will find a balance of holes that will test both the big air rips and the fine finesse flicks.
Nice tee boxes and baskets? Of course you need those and they are here. You can find nothing to complain about here in those departments. The rubber fly mats are plenty wide and flat and level.
Navigation can make or break a round, and somebody must have let them in on this secret, because they went all out when it came to ordering signage from the print shop. High quality tee box signs are mounted on stumps at every hole with hole number, footage, flight path, and obstacles.
Views! The added bonus of the views from up on the side of the mountain across the valley's are breath taking. You will stop for picture after picture.
Cons: A few of the holes are quite similar to each other, and you will feel that you already played something like this. I am sure as this course goes through its growing pains that this will change.
Some of the walks between holes are on the longer side, but it is to be expected that this may change also as the course matures.
Underbrush to the sides of the fairway can be dense at times, so finding bad shots may prove to be difficult.
Other Thoughts: This was by far the best "ski hill" or "alpine course " that I have had the pleasure of playing so far. I usually am not a fan of them because they think that all they have to do is throw some baskets out in the middle of the huge wide trails coming down the mountain and they have a disc golf course that they can charge you an arm and a leg to come play. Here they took a different approach. First of all six dollars a day is cheap in my opinion.
Also you don't ride a lift to the top and struggle your way down, you start around the base lodge and change elevation every hole both up and down, but never so much that it is un-enjoyable.
I really enjoyed playing here and I would suggest that if you are in the area you give it a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.