Urbandale, IA 
Lennox DGC Share



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice place to play over lunch

2-4    6/10/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: D2Maniac2782
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course on this website and it is right by my work. I decided to go play it and was surprised how nice it was. They have added brand new baskets and poured concrete tee boxes. Some of the shots require a nice shape to them to get close. You can defiantly play 2 or 3 rounds during an hour lunch. I would recommend this course.
Cons: There are no signs to show the holes. After you play the course 1-2 times you dont need a sign but for new comers it would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Great little course, close to work played 2 rounds my first time out during lunch.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Updated course

2-4    6/11/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: jbyrum
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All new baskets, updated (minor) course. Short course, easily completed twice over a lunch hour. All holes now have concrete tee boxes, benches and garbage cans placed along course.
Cons: This course is privately owned but they allow public access. The day I was there I spoke to the maintenance person who mentioned all the garbage and beer cans that they pick up daily. They've considered closing it to the public. Pick up after yourselves!!!
Other Thoughts: Although this is a short course, there are some challenges and it's very well kept. They've put a lot of money into it within the past 2 weeks so let's do our part to keep it open and clean.
Oh, be sure to smile for the security cameras when you pee by the tree or dump your beer cans.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Only one trip necessary

1    5/12/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: JakeTheWrestler
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very quick rounds. It took me and two friends about 20 minutes to play through.
-Decent approach practice, most of the holes can be completed with a good approach and a quick putt.
-Not busy. When we were there, we were the only ones, and I have a hard time seeing there ever being more than one group there at a time.
Cons: -Very tough to navigate. It is tough to find the planks of wood that represent the tee platforms amongst the decently tall grass.
-The holes aren't particularly challenging or even exciting to play.
-A couple of baskets are within 10 feet of the fairly busy road, so you have to play them carefully or risk playing human Frogger to get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: Me and my friends are trying to play all of the courses in the Des Moines area so we had to check this course out. While it was not by any means a great disc golf course, it was worth going to once, and it was a course that we could laugh and joke around on, and still come out with sub-par scores.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a little love

1    1/29/2014   2/4/2014
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 109  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I liked the shots on #2 & 3 - the topography made them unique.
- the course map makes play much easier.
- this type of industrial landscape exists on countless acres and the course seems compatible with the landscape.needs
- clean
- abundant parking
- very open, the wind will be part of your game


Cons: - baskets and tees are in poor repair
- #4 & 5 have potential for throwing into busy road
- #4 tee appears to be missing
- chains catch OK, but baskets will allow discs to fall through
- very open, the wind is a factor
Other Thoughts: This course really needs some love. The needed repairs could be performed fairly easily and inexpensively. Some of the tee boards need replacement, all could use bright paint. Pliers and some S-hooks should fix the chains, the baskets just need some wire and they will hold discs. Being from out of town, I found this course easy to find and fun to play. It was single digit temps and a moderate wind when I played and I really enjoyed throwing here.
I thought the course was especially cool because of the location in an industrial setting. This isn't a championship course, but it is a unique opportunity to play in a landscape that you have probably never considered as recreational.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Easy and unnavigable

2-4    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fairly quiet course, good chance you will be the only one there.

-convenient parking

-well mowed and maintained
Cons: - tee markers are simply boards, most missing their metal numbers, and all extremely hard to locate. Since they are dug into the ground they do not protrude past the well mowed grass.

- The baskets are in very poor shape, rusted and poor craftsmanship. The bottom of the basket allows all standard discs to slip through the gaps, and the top of the chains are attached by hooks on the inside of the upper rim, this setup allows for the chains to easily fall out of place, and dangle.

- Most of the holes are fairly uncreative and either to short or a bore to play.



Other Thoughts: This course has good intentions and I tip my hat to the people that made it happen. With a few minor cosmetic changes (better tee posts and securing basket chains) I would award another 1/2 disc to the rating.

This course seems to be simply outdated however it may be useful to practice shorter approach shots and putting amongst smaller trees and bushes. You do not have to worry about walking through tall weeds and eaten alive by bugs.

I am in the process of creating a short course map with the tees and baskets I was able to locate while playing. Please look for that, as it may make this course a bit more enjoyable if you are not forced to search for the hidden tees as I was, although it may be even better if you create your own tees to add a bit of challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easy/Practice

5+    7/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: DRuMiNFiNN15
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Short - helps work on those long approach type shots
-Convenient location
-Nice big open field to work on drives
-Not too busy
Cons: -Basket chains don't like to stay hooked up
-Tee pads (wood planks on the ground mark) are difficult to find
-Roads can come into play on a couple of holes
-One hole crosses a driveway entrance into the business
-Roads have drains near the fairway path (don't miss)
Other Thoughts: Not necessarily a course that will challenge you, but is a good place to go work on your short game. Not worth driving in from out of town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.