Redford, MI 
Lola Valley Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
such disrepair

1    11/5/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: None
Cons:
Aesthetic--plays through the end of a city park. Area is very low and holds very large puddles most of the time. Not sure if anyone else is dumb enough to go here so, watch it.

Baskets--chainstars with no orange tape or other markings, not very visible at all.

Teesigns--non existant. Big 4x8 poles are in the ground but that isn't much help when you have no idea where you are throwing to. This makes routing and navigation non-existant as well...

Swamp golf--this will be my last complaint. Teepads are swamped along with the rest of the course...
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time, seriously. You will lose plastic and get very wet with no payoff

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted Potential

1    8/27/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great land for disc golf. Elevation with large trees interspersed in a narrow, winding retro city park in Historic Redford.
Cons: Design underutilized the great features of this land (see other thoughts)
Other Thoughts: The tees play great for an AM1/Pro with an arm where deuces would be possible. For the AM3/AM2 player there isn't much score separation. Shooting a par three on most holes is relatively easy to come by so you end up with a course full of tweener holes. The land here is really nice for disc golf but I think the designer missed the mark, especially considering the area where you are much more likely to attract casual players vs. Pro/AM1 level. I would have gone with 18 holes of varying length, where many more deuces are possible and the layout could flow better with some downhill and some uphill shots. With a updated design Lola could be a 4+ disc course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Will work for par...

1    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: 24chains
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Set up in a valley smack dab in the middle of a residential neighborhood is the course. Creek flows down the middle and brings water into play on most of the nine holes. Tee markers are missing for #1 and #5, other signs missing as well but there are posts to help find the way. Whoever planned out hole #9 and the MASSIVE walk back to #1 needs to step up and build a bridge. After playing this course I felt like I deserved a cookie and OJ for donating that much blood. Not terrible thou, if people played it more and beat it in it would make a good 300+ ft. pitch and putt that leans heavy for RHBH bombs. Safari rounds would make it better as the layout forces you to walk up and down for no reason other than RHBH Downhill bombers. I would not advise playing this course for glow, which is a shame for it would be an awesome setting for it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Disc Golf...Airboat optional

1    5/29/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the more complete and challenging niners in the Metro Detroit area, with very good disc play:
- Numerous holes have some length to them, providing opportunities to use most of your bag: distance drivers, fairways and mids, as well as over and understable drivers. Good for beginners and seasoned players alike.
- Since they moved the basket on 2, none of the holes actually require you to throw over the river, but water threatens to come into play on several holes, thus increasing risk reward ratio. It definitely enters into tee box decision making.
- Good shot variety, with holes that are fair for all players; lefties/righties, FH/BH.
- Nice elevation changes; there's just something about throwing from an elevated tee and Lola has several.
- Makes effective use of trees to increase challenge. Rollers can work well on a couple of holes, especially on hole 6.
- Never seen much traffic here = quick, quiet rounds.
- I like the fact that this course plays right through a residential neighborhood, and think it has a certain charm that typical park courses lack. Play a round here one Sat morning and you'll see what I mean.
- Personally, I think this is a pretty scenic course… but only when the conditions are nice.
Cons: Unfortunately, the biggest setback at Lola Valley is the very attribute that gives this course its appeal- IT'S IN A VALLEY! The valley giveth: elevated tees, and interesting terrain; the valley taketh: when it rains, this place gets flooded. The makers of Bounty wish it could hold liquid as well as this place does. Takes days to dry out, making it unplayably swampy more often than any other course in town. Before heading out here, you need to ask yourself one question: "Has it been raining recently? Well has it, punk?"
- Parking is a joke. It's really non-existent; park where you can on side of the road. Could be one reason there isn't much traffic.
- Used to have nice signage with cute names for each hole… guess what happened to those? No tee pads and tee signs that were torn down some time ago (a couple might still be standing) make it tough to determine where you're supposed to tee off from. Also makes navigation pretty tough the first time out. However, once you get the hang of it, course actually flows OK (for the most part)…
- The exception to course flow/lay-out; hole nine begins where you need to cross back over the river to get to your starting point. Even though you can pretty much start at any hole and cycle through, you'll find (9) dead ends you at a spot where there's no way to logical way to proceed except to double back, leaving an awkward walk.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I actually like this course, but it's only worth coming to play here if it's been nice for several days in a row - looks nice when it's nice, looks horrible when the weather hasn't been kind.
- If this place had concrete pads and the original signs, I'd give it 2.5, especially if there were a walk bridge from basket of 9 back across the river at that point.
- Locals are friendly (I mean the people living in the homes facing the course), and have even helped me retrieve a disc that got stuck in a tree.
- For those willing to get wet, I bet you could find more than a couple of discs in the river.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 what could have been

2-4    5/13/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: exclent course design
great baskets
quite a few holes have tee's that are uphill form the basket
no one goes here chances are youll be the only one
the creek running through the middle makes some shots very challenging
short distances from basket to next tee
Cons: THIS COURSE HAS NOT BEEN TAKEN CARE OF FOR 8 YEARS AND IT SHOWS
missing signs
no tee's [so if theres no sign youll have no idea where to start]
bugs
its a vally so when it rains it floods and dose not go away for sometime
no parking
bad throw or windy day U WILL LOSE DISK
Other Thoughts: im sure at one time this was a beautiful course and it can be with proper upkeep but that is something that Wayne county has not even thought of when it comes to most of its parks

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: craftsman
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -free to play
-fair fairways that will reward long drives that are well placed
-majority of holes over 400 with the shortest at 284
-majority of tees are at least slightly elevated
-low traffic levels make for quick play and easy safarri
-the over the water hole (2) is 395. Its water placement is so that its friendly to beginners but challenging to expierenced players.
- course plays fair to to all styles of play (right/left and fh/bh).
- discraft chainstars in good condition.
- beer is allowed
- river running through entire course gives any really bad shot a chance of swimming.
- some neighbors are friendly spectators.
- dog friendly.
- handfull of picnic tables and a grill or two.
Cons: - wayne county provided nice 2x2 detailed signs including hole nicknames but majority have been stolen.
- pro and am tees are intended but most first timers have a hard time finding any tees, so con, navigation.
- being a longer then usual 9 hole, many of the holes will be unrewarding for many players (if two players have equal putting skill and accuracy, but one throws 300, and the other 350, they could likey score the same. Even if it was 375 vs 300, itd only really open up one or two more birds.)
- undefined tees
- odd flow that really makes one wish for a couple bridges as itd open up design options ten fold.
- easily floods and holds the water for quite a while.
- lack of designated parking (no lot)
Other Thoughts: While I find most locally don't hold it in high regard, I think it rounds the small wayne county course selection well. The open, but defined long shots and forced long putts help a up and comer round their game seeing the other 9'r (farm at founders) is so technical. The navigation issue subsides after a few rounds and its obvious options were limited. I also like the recent mowing of keeping some of the grass long to help create challenge and define greens.
I like that you can park at any hole and begin. I park at one so I can play hole 10 - the road betwenn the tees of 9 and 3, to hole ones basket.

Since navigation seems to be an issue, I will try to help.

Hole one is just south of the intersection of leanne and pomona (the street the flower shop is on). There is a big yellow arrow road sign just past the tee. Park before you the hill goes down and walk to the grassy hill ( there's usually a purple truck parked that lives there, ower of the house is not a dg fan though). You should be able to see the road sign and down and right of the hill will be two large guardian trees with the basket behind it. For more challenge, walk down to the flat area by the tree'd area past the sign.
So hole one is on the west side of the river, well north of the flower shop.

From 1's basket veer right towards the street. Tee sign is there on a slight elevation with the basket almost directly ahead 395ft across the water. Am tee is just left of pro towards the water by the tall tree.

After crossing the road to putt on two, cross directly across the road by the light post. Do NOT contine to the tee sign on the same side of the road- that's 9. Atop the hill you should see a well defined downhill tunnel or huge sweeping hyzer route. Be careful! This is usully where park goers will be, though not really in the way. Its a 400+ shot.

So now you are on your way. Continue south down the east side of the river. Hole two was the only water carry.

Hole 4 is one of the few concrete tees, located on the hill, next to a brick formation where a lavatory was. 436 towards the tree line. Through the trees plays shorter but big hyzer is most common.

Hole 5 plays on the small hill towards the main road 493. Am is up left by the tree.

Once hitting the mile road, use the sidewalk to round the corner and continue north down the west side of the river. This is also a good area to park (seeing that I know the guy by hole one complains of the very few golfers parking by his house).

Hole 6 is by the sign upon the hill playing through the trees up and down or down hill on a rhbh hyzer ( risky tree route plays shorter). Basket is on third hill 438.

Hole 7 plays downhill towards the river for the shortest 284 of the course.

Veer left for hole 8, one of the few flat holes. It plays tight to the river.

You are now back at the overpass road. Cross it and veer right. You will see hole 2's basket down the hill and hole 9's tee at the top corner.

Hole 9 plays downhill towards the water 427. You have to backtrack back to the road or get ballsy and use the tree to cross. Some like to toss a short water carry to hole one's basket or back to two's basket. I do raod to one's.

Hope it helps. Pm me for help or to shoot a round:)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

1    8/13/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: ZanierRules
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: - Some large open fairways that will test your drive, especially where the river is involved
Cons: - Missing signs on most holes and no teepads. Makes it hard to know where to shoot from.
- Not many places to park
Other Thoughts: It's a long 9 holes, especially so because there aren't many signs. Knowing where to go is difficult and if no one is there to help... good luck.

Needs maintenance in every facet.

 could be better, a lot better.

1    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: nofxorbust
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free to play
-No course traffic
-Good course for beginners
Cons: -Missing hole sings
-BUGS
-Bad hole flow
-No parking lot
-Floods after rain storms
-All around confusion on where to go and what to shoot at
Other Thoughts: Overall the course isnt that bad. Replacing the missing signs and installing new cement tee pads on all the holes would change everything. If the course was maintained and mowed it would also help alot. This course needs alot of love and care to make it playable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best...

1    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The elevated tees make you have to think about your drive shots. Beyond that, the course is fairly short. The river that bisects the course makes forehand shots challenging. It is in a neighborhood setting.
Cons: I played this course after a heavy storm which was a mistake. The course was not completely flooded but there were many holes that were 30% covered in water. My problem was navigating the course. It's almost impossible to find your way around. Many of the teeboxes HAD markers which have been torn down by vandals. But, overall the layout doesn't flow well. I'll have to find a map or make one on Google Maps for next time.

I had a hard time finding somewhere to park. There is no lot and the street is too narrow to park on. If I know Redford cops, they will ticket for just about anything.
Other Thoughts: I joined up with another player who navigated me around. Without him, I probably would have left very disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

lo lo lo lo lo laaaaaa

1    10/10/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lola Valley lies in the middle of a nice neighborhood and has some nice big trees sprinkled throughout the lush fairways. A river runs dead centre through the course, dividing it into two halves. Shots are challenging without being daunting, and a lot of fun can be had here.
Cons: After any amount of rain, flooding is a possibility, since it is, after all, a valley. I also played in the fall so the facking geese were out and there was a lot of poop underfoot. The river ate two discs, so be careful, as tee-offs on a hill can be deceiving.
Other Thoughts: A nice little nine-hole nestled in Redford. Still a longer round with the maneuvering over and around the river. Some locals tried to help me fish out a lost disc from the river to no avail. I would recommend if you are in or from the area.

***2013 UPDATE***
Basket #4 was missing, which is a shame because it's a beautiful bomb off one of the few concrete tees on the course... They moved the pin on #9, making it a bomb and a heck of a way to end the round! No sign so I'm unsure on the distance but I would say at least 700-800 feet. Still a pain to walk all the way back around the river to get to your car. Someone put a bridge up please!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.