Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket (Long Postion)



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course

2-4    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is easily my favorite course in the area. I try to go to reedy creek every weekend which i do because its only 25 minutes away! it is a great course because even though it looks heavily wooded its not as tight placement for the fronts the back is a good challenge but the fronts are alot better to most people! Nice people there they talk to you you can talk to them and i have played a round with some of the people i just met there that are really nice and friendly.
Cons: There is graffiti on the trashcans and benches. Some places still have cut posts from where the basket will never be again. Leaves are everywhere so you do have to take that for account.
Other Thoughts: I love the park from the sites down the friendly people there. They even have kids weekly there i love it and playing there

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tons o fun

1    4/18/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with moderate underbrush. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, and the hills are used extremely well to create fun and challenge off the tee and around the pin. Streams are also in play here, and make for some nice obstacles, especially with a couple risky greens that have water in play around the basket. There are two sets of concrete tees that often offer very different looks and add some variety, and two to three pin positions per hole that would really mix things up.

The course is pretty short overall, but it never gets repetitive. You'll need a wide variety of shots to score well here, birdies are definitely available but only if you can accurately shape lots of different lines through the woods. The underbrush is pretty beaten down, but there's still enough to punish errant shots on most holes. The signage is nice, and shows hole distance and layout from either tee.
Cons: The course obviously gets a ton of traffic, so it's very beat down with compacted ground and lots of erosion issues. There is quite a bit of trash scattered around in the woods. Because the course is older, it does play pretty short and doesn't offer much chance to open up and throw a real drive. It would be nice to have the pin positions marked at the tees, there are lots of blind shots and you have to walk up to see where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic par three course that is a nice change of pace from some of the tougher courses in the area. Beginners can have a good time here, it will challenge new players to stay on the fairway, but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players won't find it all that tough, it's mostly a putter and mid course, but it's a solid design that makes great use of the terrain to keep things interesting throughout the round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Grandfather of Charlotte

1    1/3/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun! A truly fun course that emphasizes finesse and creativity over power. One of the funner short courses I have played with plenty of broken in woods, elevation and lines to discover. My kind of disc golf as it is mostly wooded but with enough lanes to make for an interesting round everytime you play it. I really enjoy old school courses that can stand the test of time and this one does that well. Short layout and the more challenging Stout layout make for some remarkable holes. By far the funnest course in Charlotte due to addictive earned birdie looks and constant undulating woodsy terrain. Wooded enough to challenge your shotmaking but short enough to allow for exciting runs at the green. I love it when an old technical course stands the test of time and this one does and then some. I would imagine some old timers just carving up younger more reckless guns on this course and thats a good thing. Reedy never let me down and either offered an ace run or a surprise basket position or creative fairway that kept me cerebrally active. Even without the disc golf its a fun hike up and down in those woods. Overall just what the doctor ordered after a butt whooping at the Championship Courses in Charlotte. This and Nevin are the 2 I wanna play again in QUeen City. Nevin cause I want revenge after getting massacred and Reedy simply because it was so much damn fun.
Cons: It will not offer many longer holes for those insiting on par 60+ rounds. No true open field shots for grip and rip it folks. It's old and perhaps too popular as erosion potential and broken in do not begin to explain the circumstances here. I can't really smack the course much I have little negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Definetely worth a play if your in town to test your mettle against the tougher Charlotte Courses. As an out of towner I usually like to play the course that started it all in each region. From my experience these tend to be great courses and explain the popularity of the sport in such locales. Schenley in Pitt, South Mtn in Lehigh Valley PA, BlueMont in DC, etc. Sedgley in Philly, add Reedy to the list of perfect par 3 Hall of fame courses. I played it as my final course in NC and was glad I saved it for last...restored the smile to my face and reminded me why I love disc golf!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 If you skip it you'll be missing out

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2011
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The fact that this course was built in the late 80's and can still be played competitively with today's discs is an achievement. Most holes are 200-300ft, but are well designed to suit a variety of skill levels.

- Restrooms, benches, lots of garbage cans, concrete tee pads and a practice basket

- Of all charlotte courses this was the only one with maps at the kiosk

- Unique engraved tee signs.

- Several baskets on elevated ground and several elevated tees, very nice use of the available land and slight elevation changes.

- Some good risk vs. reward shots. If you overshoot on 14 or hang left on 15 you are screwed.

- Excellent course to take beginners with some experience. Best described as a solid Rec/Intermediate level course

- One of the few courses in the area that does not use discatchers, course uses DGA Mach 3.

- Favorite holes were probably 10 and 11 due to the creative use of elevation.
Cons: -There were some very minor issues with navigation and flow. For example, Basket 8 said 16 and 14 was labeled 17, also 18 ends in the middle of the woods with no signs on how to get back to your car.

- Very few obvious flaws, No safety issues noted, It just lacks the wow factor of Hornet's Nest and Renny.
Other Thoughts: - While it does not have the reputation of some of the other Charlotte courses, this is one of the first 3 I would take anyone too when they visit the Charlotte area.

- This course was not the most challenging in Charlotte, but it was the most fun due to solid design and little frustration, play this after Nevin so you can feel human again :).

- On most holes if there was 1 tee there were 2 baskets, if there were 2 tees there may only be one basket.
I would like all multiple tees or multiple baskets, but this is not a con since it does provide a change from the shorts.

Edit: I really wanted to rate this as high as Renny, but just because I had more fun here does not make it a better course...but it is pretty darn close

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: one of my fave courses in charlotte. reminds me of my home course a bit. nice and wooded, but fair. interesting shots for sure. if you don't have a huge arm for renny gold and charlottes web, play here. i always enjoy it.
Cons: not a championship level course. but i am not a top pro so i don't need to play those type of courses all the time.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tried & True

1    6/2/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carved out of the woods, each shot has its own specific fairway and while tight the layout is very fair. You don't get the chance to rip long drives much here, the course requires some finess & it's laid out nicely for a variety of shots.
Cons: It does get a lot of traffic. I learned on this course 20 years ago and it remains a favorite to this day although it's much more crowded these days. But that's what we want, right? We want folks to play and Reedy is short enough that it will bring in a lot of ams but don't let that fool you into thinking it won't be challenging for anyone at any level. Thanks
to multiple tee & basket combinations the course can be played differently. Reedy is always a blast.
Other Thoughts: I saw that Reedy had less than a 4 star rating and was afraid folks traveling into Charlotte might skip it. If you do you'll be sorry. For sheer fun Reedy Creek rates right up at the top of Charlotte courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great well rounded course!

5+    4/14/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: kurtzee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This being the oldest and most played course in the Charlotte/metro area, it's easy to see why this course is so high on the to-play-list. The course design/layout is incredible! There is not one hole that resembles another one. The course will test you on all of your shot skills (RHBH, side arm, thumber, tomahawk, and rollers).

This is a great course for beginners and experts alike. Its not TOO tight to frustrate the rookies, and its tight enough to keep the experts entertained.

All holes have multiple pin locations and multiple tee pads. there is a sign on hole #1 stating wether the course is layed out in long or short pin locations. And most of the signs show locations of pin A or B on the Original tee pad.

The tee pads themselves are in great condition. The Short pads don't make you feel like you are playing from the ladies tees if you want to have a nice easy round. But the Stout pads will give you more of a challenge on each hole. The Stout pads are very well designed as to add difficulty to the holes, but not so much to where its frustrating.

The course is well secluded among the rest of the park. you will have some people walking along the paths on holes #5 and #10, and the occasional cricket match on the weekends.
Cons: As everyone has said in their reviews.. CROWDED!!! to a new comer this can be a plus as to observe new techniques to start practicing. But waiting for your turn to drive is a high probability.

Some of the fairways are run down and can get a little dicey when it has rained.

There are a few of the chains that aren't marked with a hole number and doesn't have the yellow ring around the top, making it hard to see. But after playing the course for the first time on both short and long possitions, its easy to navigate. can be a bit confusing to find your way around at first.

Other Thoughts: This course is a great course to play for birdies. A lot of opportunities to make some great drives to put it close to the chains. I reccomend to bring a good attitude that wont be dimminished by hitting trees. And alot some extra time for waiting for fellow disc golfers.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great hike, great course

1    11/24/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenge. Fun and lots of variety in the holes. Decent exercise as well, lots of hills and obstacles.
Cons: I don't remember the maps being very helpful, making it tough to find the hole sometimes.
Other Thoughts: When in Charlotte, check it out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/4/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Two sets of tees offer opportunities for varied skill levels.
- It is pretty secluded once you get on the course, and you almost feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, and it feels good.
- Lots of variation in elevation makes for some exciting shots. There's also a good balance of left bending, right bending, and straight holes.
- The hole lengths are good. They're short enough to reward a good/great shot with birdie, but the fairways are tight enough to punish bad shots. (Good risk reward).
- Concrete tees are always a plus in my book. These tees are a good size, too.
- There's a few open shots mixed in here and there to give you a break from all those carefully navigated wooded fairways.
- The tee signs were there on every hole, and very informative. They inlcuding lengths for all combinations of tee/basket positions.
Cons: - I played in the fall so the leaves were kind of a problem, but not a big deal or anything.
-
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a really fun time at this course. I walked away feeling good, even though I didn't shoot that well.
What I liked most about the course, though, was that you just felt like you were out in the middle of some uncharted woods.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Classic Course at Reedy

5+    1/16/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: That Chinger Guy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Very clean overall. Woods offer seclusion and peace within the park. Walking trails border the course. Nice, fun, course layout. Certain holes are very unique and offer exciting challenges.
Cons: Occasionally backed up on the weekends... Near UNCC which draws lots of visitors on days you may want to be by yourself IF your that kind of player.
Other Thoughts: This was my very first course playing disc golf. I quickly picked up the sport since and have claimed Reedy as one of my all-time favorite places to play. It's great for beginners and newcomers to the sport. Out of the courses I've played, Reedy still remains to be one of the most organized and enjoyable courses, despite any circumstance.

If you're looking for a good time with your friends, look no further! Reedy is CLASSIC

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.