Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #7 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Baskets



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
What More Can Be Said?

5+    7/1/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (See other reviews for hole by hole descriptions) Lots of shot shaping through the woods. Playable on the hottest of days since it is shaded throughout. Stout is a good challenge and adds some length on a couple of holes that the Original layout needed. Minimal distances between baskets and next tees.
Cons: Absolutely overcrowded on the weekends, thus I advise playing one of the other great courses in the Charlotte area on Saturdays and Sundays.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid, Fun Course

2-4    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like they say, it's more about accuracy than length. You're not going to need your max D bag at Reedy. But you will have to make lots of different shots, especially the forehand if your predominately a RHBH thrower. And a lot of times there's more than one way to approach a hole.

The underbrush in most places was pretty sparse so I wasn't very concerned with losing a disc.
Cons: Sure, it's crowded. But that means you have a better shot of playing a round with someone cool. Or you could be stuck behind a group of eight who don't understand the concept of playing through.
Other Thoughts: I was glad I had my Firebird and Witness for the doglegs. I wish I had brought the Rhyno, too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great wooded course

5+    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost onr of my favorite things about this course is you can use a variety of differnt shots and discs. It is a moderately wooded course with everything from line drive shots to elevation changes and a fair amount of technical shots as well. Some holes are more forgiving than others (1-9) holes 10-18 ate a bit tighter and more technical. Another great thing about this course is after 9 holes you can walk right to your car or continue on to the back 9 as hole 9 whips right back toward the parking lot. Benches at every tee pad, and multiple pin locations (although rarely changed) make this a fun course to play.
Cons: Lots of overgrowth and trees outside the fairway, so try your best to stay on it or else your hunting for a disc in poison ivy and leaves. No water on the course most days, except sometimes a single cooler in hole 1. Graffiti on trash cans and benches are an eye sore but not anything that affects playability.
Other Thoughts: Great course to improve driving accuracy as most holes are dictated by a tree line/elevation change. One of my personal favorites in the Charlotte area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun to play

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course itself offers suitable challenges. Not overly difficult but still fun to play. Although in a woody area, the holes are mostly open for experienced players. Some hole placements present enough of a challenge to provide interest.
Cons: A couple of times, finding the next hole can be a challenge if you are not following other players. However, the course appears to be busy, so finding someone to point you in the proper direction is too hard.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reedy Needs A Makeover

1    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: mateobueno
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course has potential. The terrain is great. Several holes are well designed, but one in particular is outstanding: I wish I could remember which number, but it was a par 3 where the basket is just over a ravine, almost like an island green--this was one of the best holes I've seen anywhere.
Cons: Most of the holes are of average design, and many are outdated as far as length goes, but the recreational disc golfer won't mind. The real problem is the lack of signs, many seemingly gone due to theft. It was hard to figure out where to go after completing many of the holes, and on some holes it was even hard to figure out where the baskets were located.
Other Thoughts: With a moderate redesign of the course and better signage, this is the course that could be.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    11/26/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Reedy Creek is one of the oldest parks in the Charlotte area and it is very very broke in which is nice. Also the fairways are not really tight so its nice for new players and also expirenced players. There are a lot of bridges so your not constantly climbing up hills or falling in ditches.
Cons: Having only played this course once I was not very pleased! For the first fews holes the signage is pretty good but after 5 you've really got to look if you have not played there before. The benches that are there have graffiti all over them and the garbage bags are nailed to the trees. There are a ton of leaves so its easy to loose a disc or spend a lot of time looking for it.
Other Thoughts: most likely won't play here again for a while. Would be a awesome course if the signs were layed out better for new players to the course.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is easily my favorite course in the area. I try to go to reedy creek every weekend which i do because its only 25 minutes away! it is a great course because even though it looks heavily wooded its not as tight placement for the fronts the back is a good challenge but the fronts are alot better to most people! Nice people there they talk to you you can talk to them and i have played a round with some of the people i just met there that are really nice and friendly.
Cons: There is graffiti on the trashcans and benches. Some places still have cut posts from where the basket will never be again. Leaves are everywhere so you do have to take that for account.
Other Thoughts: I love the park from the sites down the friendly people there. They even have kids weekly there i love it and playing there

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fan Favorite: Reedy Creek

5+    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most popular aspects of Reedy Creek is that it has a secluded feeling that is very nice and peaceful. A lot of amenities accompany the course with trash cans and benches at a lot of the holes. The holes are fairly open which is good for beginners. But a variety of shots with a decent assortment of ranges is needed to play, making it a fun and memorable experience. For more experienced players, the Stout course will provide a fun challenge. Since both courses use the same fairways, you can create your own course to provide you with a different experience each trip, keeping this park from becoming stale. Pins are moved to the short position in the winter to provide avid players even more variety. The recent work on the course to prepare it for the 2012 World's has left the park in a beautiful condition.

Reedy Creek is a great location to take someone on their first Disc Golf outing. The course is not too demanding, and Children's Tees have been added to the fairways for smaller arms. Plus one of my favorite things about the course, because of the heavy foot traffic the brush is kept really beaten back to make losing a disc extremely challenging, even if you miss your line and get a terrible bounce off a tree.
Cons: In the past I heard about a lot of car break ins. (Though I haven't heard as many this past year.) A lot of the signs seem to be missing recently, which can be frustrating for newer players. Especially since the past few times I visited the Original pin for Hole 14 seems to have found its way to the short pin location on Hole 13. This course is also very popular, making it feel overcrowded during peak hours of the day.
Other Thoughts: I love the multiple pin locations. It keeps Reedy from getting stale. Providing the park with a variety of different Course Layouts to be played from. The heavy foot traffic the park gets (and the vast amount of pine trees), keeps a lot of the brush from getting overgrown, making it hard to lose a disc, even with the worst of bounces.

10:30am on Sundays, a similar Am League to the one held at Sugaw started up about 3 years ago. These Am Leagues are a great way for people to get into the competitive scene using a relaxed, fun, yet still competitive handicap format. All while only costing $5.

Favorite Original Holes: 1, 2, 5, 15, 18
Favorite Stout Holes: 4, 6, 7, 11, 14

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Respectable Charlotte Course

5+    3/20/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The birth of Charlotte Disc Golf.

Park has many amenities with the disc golf course in the back of the Park.

All concrete tee pads on all holes. Some holes have multiple tee pads and baskets.

Challenging holes, but not to the point where it is extremely difficult for beginners.

Trash cans are at most holes.

Practice basket by the parking lot.

Good mix of holes that provide an array of shots to score well.

One of the safer courses in the Charlotte area.
Course is secluded as you progress through the round.

Course is mostly in the woods giving shade on hot summer days.

Locals are pretty good about letting others playing through so no one is being held up.

Course flows pretty well making it easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing.

Course can get back up at times for tournaments and because of the proximity to UNCC, however the fact that many others want to play the course isn't a huge con in my book.

Having said in my pros list that this course is in a safer area of Charlotte, it has been reported in the past of multiple car break-ins.

Will get extremely muddy when it rains.

Erosion is pretty obvious.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
Reedy is the course I learned to play disc golf on back in my UNCC days. I still play it today more than any of the other Charlotte courses, but I will get out and play other courses. Having said all that, Reedy has a special place in my heart. I'm not the greatest disc golf player so this course is always challenging for me. Would recommend this course to any disc golfer.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A course built by our disc golf ancestors...

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + Reedy is part of a sweet park and you drive a little bit off the main way to get to the course, so it feels secluded
+ Even though it was busy at times, once we hit our momentum, nothing stopped us. Everyone was cool with us playing through and people were nice when they wanted to play through. Good vibes all around.
+ Tee pads are all in good shape, and so are the baskets
+ There weren't many spots where you could easily lose a disc (stream to the right of #4)
+ Basket placement with wooden structures felt like the course was built in a respectful way
+ Some tee signs had nicely carved and colored maps showing am and pro tee and basket locations
+ Many holes have more than one line choice, which made it fun to choose different discs for BH/FH (great variety)
+ Minor elevation changes/hilly
+ Fairly convenient 9 hole loops
+ Multiple tees/pins
+ Fairly easy to navigate as a visitor
Cons: - No indication of basket position other than line of sight
- No directional signage
- Some tee signs not in the best shape
- Trash bags nailed to trees were a bit nasty, but appreciated
- Definitely a lot of erosion at Reedy, but it didn't stop us, slow us down, or change the way we played at all. Just watch your step.
Other Thoughts: After playing Reedy four times as an out of state visitor, I have to say that it really is a solid course. The unique and aged feel of a few wooden structures, exposed soil and roots, stomped and carved fairways, and mature trees really set a good mood.

In terms of how this compares to other Charlotte courses from a beginner/intermediate standpoint, I would say it's middle of the road in terms of quality and difficulty. Not far behind the top courses in terms of fun, though. There definitely were a couple holes on the back nine that have higher chances to lose discs than other courses mainly due to the leaves being dry on the hills, which discs could easily slide under. The rough isn't super rough, though, and I've played this course with beginner females who didn't have a problem and even parred a couple holes.

Reedy really isn't super wooded like some courses in Charlotte. Yes, there are defined lines that are a bit challenging, but the if you want to throw under par, you have to hit long accurate lines. This is a course where discs of different stabilities are necessary. I've played here with fairly neutral discs and had a more difficult time than when I've played it with a full bag.

Overall, Reedy is solid. Really good disc golf in a nice setting.

Thanks for reading!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.