Charlotte, NC
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 314ft.   4 / 501ft.   4 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My New Favorite!

1    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is outstanding, with a lot of amenities to offer to the folks you drag with you ;-) Even with all the non-DG traffic, though, once you're on the course you don't really see anyone but golfers.

The layout is great, with multiple tee and basket positions on many holes. Tee pads are great too -- I played immediately after a downpour, and the pads weren't that slick at all.

The course is a challenge for newer players, with decent distance and elevation changes. Plenty of trees, but nothing I really considered a 'poke and hope' hole (though #6 comes close!). Just make sure you hit your lines, because otherwise you're in for a LONG day.

Plenty of friendly locals who are willing to help you find alternate tee pads or let you know where the next hole is (#14, I'm talking about you -- see below). I also love the fact that the course returns to the parking lot after 9 -- I wish more DG courses would do this.
Cons: Had a bit of trouble figuring out where to go after finishing on 13 -- could use a Next Tee sign here, and pointing the way to #10 as well (one path off 9 goes to 10, the other back to the parking lot).

Be careful when you leave 5 headed for 6 -- you may end up walking out in front of someone trying to throw their drive on 6. I had no idea where i was going, and interrupted a group playing doubles in front of me (sorry, guys!).
Course gets pretty muddy after a rain, even a short-ish rain can make some fairways a bit mucky.

I honestly can't think of too many cons for this course. Just go play it!
Other Thoughts: Spent the weekend in Charlotte, but had time for only one round of DG, so I'm glad I made it to Reedy. The course is well-maintained and easy to navigate. I had a blast, and will DEFINITELY be back!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun day in the woods

2-4    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: DGancient
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see why this course has been recommended to me by so many players. While it is not an overly difficult course, it can be challenging - aggravating - rewarding - and just plain fun. The terrain plays as much a part of the difficulty of the course as the design of the holes. There is a wide variety of shot types necessary for this course. Trash cans are available on several holes. And there are plenty of benches to catch your wind. The signage is pretty accurate for being able to find the basket.
Cons: While the signs are good at giving an indication of the basket, sometimes it is a little confusing which tee is for which basket. Nor could I find any listing of when the basket locations change. The numbers on top of the baskets are confusing at times since more than one hole has the number 7 (or maybe it was a 17). The number plate could also stand to be painted a bright color - in the shade of the woods, it can be difficult to even see the basket much less the number letting you know which basket you are playing.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played this course enough to give a good description of the holes. But I can tell you that when I played today, the course was in great condition. The fairways are a little worn due to the years of traffic, but it was dry with plenty of traction (unless you happen to have landed on a steep part of one of the many hills).

I played the short course first. The yardage does not seem terribly different than the "stout" course on most of the holes despite what the signs say. However, there are a few holes where the trees that provide the hole to shoot through seem so close that you can't help but hit them. I had an easier time on the "stout" course.

I was genuinely surprised how many people were on the course at 11:30am on a weekday. Most of the players I saw seemed very familiar with the course and played very quickly. Too bad my timing wasn't better where I could ask for a guide.

One thing I really like about this park is they have put signs up making it easy to find the course. There is a practice basket behind the first tee. A great location for a practice basket. Hole 1 is a fairly simple shat from the short tee, just throw it hard with a little right fade. From the long tee, it it still basically the same shot but the angle changes just enough to add a bit of a challenge.

Hole 2 tee is easy to find. Just follow the well worn path behind the hole. A pretty simple hole to play, but it can be a challenge to see the basket due to the color of the basket in front of a backdrop of trees. This is a recurring theme for the rest of the course.

If you have not played this course, I would recommend waiting for another player to show up who can show you around (you probably won't have to wait too long for someone to show up). Play the short course first. After that it is pretty easy to find the tees and baskets for the long course - which you should also play. I liked the "stout" course better, but I got the impression that most of the players like to play the short course.

This course is worth playing. And then playing again. And again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons o fun

1    4/18/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with moderate underbrush. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, and the hills are used extremely well to create fun and challenge off the tee and around the pin. Streams are also in play here, and make for some nice obstacles, especially with a couple risky greens that have water in play around the basket. There are two sets of concrete tees that often offer very different looks and add some variety, and two to three pin positions per hole that would really mix things up.

The course is pretty short overall, but it never gets repetitive. You'll need a wide variety of shots to score well here, birdies are definitely available but only if you can accurately shape lots of different lines through the woods. The underbrush is pretty beaten down, but there's still enough to punish errant shots on most holes. The signage is nice, and shows hole distance and layout from either tee.
Cons: The course obviously gets a ton of traffic, so it's very beat down with compacted ground and lots of erosion issues. There is quite a bit of trash scattered around in the woods. Because the course is older, it does play pretty short and doesn't offer much chance to open up and throw a real drive. It would be nice to have the pin positions marked at the tees, there are lots of blind shots and you have to walk up to see where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic par three course that is a nice change of pace from some of the tougher courses in the area. Beginners can have a good time here, it will challenge new players to stay on the fairway, but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players won't find it all that tough, it's mostly a putter and mid course, but it's a solid design that makes great use of the terrain to keep things interesting throughout the round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Grandfather of Charlotte

1    1/3/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun! A truly fun course that emphasizes finesse and creativity over power. One of the funner short courses I have played with plenty of broken in woods, elevation and lines to discover. My kind of disc golf as it is mostly wooded but with enough lanes to make for an interesting round everytime you play it. I really enjoy old school courses that can stand the test of time and this one does that well. Short layout and the more challenging Stout layout make for some remarkable holes. By far the funnest course in Charlotte due to addictive earned birdie looks and constant undulating woodsy terrain. Wooded enough to challenge your shotmaking but short enough to allow for exciting runs at the green. I love it when an old technical course stands the test of time and this one does and then some. I would imagine some old timers just carving up younger more reckless guns on this course and thats a good thing. Reedy never let me down and either offered an ace run or a surprise basket position or creative fairway that kept me cerebrally active. Even without the disc golf its a fun hike up and down in those woods. Overall just what the doctor ordered after a butt whooping at the Championship Courses in Charlotte. This and Nevin are the 2 I wanna play again in QUeen City. Nevin cause I want revenge after getting massacred and Reedy simply because it was so much damn fun.
Cons: It will not offer many longer holes for those insiting on par 60+ rounds. No true open field shots for grip and rip it folks. It's old and perhaps too popular as erosion potential and broken in do not begin to explain the circumstances here. I can't really smack the course much I have little negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Definetely worth a play if your in town to test your mettle against the tougher Charlotte Courses. As an out of towner I usually like to play the course that started it all in each region. From my experience these tend to be great courses and explain the popularity of the sport in such locales. Schenley in Pitt, South Mtn in Lehigh Valley PA, BlueMont in DC, etc. Sedgley in Philly, add Reedy to the list of perfect par 3 Hall of fame courses. I played it as my final course in NC and was glad I saved it for last...restored the smile to my face and reminded me why I love disc golf!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Charlotte Area Course

5+    3/7/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete tees, 2 sets of tees, Worn in, 2 basket locations on every hole even some with 3, well marked, nice elevation changes, no major water hazards, cross walks and not many park goers to deal with
Cons: Lots of players on a daily basis (slow play), Almost unnatural due to high levels of play and age of course ( muddy, eroded, trash) Not good for kids due to elevated tees and mud. and also kinda shady bad part of town
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If you skip it you'll be missing out

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2011
21 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The fact that this course was built in the late 80's and can still be played competitively with today's discs is an achievement. Most holes are 200-300ft, but are well designed to suit a variety of skill levels.

- Restrooms, benches, lots of garbage cans, concrete tee pads and a practice basket

- Of all charlotte courses this was the only one with maps at the kiosk

- Unique engraved tee signs.

- Several baskets on elevated ground and several elevated tees, very nice use of the available land and slight elevation changes.

- Some good risk vs. reward shots. If you overshoot on 14 or hang left on 15 you are screwed.

- Excellent course to take beginners with some experience. Best described as a solid Rec/Intermediate level course

- One of the few courses in the area that does not use discatchers, course uses DGA Mach 3.

- Favorite holes were probably 10 and 11 due to the creative use of elevation.
Cons: -There were some very minor issues with navigation and flow. For example, Basket 8 said 16 and 14 was labeled 17, also 18 ends in the middle of the woods with no signs on how to get back to your car.

- Very few obvious flaws, No safety issues noted, It just lacks the wow factor of Hornet's Nest and Renny.
Other Thoughts: - While it does not have the reputation of some of the other Charlotte courses, this is one of the first 3 I would take anyone too when they visit the Charlotte area.

- This course was not the most challenging in Charlotte, but it was the most fun due to solid design and little frustration, play this after Nevin so you can feel human again :).

- On most holes if there was 1 tee there were 2 baskets, if there were 2 tees there may only be one basket.
I would like all multiple tees or multiple baskets, but this is not a con since it does provide a change from the shorts.

Edit: I really wanted to rate this as high as Renny, but just because I had more fun here does not make it a better course...but it is pretty darn close

21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: one of my fave courses in charlotte. reminds me of my home course a bit. nice and wooded, but fair. interesting shots for sure. if you don't have a huge arm for renny gold and charlottes web, play here. i always enjoy it.
Cons: not a championship level course. but i am not a top pro so i don't need to play those type of courses all the time.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hard but i liked it

1    10/16/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: nice course. challenging a good mix of shots. nice open fairways. clear paths and good launch pads. also good for sight seeing.
Cons: kinda a drive from the south Charlotte area but well worth the drive.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Madness

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid wooded course in your typical, nice Charlotte park. Very verdant and pretty and all that nature stuff to appreciate. All the basic stuff is here; big, smooth concrete tees, tee signs, benches, etc.

Playability: Impressive left to right variety in hole design and fairway design. Solid elevation, water in play occasionally. Fairly LHBH friendly, more than a few RHBH hyzer holes with just plain straight holes being the minority. Course is easy enough to navigate and as an added bonus there are course maps/scorecards available at the kiosk.

Very clean, well-defined fairways, amenities (bathrooms, etc)
Cons: Distance variety is limited to most holes being in the 200-300' range. Fairly short, even from the long tees for players above the noodle arm range. The course is very eroded on some holes but there are steps and stops put in to alleviate the problem and facilitate walking. Some holes have deceptively steep roughs that aren't apparent from the tee that could easily punish you with roll-aways, hole #3 on the left is a good example of this.

Be mindful of the pond to the left of hole #4. It's not directly menacing but if a RHBHanded thrower's turnover doesn't turnover you could be all wet.
Other Thoughts: Feels like: a Par 54, shorter Castle Hayne with elevation or a scaled down, more wooded Hornet's Nest.

Fave Hole: #5 Tees from up high then drops steadily to a creek below midway down the fairway, then rises just as steeply with the basket more or less eye level from the tee. I like holes like this b/c they kind of play tricks on your eyes.

Signature/Butt-clenching hole: Hole #14. An open tee that requires an anhyzer/FH into a wooded gap that has a steep downhill green that will punish with a roll-away worse than the ball the passed through Bill Buckner's legs.

Other neat holes: Hole #1. Gives you 2 distinct lanes to the basket, wish there were more like this on the course but alas, you are disappointed.

This is a really solid course and offers a little bit of everything that can appeal to all ranges of players. I can easily see why it's very popular. It wasn't very crowded when I played but I did happen to be the only discer with a bag so take that for what it's worth but it was pretty clean so the kids are alright.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Chesters Reedy Creek Review

1    3/14/2009   6/9/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course is a beautiful course and very challenging for the new disc golfers. This course is good for the players who want more of a challenge.
Cons: This course is kind of over wooded. This obviosly makes it tough. Many of the tees are some what hard to navigate unless you have a map.

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.