Charlotte, NC
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 273ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really fun course to play. So many birdie holes. Dual tee pads and two layouts. Each hole is designed with the disc golfer in mind, no unusual trees in the way. Nice elevation changes. Short layout provides birdie chance on every hole, long layout plays just a few shots harder from the short tee pads. Stout tee pads provide extra challenge not only in length but design.
Cons: Crowded but only because it is not as difficult as the surrounding courses. By far the funnest course to play in Charlotte.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

5+    12/27/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C (Original layout will rarely punish you more for a bad shot than for a so-so shot. Most of Stout's holes will lay a spanking you for bad shots, but too often in a way that is not really fair.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A- (Most holes on both layouts' long basket positions will give me a natural high when I birdie. There are 4-5 holes on Original where it feels bad not to get birdies. For reference, I throw accurately to 300'.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+ average (Original has nice variety, but nothing severe. Stout has lots of wierd and fluky angles and lines to navigate).
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+ (Very nice seclusion, but only average beauty for the woods you are in.)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C- (11 Stout is excellent! It has a very small and hard to reach landing zone. If you try to reach the pin from anwhere but the LZ be prepared to pay for your sin with at least 2 added strokes. 15 is just OK - takes a longer first shot than the players who the course is designed for will typically have.....and even then there often is no real line to the basket.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Oh....and a PS: I love the online "Be the Disc!" narrated fly-by videos! :)

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Well Maintained

1    4/13/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is fun yet technical course. Great use of elevation makes this course unique from most other courses around Charlotte. A wide variety of shots required on this course to maintain a decent score. The course is nestled way back in the woods in the far end of Reedy Creek Park and makes for some awesome scenery. Great Tee Signs at most holes. All tee pads are concrete. The park maintains this course well as they continue to clean it up and lay fresh mulch down. Creeks come into play in several parts of the course making that much more challenging. Penalties for errant throws galore! Park hosts clean bathrooms and is in a nice/safe part of town.All the locals were very nice.
Cons: This is one of the area's oldest parks and while it is well maintained the course gets very crowded. The baskets on the course are the older style baskets and will not catch you discs like the newer Innova Disc Catchers for instance. This means you may have a harder time putting here which could hurt your score. I wouldn't let these cons deter you from this course though as it was great fun to play it!
Other Thoughts: I have been wanting to play this course for some time and was not disappointed when I finally made it over there. The changes in elevation is the best part of this course and the back 9 has some difficult approaches which can help improve your game with consistent practice.One of the best thing about this course is the park that hosts it! It offers many other activities and is a stunningly beautiful park.You can easily bring the family to this park and make a day out of it. I have read in reviews that the course gets littered but it was clean when I played it. It is obvious that the park takes good care of this course as it is one of the most popular in Charlotte. This course is definitely worth checking out but prepared to wait as it almost always crowded.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a good place to begin....

5+    4/1/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good place for beginners/intermediate
-Decent variety in holes/layout given the multiple tee pads
-Good layout, signage, and maintenance
Cons: -Possibly too easy for intermediate/advanced players
-Truly a wooded course, not really open in the sense that you see "fields"
-Slightly littered, can get muddy, quite busy at peak hours
Other Thoughts: This was where I started playing dg, and of course it is one of my favorites for nostalgic reasons. It has always been challenging for me, but at the same time one can always excel here and shoot par or under with minimal fuss.
-Average course, that appeals to average ability. Good fun though!
Challenging holes:
-Six: elevation and trees are tricky, with some water on the right on your way down
-Thirteen: almost identical to eleven, only longer. severe dogleg right makes your drive difficult unless you anhyzer or throw a sick sidearm. after the drive, expect open and elevated fairway a good distance to the hole
Fourteen: I have problems with this one, because of the dogleg right and severe elevation downwards mixed with heavy woods on the right. If the drive isn't perfect, expect a tough second (its better to lay up because a run will send you down the hill).
Easiest Holes:
-Nine: this one is short, good for sidearm and rollers (I usually overshoot off the tee)
Seventeen: my personal favorite because I always excel here, you need a strong hyzer with a good amount of power. nothing too accurate is needed-thus making it "easy". Pick up a birdie here so you can hole out 18 with a par!

Overall, Reedy is a good place to get a round in. I highly recommend for those in Charlotte (you've already played RC multiple times I bet) and the surrounding area. I wouldn't drive more than 20 minutes for it though.....if you know what I mean.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: very fun and in a nice part of town. relaxed atmosphere. good for beginners
Cons: they moved the pins from short to shorter. kinda dull if your a decent player. very littered and always traffic.
Other Thoughts: way better courses in charlotte

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly and tough

2-4    8/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very hilly and good use of terrain. Very technical course that requires a good mid-range drive on most holes. Good mix of shots required to score well.
Cons: Can get muddy when it's wet. Very busy course.
Other Thoughts: Good use of alternate tees and baskets. This course is a challenge for your mid-range game.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Creek

5+    9/26/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great Amenities including clean restrooms, trashcans and benches.
-Very well maintained fairways that offer a great variety of shots.
-Multiple teepads let you make the course as difficult as you want it to be. Also, changes the course enough to give it a whole new experience.
-Easy to navigate.
Cons: Course can get busy on weekends and can become quite muddy/slippery after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Best Woods course in Charlotte, not as long or as difficult as some of its neighboring courses but still very much worth the play. Highly recommended.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/5/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 50  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Reedy has good tee signs. Trash cans and benches on most holes.
-There are concrete tee pads, and several holes have multiple tee pads.
-There are also different pin placements on many holes. The local club usually alternates and puts the pins in the long postion for spring summer, short for fall and winter.
-This is a great course to hone your accuracy without having to bomb your disc.
-The course flows very well, with signs pointing to the next hole when it's not obvious.
-There is a putting basket to practice on.
-This is a great summer course. It is very heavily wooded offering you shade for most of your round.
Cons: -This course can get real slippery after it rains, it also has alot of roots above ground. It's a good idea to watch your footing.
-Can get really crowded. If playing on the weekends or later in the day on weekdays you can expect delays. If playing by yourself you will have to play through many groups. But I've never had anyone not let me play through.
-The back nine has a walking trail, though it's only been an issue a few times, I have encountered walkers taking a wrong turn and ending up in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Reedy is a fun course to play. It has a varitey of left, right and straight. The design does a great job with the elevation available. When the baskets are in the short postion I usually take more mid-range than drivers. This a great course for recreational/casual players.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 I love this place!

5+    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is challenging however it is still not hard to shoot a great score. Some holes have alternate baskets and I believe all of them have an alternate tee location. This course will force you to use every shot in your bag as well, forehand, backhand, overhand, I even saw my friend throw an underhand shot today to get out of a sticky situation. Decent elevation change but not drastic enough to tire you out. You can play two 18 hole rounds and barely break a sweat as it is a pretty easy walk.
Cons: I wish the alternate baskets were there year round however I believe they alternate them.
Other Thoughts: If you are getting beat down by the Renny swing by Reedy Creek and redeem yourself!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of fun

2-4    12/7/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course rewards good drives and can punish bad drives. If you keep your drives in the fairway, a score under par is likely. Poor drives can be eaten by the woods, but even if your drive veers off course, the woods aren't so dense that making par is impossible.

There's a nice diversity of holes ... the holes aren't that long, but several of the short holes offer a nice challenge.
Cons: This excellent course is about 350 miles from my home. :(
Other Thoughts: I visited some friends in Charlotte a couple weeks ago and we played this course three separate times in a 24-hour period. I loved this course! It's better than any of the four courses I've played at around the Chattanooga area.

On holes #6, #7 and #14, you may want to have a "lookout" stand halfway down the fairway to keep track of the drives.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.