Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 210ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful County Park Course!

1    7/17/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Have you ever been walking through a state or national park and thought to yourself, "I wish they would let me build a disc golf course here." That's what I think about Reedy. It's just one of my favorite parks for a course. Everything about the course has been done first class, from the teepads to the signs to the navigation aids. There has been a lot of hard work gone into this course with bridges, bulkheads, steps, etc. Nothing like having the resources of the parks department to help you build a top course. There are two sets of tees. The "Stouts" usually seem to just add 20 feet or so of distance. This is a recreational/intermediate type course. I believe long throwers might get a little frustrated here. They've added mulch in places to help with the slippery red dirt situation. There is elevation to deal with and a creek in play. A wide variety of shots is needed to score well. I didn't score well so I guess I don't have a wide variety of shots. The course was very clean when I played and grafitti free.
Cons: I can see where this course could might be slippery when it's wet. They're working on that problem. I played mid-week and although the course was busy, it didn't feel crowded at all. Big arms will miss their chance to throw those 400 ft. + drives.
Other Thoughts: I want to take this course back to Washington with me. It's absolutely stunningly beautiful. I'm obviously partial to mountain type scenery. I appreciate the variety, the amenties, the elevation and the intermediate challenge it presents.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 reedy creek reveiw

5+    6/6/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Avenger4ThaAce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: great for tight midrange shots,tight fairways,nice tee pads,heaviely wooded.
Cons: not very easy to navigate for first time player,stout tee pads are poorly located (useually 20 feet behind original tee pad with trees in the way)
Other Thoughts: overall great little course especialy considering the age of the coarse i would deff. recomend this coarse to anyone if your down near charolette. so get out there!!! ONE NATION UNDER PAR!!!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

5+    6/11/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is one of the best courses in the Charlotte area to just take a Putter and a Roc out and practice with those disc. All the holes save a few long dog legs when longer baskets are used are reachable.
-One thing I really like about this course is that on several holes you can use more than one type of shot for a good result. For example on hole 1 you can go for a hyzar shot or a fairly straight shot depending on which side of the trees you decide to go.
-This course has really good sized teepads especially for being built in '89, most courses around that time have those really tiny tee's.
-Reedy Creek uses water effectively coming into play on several holes where an early release or a long throw might get you in trouble.
-Several holes have not 1 but 2 good possible tees to throw from.
Cons: -I found that some of the stout tee's aren't that great and really just move the original one back 15ft and putt a tree in front of you.
-I have played this course several times in the rain during tournament and I can tell you it is not a fun course to play when wet, it gets pretty muddy.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I make the hour trip down to Charlotte we will normally start out with Reedy Creek because it is such a good little warm up course. I have played several times during tournaments and casual rounds and always have a good time playing the course. It might not stack up to some of the other Charlotte courses but I would still recommend anyone in the area to give it at least a round or two.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy IS Charlotte disc golf

5+    6/13/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Reedy has variety and elevation, which are it's two strongest assets:

- Although some holes are similar, each has a distinct flavor. Between the blind shots (6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 18), holes with water in play (numerous), drastic elevation changes (6, 14), and tight fairways (3, 8), there are many holes that stand out about this course.

- It's the elevation that really sets it apart from other Charlotte courses. Nothing else in the area is quite like Reedy when it comes to this. It almost has a mountain feel at times because the woods really take away the urban flavor and the elevation comes into play so often.

- Most of the course is shaded, so it's a great place to play in the hot summer.

- Reedy has many classic ameneties like benches and trash cans at the holes, etc.

- As others have mentioned, there are two locations for the baskets that get changed throughout the year. When the baskets are in the short locations, it really gives you birdie opportunities galore. When they are in the long, the course can be a bit more demanding. In addition to those, there are also the stout tees which can really challenge you.
Cons: - It's by far the most crowded course in Charlotte. Because it's close to UNCC, it picks up a lot of college kids as well as other casual players. You are more likely to find a group of 5-6 playing here than anywhere else, and that can be frustrating.

- The course gets muddy after rains, and it stays muddy for a good long while. I'd venture to say that there are parts of the course that are muddy year round because of the shade.

- At times, the course can be littered with beer cans and bottles. That's in direct correlation with the college crowd that often plays the course. To the park's credit, that issue has gotten better over the years, so somebody is doing a better job of cleaning up the course.

- Baskets are not yellow DiscCatchers, so they are hard to pick out at times. Most holes have a yellow "sign" on top to help locate them, but the latter holes don't even have that.
Other Thoughts: - Reedy IS Charlotte disc golf. It's the course that most outsiders relate to Charlotte, and it is by far the most played course in the area. When folks ask about me about Charlotte disc golf, they almost always mention Reedy in there somewhere.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really fun course to play. So many birdie holes. Dual tee pads and two layouts. Each hole is designed with the disc golfer in mind, no unusual trees in the way. Nice elevation changes. Short layout provides birdie chance on every hole, long layout plays just a few shots harder from the short tee pads. Stout tee pads provide extra challenge not only in length but design.
Cons: Crowded but only because it is not as difficult as the surrounding courses. By far the funnest course to play in Charlotte.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

5+    12/27/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C (Original layout will rarely punish you more for a bad shot than for a so-so shot. Most of Stout's holes will lay a spanking you for bad shots, but too often in a way that is not really fair.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A- (Most holes on both layouts' long basket positions will give me a natural high when I birdie. There are 4-5 holes on Original where it feels bad not to get birdies. For reference, I throw accurately to 300'.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+ average (Original has nice variety, but nothing severe. Stout has lots of wierd and fluky angles and lines to navigate).
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+ (Very nice seclusion, but only average beauty for the woods you are in.)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C- (11 Stout is excellent! It has a very small and hard to reach landing zone. If you try to reach the pin from anwhere but the LZ be prepared to pay for your sin with at least 2 added strokes. 15 is just OK - takes a longer first shot than the players who the course is designed for will typically have.....and even then there often is no real line to the basket.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Oh....and a PS: I love the online "Be the Disc!" narrated fly-by videos! :)

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Well Maintained

1    4/13/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is fun yet technical course. Great use of elevation makes this course unique from most other courses around Charlotte. A wide variety of shots required on this course to maintain a decent score. The course is nestled way back in the woods in the far end of Reedy Creek Park and makes for some awesome scenery. Great Tee Signs at most holes. All tee pads are concrete. The park maintains this course well as they continue to clean it up and lay fresh mulch down. Creeks come into play in several parts of the course making that much more challenging. Penalties for errant throws galore! Park hosts clean bathrooms and is in a nice/safe part of town.All the locals were very nice.
Cons: This is one of the area's oldest parks and while it is well maintained the course gets very crowded. The baskets on the course are the older style baskets and will not catch you discs like the newer Innova Disc Catchers for instance. This means you may have a harder time putting here which could hurt your score. I wouldn't let these cons deter you from this course though as it was great fun to play it!
Other Thoughts: I have been wanting to play this course for some time and was not disappointed when I finally made it over there. The changes in elevation is the best part of this course and the back 9 has some difficult approaches which can help improve your game with consistent practice.One of the best thing about this course is the park that hosts it! It offers many other activities and is a stunningly beautiful park.You can easily bring the family to this park and make a day out of it. I have read in reviews that the course gets littered but it was clean when I played it. It is obvious that the park takes good care of this course as it is one of the most popular in Charlotte. This course is definitely worth checking out but prepared to wait as it almost always crowded.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a good place to begin....

5+    4/1/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good place for beginners/intermediate
-Decent variety in holes/layout given the multiple tee pads
-Good layout, signage, and maintenance
Cons: -Possibly too easy for intermediate/advanced players
-Truly a wooded course, not really open in the sense that you see "fields"
-Slightly littered, can get muddy, quite busy at peak hours
Other Thoughts: This was where I started playing dg, and of course it is one of my favorites for nostalgic reasons. It has always been challenging for me, but at the same time one can always excel here and shoot par or under with minimal fuss.
-Average course, that appeals to average ability. Good fun though!
Challenging holes:
-Six: elevation and trees are tricky, with some water on the right on your way down
-Thirteen: almost identical to eleven, only longer. severe dogleg right makes your drive difficult unless you anhyzer or throw a sick sidearm. after the drive, expect open and elevated fairway a good distance to the hole
Fourteen: I have problems with this one, because of the dogleg right and severe elevation downwards mixed with heavy woods on the right. If the drive isn't perfect, expect a tough second (its better to lay up because a run will send you down the hill).
Easiest Holes:
-Nine: this one is short, good for sidearm and rollers (I usually overshoot off the tee)
Seventeen: my personal favorite because I always excel here, you need a strong hyzer with a good amount of power. nothing too accurate is needed-thus making it "easy". Pick up a birdie here so you can hole out 18 with a par!

Overall, Reedy is a good place to get a round in. I highly recommend for those in Charlotte (you've already played RC multiple times I bet) and the surrounding area. I wouldn't drive more than 20 minutes for it though.....if you know what I mean.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: very fun and in a nice part of town. relaxed atmosphere. good for beginners
Cons: they moved the pins from short to shorter. kinda dull if your a decent player. very littered and always traffic.
Other Thoughts: way better courses in charlotte

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly and tough

2-4    8/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very hilly and good use of terrain. Very technical course that requires a good mid-range drive on most holes. Good mix of shots required to score well.
Cons: Can get muddy when it's wet. Very busy course.
Other Thoughts: Good use of alternate tees and baskets. This course is a challenge for your mid-range game.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.