Charlotte, NC
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 273ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Reedy Needs A Makeover

1    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: mateobueno
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has potential. The terrain is great. Several holes are well designed, but one in particular is outstanding: I wish I could remember which number, but it was a par 3 where the basket is just over a ravine, almost like an island green--this was one of the best holes I've seen anywhere.
Cons: Most of the holes are of average design, and many are outdated as far as length goes, but the recreational disc golfer won't mind. The real problem is the lack of signs, many seemingly gone due to theft. It was hard to figure out where to go after completing many of the holes, and on some holes it was even hard to figure out where the baskets were located.
Other Thoughts: With a moderate redesign of the course and better signage, this is the course that could be.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    11/26/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Reedy Creek is one of the oldest parks in the Charlotte area and it is very very broke in which is nice. Also the fairways are not really tight so its nice for new players and also expirenced players. There are a lot of bridges so your not constantly climbing up hills or falling in ditches.
Cons: Having only played this course once I was not very pleased! For the first fews holes the signage is pretty good but after 5 you've really got to look if you have not played there before. The benches that are there have graffiti all over them and the garbage bags are nailed to the trees. There are a ton of leaves so its easy to loose a disc or spend a lot of time looking for it.
Other Thoughts: most likely won't play here again for a while. Would be a awesome course if the signs were layed out better for new players to the course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: jared18
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is easily my favorite course in the area. I try to go to reedy creek every weekend which i do because its only 25 minutes away! it is a great course because even though it looks heavily wooded its not as tight placement for the fronts the back is a good challenge but the fronts are alot better to most people! Nice people there they talk to you you can talk to them and i have played a round with some of the people i just met there that are really nice and friendly.
Cons: There is graffiti on the trashcans and benches. Some places still have cut posts from where the basket will never be again. Leaves are everywhere so you do have to take that for account.
Other Thoughts: I love the park from the sites down the friendly people there. They even have kids weekly there i love it and playing there

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fan Favorite: Reedy Creek

5+    5/20/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the most popular aspects of Reedy Creek is that it has a secluded feeling that is very nice and peaceful. A lot of amenities accompany the course with trash cans and benches at a lot of the holes. The holes are fairly open which is good for beginners. But a variety of shots with a decent assortment of ranges is needed to play, making it a fun and memorable experience. For more experienced players, the Stout course will provide a fun challenge. Since both courses use the same fairways, you can create your own course to provide you with a different experience each trip, keeping this park from becoming stale. Pins are moved to the short position in the winter to provide avid players even more variety. The recent work on the course to prepare it for the 2012 World's has left the park in a beautiful condition.

Reedy Creek is a great location to take someone on their first Disc Golf outing. The course is not too demanding, and Children's Tees have been added to the fairways for smaller arms. Plus one of my favorite things about the course, because of the heavy foot traffic the brush is kept really beaten back to make losing a disc extremely challenging, even if you miss your line and get a terrible bounce off a tree.
Cons: In the past I heard about a lot of car break ins. (Though I haven't heard as many this past year.) A lot of the signs seem to be missing recently, which can be frustrating for newer players. Especially since the past few times I visited the Original pin for Hole 14 seems to have found its way to the short pin location on Hole 13. This course is also very popular, making it feel overcrowded during peak hours of the day.
Other Thoughts: I love the multiple pin locations. It keeps Reedy from getting stale. Providing the park with a variety of different Course Layouts to be played from. The heavy foot traffic the park gets (and the vast amount of pine trees), keeps a lot of the brush from getting overgrown, making it hard to lose a disc, even with the worst of bounces.

10:30am on Sundays, a similar Am League to the one held at Sugaw started up about 3 years ago. These Am Leagues are a great way for people to get into the competitive scene using a relaxed, fun, yet still competitive handicap format. All while only costing $5.

Favorite Original Holes: 1, 2, 5, 15, 18
Favorite Stout Holes: 4, 6, 7, 11, 14

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Respectable Charlotte Course

5+    3/20/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The birth of Charlotte Disc Golf.

Park has many amenities with the disc golf course in the back of the Park.

All concrete tee pads on all holes. Some holes have multiple tee pads and baskets.

Challenging holes, but not to the point where it is extremely difficult for beginners.

Trash cans are at most holes.

Practice basket by the parking lot.

Good mix of holes that provide an array of shots to score well.

One of the safer courses in the Charlotte area.
Course is secluded as you progress through the round.

Course is mostly in the woods giving shade on hot summer days.

Locals are pretty good about letting others playing through so no one is being held up.

Course flows pretty well making it easy to navigate.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing.

Course can get back up at times for tournaments and because of the proximity to UNCC, however the fact that many others want to play the course isn't a huge con in my book.

Having said in my pros list that this course is in a safer area of Charlotte, it has been reported in the past of multiple car break-ins.

Will get extremely muddy when it rains.

Erosion is pretty obvious.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
Reedy is the course I learned to play disc golf on back in my UNCC days. I still play it today more than any of the other Charlotte courses, but I will get out and play other courses. Having said all that, Reedy has a special place in my heart. I'm not the greatest disc golf player so this course is always challenging for me. Would recommend this course to any disc golfer.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A course built by our disc golf ancestors...

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 9/12/2013
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + Reedy is part of a sweet park and you drive a little bit off the main way to get to the course, so it feels secluded
+ Even though it was busy at times, once we hit our momentum, nothing stopped us. Everyone was cool with us playing through and people were nice when they wanted to play through. Good vibes all around.
+ Tee pads are all in good shape, and so are the baskets
+ There weren't many spots where you could easily lose a disc (stream to the right of #4)
+ Basket placement with wooden structures felt like the course was built in a respectful way
+ Some tee signs had nicely carved and colored maps showing am and pro tee and basket locations
+ Many holes have more than one line choice, which made it fun to choose different discs for BH/FH (great variety)
+ Minor elevation changes/hilly
+ Fairly convenient 9 hole loops
+ Multiple tees/pins
+ Fairly easy to navigate as a visitor
Cons: - No indication of basket position other than line of sight
- No directional signage
- Some tee signs not in the best shape
- Trash bags nailed to trees were a bit nasty, but appreciated
- Definitely a lot of erosion at Reedy, but it didn't stop us, slow us down, or change the way we played at all. Just watch your step.
Other Thoughts: After playing Reedy four times as an out of state visitor, I have to say that it really is a solid course. The unique and aged feel of a few wooden structures, exposed soil and roots, stomped and carved fairways, and mature trees really set a good mood.

In terms of how this compares to other Charlotte courses from a beginner/intermediate standpoint, I would say it's middle of the road in terms of quality and difficulty. Not far behind the top courses in terms of fun, though. There definitely were a couple holes on the back nine that have higher chances to lose discs than other courses mainly due to the leaves being dry on the hills, which discs could easily slide under. The rough isn't super rough, though, and I've played this course with beginner females who didn't have a problem and even parred a couple holes.

Reedy really isn't super wooded like some courses in Charlotte. Yes, there are defined lines that are a bit challenging, but the if you want to throw under par, you have to hit long accurate lines. This is a course where discs of different stabilities are necessary. I've played here with fairly neutral discs and had a more difficult time than when I've played it with a full bag.

Overall, Reedy is solid. Really good disc golf in a nice setting.

Thanks for reading!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

23 years and it's still great.

1    2/5/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Reedy creek is a more isolated park in Charlotte. It's a great park that has everything you could ask for in a park. In fact, once you get to the entrance, you go straight past the dog park and follow the arrows where they point which way to take to get to the course.
-Nice, long teepads that are in good shape. I love the elevated one on #15 because it make it a fun, tough downhill shot. The course has two set of teepads on almost every hole. #7 doesn't and a few others dont but almost on every hole, there are two basket locations.
-Practice basket by the parking lot on your way to #1.
-Reedy creek has GREAT elevation and it's even better on the longer tees. For example, #2 has a sweet drop (-32) or so and #5 long has maybe (-36) which most players find it awesome to watch your disc go and go and go. Those aren't the only holes which great elevation. It's hilly but not RL Smith hilly.
-I remember some trash cans around the course. I think there was on the way to #1 but I don't remember a lot.
-The teesigns in my opinion are very cool and they are in good shape. Look at them closely because the baskets need new basket plates.
-The baskets are in good shape.
-I say #2 and #5 are fun teeshots but I love hole #7 as well. It's another ace run that is tricky if you don't throw a decent hyzer. If you are playing the original tees to short pins. A more straighter shot could get you closer to the long pin because it's a straighter shot. It happened to me.
-There were benches to sit on and for the older players, they are definitely useful (no matter how old they are) because walking up and down those hills will make you want to sit for a while. I am a teen and on #15 I needed to sit for a while.
-There is a hardees nearby and a bunch of other restaurants. Love me some buffalo chicken and a large soda.
Cons: -If you have read in the prevous reviews, you will find out that erosion is a problem, it's filled with limbs, roots and all that crap. Some things are in the wrong places, and It is trashed quite a bit and there are actually trashcans.
-The next tees signs were also trashed. Badly. I had a hard time telling if that is the way to the next tees that I was looking for. I will admit I should've brought a map and that's recommended for you people who read this.
-The basket plates were vandalized as well and they are not accurate on some baskets. Like prelube said, #14's basket was labeled as "17".
-Some holes are love it or hate it. For example, #11 is a dogleg right par 3 from the short and has a couple of long pin positions. I thought #11 was kind of boring although it is a bit downhill. There is a long position at about 420 and the extra long maybe 610 or so.
-The measurements are not too accurate, on most holes especially on #2 and #5, they say 180 on the short pins but really they were maybe 235". Some were believable and accurate but some should be remeasured.
-#6's basket wasn't numbered, I found the tee and eventually found the basket. It's another great drop in elevation, the hole is definitely no con but it outta be numbered on the basket plate.
Other Thoughts: Yes erosion isn't good and the baskets aren't all accurate and it's a bit trashed but c'mon! It's lots of fun elevation is magnificent, there are good chances for an ace especially on the short course (mainly #16) and by the time you play here, you will be glad you did. It's got great variety with a couple open holes (well sort of) and wooded holes, uphill, DOWNHILL!!!, and even doglegs. Honestly, I love dropoffs behind baskets and there are on both pin positions on #14. #14 is the make you or break you hole, it's a bit downhill and starts off easy and open but once you're in the woods maybe 220" feet, It's tough! The baskets are on a ledge with large dropoffs.
Overall in my opinion, there are several stand out holes #2 is a straight downhill shot and #5 is a bit similar but has two routes, one for sidearmers and a for right hand backhand throwers. Lefties will probably take the sidearm route. #6 has another straight downhill shot with a small ditch behind the basket, also the greatest use of elevation on the course (-40) It's really 380 or so, plays 260. #7 is a fun hyzer hole with a dropoff behind the short and if you leave it short on the long position, you have a tough jump putt. #13 is a fun anhyzer hole and the longest so it's considered the "monster" of the course. #14 is probably the best on the course which I just described and #18 is a great finishing hole but those are not the only fun holes on the course with the long tee maybe drops -40 feet, with the short pad, maybe -20. Play this course if you live in the Charlotte area although it was a long ride for me in Gastonia. It was a 40+ minute ride. It's more isolated so bring a GPS so you wont have a hard time finding it. Since the baskets are not numbered right, I would recommend watching the video of Will and Jake at Reedy creek so you will know the holes better.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Where I learned to play

5+    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the oldest in charlotte and is a very fun course to play.

It has two sets of pads. The shorts are very getable and the stouts will test your game.

The course goes through seasons where the baskets are moved in the fal/winter to short positions which make the course much easier and great for beginers. Then in the spring/summer the course is lengthend to make it more difficult. If you introduce a player to the game at this course in the winter/fall they will be able to learn in steps.

I love the technical yet getable design of the course.

Great teesigns, pads, benches and trashcans
Cons: Erosion, it is very bad here. The course is full of exposed roots.

It is an easier course within 5 min of Uncc so it is likely the most popular course in charlotte thus it has times of major backups.
Other Thoughts: This course is where I learned to play and I have a soft place in my heart for reedy creek. It is one of my favorite places to play even if it is a shorter course it is a great place to hone your skills.

It is often overlooked with all of the Major courses in charlotte but Reedy is well worth your time if you are visiting and it is close to many other courses in charlotte so you can get multiple courses in one day

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Aging but Solid

5+    5/1/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 34.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is in a regional level park with adjacent nature preserve; the total property acreage is about 750. Course is in rolling piedmont terrain with mature canopy and is sequestered completely from other park activities. Course is now almost 25 years old and reviewer has played this course early on, which may make it an interesting case. Reedy Creek is Charlotte's second iteration of the wooded piedmont style of course.

One may easily observe the effects of high foot-traffic and sustained community interest in developing the course over a relatively long period of time at Reedy Creek. The foot-traffic has made this course much more playable and its rough much less penal and over the years. Amenities, equipment and signage are all superior, although some may disagree regarding the Mach III targets. Tees are above average. Canopy blunts most play affecting winds. Course features completely separate returning nine loops with a dedicated shelter between the nines. Course looks and feels very well defined regarding the play paths and transitions; in contrast to wooded courses that are more 'raw' and which can often feel 'vague'. Undoubtedly this factor helps speed play, which can be quite brisk when course is not crowded. Reedy Creek probably receives the most play of any area course and is routinely crowded during peak seasonal hours. Play delays are not uncommon.

Billed as a 'beginners'' course, reviewer feels Reedy Creek DGC is one the best available venues to introduce someone to disc golf for the first time. Like many courses in the Charlotte area, straight flat shots with good fade control are highly rewarded (up to about 250'), but length off the tee is not critical here. Fair to average power is enough to score well, as the average hole length from the short set-up is about 260' for the 18. Lower speed discs will be very effective here. Course moderately favors stable counter-spin shot shapes off the tee and on the landing areas, (strongly so on the back nine), Back nine considerably 'tougher' than the front, in keeping with this area's 'unwritten' design ethos (an interesting aside: this area's next course, Kilbourne TPC features a back 9 favoring stable clock-spin shot shapes from the tee). Ample fairways and generous landing zones allow for 'fair' play. Plenty of recovery chances are available while scrambling. Course asks for mastery of all the basic shot shapes, except the roller game and uses the minor elevation changes enough to make the golfer continue to pay close attention. Also 'keeping it interesting' is two sets of tees and a minimum of 2 pin positions per hole, so the course is not inflexibly stuck in the past of rounded-shoulder style discs.

Greens are generally flat and open, with a handful of exceptions. Of note are the constructed features on the course, which appear to be largely a response to high foot traffic around the few highly sloped greens. These features control erosion and accentuate some greens while improving safety. Greens are neutral and balanced regarding spin receptivity overall.

'Fair' course, in the following aspects: generous average width of fairways, rewards for conservative play, appropriate penalties for size of throwing errors, few blind holes, overall balance, ease of 'seeing' trouble from the tees (or where to play), and limited ob areas. Course is also 'honest'. It lacks any 'perceptual' design tricks or extremely acute angles that must be hit to keep the disc in play (with the possible exception of #6 short tee).

#8 is the first area iteration of the now iconic straight flat tube shot about 300' off the tee, but since golfers (and arguably discs) have gotten better this 'first version' is only about 250'. This type of hole is so common in disc golf that the reviewer feels some special term should have been coined for it by now (like the 'Redan' in ball golf). Reviewer also feels this type of shot is the most difficult of all to consistently execute, especially as the distance required is increased, and this type of hole needs to be in the vocabulary of every aspiring course designer.

Reedy Creek DGC is one of this reviewer's personal favorites, largely because it shows high aim and forward thinking in its overall design. Course is an excellent candidate for Vintage/Super Class competitions. It is an 'early' course that appears to have been constructed - rather than installed. Each hole is largely buffered from the others, which gives it a wonderful cloistered feel without being oppressive. Several fairways have established turf. Undoubtedly this adds to maintenance expense, but the trade-off in 'polish' seems well worth it, especially when compared to the standard wooded course, which are not as comfortable and often experience erosion issues. As mentioned earlier in this review, the course's amenities are superior, not only with respect to play, but also regarding the administration of competitions. When others totally dismiss Reedy Creek DGC, this reviewer feels they are largely spoiled, missing the point and more focused on their own selfish pleasures, rather than the larger aim of growing disc golf. The Reedy Creeks of the world are the wellsprings from which the Renaissances flow.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: Atreyu
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are lots of other activities at the park and there are often a lot of people out on nice days. A variety of shots required and two sets of tee pads makes it interesting, especially in the summer months with all of the greenery. Playing in winter with all the short pin placements makes it nice for trying to ace holes. Lots of elevation changes, a minor water hazard on #4, and the worn in trails are a plus.
Cons: Lots of newer players, university kids, and people out to get drunk/stoned. Rough to play after rain as it can get very sloppy. Possible to lose discs in summer months with all the undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but with other courses in Charlotte, it's not on my top priority list. (Idlewild, Sugaw, Eastway, Renny, Kilborne, etc...)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.