Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 230ft.   3 / 287ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee (Stout Layout)



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
23 years and it's still great.

1    2/5/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 49  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Reedy creek is a more isolated park in Charlotte. It's a great park that has everything you could ask for in a park. In fact, once you get to the entrance, you go straight past the dog park and follow the arrows where they point which way to take to get to the course.
-Nice, long teepads that are in good shape. I love the elevated one on #15 because it make it a fun, tough downhill shot. The course has two set of teepads on almost every hole. #7 doesn't and a few others dont but almost on every hole, there are two basket locations.
-Practice basket by the parking lot on your way to #1.
-Reedy creek has GREAT elevation and it's even better on the longer tees. For example, #2 has a sweet drop (-32) or so and #5 long has maybe (-36) which most players find it awesome to watch your disc go and go and go. Those aren't the only holes which great elevation. It's hilly but not RL Smith hilly.
-I remember some trash cans around the course. I think there was on the way to #1 but I don't remember a lot.
-The teesigns in my opinion are very cool and they are in good shape. Look at them closely because the baskets need new basket plates.
-The baskets are in good shape.
-I say #2 and #5 are fun teeshots but I love hole #7 as well. It's another ace run that is tricky if you don't throw a decent hyzer. If you are playing the original tees to short pins. A more straighter shot could get you closer to the long pin because it's a straighter shot. It happened to me.
-There were benches to sit on and for the older players, they are definitely useful (no matter how old they are) because walking up and down those hills will make you want to sit for a while. I am a teen and on #15 I needed to sit for a while.
-There is a hardees nearby and a bunch of other restaurants. Love me some buffalo chicken and a large soda.
Cons: -If you have read in the prevous reviews, you will find out that erosion is a problem, it's filled with limbs, roots and all that crap. Some things are in the wrong places, and It is trashed quite a bit and there are actually trashcans.
-The next tees signs were also trashed. Badly. I had a hard time telling if that is the way to the next tees that I was looking for. I will admit I should've brought a map and that's recommended for you people who read this.
-The basket plates were vandalized as well and they are not accurate on some baskets. Like prelube said, #14's basket was labeled as "17".
-Some holes are love it or hate it. For example, #11 is a dogleg right par 3 from the short and has a couple of long pin positions. I thought #11 was kind of boring although it is a bit downhill. There is a long position at about 420 and the extra long maybe 610 or so.
-The measurements are not too accurate, on most holes especially on #2 and #5, they say 180 on the short pins but really they were maybe 235". Some were believable and accurate but some should be remeasured.
-#6's basket wasn't numbered, I found the tee and eventually found the basket. It's another great drop in elevation, the hole is definitely no con but it outta be numbered on the basket plate.
Other Thoughts: Yes erosion isn't good and the baskets aren't all accurate and it's a bit trashed but c'mon! It's lots of fun elevation is magnificent, there are good chances for an ace especially on the short course (mainly #16) and by the time you play here, you will be glad you did. It's got great variety with a couple open holes (well sort of) and wooded holes, uphill, DOWNHILL!!!, and even doglegs. Honestly, I love dropoffs behind baskets and there are on both pin positions on #14. #14 is the make you or break you hole, it's a bit downhill and starts off easy and open but once you're in the woods maybe 220" feet, It's tough! The baskets are on a ledge with large dropoffs.
Overall in my opinion, there are several stand out holes #2 is a straight downhill shot and #5 is a bit similar but has two routes, one for sidearmers and a for right hand backhand throwers. Lefties will probably take the sidearm route. #6 has another straight downhill shot with a small ditch behind the basket, also the greatest use of elevation on the course (-40) It's really 380 or so, plays 260. #7 is a fun hyzer hole with a dropoff behind the short and if you leave it short on the long position, you have a tough jump putt. #13 is a fun anhyzer hole and the longest so it's considered the "monster" of the course. #14 is probably the best on the course which I just described and #18 is a great finishing hole but those are not the only fun holes on the course with the long tee maybe drops -40 feet, with the short pad, maybe -20. Play this course if you live in the Charlotte area although it was a long ride for me in Gastonia. It was a 40+ minute ride. It's more isolated so bring a GPS so you wont have a hard time finding it. Since the baskets are not numbered right, I would recommend watching the video of Will and Jake at Reedy creek so you will know the holes better.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Where I learned to play

5+    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the oldest in charlotte and is a very fun course to play.

It has two sets of pads. The shorts are very getable and the stouts will test your game.

The course goes through seasons where the baskets are moved in the fal/winter to short positions which make the course much easier and great for beginers. Then in the spring/summer the course is lengthend to make it more difficult. If you introduce a player to the game at this course in the winter/fall they will be able to learn in steps.

I love the technical yet getable design of the course.

Great teesigns, pads, benches and trashcans
Cons: Erosion, it is very bad here. The course is full of exposed roots.

It is an easier course within 5 min of Uncc so it is likely the most popular course in charlotte thus it has times of major backups.
Other Thoughts: This course is where I learned to play and I have a soft place in my heart for reedy creek. It is one of my favorite places to play even if it is a shorter course it is a great place to hone your skills.

It is often overlooked with all of the Major courses in charlotte but Reedy is well worth your time if you are visiting and it is close to many other courses in charlotte so you can get multiple courses in one day

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Aging but Solid

5+    5/1/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is in a regional level park with adjacent nature preserve; the total property acreage is about 750. Course is in rolling piedmont terrain with mature canopy and is sequestered completely from other park activities. Course is now almost 25 years old and reviewer has played this course early on, which may make it an interesting case. Reedy Creek is Charlotte's second iteration of the wooded piedmont style of course.

One may easily observe the effects of high foot-traffic and sustained community interest in developing the course over a relatively long period of time at Reedy Creek. The foot-traffic has made this course much more playable and its rough much less penal and over the years. Amenities, equipment and signage are all superior, although some may disagree regarding the Mach III targets. Tees are above average. Canopy blunts most play affecting winds. Course features completely separate returning nine loops with a dedicated shelter between the nines. Course looks and feels very well defined regarding the play paths and transitions; in contrast to wooded courses that are more 'raw' and which can often feel 'vague'. Undoubtedly this factor helps speed play, which can be quite brisk when course is not crowded. Reedy Creek probably receives the most play of any area course and is routinely crowded during peak seasonal hours. Play delays are not uncommon.

Billed as a 'beginners'' course, reviewer feels Reedy Creek DGC is one the best available venues to introduce someone to disc golf for the first time. Like many courses in the Charlotte area, straight flat shots with good fade control are highly rewarded (up to about 250'), but length off the tee is not critical here. Fair to average power is enough to score well, as the average hole length from the short set-up is about 260' for the 18. Lower speed discs will be very effective here. Course moderately favors stable counter-spin shot shapes off the tee and on the landing areas, (strongly so on the back nine), Back nine considerably 'tougher' than the front, in keeping with this area's 'unwritten' design ethos (an interesting aside: this area's next course, Kilbourne TPC features a back 9 favoring stable clock-spin shot shapes from the tee). Ample fairways and generous landing zones allow for 'fair' play. Plenty of recovery chances are available while scrambling. Course asks for mastery of all the basic shot shapes, except the roller game and uses the minor elevation changes enough to make the golfer continue to pay close attention. Also 'keeping it interesting' is two sets of tees and a minimum of 2 pin positions per hole, so the course is not inflexibly stuck in the past of rounded-shoulder style discs.

Greens are generally flat and open, with a handful of exceptions. Of note are the constructed features on the course, which appear to be largely a response to high foot traffic around the few highly sloped greens. These features control erosion and accentuate some greens while improving safety. Greens are neutral and balanced regarding spin receptivity overall.

'Fair' course, in the following aspects: generous average width of fairways, rewards for conservative play, appropriate penalties for size of throwing errors, few blind holes, overall balance, ease of 'seeing' trouble from the tees (or where to play), and limited ob areas. Course is also 'honest'. It lacks any 'perceptual' design tricks or extremely acute angles that must be hit to keep the disc in play (with the possible exception of #6 short tee).

#8 is the first area iteration of the now iconic straight flat tube shot about 300' off the tee, but since golfers (and arguably discs) have gotten better this 'first version' is only about 250'. This type of hole is so common in disc golf that the reviewer feels some special term should have been coined for it by now (like the 'Redan' in ball golf). Reviewer also feels this type of shot is the most difficult of all to consistently execute, especially as the distance required is increased, and this type of hole needs to be in the vocabulary of every aspiring course designer.

Reedy Creek DGC is one of this reviewer's personal favorites, largely because it shows high aim and forward thinking in its overall design. Course is an excellent candidate for Vintage/Super Class competitions. It is an 'early' course that appears to have been constructed - rather than installed. Each hole is largely buffered from the others, which gives it a wonderful cloistered feel without being oppressive. Several fairways have established turf. Undoubtedly this adds to maintenance expense, but the trade-off in 'polish' seems well worth it, especially when compared to the standard wooded course, which are not as comfortable and often experience erosion issues. As mentioned earlier in this review, the course's amenities are superior, not only with respect to play, but also regarding the administration of competitions. When others totally dismiss Reedy Creek DGC, this reviewer feels they are largely spoiled, missing the point and more focused on their own selfish pleasures, rather than the larger aim of growing disc golf. The Reedy Creeks of the world are the wellsprings from which the Renaissances flow.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: Atreyu
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are lots of other activities at the park and there are often a lot of people out on nice days. A variety of shots required and two sets of tee pads makes it interesting, especially in the summer months with all of the greenery. Playing in winter with all the short pin placements makes it nice for trying to ace holes. Lots of elevation changes, a minor water hazard on #4, and the worn in trails are a plus.
Cons: Lots of newer players, university kids, and people out to get drunk/stoned. Rough to play after rain as it can get very sloppy. Possible to lose discs in summer months with all the undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but with other courses in Charlotte, it's not on my top priority list. (Idlewild, Sugaw, Eastway, Renny, Kilborne, etc...)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My New Favorite!

1    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is outstanding, with a lot of amenities to offer to the folks you drag with you ;-) Even with all the non-DG traffic, though, once you're on the course you don't really see anyone but golfers.

The layout is great, with multiple tee and basket positions on many holes. Tee pads are great too -- I played immediately after a downpour, and the pads weren't that slick at all.

The course is a challenge for newer players, with decent distance and elevation changes. Plenty of trees, but nothing I really considered a 'poke and hope' hole (though #6 comes close!). Just make sure you hit your lines, because otherwise you're in for a LONG day.

Plenty of friendly locals who are willing to help you find alternate tee pads or let you know where the next hole is (#14, I'm talking about you -- see below). I also love the fact that the course returns to the parking lot after 9 -- I wish more DG courses would do this.
Cons: Had a bit of trouble figuring out where to go after finishing on 13 -- could use a Next Tee sign here, and pointing the way to #10 as well (one path off 9 goes to 10, the other back to the parking lot).

Be careful when you leave 5 headed for 6 -- you may end up walking out in front of someone trying to throw their drive on 6. I had no idea where i was going, and interrupted a group playing doubles in front of me (sorry, guys!).
Course gets pretty muddy after a rain, even a short-ish rain can make some fairways a bit mucky.

I honestly can't think of too many cons for this course. Just go play it!
Other Thoughts: Spent the weekend in Charlotte, but had time for only one round of DG, so I'm glad I made it to Reedy. The course is well-maintained and easy to navigate. I had a blast, and will DEFINITELY be back!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun day in the woods

2-4    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: DGancient
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I can see why this course has been recommended to me by so many players. While it is not an overly difficult course, it can be challenging - aggravating - rewarding - and just plain fun. The terrain plays as much a part of the difficulty of the course as the design of the holes. There is a wide variety of shot types necessary for this course. Trash cans are available on several holes. And there are plenty of benches to catch your wind. The signage is pretty accurate for being able to find the basket.
Cons: While the signs are good at giving an indication of the basket, sometimes it is a little confusing which tee is for which basket. Nor could I find any listing of when the basket locations change. The numbers on top of the baskets are confusing at times since more than one hole has the number 7 (or maybe it was a 17). The number plate could also stand to be painted a bright color - in the shade of the woods, it can be difficult to even see the basket much less the number letting you know which basket you are playing.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played this course enough to give a good description of the holes. But I can tell you that when I played today, the course was in great condition. The fairways are a little worn due to the years of traffic, but it was dry with plenty of traction (unless you happen to have landed on a steep part of one of the many hills).

I played the short course first. The yardage does not seem terribly different than the "stout" course on most of the holes despite what the signs say. However, there are a few holes where the trees that provide the hole to shoot through seem so close that you can't help but hit them. I had an easier time on the "stout" course.

I was genuinely surprised how many people were on the course at 11:30am on a weekday. Most of the players I saw seemed very familiar with the course and played very quickly. Too bad my timing wasn't better where I could ask for a guide.

One thing I really like about this park is they have put signs up making it easy to find the course. There is a practice basket behind the first tee. A great location for a practice basket. Hole 1 is a fairly simple shat from the short tee, just throw it hard with a little right fade. From the long tee, it it still basically the same shot but the angle changes just enough to add a bit of a challenge.

Hole 2 tee is easy to find. Just follow the well worn path behind the hole. A pretty simple hole to play, but it can be a challenge to see the basket due to the color of the basket in front of a backdrop of trees. This is a recurring theme for the rest of the course.

If you have not played this course, I would recommend waiting for another player to show up who can show you around (you probably won't have to wait too long for someone to show up). Play the short course first. After that it is pretty easy to find the tees and baskets for the long course - which you should also play. I liked the "stout" course better, but I got the impression that most of the players like to play the short course.

This course is worth playing. And then playing again. And again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tons o fun

1    4/18/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with moderate underbrush. Most holes have some kind of elevation change, and the hills are used extremely well to create fun and challenge off the tee and around the pin. Streams are also in play here, and make for some nice obstacles, especially with a couple risky greens that have water in play around the basket. There are two sets of concrete tees that often offer very different looks and add some variety, and two to three pin positions per hole that would really mix things up.

The course is pretty short overall, but it never gets repetitive. You'll need a wide variety of shots to score well here, birdies are definitely available but only if you can accurately shape lots of different lines through the woods. The underbrush is pretty beaten down, but there's still enough to punish errant shots on most holes. The signage is nice, and shows hole distance and layout from either tee.
Cons: The course obviously gets a ton of traffic, so it's very beat down with compacted ground and lots of erosion issues. There is quite a bit of trash scattered around in the woods. Because the course is older, it does play pretty short and doesn't offer much chance to open up and throw a real drive. It would be nice to have the pin positions marked at the tees, there are lots of blind shots and you have to walk up to see where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic par three course that is a nice change of pace from some of the tougher courses in the area. Beginners can have a good time here, it will challenge new players to stay on the fairway, but the distances are reasonable. More experienced players won't find it all that tough, it's mostly a putter and mid course, but it's a solid design that makes great use of the terrain to keep things interesting throughout the round.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grandfather of Charlotte

1    1/3/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun! A truly fun course that emphasizes finesse and creativity over power. One of the funner short courses I have played with plenty of broken in woods, elevation and lines to discover. My kind of disc golf as it is mostly wooded but with enough lanes to make for an interesting round everytime you play it. I really enjoy old school courses that can stand the test of time and this one does that well. Short layout and the more challenging Stout layout make for some remarkable holes. By far the funnest course in Charlotte due to addictive earned birdie looks and constant undulating woodsy terrain. Wooded enough to challenge your shotmaking but short enough to allow for exciting runs at the green. I love it when an old technical course stands the test of time and this one does and then some. I would imagine some old timers just carving up younger more reckless guns on this course and thats a good thing. Reedy never let me down and either offered an ace run or a surprise basket position or creative fairway that kept me cerebrally active. Even without the disc golf its a fun hike up and down in those woods. Overall just what the doctor ordered after a butt whooping at the Championship Courses in Charlotte. This and Nevin are the 2 I wanna play again in QUeen City. Nevin cause I want revenge after getting massacred and Reedy simply because it was so much damn fun.
Cons: It will not offer many longer holes for those insiting on par 60+ rounds. No true open field shots for grip and rip it folks. It's old and perhaps too popular as erosion potential and broken in do not begin to explain the circumstances here. I can't really smack the course much I have little negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Definetely worth a play if your in town to test your mettle against the tougher Charlotte Courses. As an out of towner I usually like to play the course that started it all in each region. From my experience these tend to be great courses and explain the popularity of the sport in such locales. Schenley in Pitt, South Mtn in Lehigh Valley PA, BlueMont in DC, etc. Sedgley in Philly, add Reedy to the list of perfect par 3 Hall of fame courses. I played it as my final course in NC and was glad I saved it for last...restored the smile to my face and reminded me why I love disc golf!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Charlotte Area Course

5+    3/7/2011   3/13/2011
Review By: Mpconrad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete tees, 2 sets of tees, Worn in, 2 basket locations on every hole even some with 3, well marked, nice elevation changes, no major water hazards, cross walks and not many park goers to deal with
Cons: Lots of players on a daily basis (slow play), Almost unnatural due to high levels of play and age of course ( muddy, eroded, trash) Not good for kids due to elevated tees and mud. and also kinda shady bad part of town
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If you skip it you'll be missing out

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2011
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The fact that this course was built in the late 80's and can still be played competitively with today's discs is an achievement. Most holes are 200-300ft, but are well designed to suit a variety of skill levels.

- Restrooms, benches, lots of garbage cans, concrete tee pads and a practice basket

- Of all charlotte courses this was the only one with maps at the kiosk

- Unique engraved tee signs.

- Several baskets on elevated ground and several elevated tees, very nice use of the available land and slight elevation changes.

- Some good risk vs. reward shots. If you overshoot on 14 or hang left on 15 you are screwed.

- Excellent course to take beginners with some experience. Best described as a solid Rec/Intermediate level course

- One of the few courses in the area that does not use discatchers, course uses DGA Mach 3.

- Favorite holes were probably 10 and 11 due to the creative use of elevation.
Cons: -There were some very minor issues with navigation and flow. For example, Basket 8 said 16 and 14 was labeled 17, also 18 ends in the middle of the woods with no signs on how to get back to your car.

- Very few obvious flaws, No safety issues noted, It just lacks the wow factor of Hornet's Nest and Renny.
Other Thoughts: - While it does not have the reputation of some of the other Charlotte courses, this is one of the first 3 I would take anyone too when they visit the Charlotte area.

- This course was not the most challenging in Charlotte, but it was the most fun due to solid design and little frustration, play this after Nevin so you can feel human again :).

- On most holes if there was 1 tee there were 2 baskets, if there were 2 tees there may only be one basket.
I would like all multiple tees or multiple baskets, but this is not a con since it does provide a change from the shorts.

Edit: I really wanted to rate this as high as Renny, but just because I had more fun here does not make it a better course...but it is pretty darn close

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.