Charlotte, NC 
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 298ft.   4 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway: Taken from the hill in front of the original tee. A blind down hill shot from the tee.



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: one of my fave courses in charlotte. reminds me of my home course a bit. nice and wooded, but fair. interesting shots for sure. if you don't have a huge arm for renny gold and charlottes web, play here. i always enjoy it.
Cons: not a championship level course. but i am not a top pro so i don't need to play those type of courses all the time.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hard but i liked it

1    10/16/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: mcannon246
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2010
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: nice course. challenging a good mix of shots. nice open fairways. clear paths and good launch pads. also good for sight seeing.
Cons: kinda a drive from the south Charlotte area but well worth the drive.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Reedy Madness

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid wooded course in your typical, nice Charlotte park. Very verdant and pretty and all that nature stuff to appreciate. All the basic stuff is here; big, smooth concrete tees, tee signs, benches, etc.

Playability: Impressive left to right variety in hole design and fairway design. Solid elevation, water in play occasionally. Fairly LHBH friendly, more than a few RHBH hyzer holes with just plain straight holes being the minority. Course is easy enough to navigate and as an added bonus there are course maps/scorecards available at the kiosk.

Very clean, well-defined fairways, amenities (bathrooms, etc)
Cons: Distance variety is limited to most holes being in the 200-300' range. Fairly short, even from the long tees for players above the noodle arm range. The course is very eroded on some holes but there are steps and stops put in to alleviate the problem and facilitate walking. Some holes have deceptively steep roughs that aren't apparent from the tee that could easily punish you with roll-aways, hole #3 on the left is a good example of this.

Be mindful of the pond to the left of hole #4. It's not directly menacing but if a RHBHanded thrower's turnover doesn't turnover you could be all wet.
Other Thoughts: Feels like: a Par 54, shorter Castle Hayne with elevation or a scaled down, more wooded Hornet's Nest.

Fave Hole: #5 Tees from up high then drops steadily to a creek below midway down the fairway, then rises just as steeply with the basket more or less eye level from the tee. I like holes like this b/c they kind of play tricks on your eyes.

Signature/Butt-clenching hole: Hole #14. An open tee that requires an anhyzer/FH into a wooded gap that has a steep downhill green that will punish with a roll-away worse than the ball the passed through Bill Buckner's legs.

Other neat holes: Hole #1. Gives you 2 distinct lanes to the basket, wish there were more like this on the course but alas, you are disappointed.

This is a really solid course and offers a little bit of everything that can appeal to all ranges of players. I can easily see why it's very popular. It wasn't very crowded when I played but I did happen to be the only discer with a bag so take that for what it's worth but it was pretty clean so the kids are alright.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Chesters Reedy Creek Review

1    3/14/2009   6/9/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course is a beautiful course and very challenging for the new disc golfers. This course is good for the players who want more of a challenge.
Cons: This course is kind of over wooded. This obviosly makes it tough. Many of the tees are some what hard to navigate unless you have a map.

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Tried & True

1    6/2/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carved out of the woods, each shot has its own specific fairway and while tight the layout is very fair. You don't get the chance to rip long drives much here, the course requires some finess & it's laid out nicely for a variety of shots.
Cons: It does get a lot of traffic. I learned on this course 20 years ago and it remains a favorite to this day although it's much more crowded these days. But that's what we want, right? We want folks to play and Reedy is short enough that it will bring in a lot of ams but don't let that fool you into thinking it won't be challenging for anyone at any level. Thanks
to multiple tee & basket combinations the course can be played differently. Reedy is always a blast.
Other Thoughts: I saw that Reedy had less than a 4 star rating and was afraid folks traveling into Charlotte might skip it. If you do you'll be sorry. For sheer fun Reedy Creek rates right up at the top of Charlotte courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great well rounded course!

5+    4/14/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: kurtzee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This being the oldest and most played course in the Charlotte/metro area, it's easy to see why this course is so high on the to-play-list. The course design/layout is incredible! There is not one hole that resembles another one. The course will test you on all of your shot skills (RHBH, side arm, thumber, tomahawk, and rollers).

This is a great course for beginners and experts alike. Its not TOO tight to frustrate the rookies, and its tight enough to keep the experts entertained.

All holes have multiple pin locations and multiple tee pads. there is a sign on hole #1 stating wether the course is layed out in long or short pin locations. And most of the signs show locations of pin A or B on the Original tee pad.

The tee pads themselves are in great condition. The Short pads don't make you feel like you are playing from the ladies tees if you want to have a nice easy round. But the Stout pads will give you more of a challenge on each hole. The Stout pads are very well designed as to add difficulty to the holes, but not so much to where its frustrating.

The course is well secluded among the rest of the park. you will have some people walking along the paths on holes #5 and #10, and the occasional cricket match on the weekends.
Cons: As everyone has said in their reviews.. CROWDED!!! to a new comer this can be a plus as to observe new techniques to start practicing. But waiting for your turn to drive is a high probability.

Some of the fairways are run down and can get a little dicey when it has rained.

There are a few of the chains that aren't marked with a hole number and doesn't have the yellow ring around the top, making it hard to see. But after playing the course for the first time on both short and long possitions, its easy to navigate. can be a bit confusing to find your way around at first.

Other Thoughts: This course is a great course to play for birdies. A lot of opportunities to make some great drives to put it close to the chains. I reccomend to bring a good attitude that wont be dimminished by hitting trees. And alot some extra time for waiting for fellow disc golfers.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    4/15/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: tank.brooks
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course for the beginners, and those looking to work on the basics. Wooded course, Multiple Basket positions, They change every now and then from the long position to the shorts.
Cons: not many opportunities for long drives, Crowded, Crowded Crowded.. its so close to UNCC that it is always busy.. be prepared to wait.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great hike, great course

1    11/24/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenge. Fun and lots of variety in the holes. Decent exercise as well, lots of hills and obstacles.
Cons: I don't remember the maps being very helpful, making it tough to find the hole sometimes.
Other Thoughts: When in Charlotte, check it out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A CLASSIC

5+    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: two tee pads per hole. lots of trashcans and benches. very nice park setting with everything you want in a course. up hill shots downhill shots, straight ahead shots. wooded feel to make it feel secluded
Cons: most of the the time its crowded, show up early in the morning if you want a round with no traffic. otherwise its a cluster f#@ck.
Other Thoughts: one of the best courses in charlotte when the pins are in the long posistions, good wooded course for all skill levels

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Charlotte Classic

5+    2/28/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee/basket layouts for good variety keep the experience fresh. The tees are concrete for good footing.

Fairway shapes have plenty of variety, with many right and left turning holes, and a few that have options for either. The use of topography here is also excellent, and adds to my enjoyment of the course. It's a wooded course, but isn't terribly tight.

You don't need a big arm, or even drivers to play the original layout, and it is a good place to try out super class discs, or take newer players just learning to throw golf discs.

For someone of my ability, there are lots of birdie opportunities, I broke par for the first time on this course.

Holes 9 and 18 bring you right back to the parking lot, so you've got options if you only want to play 9, or play 9 more, and it's nice if you want to stash something in your car, or if you forgot something you need to grab.

Being one of the busier courses around, there's usually someone friendly around to join you for a round. Even if you're playing here solo for the first time, the course is easy and straightforward to navigate with signs at every short tee, and a sign at the first tee stating long/short basket locations.

A practice basket is located along with a kiosk with course maps and scorecards directly behind the first tee.

There are lots of benches around, and trash cans abound, keeping up the parks clean appearance. Clean bathrooms are located right by the parking lot.

The beautiful park setting gives a secluded feeling on most of the holes.

There are plenty of other things to do at the park, including basketball courts, soccer/cricket field, softball fields, and a dog park.
Cons: Being the closest course to UNCC, it gets crowded, and you can expect to wait at a few holes.

The DGA Mach 3 baskets are difficult for me to see. Some, but not all, of the baskets have a round yellow number plate on top, which make them a little easier for me to locate. Mostly, though, the baskets just blend in to the surrounding trees. The last two times I was there, the outer chains on basket #16 were disconnected from the bottom ring, but it caught fine for me.

I didn't notice any signs at the long tees, but they're usually not very far from the shorts, so it's not a real big con.

Being Charlotte's oldest course, and with as much traffic as it gets, the soil on a lot of the course is not in the best of shape.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that I really enjoy playing. It's well worth the trip for a round, a must play whether you live in the Charlotte area, or are just visiting.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.