Charlotte, NC
Reedy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 350ft.   3 / 398ft.   3 / 398ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tried & True

1    6/2/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Carved out of the woods, each shot has its own specific fairway and while tight the layout is very fair. You don't get the chance to rip long drives much here, the course requires some finess & it's laid out nicely for a variety of shots.
Cons: It does get a lot of traffic. I learned on this course 20 years ago and it remains a favorite to this day although it's much more crowded these days. But that's what we want, right? We want folks to play and Reedy is short enough that it will bring in a lot of ams but don't let that fool you into thinking it won't be challenging for anyone at any level. Thanks
to multiple tee & basket combinations the course can be played differently. Reedy is always a blast.
Other Thoughts: I saw that Reedy had less than a 4 star rating and was afraid folks traveling into Charlotte might skip it. If you do you'll be sorry. For sheer fun Reedy Creek rates right up at the top of Charlotte courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great well rounded course!

5+    4/14/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: kurtzee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This being the oldest and most played course in the Charlotte/metro area, it's easy to see why this course is so high on the to-play-list. The course design/layout is incredible! There is not one hole that resembles another one. The course will test you on all of your shot skills (RHBH, side arm, thumber, tomahawk, and rollers).

This is a great course for beginners and experts alike. Its not TOO tight to frustrate the rookies, and its tight enough to keep the experts entertained.

All holes have multiple pin locations and multiple tee pads. there is a sign on hole #1 stating wether the course is layed out in long or short pin locations. And most of the signs show locations of pin A or B on the Original tee pad.

The tee pads themselves are in great condition. The Short pads don't make you feel like you are playing from the ladies tees if you want to have a nice easy round. But the Stout pads will give you more of a challenge on each hole. The Stout pads are very well designed as to add difficulty to the holes, but not so much to where its frustrating.

The course is well secluded among the rest of the park. you will have some people walking along the paths on holes #5 and #10, and the occasional cricket match on the weekends.
Cons: As everyone has said in their reviews.. CROWDED!!! to a new comer this can be a plus as to observe new techniques to start practicing. But waiting for your turn to drive is a high probability.

Some of the fairways are run down and can get a little dicey when it has rained.

There are a few of the chains that aren't marked with a hole number and doesn't have the yellow ring around the top, making it hard to see. But after playing the course for the first time on both short and long possitions, its easy to navigate. can be a bit confusing to find your way around at first.

Other Thoughts: This course is a great course to play for birdies. A lot of opportunities to make some great drives to put it close to the chains. I reccomend to bring a good attitude that wont be dimminished by hitting trees. And alot some extra time for waiting for fellow disc golfers.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    4/15/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: tank.brooks
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course for the beginners, and those looking to work on the basics. Wooded course, Multiple Basket positions, They change every now and then from the long position to the shorts.
Cons: not many opportunities for long drives, Crowded, Crowded Crowded.. its so close to UNCC that it is always busy.. be prepared to wait.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great hike, great course

1    11/24/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: jdjossel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Definitely a challenge. Fun and lots of variety in the holes. Decent exercise as well, lots of hills and obstacles.
Cons: I don't remember the maps being very helpful, making it tough to find the hole sometimes.
Other Thoughts: When in Charlotte, check it out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A CLASSIC

5+    3/15/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: two tee pads per hole. lots of trashcans and benches. very nice park setting with everything you want in a course. up hill shots downhill shots, straight ahead shots. wooded feel to make it feel secluded
Cons: most of the the time its crowded, show up early in the morning if you want a round with no traffic. otherwise its a cluster f#@ck.
Other Thoughts: one of the best courses in charlotte when the pins are in the long posistions, good wooded course for all skill levels

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Charlotte Classic

5+    2/28/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee/basket layouts for good variety keep the experience fresh. The tees are concrete for good footing.

Fairway shapes have plenty of variety, with many right and left turning holes, and a few that have options for either. The use of topography here is also excellent, and adds to my enjoyment of the course. It's a wooded course, but isn't terribly tight.

You don't need a big arm, or even drivers to play the original layout, and it is a good place to try out super class discs, or take newer players just learning to throw golf discs.

For someone of my ability, there are lots of birdie opportunities, I broke par for the first time on this course.

Holes 9 and 18 bring you right back to the parking lot, so you've got options if you only want to play 9, or play 9 more, and it's nice if you want to stash something in your car, or if you forgot something you need to grab.

Being one of the busier courses around, there's usually someone friendly around to join you for a round. Even if you're playing here solo for the first time, the course is easy and straightforward to navigate with signs at every short tee, and a sign at the first tee stating long/short basket locations.

A practice basket is located along with a kiosk with course maps and scorecards directly behind the first tee.

There are lots of benches around, and trash cans abound, keeping up the parks clean appearance. Clean bathrooms are located right by the parking lot.

The beautiful park setting gives a secluded feeling on most of the holes.

There are plenty of other things to do at the park, including basketball courts, soccer/cricket field, softball fields, and a dog park.
Cons: Being the closest course to UNCC, it gets crowded, and you can expect to wait at a few holes.

The DGA Mach 3 baskets are difficult for me to see. Some, but not all, of the baskets have a round yellow number plate on top, which make them a little easier for me to locate. Mostly, though, the baskets just blend in to the surrounding trees. The last two times I was there, the outer chains on basket #16 were disconnected from the bottom ring, but it caught fine for me.

I didn't notice any signs at the long tees, but they're usually not very far from the shorts, so it's not a real big con.

Being Charlotte's oldest course, and with as much traffic as it gets, the soil on a lot of the course is not in the best of shape.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that I really enjoy playing. It's well worth the trip for a round, a must play whether you live in the Charlotte area, or are just visiting.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/4/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Two sets of tees offer opportunities for varied skill levels.
- It is pretty secluded once you get on the course, and you almost feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, and it feels good.
- Lots of variation in elevation makes for some exciting shots. There's also a good balance of left bending, right bending, and straight holes.
- The hole lengths are good. They're short enough to reward a good/great shot with birdie, but the fairways are tight enough to punish bad shots. (Good risk reward).
- Concrete tees are always a plus in my book. These tees are a good size, too.
- There's a few open shots mixed in here and there to give you a break from all those carefully navigated wooded fairways.
- The tee signs were there on every hole, and very informative. They inlcuding lengths for all combinations of tee/basket positions.
Cons: - I played in the fall so the leaves were kind of a problem, but not a big deal or anything.
-
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a really fun time at this course. I walked away feeling good, even though I didn't shoot that well.
What I liked most about the course, though, was that you just felt like you were out in the middle of some uncharted woods.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Classic Course at Reedy

5+    1/16/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: That Chinger Guy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Very clean overall. Woods offer seclusion and peace within the park. Walking trails border the course. Nice, fun, course layout. Certain holes are very unique and offer exciting challenges.
Cons: Occasionally backed up on the weekends... Near UNCC which draws lots of visitors on days you may want to be by yourself IF your that kind of player.
Other Thoughts: This was my very first course playing disc golf. I quickly picked up the sport since and have claimed Reedy as one of my all-time favorite places to play. It's great for beginners and newcomers to the sport. Out of the courses I've played, Reedy still remains to be one of the most organized and enjoyable courses, despite any circumstance.

If you're looking for a good time with your friends, look no further! Reedy is CLASSIC

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fairest of the wooded Charlotte courses.

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Scorecard and maps available at the first tee. I like courses that think about the first timer or travelling disc golfer (such as myself). I do think ahead and print whatever I can about the course beforehand, but when I go out to new courses on the road I am on a mission, so many people will not think that up beforehand. This also helps the first timer local who does not know the course.

2) Basket positions listed on a sign at the first tee. It lists "baskets in SHORT positions". I like the standardization of this to leave all short positions for the winter, and all long for the summer, as opposed to the haphazard basket shifting I have seen on many courses.

3) There is a kiosk and a practice basket at the 1st tee area.

4) Garbage cans have lids on them that keeps any trash from blowing out, and also keeps the squirrels and such from entering the garbage. Imagine going to throw something in the garbage and a squirrel or racoon jumps up and latches onto your face. I might be afraid to go back to said course. This simple idea will keept hat from ever happening.

5) Pretty good cover on the ground. It is mostly 100% in the woods with very minimal turf areas therefore they rely on the leaves, pine straw, and mulch to cover the bare soil, since there is no way to grow turf in this dense of a wooded course. All in all it does a pretty good job of keeping the ground from being muddy and slick. You might actually suffer more from slipping on the pine straw than on the soil, but at lest it isn't muddy.

6) Very nice teesigns includes all of the needed info: Hole #, par, distance, all distances from both tees to both basket locations. There is a diagram also indicating the general lyout of the hole, something I value greatly on a tee sign.

7) Bridges are very well done and they do there job. They are safe and well put together and they do not show signs of shoddy craftsmanship as many courses tend to have (due to volunteer construction sometimes).

8) There is way more risk/reward on the long baskets. The shorts still have some basket locations that might create some spread of score distribution, but the longs have much more of that in play.

9) Overall the course has a decent variety in hole length. It has less 400' holes as some of the other Charlotte wooded courses making it the most accessible for more people, but it does have a decent variety. This will lead to different discs being thrown which is always a positive.

10) This course seems to be the fairest (some might think I mean easiest) of the densely wooded courses in the area. Charlotte has some incredibly tough and long wooded courses (nevin, hornets nest, renny) but this one requires the least amount of luck. You can shoot well here if you execute your shots and it doesn't take quite the precision it does on those other courses.

11) Well designed course with all skill levels in mind. Sure maybe a beginner wouldnt be "comfortable" here but it is a manageable course (at least as manageable as any course int he Charlotte area that I played. It would be a good step for a beginner golfer wanting more challenge, but who isn't quite ready to tackle renny, nevin, or hornets nest.

13) Dual pins and dual tees (on most holes). This is a great idea for multiple reasons. The first reason is variety of shot shaping is different based on the pins and also which tee you play. It also varies the length of the hole, which in turn varies the challenge. It also allows for a different course all the time. I am not sure if they stick to the long baskets all summer, and the shorts all winter, I am sure they mix it up, but it is nice to have an easier course setup for the winter when less people play, and you are not on the top of your game.

14) This course is the most wore in so it has very clearly defined fairways. I like this especially in a wooded courses because sometimes figuring out where the lanes are can be very difficult.

15) Dual concrete teepads are always a plus.

16) This course is far removed from other activities in the park although you might run across some walkers from time to time walking down the fairways or the occassional path thatintersects the course, but overall it isnt bad.

17) Excellent use of elevation on this course. This is a protypical Charlotte course with its elevation changes and its dense woods. Just what I consider to be awesome disc golf!

18) Very little undrebrush. Even if you get off the forgiving fairways by a little bit you won't have to worry too much about thorny vines or other such growth.

19) 18 solid holes of golf. As I said in the negatives nothing really stood out as that incredibly awesome hole, but there are zero throwaways on this course in my book, as so often happens on courses specifically due to routing or getting to another cool part of the property. This entire property could have disc golf weaved through it!!!!

20) Shelter and gazebo available for shelter and pinicking.

21) DGA baskets with yellow plate are the original course. The red normal #ed plates are the stout layout. Number plates are always nice, but even moreso when they face the tee like they do here!

22) Bathrooms near the parking lot.

23) Park has a nice variety of alternative things to do . . . horseshoes, playground, picnicking, volleyball, soccer, baseball, walking trails. This is always a positive especially if you are trying to play disc golf and keep the significant other happy too.

23) Next tee signs were helpful on 7 basket 8 tee.

24) All in all an enjoyable walk in the woods with or without the disc golf but it always makes it better!
Cons: 1) The course is definitely the most wore in. It has some areas where the soil is bare and has been worn down due to compaction and traffic. I didn't notice them to be too slick or slippery even after the recent rains they had, but it is still worth noting on course conditioning.

2) Unfortunately it looks like on Hle #1 the tree that was in the middle of the fairway has fallen down. i am not sure if it is by design or not but the mirror image shot down the right fairway still has the tree there. That creates a clear advantage to those shooting up the left fairway as opposed to the right. It isn't a huge negative, but it would be a better hole if both avenues had the same single tree in the fairway.

3) Stumps and roots are plentiful on this course and could cause you to trip and/or fall. Just be sure to keeo your eyes on the ground!

4) Lacks some of the challenge the other courses have. This can be viewed as a positive and a negative, but for this mention it is a negative. I have given the course props for being more fair and good for beginners so it gets two thumbs up for its challenge and 1 thumb down. Overall this nets out to a positive but I had to mention it here too.

5) Althought he course does have a couple shorter and a couple longer holes I think the variety could have been better handled. I would like to see some more holes in the 300-400' range and a couple more shorter acerun holes. It is the variety that is the spice of life as so many say, and some of the holes tend to be a little monotonous in distance.

6) I am listing this as a negative because for about 9 holes I though my car may be towed. There is a sign on the 10th tee that says violaters will be towed at owners expense. I am not sure what it is referring to, but because I got there before sunup I thought maybe I missed a sign that tells me to check in or to pay for park usage. So I played my last 9 holes in a hurry to try and beat whoever might be in charge of towing my car away. I still am not sure what it meant, the only thing I can think of is that parking by the 10th tee is not permitted and people may have done so int he past to get in a quick 9 or something.

7) Mulch could be used in a few spots to cover bare soil and handle some erosion issues. There aren't many places I would recommend this but around some of the tees and baskets it would be nice.

8) Apparently vandalism or breakins are a common occurrence. If you look to your left as you leave your car and head towards the 1st tee you will see the sign. It stood out to me even before I read some of the other reviews.

9) Course is known as the most played (probably for all the reasons I like the course), so it definitely will be crowded in summer and with lots of kids around.

10) No real signature holes, just a bunch of good holes. Nothing really wowed me (except my ace on #2 of course).

11) A few spots where directionals would help the first timer. Next tee signs would have been helpful on 5-6 and 9-10 for the first timer.

12) Long walk from 18 back to the lot, and if you are navigationally challenged you might not know where the lot is when you finish #18 so a simple sign would help here too.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great day. I got an ace on my second hole of the day, and thoroughly enjoyed my round at this course. I had a much easier time playing well here and was surprised by my scores (+2 from the longs, and -8 from the shorts (helped by an ace)). There are by far way less true par 4's on this course than the others mentioned which makes a big difference. Most of the holes are duecable with a well executed shot fromt he shorts, and the longs require a bit more length and a bit more precision. All in all a very well designed course that can accomodate a lot of differing skill levels. It is another awesome course in another awesome park for Mecklenberg County. I have said it in the other reviews that this is the county you want to live in if you love disc golf. There are all sorts of activities int his park and the course is 100% removed from civilization. I love walking through the woods and hearing nothing and seeing nothing. You do cross or pass a road here and there but they are all park roads with minimal traffic.

I have a feeling this course is rated 3.5 only because the other courses in the area are so awesome. I would be more than happy to play this course any given day of the week, in fact I only wish Milwaukee had some more courses like this. I have to give it a 4 because I do not think it is far behind the other more well known and harder courses int he Charlotte area. As an outsider I think it is a great course and like I said I would be happy to play it every day. I have given the course a 4 because I feel that given the two layouts and the two pads this course has some great variety. Sure I only got to play the short baskets, but I think the added challenge of the longs and I tried to pay attention to where they are, will only make this course better than its 3.5 disc rating it has overall.

I am not sure if I have said this before, but I almost feel like after playing all the awesome courses in Charlotte that I need to go and knock every other course I have played and rated down about 1/2 a disc. This is such an awesome town, with some incredible disc golf and I think if I were to retire and still be playing disc golf . . . I might have to come to Charlotte!!!! I like our WI courses but they just happen to lack that "thing" that Charlotte has. I will miss you, but I may make it a yearly stop on my winter trip to Florida!!!

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/30/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is not far from civilization but you feel like you are. Very clean. Multiple concrete tee pad are always a plus. I like the use of elevation throughout the course. The signs make it very easy to navigate. Benches, trash cans, and bathrooms are never too far away.
Cons: No real long shot. If you have a big arm it might not be used here, if you do not have a big arm bring your big arm friend and keep him in check here.
Other Thoughts: My brother is a lefty and I am a righty and sometimes you tend to see advantages for one of us on a certain course, not here. We felt like it was an equal playing field and there would be no excuses. This is a fun course that I am sure I will be back to in the future. It's definetely worth your time.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.