Disc Golf Store
Lawton, OK 
Cameron University Aggie DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aggiepi Hole #18 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
fun campus pitch and putt

1    5/28/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice signs with distance
-mach 3's and natural tees in good condition
-lots of fun ace runs
-layout flows pretty well for a campus course that plays between buildings
-perfect for students and rec players
-practice basket by the first tee
Cons: -all short holes, only 3 over 250' and only 1 of those is over 300'
-the usual obvious safety concerns of a campus course
-does make use of trees and obstacles present but there are pretty much no forced lines to hit
Other Thoughts: This is a fun but typical campus course. It makes use of the grassy lanes between buildings and the many small trees around campus to shape a round of nearly all ace runs. It is not much of a challenge for the experienced player but it is a good time and a confidence booster. I played my best ever round of 18 with a 42.

Every hole, except maybe 12 and 14, is reachable from the tee for most players as almost half the holes are under 200'. The course does a good job of mixing up straight, left turning, and right turning fairways. The holes do seem to get a little longer toward the end, apart from the last hole.

The obvious safety concerns of a campus course are present. The course is probably not safe or available for play most weekdays during the school year until late in the afternoon. There are lots of walking paths, roads, buildings, and other public areas that are immediately in play on nearly every hole. Pay attention and play responsibly!

A fun and appropriate course for the target audience, students and rec players. A better option for beginners than the other course in town, Elmer Thomas, which has lots of long holes and is better suited to more advanced players.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Short Course

1    4/9/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DGA baskets
Very well maintained
Good mix of left/right/straight
Accurate tee signs
Lots of fun Ace runs
Good course to practice with just mids and putters
Good course flow
Cons: Short course
Foot traffic can slow down play in between classes (waited several minutes at one tee until it was finally clear to throw)
Natural tees can be pretty slick after rain
Other Thoughts: Look forward to playing a night round up here once summer rolls around. Good course to take a beginner and teach them the fundamentals.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice pitch and putt

5+    4/17/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: berda15
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course on campus. Fun course where most holes are ace runs. Makes for fun competitive rounds for all skill levels. Good baskets, Mach III.
The best thing Cameron has going is lights that run the entire course for great night rounds and no worries of lost discs. Makes for perfect summer night rounds.
Cons: -Natural Pads
-Heavy foot traffic during weekdays

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short and Sweet

5+    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grounds on campus are maintained very well with landscaping and mowing. Baskets are in great shape. Tee box signage is very good and it is pretty easy to find the next hole. Short course but tricky placement of trees/buildings offers unique challenges. A great course for beginners and those looking to perfect their short game.
Cons: Since this course winds throughout campus, it can become congested with foot traffic at times. Best time to play is weekends or the summer. Some of the buildings are annoying and it feels like you are playing urban disc golf at times. Tee boxes are becoming worn out and can become muddy when it rains. I think they should look into concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: A great course and kept up much better than Elmer Thomas. It is hard to lose a disc here (unless you throw on top of buildings) and is great place to bring someone who is new to the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun! Short but Fun!

5+    12/18/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: Gabby608
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a blast to play. I have only been playing for about 9 months, and I don't drive farther than about 225' or 230' so the fact that this is a short course doesn't bother me. In fact, I have become much, much more accurate with my midranges and on upshots because of this course. For those that can throw 300' plus this would be a great course for a fun round with just a Buzzz or a Roc, and a putter.
Cons: Natural tee-pads are becoming a little beat up because this course does get played by students and Lawton locals on an extremely regular basis. There is traffic on sidewalks during the school day, but it really only affects play during the times between classes. This course is short, and for most players that have even moderate ability to throw distance it will seem like a pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Lawton, and you want a quick and fun round, play this course and you won't be dissapointed. I will take pictures the next time I go, and get them posted here. I think you need to see this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/19/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: fight4oku
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice short course that has a few technical holes with tricky tree placement

Good beginners/intermediate course that will help develop your mid-range game
Cons: Too many pedestrians with several holes crossing busy sidewalks

I highly recccomend playing this course in the afternoon/evening duriong the week as there will be too many students wondering around in the mornings
Other Thoughts: As an alumnus of Cameron University I would have loved to have had this course on campus as a student. I was truly surprised to see this when I came home for a visit

This is a really good course to get started with the game of disc golf, and is a really good course to work on your mid-range game

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.