Richland, WA 
James Lawless Park Share
Uploaded By: chevis Hole #12 (Taken 2/2014)
3 / 309ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wild West Golfing

1    12/15/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 29  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: *Wide variety of shots required.
*Good balance of distances and elevation changes.
*HUGE sagebrush (6-9' tall) makes for some interesting obstacles.
*New paving stone tee boxes and signs are a plus.
*Not crowded.
Cons: *HUGE sagebrush can also hide your discs.
*You will need spotters on some holes.
*A course map at hole 1 would have been helpful.
(I would print one before you go)
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Massacre Rocks State Park and Sister City (back 9) in the Pocatello, ID area. It is definitely not a groomed, grassy park setting, but that's what makes it cool experience. I like courses that make me think and this one does. I think I used almost every disc in my bag. I recommend dropping by if you're in the area.

Sandy Tee pads Are Tough On Your Socks!

1    9/1/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: James Lawless Park DGC sits on a long narrow piece of sloping property between a residential area and the back of a shopping center (Fred Meyers, Goodwill, etc.) The property is sandy and covered with a thick growth of sagebrush, some standing six feet or taller as well as well a few scattered trees.

The signs are very simple wooden ones having just a hole #. The baskets are by Disc Nation with the shiniest chains I've ever seen. Talk about Bling on the course!

I stepped up to the first tee pad and found nice patio blocks and thought, these will be great. How disappointing! Only # 1 had the blocks. The remainder were sand which was uneven and stuck to my already sweaty socks.

Playing on the sloping property gives the course plenty of opportunities for some nice downhill shots. # 4 was a nice little 228' ACE run.

# 10 is the most difficult hole on the course. It's a tough 308" uphill shot throw through a fairly narrow gap in the trees.

The course features a nice flow ending back near the street where you started.

A couple of the uphill holes are very short, in the neighborhood of 150' or less but that makes for some easy birdies.
Cons: The tee pads are bad. Right now, it's best to throw from next to many of them whenever possible.

It's hot, dusty with very little shade.

In late summer when all the plants were brown and dry, they were all prickly as can be. The course might be a little more inviting in Fall or Spring.

# 13 was a fun downhill throw but the basket was nearly impossible to see. It needs a long pole like they have use in golf to identify it.
Other Thoughts: The course definitely features some great little downhill throws but I was a little underwhelmed by the overall dry desert feel, prickly plants, sandy tee pads, no shade, etc. It's just not a very visually pleasing course! It has that vacant lot feel because, well, it is more of a vacant lot than a park. And beautiful views? The back loading dock of Goodwill is not quite my idea of a beautiful view!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Smells Great!

1    4/26/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice new course in the Tri-Cities, Wa area and a nice compliment to the other 2. This course plays along a hill behind Fred Meyer in Richland. There is a wide variety of holes with good use of the elevation available.

My favorite feature is the sage brush. While usually not much of an obstacle, the sage brush here is up to 6 feet tall and 8 across. There are a couple holes that require fairly accurate drives to a clearing or you're trying to throw out of tall brush. There are also a couple bands of trees that have holes play through or around along with some fairly straightforward up or down hill holes.
Signs are well done and placed.
Cons: This is a new course and apparently they have plans for rubber pads(city won't allow hard tees) but are not in yet. Tees are dished out soft sand that are very tough to throw from. Safer to throw beside them for now.
No garbage cans, bathrooms, benches, or other amenities of a more mature course yet but I expect to see these improvements as time goes on.
Other Thoughts: This is a very promising start to a course and I look forward to playing it more. When we were there the sage and wildflowers were blooming and it was the nicest smelling course I have played yet.
Will be hot in the summer with little shade so make sure to have water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

western course on a hill

5+    12/2/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: chevis
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -heavy chained baskets w/#s on top
-tee signs & paver tee boxes
-good course design/flow. back & front 9 end in ~the same spot.
-mixture of holes with different shots needed. throwing the tunnel on 2 & 15 takes accuracy & you can throw full throttle on 7 (though I have put it over the fence on the far left once).
-elevation. fun to throw down from 9 & 13 and challenging to throw up on 10 & 14.
-mixture of short & long holes, though most are on the shorter side with the longest being 419ft.
-limited other park users & generally not crowded.
Cons: -no restrooms
-no maintenance
-limited shade (bring your water & sunscreen in the summer)
-no alt tees/baskets (yet)
-no onsite course map (use the one here)
Other Thoughts: I am really glad this course got installed in the city I live in, now I can ride my bike to play :). The course map found here shows 6 going out along the road, but it was changed & is now a real short uphiller (too bad, throwing along the road was a good pucker factor). The two short holes (<200ft-6&17) play uphill, but are still fairly easy (always nice to have birds on the scorecard). In the summer there is going to be a lot more foliage to contend with, so I have a feeling there is going to be a lot of looking for discs when everything is @ full growth. The course is a hike, so handicaped & baby strollers will have a tough time. Though it doesn't offer much senic beauty, it is an overall fun course that I get my best scores on compared to the other 2 courses in the tricities.
Enjoy the sagebrush.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Balanced Course

1    3/22/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: Jodabro
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: Every hole has a signature feel.
Both long and short holes.
Friendly to all skill levels.
No Water hazards to loose discs.
Great layout.
Calf workout.
Cons: No trash bins yet.
No bathrooms. (although lots of businesses near by)
Not really stroller friendly.
Could be hot in the summer, open areas may not be shaded well.
No cement pads yet.
Other Thoughts: Once trash bins and pads are in, I would move the rating up to a 4.5. I loved playing this course, and it has the rugged outdoor/hike feel I like in a course. The rec arms can compete with the big arms on a lot of holes, which I think is great for the sport to grow.

SWEEEETTTTT!!!!!

2-4    3/22/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maybe a 4.5, This is tons of fun from start to finish. Short, gnarly, HEAVY brush. Got a few technical shots, lots of obstacles. The thing I like most about the obstacles is they aren't usually huge, but they make you shoot higher than you are generally used to. Slight and subtle alterations of your game. Hill-side shots, some open field shots, several down-hill hill into brush (6-15 foot sagebrush, tumbleweeds, etc..) A couple of of tunnel shots, although those aren't so bad. Tee two - just call it "The Trap." Getting out from the tee is the main concern. Love 17 - if you miss and bank left, kiss your par goodbye. Course plays fast. I even liked the sandpits for tees. Fun hikes, beautiful views.
Cons: Not many long holes. Tees are a little short. Lost a disc on 16. This course isn't in my home-town.
Other Thoughts: Trash barrels. Get 'em. Please.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.