Richmond, VA 
Gillies Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 7/2008)
3 / 299ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lots of Potential

1    11/11/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DG stuff: Concrete tees, solid mix of open/wooded holes, some decently long holes to offset the slightly short ones, all requiring a mix of shots.

Amenitites: Parking 20 feet from first tee, bathrooms and trashcans on site, nice park, DG board @ 1 with club info and map drop, picnic tables.
Cons: Navigation here is weak, as are hole markers. Lots of trash and pretty busy course.
Other Thoughts: So...I'd always heard that Gillies was garbage, because the guy I play with that taught me had always heard that Gillies was garbage. Today, I FINALLY talked him in to trying it out (he'd never shot it,) and we couldn't have been more surprised. This course feels a lot like a short 9 crammed in a city park, yet somehow, there are 18 decent holes out there. We played with a mix of big drivers and short throwing beginners, and everyone had a great time. This is a really fun course. That being said, the only thing this place is lacking is some TLC and signage. Luckily the park was busy and many locals were out...without them, I'm not sure we would have been able to follow the course. The concrete tee pads are spray painted with the hole number, but the paint is faded. Also, when the concrete was originally poured, rocks were inlaid to designate the hole number. The holes have changed though, so you may be teeing off on 10 according to the paint, but the stones might say 8. Go with the faded white paint. Also, there is no posted map, and no signs at the top of the holes. For the most part, this is a non issue. Most of the baskets can be seen from the tee, or the lanes are clearly defined. The course crisscrosses at times, and a couple shots could be dangerous with traffic, as you might be shooting up a fairway that's opposite another one coming at you. Also, 18 plays down the side of the road, so watch for traffic. This is still a fun course, and I recommend making it out. If this place had tee signs and "next tee" labels, it would be money. Also, first tee is NOT by the club board....it's literally at the corner intersection next to the stoplight. Have fun...it's really an enjoyable course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gillies Creek

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked it. Simple course, good layout and had some challenging shots. Good pads, could use a little better signage, but overall a good course.
Cons: Location isn't great. Needs a little better signage. No really long holes and no "spectacular" holes like some of the other local courses.
Other Thoughts: I'll play it again. Nice to take a day off and hit the big 3 in richmond. Bryan, Dorey and Gillies.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing

5+    5/3/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very close to downtown Richmond.

Fun 18 hole course with concrete tee boxes, and changing positions.

Cons: Course is still difficult to navigate at times, even after playing many times. Near the end of the course you run into a lot of close together holes which can become congested when crowded.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but Uninspiring City Park Course

5+    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: ishelost
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gillies was the original Richmond Park and its heavy use shows, for good and bad. For positives it has good, if a little short, concrete tees, which is a rarity in courses around here unfortunately. Gillies also has a nice mix of open and wooded holes, with 1 - 6 and 10 pretty clear and the others more crowded. The course is also pretty well worn in, with little significant rough. Therefore, the risk of losing discs is not oppressive. The baskets are in good shape and are moved occasionally for variety. Although overall the course is fairly short there are a few air it out holes early in the round. Also, the course does not favor any one throwing style due to a mix of doglegs. In most setups the course is very easy to navigate. Parking and play are free. The course has good benches and many tees are located next to each other, which leads to more social interaction with other players but also a few backups when the course is crowded. This course is definitely growing on me and I think anyone living in Richmond or other locales should give this course numerous tries. However, If you are only stopping through Richmond and can play but one course it should not be Gillies.
Cons: The course is not much to look at. The course is well designed but the creators did not have too much to work with. There is very little elevation and no water (except for a mostly dry creek to the left on hole 6). The course is packed in tightly so check for players on other holes before you let one go. As the title of this review suggests this course is well built, designed, and maintained, but it will not make anyone say "wow" or inspire a newbie to obsess over our great sport. Finally, the park is not in a great neighborhood and I would not suggest playing there at dusk without at least a few other friends, ideally ones who can fight back. Two guys who were playing got mugged there a few months ago.
Other Thoughts: I just played the supercourse setting for the first time yesterday and it raised my expectations and opinion for this course. I have always had some difficulty with it even though it is not that hard and perhaps that is clouding my review. Richmond old timers love this course and play it primarily. League is played here every Wednesday at 6 and I always run into people I know when I play here. I think my appreciation for this course will only continue to grow. This is truly a locals course. Every hole is birdieable. All praise River City Disc Golf Club

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gillies Creek

1    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety, some nice wooded holes you won't find at Bryan Park, short course - good for those of us without canons, but decent accuracy.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time today with my 12 year old son. I'd not read the reviews, so I wasn't aware of the "bad neighborhood" and didn't really notice it while there. Luckily, there is a Wednesday night league, and we were able to talk to many regulars who helped us find our way around. The course is so poorly marked we accidentally threw hole 12 after hole 3. Without the friendly help of the league players, I might have given up.
That said, it is a decent course, fun to play if you know where you are going. But as a visitor to Richmond for only one week, I much prefer Bryan Park. But I do like the wooded holes at Gillies Creek - something that is sorely missing at Bryan Park. Not recommended for players who don't know the course unless you go during a time where there are other players around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gillies

5+    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gillies is a great course. It's the first course I ever played on and I still play here often. It has a good mix of open and wooded holes, and lots of interesting shots are required throughout the course. There are uphill shots (#6 is great but watch out for that nasty creek), downhill shots (#9), tunnel shots (#11, 18), etc. There really is a bit of everything here. While the holes aren't particularly long, there are plenty of trees around that make them difficult to reach par on. Many of the holes have pesky trees right in front of the teepad, and trees come into play on every hole except #3.
Cons: The most noticeable downside to this course is the lack of any signage. This really only presents a problem for first timers - the teepads are confusing because they have numbers on them from a previous course layout. If you are playing here for the first time I recommend trying to get someone to show you around, or follow somebody.

Gillies is a technical course - there are some opportunities to air it out, but overall the course requires more finesse than it does power. I enjoy the variation, but if you prefer a longer course I would recommend Bryan Park.
Other Thoughts: The varied holes provide a nice contrast to heavily-wooded Dorey and the longer, more open Bryan Park. If you're passing through town, I would definitely recommend stopping by and playing a round - so long as it's at a time when other people will be playing the course to show you around.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Inner City Course

1    2/7/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open throws. Baskets and concrete Tee pads.
Cons: Near Impossible for first time players (Visitors). The concrete tees are poorly marked and in some cases improperly marked. Some holes nearly overlap. Trash all over the place.
Other Thoughts: Ok, To be fair, Gilles Creek is a nice 18 hole DG Course if all you are concerned with is baskets and throwing, but if you want an entire DG experience (Fun atmosphere, nice setting, good hike between throws) I feel it falls short of other area courses Bryan, Dorey, White Bank and Goyne offer 18 baskets in far better shape and with far better flow. I must mention again, that for a player coming here for the first time it was almost impossible to navigate this course. We needed to rely on the kindness of a pair of players in front of us. I titled this as Inner City Course, and that it is...to the letter. The tee pad on Hole one is part the street corner, and if your forehand goes too far right you will be hitting a car! Litter can be found everywhere on the course. One of the other reviews mentioned it being in a rough neighborhood, but when playing on a Saturday afternoon it seemed great. Looked like a neighborhood on the rise, families and people out everywhere. I know Gilles is well known and beloved by locals, but remember I reviewed the course as a first time visitor and to be honest it was somewhat disappointing. Sure it has baskets and is in a park, but there are nicer places and courses with a lot more to offer nearby. Thus the average score.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 2nd place richmond course

5/27/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: smowen
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course. 2nd best in Richmond I'd say. All par 3. I've played the course about 30 times now, and have liked it a lot since the second time I came and knew where I was going on each hole.
Cons: The course is a little hard to navigate your first time and is a little short. The concrete pads are short in length (I like to take off from a little further back on the 2 longer holes, but the pads are raised too high so it would make it awkward to take off from the dirt behind them.)
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes: 5: nice downhill open shot. 9: down hill to the left wooded shot. 18 - a little longer left turn alley shot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.