Richmond, VA 
Gillies Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 7/2008)
3 / 299ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Character, Challenge, but tiny

2-4    8/31/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Stud Muffin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: >Cement Tees - A treat in the Richmond Area.

>18 holes with character. You can tell this course has been played a LOT. You can see the lines for the disc to travel, the trick is, finding out how to make the disc travel that way.
Cons: >Small, short, and confusing at times. The course runs all over itself. [This could be a +, because 18 here feels like 9 elsewhere.]
Other Thoughts: This is an old course. That is a personal feeling, if you like old or not, I find it neither a negative or a positive. Very tight shots, no holes really over 300'. Still, a fun course to play.

#1 tee pad is the street corner. [No Joke!]

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Semi-Confusing

2-4    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: Tom.Jones
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Relatively decent length holes, not many places to lose a disc, permanent tee boxes, a variety of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Confusing to find certain holes as the markers on the holes are correct though hard to read from a distance, but the tee boxes don't all say the correct number - around holes 9-15, each tee box was numbered for a holes that had preceded it going in another direction.
Other Thoughts: It seems as if Richmond Parks n Rec had recently switched some of the holes around in order to eliminate the cross-fire in the middle holes, but hadn't yet gotten around to re-labeling the tee boxes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly good city course

2-4    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: CMS8
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout of the course in a relatively small area.
There are a few wide open or mostly open holes, a few with some trees, several holes through the woods but with clearly marked fairways, and some pretty tight fairways. Something for everybody.
Concrete tee pads.
Close to downtown Richmond.
There are some extra old teepads and baskets, I guess from a previous course layout, that you can use for practice or just some extra holes.
Over the winter of 2008-2009 they cleared out lots of overgrown vegetation, which really opened up several holes and probably will prevent some lost discs and very obstructed shots out of the woods.
There are port-a-johns near the hole 6 basket and over by the sports fields.
Cons: The park is on the edge of a marginally sketchy part of town, there's lots of trash on the course, and it can feel a little run down. But the course design is still very good.
If you haven't played here before you'll likely have trouble finding your way like I did the first time. There are some old tee pads with the old hole #s laid in the concrete with stones. You should usually ignore these. When you play Gillies Creek for the first time try to hook up with somebody who knows their way around. The first tee is on the concrete sidewalk at the intersection of Williamsburg Ave and Stoney Run Rd.
Other Thoughts: Some of my friends don't like Gillies Creek due to the trash and general run-down feel of the area, but I think that the course is so good that I can look past the cons and have a great round.
Overall the course is on the short side. Players with control have the advantage over the big arms here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play with a crowd!

5+    4/1/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: Wundrkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of pros. For a beginner, each hole teaches you something different. Whether it is how you throw, or where to throw, or how certain discs are going to throw. I would definitly recommend the course to everyone who plays, just bring a lot of friends with you.
Cons: Location. Everyone reviewing this course says the same. Everytime I have played I have been left alone, but i still wouldnt expect the same result everytime. The course is located just outside a pretty shady, government housing development. I have heard of people getting robbed or messed with on many occasions. So far I have never been bothered.

Oh yeah, and that creek on 6 is disgusting, haha. I never landed in it, but when I do, I might just leave the disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Dont let cons keep you from playing though. My suggestion would be just to play with a crowd to ward off any "maybe's".

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.