Waupun, WI 
WARP DGC Share
Uploaded By: DJdarkness73 Hole #7 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 Great technical course

5+    3/19/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: Flyin Fox
Played: 48  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 pins and 2 tee pads per hole
Great use of what little elevation there is
Only course in the area that requires controlled technical shots
Very wooded which means no wind
Cons: Spring time makes the course very wet
Puddles around tee pads and baskets on 7&8
Mosquitos are bad in the summer
Other Thoughts: I would consider this an A-tier tournament worthy course if it had a full set of 18 holes similar to the 9 that are already there

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Warp

5+    3/18/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: dill
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee pads are excellent size shape and surface texture are perfect
Two pads and two baskets per hole make 4 tons of different course selections make 4 tons of different course selections
Cons: The course has some puddles in spring
Other Thoughts: The course is very God for such a small town I think it's better than a lot of big town courses that put a lot more money into them if you have time you have to play it.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great tech course

5+    8/17/2015   8/18/2015
Review By: Earl Jackson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -two pins on every hole (hole 4 is in the works)
-red and blue pads offer 2 unique looks on most holes
-a great mix of anny and hyzer shots
-superb tee pads
-9 mach 5 pins
-signs are detailed and accurate
-lots of ace runs
-no wind...ever
Cons: -signs are only on the short pads (signs for the . long tees are being planned)
-very little elevation
-no long bomb holes
-rough can be unforgiving at times
-9 holes
Other Thoughts: I first played this course right after it was first opened and I have to say that it has come a very long way. Over the last few years it has really grown on me and it's now one of my favorites. This is a very technical course so it really favors the control player vs. the hulk arm. It is probably the best course for a windy day that I've ever played. Ive been out there on days where there was 30 mph winds and it due to the fact that 95% of the course is in the woods it doesn't effect your disc at all. Over all I would highly recommend this course. As far as 9 holers go, it doesn't get much better.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun and technical

1    6/4/2015   6/5/2015
Review By: Grinder12000
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not really a "thinking mans" course as there is to many random tree hitting. More like which of the hundred trees will I TRY to miss. Fun course with many alternative shots. I WOULD have given this a 4.0 but a couple CONS (see below).

But 7 holes are wonderful with an assortment of left/right/straight shots and trouble everywhere.

It's a short course so put the driver in the bag.

I won't repeat what others have said. Sort of redundant but a course you really should check out and is evolving with more and more use. The group that is in charge of the course have the shit together for sure!
Cons: OK - It's so much easier to point out a few flaws but don't take it like I dislike the course. I've designed a number of virtual ball golf courses in SIM Golf and when the SIMS start finding short cuts that is a problem because the course is not being played as designed.

There are a couple holes where players with course knowledge go off course and I think this is a design flaw. Both offending holes are hard HARD doglegs which make no sense to me as you are almost forced to go off course or make weirdo right angle 70 foot shots.

The problem is that if you were there alone for the 1st time you would never know to make those "through the woods" blind shots on #2 and #9.

Those are the only design flaws but seriously, this course could have 36 different layouts with the number of permanent tees and baskets. Well done.

Oh - dare I say - mosquitoes. I did not see any but that kind of environment is mosquito friendly.
Other Thoughts: this is the 4th year for the course and it is evolving and will get better and better with age. It will open up with more traffic tromping around and the people in charge understand what is needed.

NOT your cookie cutter course and is fun and challenging from a technical stand point - bad shots are penalized but still playable. I don't anybody as ever having a boring round which is key to fun. Well done

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 6/11/2015 Designer Response by: Awol
We appreciate the review!

As with any course, the locals will find their own paths, regardless of design.

No local route on the course is without it's dangers, and all but the highest level of player will be taking a risk on the local route(s). Ask any of the locals, they will tell you about the time they ended up with a Bogey or Double Bogey instead because they hit a branch and then they were fighting back through to the fairway / basket.


2-4    5/30/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 231  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are two sets of tee pads on each hole except hole 4. These are all level, grippy and nicely sized. There are also two baskets on each hole except hole 4. This is only the second course I've seen with 2 pads and 2 baskets other than Brickyard in Menominee. This really makes a course so much better with the vast amount of options on each hole. The signs here are top notch. There are very large with an awesome detailed map on each short tee pad. It shows the location of each tee and both basket locations as well as distances for all set ups and the par. The course is heavily wooded making for a challenging round. The baskets are yellow and orange and really stick out in the thick woods. The course is free and up year round which both are bonuses. there are also campsites right by the course which would be cool to play some night rounds.
Cons: When we went there were numerous spots with standing water up to 6 inches deep in places. Hole 9 is a ridiculous dogleg left that is basically impossible to par from the long set up. The rough is pretty brutal on most holes so make sure you really watch where your throw went. I also would think the bugs would be bad in the summer months. though theres nothing they can do about this.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course that is worth playing if you're anywhere in the area. I really wish more courses had the 2 basket/2 tee set up. This really ups the fun factor. I'd recommend this course over any nearby course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 6/1/2015 Designer Response by: Awol
Thanks for the review!

Unfortunately the area around 7 & 9 are the lowest points in a pretty large area, so it can collect water after a big rainfall. (3 1/2" of rain in the last week!)

By Sunday's league at noon it was still wet, but playable. I expect by Tuesday it will be damp, but walkable in almost all of the course again.

Quick edit - and in regards to 9, it is a par 4. One to the corner, one out to the open area, one approach, and one putt. It isn't easy, but if all we wanted was easy, we would have left the baskets over in Tanner Park!

Nothing special but not bad.

2-4    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice wooded course with plenty of tight shots and right doglegs throughout. There was a challenge factor there for my first time playing the course even though the holes seem fairly easy once learned.
Two tee's for each hole and two possible pin locations give this 9 hole course quite a bit of variety.
Though there is quite a bit of rough if you miss the fairway, it was still fairly easy to find your disc. But that could also be a result of it being fall and not as thick as earlier in the year.
Cons: Only one pin and it's not always in the same location throughout the course. It switches between red and yellow quite a bit, with no marking at the tee as to which location it's in. Not a problem other than there are many blind tee shots so you have to walk the hole first to find out which pin its in.
Though there are two tees only the closest tee to the basket has a sign at it. Not too bad but for a couple tees it would be very nice to have one at both locations.
There are no markings at the basket pointing you to the next hole, only on the tee sign. Backwards from what would be most convenient. Even with that finding the next tee wasn't that difficult.
My only true 100% downside to this course are the baskets. They are Innova disc catcher, i believe. Having never played with single chain baskets before it amazed me how much less they caught, and how much more spring is in them to toss your disc back, than with the mach 3 and 5 baskets I've played on at other courses. In just the 18 holes I played so far I've already had 3 puts pushed off that would have caught on the double chain baskets.
Other Thoughts: Although this was a fun course it was not fun enough to make my list of favorites. I would play it again sure but I would not go out of my way to make sure I went there regularly.
January 9th update: the people in charge of this course setup seem to be very hands on and open to suggestions. It is a very big upside for this course. Making me reconsider my visitation frequency of this course, and going more often to give better constructive comments both good and bad.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/21/2014 Designer Response by: Awol
Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback!

We put the next tee signs (and some OB/Mando) up on the problematic holes in late September, probably a week or two after you had played! Still a work in progress. Basket notation is our Winter project and will be coming next Spring.

  Great afternoon in the woods

1    5/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: KnexFour
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful location in the back woods of Waupun. Don't show up with sandals because you will be trekking through the woods! Good variation of long straight, short bendy, and all else in between in just 9 holes. Surrounding park area is a great place to spend all day, especially with the upcoming aquatic center that is opening soon. Each hole has two concrete tee pads that are very nice. Signage is also very visually appealing and easy to follow.
Cons: Not the easiest beginner course, but I'm a beginner and didn't lose any discs, so it's not that hard but be prepared to do a little disc hunting if you can't throw straight like me.

The woods isn't a place for pansies, but there are a lot of prickly plants and burrs if you go off course. And the woods have bugs.
Other Thoughts: Bring a few beers, there's plenty of trash cans around too!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Technical

5+    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: DJdarkness73
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course that will require some thought before each throw. If you don't have a good forehand or anhyzer this course will force you to learn one.
Cons: The rough is getting better but is still filled with thorns. A few more years and some more traffic will help a lot.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Other reviews have done hole by hole analysis so not much need for me to repeat.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Positive in the works

2-4    10/24/2013   2/26/2014
Review By: Lavis
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really love playing in the woods. All 9 holes were well marked and for a new course I didn't have to wonder around looking for the next tee pad. The onsite camping and playground were a big plus for my wife and minie. I love the challenge of it and the place had an all together good vibe.
Cons: None. Love it! But if any it would be the beggers lice (stickers) that covered me. But thats my bad for hucking out of bounds so much.
Other Thoughts: I'm looking faward to helping make this course better this summer and plan on volunteering time and tools!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Overgrown

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Kimando
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Signage was excellent. Wish they could have been on the pro tees as well.
Cons: Extremely overgrown. Errant shots just off of the path meant you are standing in prickers and burrs. Design of course could have used more of the natural terrain than what it is set up as.
Other Thoughts: With how much brush and weeds you get tangled up in, it loses any sense of fun playablity. Maybe the course will open up after its been walked more, but for now its really rough.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.