Waupun, WI 
WARP DGC Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Am Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nothing special but not bad.

2-4    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice wooded course with plenty of tight shots and right doglegs throughout. There was a challenge factor there for my first time playing the course even though the holes seem fairly easy once learned.
Two tee's for each hole and two possible pin locations give this 9 hole course quite a bit of variety.
Though there is quite a bit of rough if you miss the fairway, it was still fairly easy to find your disc. But that could also be a result of it being fall and not as thick as earlier in the year.
Cons: Only one pin and it's not always in the same location throughout the course. It switches between red and yellow quite a bit, with no marking at the tee as to which location it's in. Not a problem other than there are many blind tee shots so you have to walk the hole first to find out which pin its in.
Though there are two tees only the closest tee to the basket has a sign at it. Not too bad but for a couple tees it would be very nice to have one at both locations.
There are no markings at the basket pointing you to the next hole, only on the tee sign. Backwards from what would be most convenient. Even with that finding the next tee wasn't that difficult.
My only true 100% downside to this course are the baskets. They are Innova disc catcher, i believe. Having never played with single chain baskets before it amazed me how much less they caught, and how much more spring is in them to toss your disc back, than with the mach 3 and 5 baskets I've played on at other courses. In just the 18 holes I played so far I've already had 3 puts pushed off that would have caught on the double chain baskets.
Other Thoughts: Although this was a fun course it was not fun enough to make my list of favorites. I would play it again sure but I would not go out of my way to make sure I went there regularly.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great afternoon in the woods

1    5/24/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: KnexFour
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful location in the back woods of Waupun. Don't show up with sandals because you will be trekking through the woods! Good variation of long straight, short bendy, and all else in between in just 9 holes. Surrounding park area is a great place to spend all day, especially with the upcoming aquatic center that is opening soon. Each hole has two concrete tee pads that are very nice. Signage is also very visually appealing and easy to follow.
Cons: Not the easiest beginner course, but I'm a beginner and didn't lose any discs, so it's not that hard but be prepared to do a little disc hunting if you can't throw straight like me.

The woods isn't a place for pansies, but there are a lot of prickly plants and burrs if you go off course. And the woods have bugs.
Other Thoughts: Bring a few beers, there's plenty of trash cans around too!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Technical

5+    5/29/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: DJdarkness73
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical course that will require some thought before each throw. If you don't have a good forehand or anhyzer this course will force you to learn one.
Cons: The rough is getting better but is still filled with thorns. A few more years and some more traffic will help a lot.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Other reviews have done hole by hole analysis so not much need for me to repeat.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Positive in the works

2-4    10/24/2013   2/26/2014
Review By: Lavis
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really love playing in the woods. All 9 holes were well marked and for a new course I didn't have to wonder around looking for the next tee pad. The onsite camping and playground were a big plus for my wife and minie. I love the challenge of it and the place had an all together good vibe.
Cons: None. Love it! But if any it would be the beggers lice (stickers) that covered me. But thats my bad for hucking out of bounds so much.
Other Thoughts: I'm looking faward to helping make this course better this summer and plan on volunteering time and tools!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Overgrown

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Kimando
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Signage was excellent. Wish they could have been on the pro tees as well.
Cons: Extremely overgrown. Errant shots just off of the path meant you are standing in prickers and burrs. Design of course could have used more of the natural terrain than what it is set up as.
Other Thoughts: With how much brush and weeds you get tangled up in, it loses any sense of fun playablity. Maybe the course will open up after its been walked more, but for now its really rough.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Potential is there

1    7/19/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: 2chainz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded and challenging and you get a chance to work on tight throws with small fairways
Cons: Overgrown to a point that really becomes too frustrating to play. Also the pro pads do not have the hole info on them so it causes you to walk all the way to the am tee and then walk back to the pro tee. Holes were very short and some terrible doglegs that didnt make sense made the course not fun.
Other Thoughts: Bugs and thicket were just too bad to give this course worth anything.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/26/2014 Designer Response by: Awol
It is a heavily wooded course that has been open for about 6 months. Damp summers mean more bugs in Wisconsin.

If you want a more polished course, come back in a couple years once we have had a chance to beat back the forest more. The course is open, but we are far from done.

Diamond in the Rough

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: roclover
Played: 143  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenge: This course is a true test of your skills! This is a predominantly wooded course with some real touchy lines that will help you fine tune your accuracy or pay with unforgiving rough. Just a standard Hyzer/Anhyzer will not get you the birdies you need. You have to have some soft turn over shots, flip up hyzers, stall shots, power anyhzers, side arms and basically everything you can think of to score well here.

Tee Pads: Great flared/trapezoid tee pads are installed well with plenty of room for a full run up.

Beautiful wild life: I saw several white tail deer during my rounds and also quite an array of bird life including a wood pecker and hawk.

Punishing Rough: This is both a pro and a con. I list it as a pro, because I for one like to know that if someone, myself included, throws an errant shot they won't be able to just lay up for a par and move on. If you go big and mess up, you're pretty much guaranteed a bogey unless you have some kind of incredible roller/overhand shot up your sleeve. Personally, I like this because it increases the score spread, separates the field and adds to the "Risk/Reward" factor that everyone loves.

Signage: The brand new signs installed this past weekend look amazing! They are absolutely huge, accurate and are so pretty you almost hate to think about them being left outside in the elements.

Garbage Cans: There were garbage cans on almost every hole from what I saw, and I didn't see any litter!
Cons: Punishing Rough: Like I said both a pro and a con. The problem with the rough at this course is that it isn't just rough; it's a jungle out there! I'd definitely recommend using spotters your first time out and keeping a close eye on your throws. I know there are plans to eventually wood chip the rest the fairways/greens, but currently weeds/tall grass are quite prevalent and will eat your disc if you aren't careful.

Bugs: While they weren't as bad as I expected, they were definitely still there. I would definitely armor up with some good bug spray before your round and maybe consider wearing pants to keep the bugs and rough from hurting your experience.

No Bomber Holes: If you want somewhere to just "grip and rip" this isn't going to be your favorite. There are some longer holes here (400-500 ft) but they emphasize accuracy over power. If you just let loose and kill it, you're probably saying goodbye to your disc forever.

Growth in the Fairways: There are several fairways on the course where weeds/grass have punched through the wood chips and if you're unlucky can hide your disc. This is very fixable, and I know that WARP has plans for a prison crew to come out several times over the next several years to lay more woodchips throughout the course. In the meantime, I took the liberty to pull some of the weeds as I played and encourage any other avid golfer to do the same. With increased traffic and minimal help from every group we could clean up these fairways substantially.
Other Thoughts: Hole Analysis

I'm a dominant RHBH player who also uses some RHFH for shorter shots under 350 ft. This analysis is from long tees to short pins except on hole 3, which was long to long.

Hole 1: This is a great opening hole with a signature green. It's about 270 ft, but plays a little bit longer than that because there's kind of a low ceiling and the green sets at the top of a small hill. For me, this is a real nice beat roc shot. I throw my beat KC pro roc down the middle of the gap and let it finish to the right with a nice soft turnover. The gap you have to hit is about 25-30 ft wide and probably 200 ft away from the tee. Most of your putts are going to be about 25 ft and uphill unless you have a great shot that manages to clear the hill. This would be a great lefty hole and also a great sidearm hole if you have those shots as well.

Hole 2: Hard dogleg right hole. It's deuce able with a great anhyzer/overhand shot through the trees, but be prepared for the worse if you hit a tree and drop into the rough. I played it safe with a short sidearm from the tee giving me about a 70 ft jump putt to a protected basket.

Hole 3: 300 ft tunnel shot with punishing rough on the left and the right. I hyzer flipped a roc and had a putt, but was about 35 ft short. It seems to play a little longer than 300 ft because there are a few low hanging branches that create a low ceiling shot and the long grass tends to catch your disc before it can finish its flight. Once the weeds and grass are cut and chipped I think you could slide a midrange up to the basket, but next time I think I might try a leopard.

Hole 4: Short super tight tunnel shot. Only about 185 ft long, but dead straight with very little wiggle room! You have got to throw a pure shot here, or you'll 4 this little gem. I used my stand and deliver approach technique to score the deuce, but I'm sure next time I'll miss the line and take a 4.

Hole 5: Super tricky turnover/anhyzer shot. This is an old-school Barry Schultz style 360 ft leopard turnover shot. You need to get the disc out about 200 ft, hit a small gap and then have it turn from 12 o'clock to 2 o'clock and hold that line! If you either turn it over to hard or let it fade out you're in the rough. This is a true woods hole. There is the option to play it safe and lay up to the short pad and then play a 230 ft sidearm to get your 3, but even that is easier said than done.
NOTE: This hole has a long placement that looks sweet too and I can't wait to play it. It's about a 500 ft wooded "S" shot that definitely plays as a legit par 4.

Hole 6: Another tough hole. It's about 260 ft long turning slowly to the right. There are multiple trees in the fairway that make you choose a shot/line and commit. I still haven't figured out which line I like the best here. Some are better for side-arm while others are better for turnovers or anhyzers. I seem to be able to give myself a putt, but have never parked this hole.

Hole 7: 230 ft tunnel shot with the basket placed on the right side of the green. This is probably the easiest deuce on the course, but if you go for the ace, you're likely to turn it over to hard and catch a big guardian tree. I like to just throw the straight shot and take the 15 ft deuce putt.

Hole 8: Closest thing to a "bomber hole" on the course. It's the widest of all the fairways and plays 340 ft slightly downhill. Even then, it's deceptive. It's a bit of a tricky angle off of the tee and you can't throw any one straight line, but have to work the disc. I finally found success with a tee-bird "S" shot, but imagine there are many ways to play this hole.

Hole 9: Hard dogleg left hole. Similar to hole two, but opposite dogleg and longer. I once again played for the 3 here, but I can imagine that with a high risky hyzer you might have a chance at getting close enough for a long putt. It's great finishing hole that emerges from a small wooded tunnel back to the more open grassy area near the parking lot as your journey reaches its end.

Final Thoughts

I love the variety and challenge of this course and am very excited for WARP and the work they've done here. Congratulations guys, this was a great project. This course is definitely a work in progress/diamond in the rough, and like any new course is rough around the edges and needs to be broken in. I used to go walking in these woods and very rarely saw anyone else here. Now, with the added course, I've seen multiple groups playing and enjoying the course including several young families. I hope that everyone who plays can have a great experience here and also hope that people can help work to make this an even better course. Please help keep the course clean of litter, do a little weeding on your round and feel free to trump through some of the rough to thin it out. In time, with help from everyone and WARP's continued involvement I believe that we will have a top 10 nine hole course here. Please support this project by donating time or money to WARP so they can continue to revitalize our parks.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Finally, real disc golf in Waupun.

1    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: Keithzilla
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Awesome array of shots - Even with 9 holes I used every disc in my bag. hard doglegs, tunnel shots. If you need to fine-tune your game, come here.

*Easy access - Even without signage in the park, the course was really easy to find. It's right off of the road.

*Camping - The closest course that offers on-site camping (I think) is Token Creek in Madison. Bring the family for a weekend, enjoy the city and the park, play a round or two of ball golf (the country club is adjacent to the park.), do some fishing in the creek that runs next to the course (does not come into play) and walk from your campsite to the course. There are literally sites a few yards from a couple of the holes. This will be even better when the aquatic center is completed. What an amazing family weekend.

*It's beautiful - Even with construction continuing on the course, it's really nice looking.

*Pet friendly - I took my dog with me (leashed, please do the same) and he loved exploring while I threw. I believe the camping is pet friendly also.

*Great flow - Each hole is different than the last. This 9 holer offers more than most 18 hole courses do.

*Navigating is a cinch - There is a long woodchip trail that takes you from hole to hole. With one exception (between 5 and 6 I think) the course was incredibly easy to navigate without signage (which is coming) and with most of the holes being blind from the previous basket. UPDATE 9/4/13 Signage is in, it's beautiful, and its incredibly accurate. The signs are HUGE and bright. They look great.

*Variety - I know I said variety already, but seriously, the variety here is great. The point I want to make here is the difference between the tee boxes. If you played AM tees, then PRO tees, it would feel like you played an 18 hole course.

*Utilization of underused space - I know this doesnt pertain to disc golf so much, but my favorite thing about disc golf is how easily it provides entertainment in areas previously neglected by the public. Another good example of this is Zoebel in Green Lake. I've never seen anybody besides maintenance workers in this area of the County Park, and soon it will be filled with frolfers.

*Location - I touched on this already, but what an awesome location for a course. Camping, playground, hiking, fishing, and ball golf (and a large aquatic center soon) steps from the course. Resturaunts, groceries, hardware, and drinking establishments (don't kid yourself, frolfers drink) all within a mile. camp here and enjoy one of about a dozen other courses within 20 minutes, a couple of them being championship quality (Zoebel). A++ on location.
Cons: *Baskets - My biggest complaint about the course is the basket quality. They're the baskets that were previously in Tanner Park. I don't know a ton about baskets, but these appear to be old Innova Discatcher baskets with only 1 set of chains. No inner chains means less grab means these baskets will spit out some great putts. hopefully some day they will be upgraded.

*Parking - Parking adjacent to the course is scant. if the park is busy it will be hard to find a spot to put your car while you play. That being said, there is a big parking lot in the park, but it's a hike from the course. UPDATE 9/4/13 The adjacent parking lot has been upgraded with more sensible parking lines. with 90 degree parking many more cars can fit in the parking area. Big upgrade!

*First Hole - You can see the #9 basket from the road, but the #1 tee boxes are inside the edge of the woods. Future signage will help, but I think the placement will make hole 1 difficult to find for first timers. definately not a biggie.

*Potential for more - There is some under-utilized space in the area of the course, especially between #6 and #9. I have no complaints about the holes, and I'm sure funding was tight, but I wish permanent tee boxes had been delayed for the last few holes until funding could be secured for 3 more holes. Natural tee boxes for these holes would have allowed for rearrangement in the future to accomodate a few more holes. It can still be done, but now the freedom to make the holes however you would want them is gone unless you tear out old tee boxes. I will touch on this more in my next con.

*Not enough holes - Hey, this is a great course. My hat is off to whoever designed it, seriously. That being said, I have lived in Waupun for 2 years and one thing I crave is an organized group of players that play together for leagues and have club events in town. This is much more possible with a 12 or 18 hole course. I think Waupun has the player base for a league, all we need is a course big enough to accomodate it.

*Big arms might be disappointed - Obviously the designers couldn't help it, but this course lacks that "bomber" hole where you just wind up and fire it from your cannon.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course I look for when me and friends take a disc golf trip, with on site camping, nearby courses, and amenities near by.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: Awol
Thanks for the review!

Reusing the baskets was necessary to keep the course affordable. They are probably my least favorite aspect of the course as well. Once we get some signs up and sell some more hole sponsorships, we might be able to ask WARP or other community organizations to help us replace them in a few years. For now they're not awesome, but adequate.

See my response to star doggy for why we had to go 9 vs 18.

Super 9 hole

2-4    10/26/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great 9 hole course, one of the best I've played. I believe they took the 9 baskets from what was loosely called a course in town and applied them here. The layout is great, and I can only imagine it's even better when the leaves are on the trees. The Am tees aren't the toughest, but they are still interesting enough. My favorite holes were 2, 4, and 9. 2 is a 90degree dogleg right and takes a skillful shot to have a chance for birdie, even from the short tee. 4 is a really nice tunnel shot. 9 is a full U-turn that could easily be considered a par 4, even from the shorts. The tee pads are really nice trapezoid concrete, which are nearly identical to Tendik Park in Saukville (which is a good thing).
Cons: Obviously this is a very new course, as walkways aren't clearly defined as of yet. There is also no signage, so navigating your first round is a bit of a challenge. My main complaint, though, is that this is only 9 holes. I know there are space constraints with the nearby campground, but if they'd put in another 9, I'd drive the 45-50 mins quite often. If this were 18 holes of this quality, I'd probably give it a 4.5.
Other Thoughts: This is really a gorgeous spot. We got there, and there was a woodpile about 50ft to our right that had a large hawk sitting there watching us. Hole 4, we were standing on the tee and a deer came wandering out of the woods and right next to the basket. Freakin' awesome. We actually stopped here because Zobel was closed (our fault for not checking the site!!) and we were on our way to Beaver Dam. I will say we found an absolute gem, which will only get better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: Awol
Appreciate the review!

18 would be awesome, but we have some protected wetlands to the North, and the forest to the East is a natural area (See http://dnr.wi.gov/topic/Lands...ex.asp?SNA=51for more info)
We decided that doing 9 awesome holes was the best choice for the land we had to work with.

Nice upgrade for Waupun

1    9/30/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Banging Chains
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 holes that easily play as 18 with the long and short tee's. Play the first 9 short then play the next 9 from the long and you have a full 18 hole course as the tee's offer different lines and not just more distance.

The first pro for this course is the upgrade from the Tanner Park course, it nice to see a course with some thought to it. So special thanks to WARP (Waupun Area Recreational Project) who helped financially make this course happen and to Keith and Ryan for building a successful course.


1. The long tees requires you to pick and hit your line.
2. Great looking course through a nice woods.
3. Baskets are in great shape
4. Good Variety of shots, making you think about your line at pretty much every tee.
5. Short Tees are a good chance to practice some mid-range shots and great for beginners.
6. Course has good flow and loops back to parking and tee 1
7. The best part of the upgrades over the last year are the signs! I have played over 50 courses and have never seen such beautiful signage. Well Done!

Hole #4 is by far my favorite, It tempts you to ace run at it, but if you go long your into thorn trees. Now there is a risk and reward shot for you.

Another part of this course that you won't find in lots of review, is the Culture of the disc golfers that play here.
The course is clean with no vandalism. Play a tournament and get a chance to meet the guys who put in the hard work to make a sweet course.
Cons: This is a course in the working so the cons should work themselves out, at which time I will gladly raise my rating based on how the course works then. (Which was re-reviewed on July 6th 2013)

1. The roughs are very rough. Going off the fairway can be rewarded with a long look to find your disc or on holes four a big set of thorns. But this is also apart of the risk and reward the course offers.

2. Not much you can do about this either but being in dense wood you will have lots of bug! But grab the DEET and hit this course.
Other Thoughts: If your in the Waupun area hit this course!
I plays well and is a lot of fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: Awol
Thanks for the (first!) review!

See my reply to stardoggy for more info regarding 9 holes vs 18 holes.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.