Disc Golf Center
Auburn, NY 
Emerson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 337ft.   3 / --   3 / 287ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice setting

2-4    7/4/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful setting on the northern end of Owasco Lake.

First half plays through a well manicured gassy area with big trees.

Some good holes with big drives that need to be accurate.

Clean park and not crowded

Good baskets

Nice breeze from the lake

Front nine is beginner friendly
Cons: Unrealistic fairways on the wooded holes.

Poison ivy on the wooded holes

No elevation

Last hole is unplayable when soccer games or practices are in session.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course that would be fun to play a quick nine after work, or a casual round with friends.


1    10/17/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: Emerson is a clean well maintained park. The disc golf is away from most of the other park activities. There is a mix of open and wooded holes. The navigation to the next tees were easy enough without a map. There are tee options for each hole. The long tees are concrete and the shorter are natural and have markers.

Other Pros:
- views of Owasco Lake
- not crowded while I was there
- pond in play
- mature trees as obstacles but not too many
Cons: The course has very little elevation. The wind off the lake becomes a factor too. Those are just part of the location but worth mentioning. The biggest con would be if there was a soccer game going on because hole #17 plays over the corner of that field.

Other Cons:
- tee signs do not map the pin
- short tees are not as nice as the longs
Other Thoughts: The finger lakes area is a beautiful area to visit. I enjoyed this course but I wasn't wowed by any particular hole here. Many holes will work your technical game especially if the wind picks up. It's worth playing if you are nearby.

 Across the Lake

2-4    12/12/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very fun and technical course. There are a good number of tree's on the course that make it difficult. Cement teepads are nice.
Cons: A lack of tee signs and the three poor holes in the woods.
Other Thoughts: overall I enjoy playing this once a year. If your in the area and want to play its not a bad choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two 9's

2-4    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
Pros: Excellent signs and tees. Surprisingly technical and challenging course. Front and back 9 are very different which is great to avoid a repetitive feel for the entire course. Both accuracy and distance are utilized throughout. Many pins are well guarded by trees. Great mix of open and wooded holes, birdie opportunities and double bogey blowup holes.
Cons: Drainage was an issue on many holes and much of the front 9 was very similar from hole to hole. Somewhat difficult to tell which basket you are supposed to throw at without walking halfway down the fairway. A couple of the wooded holes on the back 9 are crazy hard because the lanes are so small with trees everywhere, but the second time I played them I was much better and appreciated them more. They are challenging, but not impossible making them still alot of fun.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't seem too intimidating at first glance, but by the time your round is done your score is not what you envisioned. The back 9 plays so much harder than the front 9. Nice use of the pond and drainage ditches as water hazards. A highly technical course overall. Very fun.

 Front and back: Day and Night

1    9/4/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
Pros: Great contrast between a relatively open, easy front nine and a brutal back nine through the woods.

Nice cement tee pads for the yellow tees.

The course is well-maintained, and scorecards/course maps are available.
Cons: No tee pads for the two shorter tees, which are not marked very well.

Hole 17 features a downhill shot over the corner of a soccer field, which might be a problem if it is in use.

The back nine can be discouraging to even the most persistent players, as it features tight blind shots on a couple 90 degree fairways.
Other Thoughts: While playing the front nine, I thought it might be too easy to give it a good rating, but then the back nine punched me in the face.

 Should have played the red tees

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, with clear tee markers and beautiful big signs with the distance from each tee.
Front nine is a "Field of Trees" - great for practicing your accuracy.
Back nine is a mix of open field and wooded holes, with some wicked turns and a couple of holes where a pond comes into play.
Cons: Course can be confusing first time out even with a map.
Lack of variety on the front nine.
Yellow tee on Hole 17 plays over the corner of a soccer field and may not be playable if a game is on.
No pars on tee signs
Other Thoughts: Looked to be a couple of mandos on holes 4 and 13 but no indication on map or tee signs.
I played tee 10 to basket 11 and had to replay after finding 10 tucked in the woods. Battled mosquitos on a cold wet May morning - could be pretty buggy in summer. I played from the yellow tees and this course kicked my butt - i'll play from red next time out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and Tight wooded holes. Included are a couple of good pin positions around a pond. Rollers probably will do well except in the woods. I enjoyed the course and would like to go back again and play. Fair to both righties and lefties and even if you don't throw far you can compete.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.