Disc Golf Store
Auburn, NY 
Emerson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 394ft.   3 / --   3 / 344ft.   3 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Pro Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun course

2-4    8/23/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: - The course really has two different feels to it on the front and back 9 which keep it interesting. Then you get out of the woods for some open shots to end the round.
- Nice concrete tee pads
- Decent signage
- A good mix of shot selection is required. L>R, R>L, wide open bombs, tight, technical shots.
- The pond shot is very well done. ~225 hole (~210 carry or less if the pond is low) simple hyzer shot with a small landing zone right at the pin. There is an option to play it conservative to the right (at the cost of a longer putt but more room for error) for those who don't have the accuracy to go for the otherwise easy 2.
- Not much chance of lost discs. The ditch/creek comes into play on several holes but is easy to retrieve from. The woods for the most part isn't so thick that losing a disc is a threat. The pond is the only real danger for a lost disc.
Cons: - Hole #12. I'm not sure what they were thinking with this one. It is a 360' wooded par 3 with a 90* turn left dead in the center. The first half is VERY tight and restricted with little room to make the corner (without a lot of luck). There is a bit of a landing zone at the corner but it is still ~180' out and fairly tight to the pin. I played this in a tourney and everyone either played the lay up to the LZ for 2 180' NAGS or tried for the hero route and ended up worse. There is very little risk/reward here with the angles provided off the tee to go for even a reasonable look for 2. I don't mind challenge - but there is just no risk/reward there.
- Hole 4 is played with an OB creek/ditch ~10' wide starting just to your left and straight down the fairway. There is also a double mando ~100' out with 1 tree on the left of the ditch and the other on the right (although away from the bank a bit. The pin is across the ditch on the left so it isn't an issue for a RHBH throw as any straight to fade shot that makes the mando should be safe. For lefties though making the mando may leave you at risk of fading back into the creek. It just seems odd that you can make the double mando (enough of an obstacle by itself) and be punished with an ob shot landing in the ditch.
- When I played we had just had unusually nasty rain the day prior but there was a ton of standing water (large, shallow puddles) throughout the park section. This may not be an issue normally but I thought it was worth mentioning as I saw other reviews with standing water as well.
- Hole 17 will be unplayable if soccer games / practice are going on as it throws over the fields.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed my time playing this course. Going from the park setting which is a very well manicured park with the obstacles being several mature trees to the tight & technical back 9 and then ending with a pond shot & some open bombs is a nice mix.


5+    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Ernie4
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alot of trees so you can really hone in on accuracy other wise your going the wrong way. Shorter holes that allow for newer players to par a few.
Cons: Trees like to mess your shot up. Not too many open shots available only but a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Course is good for experienced and non experienced players

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice setting

2-4    7/4/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: Johnny Betts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
Pros: Beautiful setting on the northern end of Owasco Lake.

First half plays through a well manicured gassy area with big trees.

Some good holes with big drives that need to be accurate.

Clean park and not crowded

Good baskets

Nice breeze from the lake

Front nine is beginner friendly
Cons: Unrealistic fairways on the wooded holes.

Poison ivy on the wooded holes

No elevation

Last hole is unplayable when soccer games or practices are in session.
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course that would be fun to play a quick nine after work, or a casual round with friends.


1    10/17/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: Emerson is a clean well maintained park. The disc golf is away from most of the other park activities. There is a mix of open and wooded holes. The navigation to the next tees were easy enough without a map. There are tee options for each hole. The long tees are concrete and the shorter are natural and have markers.

Other Pros:
- views of Owasco Lake
- not crowded while I was there
- pond in play
- mature trees as obstacles but not too many
Cons: The course has very little elevation. The wind off the lake becomes a factor too. Those are just part of the location but worth mentioning. The biggest con would be if there was a soccer game going on because hole #17 plays over the corner of that field.

Other Cons:
- tee signs do not map the pin
- short tees are not as nice as the longs
Other Thoughts: The finger lakes area is a beautiful area to visit. I enjoyed this course but I wasn't wowed by any particular hole here. Many holes will work your technical game especially if the wind picks up. It's worth playing if you are nearby.

 Eminently Decent

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: cdamon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice setting. Most of the holes are in a grassy tree-filled park. No crowds - I was the only player on a Monday afternoon. Baskets are in good shape, and the course is well-maintained. Great place to practice controlled drives.
Cons: Many of the holes in the trees are similar, and are not great holes. Since the trees are pretty dense, the fairways aren't obvious. You start your drive on its way through the first gap and then hope for the best. Tee signs do not have graphics of the hole, so pins can be hard to find. The handful of holes in the dense woods are borderline silly.


2-4    2/8/2013   2/8/2013
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is littered with mature trees on the front nine. The back nine has nice lanes through dense woods. Fairways are well taken care of while throwing from a concrete tee pad is always nice.
Cons: a hole on the back nine has a 90 degree turn in the middle of the fairway. I think they could have used that space for that whole a little more creatively.
Other Thoughts: good time with some great disc control

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Leisurely, Yet Challenging

5+    10/18/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a well-maintained grassy park, with many trees and a small wooded section. It offers challenging fairways, yet easy walking:
* beautifully maintained park - clean and manicured
* concrete long tees and marked shorter layouts
* family friendly - great beginner course
* easy walking
* several low ceiling shots, left turns, right turns - does not seem to favor any particular shot
* long tees are clearly marked
* wind can often be a factor,which adds challenge
Cons: There are a few shortcoming, nothing major. The entire park is mowed, so there is not high grass/low grass to help shape fairway. Also, the trees are random, and while plenty of them, there are few defined edges.
* most fairways are not well-defined
* shorter tees are not as clearly marked
* no hole maps on tee signs
* Hole 18, while a nice open bomb, plays across a soccer field - you will have to skip if there is a game
Other Thoughts: This course sets in a section of a large public park that is on the east side of Owasco Lake. This means wind, which adds a nice challenge. The entire Finger Lakes region is beautiful, so I enjoyed the ride to and from the course as much as the round itself.

The front nine play through the grassy areas of the park. The back nine has four holes that play through the woods in the back, requiring risk/reward decisions. I played this course as a "rest stop" on my way to a vacation place. So, given that context, I enjoyed the easier walking attributes of the course.

It is a fun course to play. It will require shaping lines and good placement, but does not punish you terribly for a mistake for the most part.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short but challenging

1    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: Short, compact course that can be completed fairly quickly. A bit of variety adds to the character. The trees provide plenty of shade for hot summer days and the lake provides fabulous views and a cooling breeze.

Cement tee pads for the Yellows are a HUGE help. The give you a good spot to throw from and also "point" you in the correct direction for the basket if you are not sure where it is.
Cons: Several of the holes on the back 9 through the woods are VERY tough. You will often only have a 6-10 ft wide window to throw through. If your disc doesn't fly straight through that narrow window you could be in for a pretty high score for that hole. A better course map or small maps at each hole would be helpful for those here for the first time.
Other Thoughts: I actually liked the course I just didn't like the round that I had. Having just played a great round at Emery Park and avoiding the trees there I more than made up for it today. When even a tomahawk throw hits a tree no wider in diameter than 3" you know today isn't your day (and that happened twice!).

Better to go conservative and accurate on many of the holes than to try for long distance. Two accurate throws will often between you in position at a shot for par on most holes as the distances from tee to basket are on the short side.

... and can anyone explain the color scheme for the tees? Why is Blue shorter than Red and why is Yellow the longest? It would be nice if they followed the PDGA standard colors.

 A tale of 2 courses

1    6/18/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on near the Owasco Lake shoreline in a large park. The disc golf course is separateed from other park activities so yuor round won't be interfered with by other park users. Nice concrete tee pads. Grass on fairways is mowed and well maintained. Signs with distances at tees. Most of course is played through semi-wooded fields of mature hardwoods. Lots of trees, but lots of lines to hit also. No fairways were unreasonable to play, and every hole had at least one path to the basket.
Cons: This is classic NY lakefront property. Which means water. The course has a creek running through it, and also has enough low-lying land to hold water anytime it has rained. It rained quite a bit the week before I played, and the course had large puddles throughout the fairways and thick mud throughout the hevily wooded holes. It was not pretty. An upgrade of signs shwoing basket positions with better graphics wouldn't hurt. Especially for the wooded holes on the back 9.

Many of the holes not in the thick woods are fairly straight and simply use the trees as obstacles. It works, but a few more creative holes would be good.

#17 plays a little too close to a soccer field. If there is a game going on you might have to skip that one. I like the slightly elevated tee pad, but maybe putting it over the field wasn't such a great idea.
Other Thoughts: If you start to get bored throwing through the big trees on the first 9 holes don't worry. #10 takes you towards the woods, and #11 through #16 adds a little more line-shapping and challenge to the round. The pond shot on 16 can be especially challenging. I nicked a tree branch and watched my Orange Cheetah sail into the pond. It's a fair hole, but any error will cost you. There is a creek running through or along holes 4, 8, 9, 10, 15 and 18, but it fairly easy to avoid, and get dics back from.

Overall this is a really nice course to play. I can see why some people would give it a higher rating than me. But with the mud and water issues I can see why others would downgrade this course. One day it's a 3, the next week it plays like a 4. If a little water and mud doesn't bother you play it any time. If you want pristine playing conditions choose your spots. It a nice course with several different kinds of challenges to keep you on your toes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best around, for now

5+    12/20/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Big, long, and level Cement throwing pads
-Big long holes
-Big trees everywhere
-Wind training course
-Wooded like no other in the area on the back 9
-Intuitive course layout w/ two 9 hole loops that lead to the parking lot
-Friendly park staff
-Course being worked on constantly since its inception (new bridges and wood chips most recently)
-Strongest League in the area
Cons: - Flat, so flat. the only elevation is 17s long tee
- This course has truly poor drainage; although this has been an issue that is being worked on it is definitely still a problem after some rain, or a thaw
- Wind and cold can make the front 9 brutal depending on the day and your character
- a few holes on the front have a redundant feel, but, I attribute that more to topology than design
Other Thoughts: - Probably my favorite course within an hours drive of my house, and this course is definitely fun all year round if i could id give it a 3.8 or so, just short of the 4
- I do not see the back 9 as many others seem to. there are lanes to be hit on each hole; although they are definitely much tighter on the back 9
-I have heard rumors that auburn will be installing another course close to emerson because of emersons popularity
-park office has cheap x outs for sale (seperate from the course, closest to 17s tee pad)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.