Auburn, NY 
Emerson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 212ft.   3 / --   3 / 162ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Pro Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Across the Lake

2-4    12/12/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very fun and technical course. There are a good number of tree's on the course that make it difficult. Cement teepads are nice.
Cons: A lack of tee signs and the three poor holes in the woods.
Other Thoughts: overall I enjoy playing this once a year. If your in the area and want to play its not a bad choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Yin and Yang of Disc Golf...I love it!

1    12/2/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes, wooded holes, open wooded holes, some water, and one nice elevation change. Tees are Cement and really nice. The signs are big and easy to see, but don't have pictures. The map I got on the scorecard at hole 1 worked great!

The course is well taken care of, and it appears that they are continuing to work on the course by doing things like digging trenches to keep the fairways dry.
Cons: This course get breezy on the first..8 or so holes, due to it being near a lake. Come prepared for that.

This course tends to hold water on some spots, wear waterproof shoes.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing this course, it wasn't very hard to navigate using the map I picked up while I was there, but if you want to bring your own the one DGCR has is wonderful!

I would recommend that anyone getting out this way certainly take a look at this course.

With the great mixture of shots, the changes in wind and density of trees, you can't help but find a few holes that just sing your name.

You really should try this course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not my favorite

1    9/11/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is at a well-maintained, nice park. The course is luckily separated from the rest of the park, so there will not be much, if any traffic from dog walkers, hikers, picnickers, etc.
Cons: Wooded for a majority of the course, which can get frustrating at times. There's a tough water hole with lots of cat-tails. You can easily lose a disc here...
Other Thoughts: This course was tougher than I had expected. The trees are not my friends, and it kind-of soured my experience here. I'm sure if I played it again, I'd probably like it better.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two 9's

2-4    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
Pros: Excellent signs and tees. Surprisingly technical and challenging course. Front and back 9 are very different which is great to avoid a repetitive feel for the entire course. Both accuracy and distance are utilized throughout. Many pins are well guarded by trees. Great mix of open and wooded holes, birdie opportunities and double bogey blowup holes.
Cons: Drainage was an issue on many holes and much of the front 9 was very similar from hole to hole. Somewhat difficult to tell which basket you are supposed to throw at without walking halfway down the fairway. A couple of the wooded holes on the back 9 are crazy hard because the lanes are so small with trees everywhere, but the second time I played them I was much better and appreciated them more. They are challenging, but not impossible making them still alot of fun.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't seem too intimidating at first glance, but by the time your round is done your score is not what you envisioned. The back 9 plays so much harder than the front 9. Nice use of the pond and drainage ditches as water hazards. A highly technical course overall. Very fun.

 Front and back: Day and Night

1    9/4/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
Pros: Great contrast between a relatively open, easy front nine and a brutal back nine through the woods.

Nice cement tee pads for the yellow tees.

The course is well-maintained, and scorecards/course maps are available.
Cons: No tee pads for the two shorter tees, which are not marked very well.

Hole 17 features a downhill shot over the corner of a soccer field, which might be a problem if it is in use.

The back nine can be discouraging to even the most persistent players, as it features tight blind shots on a couple 90 degree fairways.
Other Thoughts: While playing the front nine, I thought it might be too easy to give it a good rating, but then the back nine punched me in the face.

  only course ive played

5+    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: rjb4392
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: very fun course all holes have the ability of getting three on. all tees are cement. for first timers on this course i would print out a course map
Cons: back nine heavily wooded 13 and 14 are difficult but a thumber should help out on 14 the pond on 16 has taken many a disc (bring hip waiters) haha and the 18th hole is kind of a week end
Other Thoughts: although its the only course i know i think it is fair. some holes have some distance but some are shorter so thats nice the golfers are respectful with returning discs if your name and number are in them

  Versitility...(did i spell that right)

5+    10/20/2008   1/31/2009
Review By: EJD17
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Lots of different holes. Front nine is really open and gives you the freedom to bomb a couple shots, but at the same time you have to work on your accuracy. Back nine are really technical but fun.
Cons: You wont be able to navigate very well your first time on the course, but it is easy to learn. There is also that god forsaken pond on 16 :P.
Other Thoughts: If you are pressed for time the course is set up really well to just play nine holes. It's a 3 par on every hole and in the past year I've been going I have yet to pay for parking or get a ticket.

 Should have played the red tees

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, with clear tee markers and beautiful big signs with the distance from each tee.
Front nine is a "Field of Trees" - great for practicing your accuracy.
Back nine is a mix of open field and wooded holes, with some wicked turns and a couple of holes where a pond comes into play.
Cons: Course can be confusing first time out even with a map.
Lack of variety on the front nine.
Yellow tee on Hole 17 plays over the corner of a soccer field and may not be playable if a game is on.
No pars on tee signs
Other Thoughts: Looked to be a couple of mandos on holes 4 and 13 but no indication on map or tee signs.
I played tee 10 to basket 11 and had to replay after finding 10 tucked in the woods. Battled mosquitos on a cold wet May morning - could be pretty buggy in summer. I played from the yellow tees and this course kicked my butt - i'll play from red next time out

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of open and Tight wooded holes. Included are a couple of good pin positions around a pond. Rollers probably will do well except in the woods. I enjoyed the course and would like to go back again and play. Fair to both righties and lefties and even if you don't throw far you can compete.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

7/31/2007   11/26/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of variety and very challenging, three tee positions per hole to suit every level of player. front 9 in fairly open park with large trees. Most of back 9 in the woods and very tough!
Cons: Back 9 still has some "work in progress" feel to it but there has been alot of progress made just this year.
Other Thoughts: I've seen some very good players take 7's and 8's on some of the tough wooded holes on the back. 13 and 14 are the toughest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.