Norman, OK 
N.E. Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: wake_rider Hole #17 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Best in Norman

5+    3/9/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 35  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: - New Prodigy baskets that catch very well
- Multiple tee and pin locations throughout most of the course
- Good use of terrain
- Nice variety of hole layouts (short/long, open/wooded)
- Beautiful park that is well maintained
Cons: - Needs permanent tee signs with hole graphics
- Need to install amateur tee pads on holes 1, 7, 12, and 13
- Course is typically laid out as a hybrid of two layouts; currently pins 4, 7, and 15 are in the Championship locations and the rest are in the original layout.
- Course could also uses some "Next Tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: - Lions is the local favorite so be prepared for it to be busy on nice days.
- Pond comes into play on few holes so be careful.

Lions Park

1    2/27/2016   3/3/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Park was a fantastic course. The teepads were in great shape and they have Prodigy baskets. This was the first course I've played with Prodigy baskets and they caught very well. The course has great flow and really makes use of the elevation throughout the course. You also have to hit your lines or you will be in trouble. The course makes really use play smart especially on 12 and 13. Those holes become more challenging with the win and make you really think what shot you need to throw and seeing your target area for where you want to land. The designer made great use of mixing in longer vs shorter and tight holes vs more open holes. They really make you use every shot in your bag. It looks like this course has a good local scene. The parking lot was full and many people were putting on the practice baskets. I'm assuming for an upcoming mini.
Cons: This was an excellent course so it is hard to come up with anything negative to say. This course could be taken to the next level if they had better signage. There are teesigns but don't offer a map. A map on each tee sign that showed were the alternate teepads were would be really cool. Also, after hole 16 I didn't know where to go, it wasn't a long amount of time but this is me just being picky.
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite course in the area when I made my day trip from Dallas. Next time I stop through I will definitely play this again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tournament-level, challenging course

5+    6/20/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: armiller
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Challenging, tournament-level course with pro/am tees on several holes. New baskets that are in great shape. I believe this course will test your game regardless of if you are a beginner or pro.
Cons: Numerous spots to lose discs, both in water and woods. This is the main reason I don't play here as much as some other courses--my disc budget is limited! I've only lost 2 discs in the past 2 months, and both were here. Sometimes I even skip holes 12 & 13, due to the likelihood of losing a disc, particularly with wind. Poison ivy is less of a problem than it was years ago, but you can still find it.

 Neat, Fun, Older Course

5+    9/10/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent concrete tees
Good baskets
Most tees had signs
Multiple tees on some holes
Great use of the land
A little elevation change
Great mix of open and wooded
Good use of the water on several holes
Good mix of right, left, straight
Great risk/reward
If you shoot a great score you will have earned it
Multiple flight lines
Bathrooms
Benches/Trashcans
Playground area for the kids
Recently expanded parking
Practice basket
Good to take newbies/family to
Good for newbies to advanced
Great to work on your control/accuracy
A few ace chances
A few holes to stretch out my driver (nothing real long)
Friendly locals (except the guy who jacked a couple of guys)
Start #1 in the open for a confidence builder I guess

Favorite Hole(s): #3, #12, #17
Cons: Some tee pads need help
Some tee signs are missing or inadequate
Need some directionals
Some erosion (they are working on this in a few places as I type)
Usually crowded
#1 is too open for the rest of the course
Would like to see the water in play on another hole or two
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring a friend or 3 to. It wil challenge you to try new shots in order to have a great score. Standard playing will have you at par more or less. Take chances to drop your score or maybe wash your disc and score high. A few holes tend to swallow your platic but not too bad. #11 would be better with a spotter in early spring/summer. Get a map or a guide and have a lot of fun.

While not very long, this course doesn't feel like a lot of SHORT courses I have been to. This course should be fun for everyone in your group.

And for nostalgia, everyone should play a course designed by Steady Ed.

If you come to the Norman area make this course a part of your day and you will not regret it.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the fun factor. Then adjusted .5 either direction for amenities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice moderate difficulty

1    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is quite a nice course laid out in a park that surrounds a small 'lake'. The course is maintained by the local DG club according to the signs and they do a good job.

I believe most, if not all tees had benches. There are some nice paths to follow between holes and I saw no poison ivy (but I've heard that it is usually out there - it was probably too early in the year).

There is excellent use of elevation and trees. A handful of baskets are isolated on small hills (read: you hit the pin or it will roll away), and a few were the token downhill shots.

The water fountain near the parking lot has nice cold water.

There is a practice basket near the parking lot and first tee pad. The pads were concrete and mostly had an appropriate run-up length.

(PS - if you find a blue Wraith or an orange Beast on #12 or #13 respectively, give me a call at the number on the back. I really liked those discs...)
Cons: Personally, I didn't like holes 12 and 13, but that was because I lost a disc into the lake off of each tee box - dang it! Seriously though, 12 is a well laid out hole that I just didn't play very well. #13 apparently is a little out of my league or I just let the tunnel shots intimidate me.

A few holes had no real playable line off of the tee box. It seemed as if the MO was to grip it and rip it and hope you bounced off the trees in the right direction.

#13 is a tight corridor shot looking south. With a generally prevailing wind out of the south, you have to be precise to not go into the lake like me or OB over the fence (there is a hole/gate in the fence so you can retrieve your disc).

The parking lot is pretty small, so if it is a busy day at the park, you may be parking a ways away into the adjacent neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course in the OKC metro area. I definitely believe it is worth the drive and you could easily play Griffin, Colonial, or Hillsdale while you are in the area.

There were a few pedestrians walking around, but I didn't see a walking trail. I don't know if they were beating their own path or what, but they did kind of just show up out of nowhere, so always remember to yell 'fore' if you need to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dont let the pond bully ya

5+    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 151  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GReat O.G. course, offers great challenge

-excellent balance of open holes, woody holes, lefts and rights, longs and tights
-will test every shot in your bag and then some
-varying terrain: elevation, ceiling shots, lake holes, blind throws, unique mandos
-good risk/reward-go big and she'll throw you a bone
-multiple tees for big bawlers..
-many benches and signs are there
Cons: -tends to get standing water after rain, what can ya do?
-can get crowded
-brush gets crazy thick, ticks and all that.
-the pond attracts discs er somethin..hit it in the summer and kids will retrieve them... and maybe sell them back, ha
-7 long's teebox is kinda goofy, cartoon shaped (i like it tho, unique)
Other Thoughts: This course will make you work for a good score but it can be done.

first course in OK???? (correct me if im wrong...)

Definitely a fun trip to Norman hittin lions and griffin, sore arms and cashed feet..wish these courses were in the city.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Good Stuff Is Hidden

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the parking lot, you may want to turn around and go back. Sure the water may look nice but the holes do not look like much. However, once you go back beyond the woods you see, things get really cool. There are a few holes where the water does come into play. One shot over a pond will take approximately 230 feet to carry the water. There is some fence like OB and a few mandos. There are some really fun tunnel shot type holes on some of the shorter holes that really keep you focused. There are both lefty and righty type holes that will make you really focus on how far out you want your disc to travel before starting to turn. With that said, the thing that really turned me on about this course was the flight paths. Many of the hole layouts were set up in a way that gave you a few different options in approaching the hole from the tee. Some of these basket locations are fantastic and the concrete tees are in great spots. They also have a nice drinking fountain at the parking lot.
Cons: For first time players, this course has a big negative. You will need to walk each hole to see the basket on 90% of the holes. This will get irritating after a while. Obviously, this is a short lived negative, because once you learn the holes, it will no longer be an issue. I will make this a negative on my rating as most of us come here to see where we would like to go play. Navigation is not easy. Get a guide first, if that is not available, then try the map. There are no holes over 400 feet. This is not really a negative, since it is hardly noticeable, but it should be mentioned. The tee signs are not all present and this course really needs the hole distances measured from scratch.
Other Thoughts: The walking back and forth to find the basket really wasted lots of time and was kind of irritating. However, the Fun Factor was really good outside of that. So, this was a love/hate relationship. If I lived here, I would play here a ton. I would really say if it is your first time, get someone to show you around, outside of that, this was a blast. It is well worth the stop in Norman, OK, to play here and Griffin.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Oklahoma?

2-4    11/4/2009   6/4/2010
Review By: okie_thumber
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, scenic course. Offers lots of shot variety. Cool trails and benches everywhere throughout the course. Technical course.
Cons: Finding some of the tee boxes first time out can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: I was told by one of the locals that this is the oldest course in Oklahoma. Play this course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Mau5 was here

5+    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Mau5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tough course, though at first glance it doesn't seem that tough. Front nine is birdie heaven once you've played the course a few times. Back nine can be tough but it extremely fun to play especially 12 and 13(the two major water holes). 10 has a possibility of putting your disc in the water but it takes a seriously screwed up throw to pull that off haha...I played the course a day or so ago and Sooner Disc Golf is doing alot of work to improve the course. Just a few more improvements and the course would have gotten a 4.5 from me...Oh and the pin for 11 has been moved 100 feet to the south by a large cedar, most people I play with don't like it at that position but I actually really like it, its not that I didn't have the arm to get to the old position, I think it raises the difficulty of approaching and putting on the hole since its 100% more protected by trees and such now.
Cons: It turns into a swap after any kind moderate to heavy rain. In summer course can be a disc eater if you don't pay very close attention to where it goes.
Other Thoughts: A lot of old heads play the course since its been around since 77', so you get a chance to see some really old school players and discs in action which I think is pretty friggin cool..I saw a dude throw an old school Metal head Viper like 500' warming up, its not everyday you see that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where I attend church

5+    2/26/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 72  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm rather fond of this course as it's my home course, and I play it around 10 times a week. Located in Norman's prettiest park IMO.
There are a bunch of risk vs. reward type shots here. I hope hole by hole breakdowns don't annoy you, but with me being biased I think a hole by hole assessment will both be more honest, and give you a better idea of the course layout.
1. Short straight warm up or CTP hole on level ground. From hole 1, you need to head east across hole 4's teebox to get to the 2nd tee.
2. The tee sits up on an open area with several hardwoods about 125' from the tee and in the fairway. It's a fun high hyzer route if the wind isn't out of the north. The basket sits about 4' lower than the rest of the fairway and is surrounded by a big cedar tree and some hardwoods, but opening up toward the fairway.
3. From hole 2, follow the trail to the right to get to the next box which is about 200' up the hill. Hole 3 is a make or break hole. There is a triple mando (two 40' high poles with a protected chain across the top that is 25' or so), think upside down U. The mando forces you to throw low and try to thread the trees. Your throw is from an elevated pad, the fairway is 30' below with tall hardwoods throughout, and the basket is elevated almost as high as the tee on the opposite end. There is a good straight to right anny line. The trouble is hitting it. 3 is one of the holes with an AM pad. Though dirt, it is marked with flags and paint, and is located about mid-fairway.
4. From 3's basket, head south (there's a trail) to the 4th tee that you crossed to get to 2's tee. Hole 4 is a big open field throw that finishes in a washout or lower area surrounded by trees. It's about 300 to the treeline and another 50' or so to the basket. If you get through the treeline on your drive, you're in good shape.
5. There are hardwoods directly in front of the tee pad here, and although there are no mandos, these trees force you to either throw an anny or forehand shot wide left, or throw a laser straight between them. I use a static throw and straight route here. This is a 300'ish hole that throws over a narrow field that has sporatic hardwoods to an elevated plateau where the basket sits behind a large hardwood and a few smaller cedars. There is also an AM pad on this hole with a concrete tee. It is located half way up the fairway and tucked back to the left behind some trees. Don't let it fool you, the AM pad is harder IMO
6. This hole is a tight right turning fairway that is perfect for a forehand, but you will be in some wooded nastiness if you miss your line.
7. From this tee, you have a 50'-60' high tree line that follows a creek to your right and directly in front of you. There are small lines where you can throw through the trees to the fairway which runs parallel to the tee on the opposite side of the creek. The big arms throw the big high anny on this one. The fairway gradually increases in altitude and has a small plateau where the basket is guarded by two hardwood trees. There is an AM location here. Cross the creek and there is a bench. From here, I've seen several aces with a putter.
8. This is a neat signature type hole. The tee is elevated and throws back across the wooded creek through a small window. Once across the creek, the fairway is a grassy hill with the basket located at the top unguarded. Nice shots make this hole look easy, bad ones will cost you though. AM pad is concrete and located 30' in front of the pro box.
9. This is a good ace run hole. Another elevated tee to elevated basket shot. This plays to another wooded bottom with the basket directly behind. Lots of metal hits here, but still a challenging shot.
10. Plays in an open sloping fairway (the back of the pond dam). To your right is really thick shule and brush that is not fun. You will lose plastic here if it goes in the pond, but it shouldn't. This shot is open for 200', then it comes to a moderately wooded creek. The basket is about 100' past the creek under a large oak tree. There is also a somewhat hidden AM pad on this one. Walk across the creek and follow the path to the right.
11. This tee backs up to the pond and has tall trees blocking it from the fairway that you must throw over or around. If you are unsure on where to throw, just take the beaten path (the line where the treetops are noticeably lower), or throw a big high anny up and around. There is a dirt AM or alt tee here too. The AM pad is on the other side of the brushy cluster that is to the right of the pro tee.
12. This is a fun hole in a tailwind or with no wind, but I'd recommend laying up into a headwind unless you're a crusher or like swimming for discs. You throw over a grassy hill that slopes toward the pond. You need to throw over the corner of the pond on this one and it's 3/4 the way from tee to basket so you can have issues. The AM pad location on this is very near 11's basket, you'll see the bench.
13. This is another tricky shot where water comes into play. The fairway is literally a dirt road the runs between the pond, OB, and a chain link fence, also OB, so placement is key. There is an anny line out over the pond, that is scarey, but effective, otherwise it's straight or throw something stable over the fence and hope it comes back. there is an alt. tee toward the pond from the pro tee, and the AM pad is halfway down the fairway on a spot of gravel in the road. A fence post on the chain link is painted for reference.
14. This is a fun longer hole. There is a 20' elevated hill directly off the front of the box that you must throw over, past that it opens up into a field. The basket is down hill 30' or so to the left of the fairway with a row of hardwoods on the hill above it. To get to the AM pad for this one, walk south along the fenceline and up the hill and you'll see it.
15. Another elevated tee throwing across a wooded creek to an open field elevated basket. This is a fun hole to play with in different wind conditions. It's a pretty straight flex shot to the basket normally, but if there is a good south wind, the high hyzer route is quite fun.
16. This is a fairly flat long straight fairway with the basket set down to the left near the pond up on a crazy dirt hill. An errant shot with a stable driver could put you in the pond here. Once to the basket, it's very risk/reward. Most park putts on the hill and take par. If you miss your putt here it usually rolls 30' or so to either side of the mound the basket is on, and sometimes putts roll to the water.
17. This is a short blind hyzer shot. There are nasty bushes that you have to throw over directly in front of the tee. The fairway is elevated with the tee and the basket being almost even 10' below. You throw up and over the fairway hoping to fall back in at the basket at the other end.
18. This one shoots down a narrow lane with trees on either side for about the first 60' then opens up into the field inbetween hole 1's fairway and hole 4's
Cons: Some of the holes and pathways can get pretty marshy in heavy rain. Sooner Disc Golf does a great job maintaining though and putting out interim pallet bridges when the water is up.
Other Thoughts: You'll be glad you played here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.