Norman, OK 
N.E. Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: wake_rider Hole #2 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Dont let the pond bully ya

5+    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 135  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GReat O.G. course, offers great challenge

-excellent balance of open holes, woody holes, lefts and rights, longs and tights
-will test every shot in your bag and then some
-varying terrain: elevation, ceiling shots, lake holes, blind throws, unique mandos
-good risk/reward-go big and she'll throw you a bone
-multiple tees for big bawlers..
-many benches and signs are there
Cons: -tends to get standing water after rain, what can ya do?
-can get crowded
-brush gets crazy thick, ticks and all that.
-the pond attracts discs er somethin..hit it in the summer and kids will retrieve them... and maybe sell them back, ha
-7 long's teebox is kinda goofy, cartoon shaped (i like it tho, unique)
Other Thoughts: This course will make you work for a good score but it can be done.

first course in OK???? (correct me if im wrong...)

Definitely a fun trip to Norman hittin lions and griffin, sore arms and cashed feet..wish these courses were in the city.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Good Stuff Is Hidden

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the parking lot, you may want to turn around and go back. Sure the water may look nice but the holes do not look like much. However, once you go back beyond the woods you see, things get really cool. There are a few holes where the water does come into play. One shot over a pond will take approximately 230 feet to carry the water. There is some fence like OB and a few mandos. There are some really fun tunnel shot type holes on some of the shorter holes that really keep you focused. There are both lefty and righty type holes that will make you really focus on how far out you want your disc to travel before starting to turn. With that said, the thing that really turned me on about this course was the flight paths. Many of the hole layouts were set up in a way that gave you a few different options in approaching the hole from the tee. Some of these basket locations are fantastic and the concrete tees are in great spots. They also have a nice drinking fountain at the parking lot.
Cons: For first time players, this course has a big negative. You will need to walk each hole to see the basket on 90% of the holes. This will get irritating after a while. Obviously, this is a short lived negative, because once you learn the holes, it will no longer be an issue. I will make this a negative on my rating as most of us come here to see where we would like to go play. Navigation is not easy. Get a guide first, if that is not available, then try the map. There are no holes over 400 feet. This is not really a negative, since it is hardly noticeable, but it should be mentioned. The tee signs are not all present and this course really needs the hole distances measured from scratch.
Other Thoughts: The walking back and forth to find the basket really wasted lots of time and was kind of irritating. However, the Fun Factor was really good outside of that. So, this was a love/hate relationship. If I lived here, I would play here a ton. I would really say if it is your first time, get someone to show you around, outside of that, this was a blast. It is well worth the stop in Norman, OK, to play here and Griffin.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oldest course in Oklahoma?

2-4    11/4/2009   6/4/2010
Review By: okie_thumber
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, scenic course. Offers lots of shot variety. Cool trails and benches everywhere throughout the course. Technical course.
Cons: Finding some of the tee boxes first time out can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: I was told by one of the locals that this is the oldest course in Oklahoma. Play this course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Mau5 was here

5+    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Mau5
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tough course, though at first glance it doesn't seem that tough. Front nine is birdie heaven once you've played the course a few times. Back nine can be tough but it extremely fun to play especially 12 and 13(the two major water holes). 10 has a possibility of putting your disc in the water but it takes a seriously screwed up throw to pull that off haha...I played the course a day or so ago and Sooner Disc Golf is doing alot of work to improve the course. Just a few more improvements and the course would have gotten a 4.5 from me...Oh and the pin for 11 has been moved 100 feet to the south by a large cedar, most people I play with don't like it at that position but I actually really like it, its not that I didn't have the arm to get to the old position, I think it raises the difficulty of approaching and putting on the hole since its 100% more protected by trees and such now.
Cons: It turns into a swap after any kind moderate to heavy rain. In summer course can be a disc eater if you don't pay very close attention to where it goes.
Other Thoughts: A lot of old heads play the course since its been around since 77', so you get a chance to see some really old school players and discs in action which I think is pretty friggin cool..I saw a dude throw an old school Metal head Viper like 500' warming up, its not everyday you see that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where I attend church

5+    2/26/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: okiebullgod
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm rather fond of this course as it's my home course, and I play it around 10 times a week. Located in Norman's prettiest park IMO.
There are a bunch of risk vs. reward type shots here. I hope hole by hole breakdowns don't annoy you, but with me being biased I think a hole by hole assessment will both be more honest, and give you a better idea of the course layout.
1. Short straight warm up or CTP hole on level ground. From hole 1, you need to head east across hole 4's teebox to get to the 2nd tee.
2. The tee sits up on an open area with several hardwoods about 125' from the tee and in the fairway. It's a fun high hyzer route if the wind isn't out of the north. The basket sits about 4' lower than the rest of the fairway and is surrounded by a big cedar tree and some hardwoods, but opening up toward the fairway.
3. From hole 2, follow the trail to the right to get to the next box which is about 200' up the hill. Hole 3 is a make or break hole. There is a triple mando (two 40' high poles with a protected chain across the top that is 25' or so), think upside down U. The mando forces you to throw low and try to thread the trees. Your throw is from an elevated pad, the fairway is 30' below with tall hardwoods throughout, and the basket is elevated almost as high as the tee on the opposite end. There is a good straight to right anny line. The trouble is hitting it. 3 is one of the holes with an AM pad. Though dirt, it is marked with flags and paint, and is located about mid-fairway.
4. From 3's basket, head south (there's a trail) to the 4th tee that you crossed to get to 2's tee. Hole 4 is a big open field throw that finishes in a washout or lower area surrounded by trees. It's about 300 to the treeline and another 50' or so to the basket. If you get through the treeline on your drive, you're in good shape.
5. There are hardwoods directly in front of the tee pad here, and although there are no mandos, these trees force you to either throw an anny or forehand shot wide left, or throw a laser straight between them. I use a static throw and straight route here. This is a 300'ish hole that throws over a narrow field that has sporatic hardwoods to an elevated plateau where the basket sits behind a large hardwood and a few smaller cedars. There is also an AM pad on this hole with a concrete tee. It is located half way up the fairway and tucked back to the left behind some trees. Don't let it fool you, the AM pad is harder IMO
6. This hole is a tight right turning fairway that is perfect for a forehand, but you will be in some wooded nastiness if you miss your line.
7. From this tee, you have a 50'-60' high tree line that follows a creek to your right and directly in front of you. There are small lines where you can throw through the trees to the fairway which runs parallel to the tee on the opposite side of the creek. The big arms throw the big high anny on this one. The fairway gradually increases in altitude and has a small plateau where the basket is guarded by two hardwood trees. There is an AM location here. Cross the creek and there is a bench. From here, I've seen several aces with a putter.
8. This is a neat signature type hole. The tee is elevated and throws back across the wooded creek through a small window. Once across the creek, the fairway is a grassy hill with the basket located at the top unguarded. Nice shots make this hole look easy, bad ones will cost you though. AM pad is concrete and located 30' in front of the pro box.
9. This is a good ace run hole. Another elevated tee to elevated basket shot. This plays to another wooded bottom with the basket directly behind. Lots of metal hits here, but still a challenging shot.
10. Plays in an open sloping fairway (the back of the pond dam). To your right is really thick shule and brush that is not fun. You will lose plastic here if it goes in the pond, but it shouldn't. This shot is open for 200', then it comes to a moderately wooded creek. The basket is about 100' past the creek under a large oak tree. There is also a somewhat hidden AM pad on this one. Walk across the creek and follow the path to the right.
11. This tee backs up to the pond and has tall trees blocking it from the fairway that you must throw over or around. If you are unsure on where to throw, just take the beaten path (the line where the treetops are noticeably lower), or throw a big high anny up and around. There is a dirt AM or alt tee here too. The AM pad is on the other side of the brushy cluster that is to the right of the pro tee.
12. This is a fun hole in a tailwind or with no wind, but I'd recommend laying up into a headwind unless you're a crusher or like swimming for discs. You throw over a grassy hill that slopes toward the pond. You need to throw over the corner of the pond on this one and it's 3/4 the way from tee to basket so you can have issues. The AM pad location on this is very near 11's basket, you'll see the bench.
13. This is another tricky shot where water comes into play. The fairway is literally a dirt road the runs between the pond, OB, and a chain link fence, also OB, so placement is key. There is an anny line out over the pond, that is scarey, but effective, otherwise it's straight or throw something stable over the fence and hope it comes back. there is an alt. tee toward the pond from the pro tee, and the AM pad is halfway down the fairway on a spot of gravel in the road. A fence post on the chain link is painted for reference.
14. This is a fun longer hole. There is a 20' elevated hill directly off the front of the box that you must throw over, past that it opens up into a field. The basket is down hill 30' or so to the left of the fairway with a row of hardwoods on the hill above it. To get to the AM pad for this one, walk south along the fenceline and up the hill and you'll see it.
15. Another elevated tee throwing across a wooded creek to an open field elevated basket. This is a fun hole to play with in different wind conditions. It's a pretty straight flex shot to the basket normally, but if there is a good south wind, the high hyzer route is quite fun.
16. This is a fairly flat long straight fairway with the basket set down to the left near the pond up on a crazy dirt hill. An errant shot with a stable driver could put you in the pond here. Once to the basket, it's very risk/reward. Most park putts on the hill and take par. If you miss your putt here it usually rolls 30' or so to either side of the mound the basket is on, and sometimes putts roll to the water.
17. This is a short blind hyzer shot. There are nasty bushes that you have to throw over directly in front of the tee. The fairway is elevated with the tee and the basket being almost even 10' below. You throw up and over the fairway hoping to fall back in at the basket at the other end.
18. This one shoots down a narrow lane with trees on either side for about the first 60' then opens up into the field inbetween hole 1's fairway and hole 4's
Cons: Some of the holes and pathways can get pretty marshy in heavy rain. Sooner Disc Golf does a great job maintaining though and putting out interim pallet bridges when the water is up.
Other Thoughts: You'll be glad you played here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Boomer Sooner

5+    6/12/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my favorite in Oklahoma! The baskets are in good shape and they have good pads. There is a great mix of shots here that challenge all levels of players and will make the newer players good quick. There are shots where you can break out the crush and throw it for all that its worth, then you get in the woods and have to hit tight lines or you get into trouble. The elevation is used very well not only in the fairways but for many of the baskets as well. Not really any places to lose plastic unless a bad shot is thrown. This course is really fun because you can shoot 2 different scores in 2 different rounds if you dont play smart or if your not consistant. 3 courses within 10 minutes is a big bonus as well!!!!
Cons: Navigaton can be tough at times but not as bad as many other courses. A couple of the shots a spotter would be a good thing to have. The wind can be tricky on some of the shots where you have to throw over trees. Can get hot and its a ways back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: I didnt see any ticks/snakes or get into any ivy but I bet that it is out there. Well worth the stop if your in this area. Can be a great disc golf day if you play everything in Norman like we do.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising

1    3/19/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The NE Lions Park course offers an amazingly well balanced round of disc golf. Each step I took while slowly making my way around a small lake presented a new set of challenges. To start off, the park has all the basics, restrooms, teepads most with signs, trash cans and benches scattered throughout. The course enjoys few interferences from other park uses as there is only one playground area and other non golfers would be fishing. It is easy to find the paths and to navigate, I would still bring a map. I recommend this course for more experienced players. I also imagine that since the terrain is so varied and beautiful that most everyone would enjoy their time here.

This course is very diverse. There is open shots that resemble park courses. Elevated tee pads and elevated baskets, both up and down hill on each end. Dense tree holes that require an unforgiving amount of accuracy. Open bombers for showing off distance and finally water holes with rolling terrain. This course is hard, get your birds early because sooner or later this course will have a hole trip you up. There is an interesting transition from tight trees to tight landings that makes you change they way you approach this course. This course has about eight holes that could be considered a signature hole at lesser more bland courses cursed to reside on more boring property. Numbers 1 and 18 are some of the easiest and open holes, its almost like they are apologizing for roughing you up on the other holes.

Most of the front nine is a hilly tree filled adventure. I felt that 3, 6, 8 and 9 were great in that they had elevation changes and sometimes a blind basket that required a simple but short scouting mission If you find a path through or over the extremely tight and tall number seven you may be in good shape. Once you get to number 11, a handful of lakeside holes challenge the accuracy of your landing zones. Number 12 was awesome maybe one of the more memorable holes. The tee and the basket are next to the lake but the basket is also guarded by water in that its close enough to carry if you can, but it begs you lay up. Number 13 requires tight accuracy in a narrow strip of land between a fence and the lake. 16 also tests your landing accuracy. I was very surprised by how much variety in shots this course has. If I could only repeat one course that I got to play in the OKC area, this would be it.
Cons: #14 has a blind hill that is next to a kids playground. The playground is still a good fairways width away from the area though, and you could still use a spotter or tee off from up the hill, and when I played there were no kids present. Aside from that, number 14 it is still a very interesting hole in that you have to play a hill directly in front of the box to an open area on top, carry that 200 feet or so and then the basket is lowered to about the level you teed off from and protected by mature trees.

For such an amazing course it lacks that epic feeling that I get from the newer top tier courses. What the course lacks is by no fault of its own, since the land is limited in space, yet it is still a diverse and well designed course. If you don't have floaters you know well or don't like risking your usual plasic you will not like some of the challenges provided by this course.
Other Thoughts: As much as respect Innovadude I have noticed that his reviews are skewed lower at any sight of poison ivy. I have never had any problems with the plant so I couldn't even identify it. I do know that on the late March morning that I played here, it was perfect. In hindsight this was one of the best courses I played in Oklahoma and certainly the most surprising. I wanted to take a ton of notes and pictures but in the end I just throughly enjoyed the round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 CRAZY is right

1    9/9/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tough, tight challenging design forcing even top pros to question their choice of disc on the tee. Well maintained fairways. Cement tees, some signs.
Cons: Same as the first line above.
Too many crazy tight illogical lines. A couple holes throwing down alleys over bushes, where all you do is hope. #11 throws completely blind over a stand of trees, with no real alternate route at all. #13 almost requires touching poison ivy with your disc in flight to get a good shot, if you go over the fence you have to squeeze (if you even can) between the fences with your face almost touching it to go look for it. Old, outdated, overgrown, needs lots of TLC and a re-design.
Other Thoughts: I always have a real problem with crazy tight holes that don't reward good shots and punish just-less than good shots too harshly. Blind tee shots with no indication of the fairway are a problem for me as well.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Park - My favorite

5+    7/25/2009   3/11/2008
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course in the OKC metro area. It is wooded, but well maintained. It is not uncommon to see people fishing or having a BBQ at the pavilion, but they are out of the way of the disc golf course. Concrete tee pads. Am tees are there if you look. The am tees are not concrete, but are marked with flags and some are painted. This is one of the most challenging courses that the OKC metro area has to offer. Even after the ice storm this winter, it took no time at all for the course to be cleared and cleaned up. There are benches and trash cans on practically every hole. Not uncommon to see pros playing. Elevations are challenging on some holes. This course does a good job with providing variety.
Cons: This course is HARD. The average DG enthusiast will struggle to shoot even on this course. Pros and higher ranking am's can definitely do it, but anyone less than that will surely be on the + side of the board. The park is centered around a pond. The pond comes into play on SEVERAL holes (10, 12, 13, 15, 16), and discs can not really be recovered if lost. The rough areas are just that, really rough. You must pay close attention, and I recommend a spotter on some holes, especially 17. Number 7 is a CRAZY tee box that requires a high hyzer over a lot of TALL trees. This course could use a little more parking. The triple mando on hole 3 is ridiculous. Give us back the hammer/tomahawk option!
Other Thoughts: I play this course more frequently than all others. It is a skill-based course, and is not overly long. It is very hilly and wooded in places. Nice mixture of backhand and forehand holes at 50/50. The only reason that it doesn't get a higher rating is because the foliage could be cut back a bit to make it a tad easier to find lost discs. Vendors and "disc scavengers" frequent the park with good deals on new and used discs. Updated Lat./Long., the map was wrong. If you've never played in Oklahoma, come and see what the wind will do to a good round of disc golf! This course does host a lot of tourneys and has a strong dg community presence.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.