Disc Golf Store
Norman, OK 
N.E. Lions Park Share
Uploaded By: wake_rider Hole #16 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Quiet and family friendly

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: jjlevasseur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Today was an amazing time to play.
Work going on improving the course throughout
Great tees and mulch around the pins
Signs on almost every tee
Technical and challenging
Really makes you try to be accurate and crafty
Most holes don't require a beast throw and allow one to try curves while controlling flight path
Work on #9 is going to really help with the possiability of a soggy spot.
Trash cans every tee and place is kept clean!
Watch for kids near 15 pin, fishing peps and #13 water and chain fence OB
Favorite holes: 2, 4, 6(signature raised pin), 10, 12(awesome risk/ reward), 14, 17 & 18(real narrow tunnel leading into the field)

Cons: Not really much bad about this course
housing development being built rapidly on the east side of the course, pin @ #2 &6, tee #3 & 7
Parking is limited
Other Thoughts: Very nice time to be on this course, honey suckle smells are great
The gounds crews are working very hard to improve the entire course so it will steadly become better in the next few weeks.
Really think this is a hidden gem next door to Griffin, great for families and group play.
I enjoyed every minute during play, even when I had to fish my Destroyer our of the water on #13, cut left last second and hit a rock or tree root, really bad bounce! Lol

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Neat, Fun, Older Course

5+    9/10/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent concrete tees
Good baskets
Most tees had signs
Multiple tees on some holes
Great use of the land
A little elevation change
Great mix of open and wooded
Good use of the water on several holes
Good mix of right, left, straight
Great risk/reward
If you shoot a great score you will have earned it
Multiple flight lines
Bathrooms
Benches/Trashcans
Playground area for the kids
Recently expanded parking
Practice basket
Good to take newbies/family to
Good for newbies to advanced
Great to work on your control/accuracy
A few ace chances
A few holes to stretch out my driver (nothing real long)
Friendly locals (except the guy who jacked a couple of guys)
Start #1 in the open for a confidence builder I guess

Favorite Hole(s): #3, #12, #17
Cons: Some tee pads need help
Some tee signs are missing or inadequate
Need some directionals
Some erosion (they are working on this in a few places as I type)
Usually crowded
#1 is too open for the rest of the course
Would like to see the water in play on another hole or two
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring a friend or 3 to. It wil challenge you to try new shots in order to have a great score. Standard playing will have you at par more or less. Take chances to drop your score or maybe wash your disc and score high. A few holes tend to swallow your platic but not too bad. #11 would be better with a spotter in early spring/summer. Get a map or a guide and have a lot of fun.

While not very long, this course doesn't feel like a lot of SHORT courses I have been to. This course should be fun for everyone in your group.

And for nostalgia, everyone should play a course designed by Steady Ed.

If you come to the Norman area make this course a part of your day and you will not regret it.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the fun factor. Then adjusted .5 either direction for amenities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best "Old" courses I have played

1    7/8/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the overall design with many holes drawing and fading throughout the woods mixed with some great lines that force you to really shape your shots. There are also a fair amount of blind pin positions, so having some experience on this course will give you a big advantage.

Variety is the spice of life and the mix of open holes around the lake coupled with a tight wooded front nine is a great balance. Holes play well into the undulating terrain of the course, and things can get nasty in the rough if you miss your line. Concrete boxes are showing their age and a few are a bit small for my taste - but concrete is always better than dirt.

They are also alternate tees available some of the holes. They don't just make the hole longer, but rather give you an entirely new look at the hole and most of them make the hole considerably harder. #15 also at the time of this review has two baskets in play for some extra challenge.

BEST HOLE/S: #12
Cons: The biggest con is the general upkeep of such an old course. While not as bad as old courses like B.B. Owen Park in Dallas - the wear and tear is still pretty obvious. Norman disc golfers could take a cue from the Austin courses about how to properly "refresh" a course without losing its original design integrity. Also, there are lots of worn down areas that look like they could be real messy after a rain.

The signage is average and could be improved, which could also include some transition signage. The alternate tees are not well marked and as I first-timer I teed from both alternate tees and the regulars without realizing it. If you're anal about your scorebook like I am, that kind of inconsistency frustrates me.

This is a minor gripe but even though I enjoyed the general layout and flow of the course - I wish the lake could have been integrated more into the initial design. Hole #12 is so great that it's a shame there aren't more of them, and let's be honest - six holes technically play water but only #12 and #16 present any real danger.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: love a course with a history, and it makes it that much better when it's still a good course 35 years after it was conceived. The minor changes and the alternate boxes provide some additional challenge, and to just stay current is awesome because I don't know of that many truly old courses that haven't become pitch and putts because the newer technology. Sure, nearby Griffin Park is considerably newer, longer, and meets the criteria better of what many would consider a more modern course. However, if you're in the area you are a true fan of the sport, then you owe easy Ed to hit a round here. It's a great course with a great history.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Park...

2-4    5/27/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on a park that has a good mixture of open and wooded holes. There's a good variety of lines throughout the course. Many of the holes utilize valleys, greens that drop off and uphill shots. The pin placements were my favorite part of the course. Hole two's pin is right after a small drop off from the fairway. Hole four, you tee off about 300 feet away from a lower area of ground and there's about 40 feet of a lower area. Hole 16 was a great placement on top of a ridge that gave a great risk/reward for a two. The wooded holes had great lines and were very fun if you could hit them, and they did have a definite fairway. The trees were trimmed nicely. Whenever there was somewhere that required a bridge, there was a nicely built bridge. Tee pads were concrete and plenty big. Baskets were not new, but they caught just fine. I didn't have a single spit-out in my two rounds there. Two sets of tee pads made the course very beginner friendly, but also provided a challenge for experienced players. Bathrooms and water were located near the parking lot.
Cons: Signage was pretty bad. It never really helped...at all. The layout was confusing at times, so I would recommend playing with a local your first time. There weren't any holes where you could really go for a long drive. There are lots of houses on the perimeter of the park where a shanked shot could easily go into a yard.
Other Thoughts: I had a pretty good time playing here. I would definitely go again if I was in the area. If you're close, I would definitely recommend playing here.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

1    4/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really excellent lines here. The park has a handful of open holes, many of which are around the pond. The rest of the course plays fairly wooded, with brushy rough and tight tricky lines. I enjoyed the variety of shots required in the woods, with a balance of left and right turning holes to challenge your line shaping skills.

The water offers some great risk/reward options on a few hole. A couple greens have roll away potential to the water, including a nice basket placement on a mound at the edge of the pond. A couple other shots offer birdie shots if you risk a water carry and more forgiving lay up options if you are satisfied with a par. The concrete tees are in ok shape, plenty of room and texture for a good teeing surface. Baskets show some age, but catch ok.
Cons: Signage is lacking here, many are missing and that gets a little frustrating on blind holes. A lot of the wooded shots don't have baskets visible from the tee so we had to do a lot of extra walking to know where to throw. A few of the holes (including the first and last) are pretty wide open and don't offer much in the way of challenge. The distance on this course isn't all that varied, with a lot of similar length shots and nothing all that long.
Other Thoughts: Other than the risky water shots, this is a pretty beginner friendly layout. The lengths are reasonable and the toughest shots have layup options. More experienced players won't find this to be too tough a test, but there are some fun holes that will challenge anyone. I would recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a classic gem

1    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun, challenging layout; very high fun factor
-concrete long tees, natural short tees on most holes
-great shot & distance variety, great variety of terrain & use of elevation
-decent signs, Mach 3 baskets in good condition
-lots of woods on the front 9, lots of water on the back 9
-mostly obvious navigation except for a few spots, well-worn trails
-nice, friendly locals
Cons: -gets a bit crowded, lots of big groups and casual players
-no water fountains, one by the parking lot but it didn't work
-very little parking, lots of cars on the street (i heard they will be moving the first hole in order to enlarge the parking lot)
-water is murky but not too deep, try to avoid the drink unless you're willing to get wet to get your disc back
Other Thoughts: Whereas Woodson Park is an old course that has aged badly, NE Lions is an even older course that has aged gracefully. The holes here are lots of fun and demand a variety of shots but more importantly accuracy. Even though the course is mostly short, you really have to be accurate to stay dry & in the fairway and to score well.

The multiple tees are great for replay value or accommodating various skill levels. Lots of trees provide good shade and the water on the back 9 will keep you on your toes. The course is well-maintained and the baskets and tees are mostly in good condition (some of the tees are cracked or piecemeal).

Great use of the land available. Elevation is used well and the holes move through various areas of the park with different terrain: some are open and grassy, some tightly wooded, and of course there are the water holes on the back 9. Many well-protected pins mean that even if you can reach the green from the tee, you might not have a putt. Accuracy is everything.

A fantastic old school course that is well worth going out of the way to play. This and Griffin Park across the street make a great pair and are the best 2 courses I've played in Oklahoma.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Heaven and Hell

5+    2/19/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything, don't expect to bomb any drives as the longest hole i think is like 350 feet +/- 50ft.
However most holes are blocked in some way offering a challenge. Most of the holes have two pads the am's are natural pad except for hole 5 and 8 which are concrete like the pro pads. 5's am pad is about 50 feet in front and to the left of the pro pad, and gives a straight shot to the basket.
Cons: Perhaps the biggest con is the mud after a rain, it will get on everything your discs, pants, shoes and hands. Another thing i noticed is some of the pro pads are cracked/broken and seem to be shorter than i am used to. Also almost everytime i play this course people just appear out of nowhere, there dosent seem to be any walking path but you will see them walking the course sometimes mostly on holes 8 and 9.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are heaven and the back 9 are hell, to me anyway. Do be careful of the water monster on holes 12,13, and 16 he is consumed with a ravenous hunger for discs, between me and my buddy he has eaten 6 discs. So if you find a red Buzzz elite x, white buzzz pro-d, red vulcan star, black archon star, red teedevil star, or orange striker gold please call the number on the backs thanks.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, but Nice

1    12/15/2011   12/16/2011
Review By: jmhoekst
Played: 80  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple Tee Locations
-Hole Number Signs
-Numbered Baskets
-Several well-protected baskets
Cons:
-Close and overlapping fairways
-Short tee pads
-Clay makes for slippery tee pads when wet
Other Thoughts: Played this course one time on a business trip. It's obvious to me that a club/city/somebody takes care of this course. There is a hand-dug trench running through the low parts of the course to run water away. That's awesome! The tee pads and baskets are all properly numbered, which not too many courses can claim. The baskets are in good condition and having a practice basket is a big plus.

When I played, I was alone on the course. However, it was easy to see that many fairways are very close to others and in some cases, overlap. This would make for potentially hazardous conditions in a tournament or crowded day.

Overall, the course makes good use of the small bit of land provided as well as the large pond. Besides the water runways that keep the course dry, nothing about it was too impressive. Therefore, three stars.

The one idea that came to mind when I played was "Safari Holes". Like I said, the fairways are close together, so if a 8-10 safari layout was concocted, it could be awesome. That would also help add some distance to the holes.

Overall, average course. Worth a stop if you are nearby, but not a must-see by any account. BE SURE TO NOT WEAR YOUR WORK SHOES. YOU'LL TRACK CLAY INTO THE OFFICE!!
:-)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great overall course.

5+    7/24/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: tylermcdaniel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Every type of hole put in to one short, yet challenging course.
- Pro tees were all marked and had concrete tees.
- Baskets looked brand new.
- AM pads were perfect for beginners.
Cons: Hole 12 is pretty thick for those who cant throw it over the trees.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course! had short drives, long ones. Holes that faded and holes that turned. Up hill, down hill, open, trees, water, every hole possible in one course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice moderate difficulty

1    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: ManOnTheDoor
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is quite a nice course laid out in a park that surrounds a small 'lake'. The course is maintained by the local DG club according to the signs and they do a good job.

I believe most, if not all tees had benches. There are some nice paths to follow between holes and I saw no poison ivy (but I've heard that it is usually out there - it was probably too early in the year).

There is excellent use of elevation and trees. A handful of baskets are isolated on small hills (read: you hit the pin or it will roll away), and a few were the token downhill shots.

The water fountain near the parking lot has nice cold water.

There is a practice basket near the parking lot and first tee pad. The pads were concrete and mostly had an appropriate run-up length.

(PS - if you find a blue Wraith or an orange Beast on #12 or #13 respectively, give me a call at the number on the back. I really liked those discs...)
Cons: Personally, I didn't like holes 12 and 13, but that was because I lost a disc into the lake off of each tee box - dang it! Seriously though, 12 is a well laid out hole that I just didn't play very well. #13 apparently is a little out of my league or I just let the tunnel shots intimidate me.

A few holes had no real playable line off of the tee box. It seemed as if the MO was to grip it and rip it and hope you bounced off the trees in the right direction.

#13 is a tight corridor shot looking south. With a generally prevailing wind out of the south, you have to be precise to not go into the lake like me or OB over the fence (there is a hole/gate in the fence so you can retrieve your disc).

The parking lot is pretty small, so if it is a busy day at the park, you may be parking a ways away into the adjacent neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course in the OKC metro area. I definitely believe it is worth the drive and you could easily play Griffin, Colonial, or Hillsdale while you are in the area.

There were a few pedestrians walking around, but I didn't see a walking trail. I don't know if they were beating their own path or what, but they did kind of just show up out of nowhere, so always remember to yell 'fore' if you need to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.