Kansas City, MO 
Fox Hill Fliers Share
Uploaded By: atom519 Hole #10
3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Quick as a Fox

1    2/26/2017   3/12/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 311  Reviewed: 207  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fox Hill Fliers is 18 holes, and birdies are possible at any time. There are significant woods on most of the course, so going bogey free will still be a challenge.

All of the holes are short to mid range. The fairways are usually lined with thick brush and trees, giving narrow lines to the basket. To get from tee to green, it takes a variety of different shaped shots, and a bit of luck from time to time.

The changes in elevation are slight, but they are there on a few holes. A creek comes into play a couple of times as well. There was at least one mando if I am remembering right.

The layout is easy to follow, and the baskets were in good condition. Signs are posted to mark each hole and the distance. There are short tees, they are very short for the youth. Not strenuous, and easy with out being too cheesy.
Cons: The tees are small, and not paved. The gravel boxes are not bad though, a long run up is not required on a layout this short. Some of the holes are near others, not too close for comfort, but be aware.

There is a school on either side of the course, and the last two holes are close to parts of the elementary school. Other people may be on or near the course that are not there to disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It took me about as long to drive there and back than it did to play the 18 holes. I was done in about 45 minutes. I scored 7 birdies, but got 3 bogies as well. Missed a few putts that could have put me in the 40's.

A fun little course, but not where you want to go on a school day. Lacking the challenge of distance throws, well suited for kids and beginners.

I liked several of the holes, my favorites were 1, 3, 6, 8, and 9 on the front. 11, 12, 13, 14, and 15 make a nice run though the woods on the back. They all tend to have low ceilings, and gaps in trees that can be decent lanes or slivers. The left and right bends well mixed with a few straight tunnel shots in there too

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pinpoint Accuracy Required

1    7/30/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.8 Years
Pros: Great use of the land that was available, as the course darts in and out of a heavily wooded area, giving a good mix of tight (usually super duper tight) shots through the woods, and a few more open shots.

I also enjoyed the hole placements on several holes. For example, one hole has you driving down a wide open fairway along the edge of the woods, and then there's a small cutout of the woods with the basket in that notch. So, you can't drive too short or two far, or you don't have a shot at making 2. There are several nice placements like this where the basket is protected in some way.

Usually due to the tightness, there are also several holes where you can be creative with your choice of shot. There's an obvious path usually, but there are other options if your preferred throwing style doesn't match that path that are doable but more risky.

The course is well signed, and navigation was a breeze here.
Cons: The tight holes are almost too tight much of the time. Unless you're player that can make the disc go exactly where you want every single throw, the tightness made these holes seem more or less up to dumb luck since there's a lot of threading the needle where your margin for error is extremely extremely slim. I feel like they could thin the trees just a tad, and still require a high degree of precision.

Not much of a chance to let anything rip here, although some of the open shots get to a more average hole length for most curses. Everything is pretty short here though.

The baskets here are pretty crummy, with only one layer of chains.

I don't mind the lack of concrete pads, but the gravel pads are a bit small feeling
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy another similar course in the metro area, Rosedale Down Under, that does the same thing this course does, but better (in my opinion). Rosedale also requires a high amount of precision, but this course takes it a bit to a ridiculous level.

Rosedale also has much more interesting topography, which was lacking here. Not the fault of the course design here, just a fact of the land it was put on.

So, when I feel like playing a fun, short, precision course, I can't see choosing this over Rosedale Down Under, even though Fox Hill is fun and pretty well done.

 Good for midrange game

1    6/25/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: oshavy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for practicing your short game and for shaping shots. Heavily wooded but not terribly hard to find your disc if it goes astray.
Cons: Course layout can be a little confusing. Be sure to take a picture of the course map (found by hole #1) to help you along the way.

The chains aren't very forgiving, so throw with a soft touch.

Course is closed during school hours for the North KC School District.
Other Thoughts: All 18 holes are contained within a relatively small plot of land. The course is compact in that sense.

With very few "open" holes, this is a great course to sharpen your midrange game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical

5+    10/14/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a lot of wiggle room on the wooded shots. Takes some technical curves to get a good line through some. Nicely maintained. Prompt on repairs. Nicely laid out, good use of room.
Cons: Only one set of chains. Can't play during school hours. Tee pads are not very large.
Other Thoughts: Overall is a good short technical course. Can be played quickly. Nicely laid out between the schools, but limits the hours you are alowed to use.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.