Morristown, TN 
Rotary DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #16 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well designed course

1    6/2/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: Nashvillian
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very easy to play and Navigate
good mix of elevation and available trees
Lot more birdie ops than I expected being that I throw around 300. The elevation gave me chances and I ended up 2 up.
Cons: Was a perfect day not many park goers but maybe because they have all the soccer fields closed.
Other Thoughts: The first person I really played with was HB and this course was similar to Cedar Hill in Nashville.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well Thought Out Course : Poorly Thought Out Location

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fairly easy course which has a variety of different layouts..

A number of pins appear to have wood hazards, but the reality is that most are easily handled because the trees have enough space between them and few low lying branches so that usually, even if you make a mistake, your disc will pass through the trees. The exceptions to this are 8 which has a somewhat tricky uphill right dogleg with the basket guarded by two big trees and possibly 15, with depression between the tee and basket with a number of trees.

The back nine looks like it might have the better pins if you can play them.
Cons: Minor: Be careful on 4. The diagram shows the tee with a few trees in front and then the basket with a few trees in front. Once you throw the disc over the small rise in front of you, you walk up and across an open field you see a basket with trees in front of it. That is 5. 4 is off to the right down the tree line. I misplayed this (and it was my fault), but it's one of those relatively minor problems that always seem to happen the first time you play a course.

Major: Pin 11: Soccer games on both sides. I ended up purposefully throwing up to the left to make sure I didn't hit cars or people. This is in a very poorly thought out location.

Pins 12 & 13: Purposefully played left to stay away from the soccer field they bracketed. I most probably would not have hit the field throwing normally, but I just kept seeing a bad throw and a hefty gust of wind and . . .

Pin 14: Play through the woods into an open area with the basket in front of a soccer field. Played it short and left to make sure nothing happened.

Pin 15: Tees from next to a field into the woods. As I walked up, a soccer player ran past me into the woods. I spent the next few minutes intensely studying the diagram of the course until she walked past me coming back out. Then I looked into the little depression you're supposed to throw into and there was a bunch of kids in it. I ask them to clear and they did (nice kids) and then, just as I am throwing, another group of kids comes out of the woods. One group of kids on the left and another coming out on the right. I pulled up some and threw kind of blindly through the middle and hit a tree.

Pin 16: Tee very close to a field. People were standing on it and had items on it to keep them out of the grass. They were kind enough to move and then I had to get a few kids to move out of the way and then threw away from the field.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course, if there's nothing going on but disc golf. I don't know who thought putting the course around the soccer fields was a good idea, but they were very, very wrong.

The frustrating thing was that there seemed to be more space out away from the fields. I don't know why they didn't move everything out 100 feet or so. Yes, that would have made it a more woodsy course and required the cutting of brush and trees, but they obviously cut some trees to clear elsewhere. Of course, nothing can fix 11 except only playing it when the fields are not in use.

Each hole here seems thoughtfully designed, however, the course as a whole has serious problems.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Test your skills at Rotary!

5+    3/27/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded holes, open holes, short holes, long holes, uphill drives, downhill drives... this course has got it all. This is a great course to test your course on. You can go from par to 5 over in a matter of 2 holes so this is a great course to up your skill level on.
- As in all Morristown courses, tee pads and signage are great.
- Close to two other nice 18 hole courses.
Cons: - If there is a soccer game going on.. you might as well call this 17 hole course. There is no way you can play hole 11 if a soccer game is going on unless you want to potentially peg someone with a disc because normally the croud will sit on the hill going up 11. Have seen a few people sitting along the other side of the soccer field going along hole 14 also but there is less of a chance of hitting someone there.
- Hole 7 and 8 seem like the pars should have been switched. 7 is a 400 ft par 4 with a slight uphill approach. Hole 8 on the other hand is a 375 ft par 3 with a much more steep uphill approach. What i am trying to say is that hole 8 seems to play a bit longer than 7 but par is one stroke less. All of the guys I play with seem to think the same about these two holes.
- Parking can sometimes be rough here because sometimes they keep the upper gates closed. Numerous times we have had to park at the baseball fields and walk up to the course. And if you get there real early (just after daylight) you may even have to pass up the park entrance and park at the church that is close by and walk down to the course. A lot of road trippers like to hit the courses early as to be able to play more holes in a day. I could see this being hell on someone from out of town to even find where the course starts. I know this is not a course design flaw but it is worth mentioning for anyone out of town who may hit this course.
Other Thoughts: My list of cons seems longer than the pros but don't get me wrong... this is a great course! I had to nit-pick to have a list of cons. As far as going to play a new course that you have never played before... this is a great one to hit! Definitely take the time to road trip to this course.. you will not be dissapointed. Also, course maps / brochures available at all times would be a great addition to all the Morristown courses. Out of towners would really appreciate it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great mix

5+    1/10/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: Slingtastic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded course with many technical holes.

They have super nice concrete tee pads and brand new Innova baskets with great signs at each pad and arrows on the basket pointing you to the next tee pad.


It's a happy mix of the Cherokee Park and Kiwanis course that we have in town because it's got the short, technical, wooded holes of the Kiwanis course and the long, open holes of Cherokee Park.

The grounds are super nice and kept up with trash cans on many holes. Though you still have the usual bottle or wrapper laying around from where people are to lazy to use the trash cans.
Cons: With this being a newer course, the parks and rec are still working on ironing out the wrinkles as far as like wooded fairways being a little to overgrown and growing grass around certain boxes and fairways so it can get a little muddy.

During a busy weekend, the back nine can get crazy because they play mostly along the soccer fields so you have to be really careful about where you throw.

It would be nice if there were more bathrooms along the course and water fountains.

Holes 4, 5, and 6 kind of run close to one another so you have to keep an eye out especially while in 4 and 5's fairway and on 6's tee box.

If you miss a fairway in the woods during summer, be prepared to spend some time looking for your disc because the woods get super think and there are thorn bushes about every 5 feet.

The park closes at dusk so for now the opportunity of a glow round is out of the question.
Other Thoughts: If the gates to hole 1 are closed you can park at the baseball field parking lot and walk about 500 ft to hole 1 basket. Or you could park at 4 and just start with hole 4 and end with 3 to end where you parked if by chance the baseball field gate is closed.

Holes 4, 13, 14, 15, and 17 require very accurate drives and approach shots or else you could get into some difficult shots.

Holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, and 18 are the open holes with the others being all wooded or mostly wooded.

Hole 13 to me is the hardest hole because it starts out open and then does a 90 degree into the woods about 175 ft from the box. It's literally like an L, and for a lefty like me who's a newbie it kicks my butt.

Hole 4 is also difficult because you have a wall of trees about 75 ft from the box with narrow gaps to hit then opens up into a super long fairway.

It's a very nice course to play because it's big enough to where you don't have to worry about other disc golfers on a majority of the holes (4, 5, and 6 are really the only ones where others come into play) so it's a pretty safe place to play.

Disc golf is starting to take off in Morristown and we even have the Tennessee State Championships coming in June so if you are in the area I would definitely suggest checking it out if you're wanting something more than the Kiwanis course but not as long as the Cherokee Park course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

pro

5+    1/10/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: motownACEslinger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout nice mix of open and woods a few ace runs but not many takes around 2 hour per foursome.
Cons: Cons well the park service is very annoying always hassling you where you're going very strange for a city park and if you don't want to have to walk a 1/4 mile to hole 1 you will need to park at hole 4 it is the bottom parking lot they lock the gates to the skate park, soccer fields and disc golf course they have nice practice baskets at hole 1 but you have to park a 1/4 mile away very strange but the park service will park there company trucks at hole 1 one and play during the middle of the day and hold the vistors up

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    12/9/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wonderful course with a nice mixture of open and wooded holes. had nice teepads and signs for each hole. The practice area actually has 3 basket u can practice putting on.
Cons: Only prob I had is hole 3 or 4 I believe there isnt a good line to throw at all. Should def take out a couple of trees for u to actually have a line to throw.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a very nice park with parking everywhere. Might want to bring a stool with u cause I didnt c any benches to ait down on.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 An Incomplete review

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: rodneyp
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/7/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I must be upfront and say that I only played the first 10 holes. Navigation wasn't too bad and I generally enjoyed most holes. It started going bad on 10.
Cons: The major con is the unplayability of the back 9 when the soccer fields are in use. This completely ruined my view of this course. There seemed to be no thoughts as to the impact of soccer matches on the usability of the rest of the course. There is a tournament listed in a couple of weeks. This will be impossible to pull off if the soccer fields are in use. I definitely would have given a higher rating if not for the major problems with integration with other park guests.
Other Thoughts: H.B. Clark's other morristown courses are among my favorites. I just can't believe this problem occurred.
Updated 11/7/12. After a second attempt to play all 18 holes I have revised my rating to reflect the whole course. I still see potential for problems with others utilizing the facilities, steps have been taken to work on the problem. I was not a fan of 17, no discernible fairway through to the basket. I did however enjoy the rest of the back 9. Particular favorites were 11-13. Please give this course a try, it is worth the effort.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another great MoTown Course

1    9/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Chris A
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of land that was given. Long technically challenging par 4's. The flow of the course is really good. The course is listed as wooded, but most the woods holes have large open fairways.
Cons: The flow is good, but some of the tee pads are extremely close to fairways and on at least 3 holes I could see this as a problem during a large event.
Other Thoughts: Really looking forward to seeing this place in about 2 yrs after some tree trimming and solid play. Just like the other 2 H.B. Clark courses in this area he has really done a good job. Morristown has quickly become a DG destination!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.