Morristown, TN 
Rotary DGC Share
Uploaded By: Baysinger Hole #10 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 310ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well designed course

1    6/2/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: Nashvillian
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very easy to play and Navigate
good mix of elevation and available trees
Lot more birdie ops than I expected being that I throw around 300. The elevation gave me chances and I ended up 2 up.
Cons: Was a perfect day not many park goers but maybe because they have all the soccer fields closed.
Other Thoughts: The first person I really played with was HB and this course was similar to Cedar Hill in Nashville.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great mix

5+    1/10/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: Slingtastic
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded course with many technical holes.

They have super nice concrete tee pads and brand new Innova baskets with great signs at each pad and arrows on the basket pointing you to the next tee pad.


It's a happy mix of the Cherokee Park and Kiwanis course that we have in town because it's got the short, technical, wooded holes of the Kiwanis course and the long, open holes of Cherokee Park.

The grounds are super nice and kept up with trash cans on many holes. Though you still have the usual bottle or wrapper laying around from where people are to lazy to use the trash cans.
Cons: With this being a newer course, the parks and rec are still working on ironing out the wrinkles as far as like wooded fairways being a little to overgrown and growing grass around certain boxes and fairways so it can get a little muddy.

During a busy weekend, the back nine can get crazy because they play mostly along the soccer fields so you have to be really careful about where you throw.

It would be nice if there were more bathrooms along the course and water fountains.

Holes 4, 5, and 6 kind of run close to one another so you have to keep an eye out especially while in 4 and 5's fairway and on 6's tee box.

If you miss a fairway in the woods during summer, be prepared to spend some time looking for your disc because the woods get super think and there are thorn bushes about every 5 feet.

The park closes at dusk so for now the opportunity of a glow round is out of the question.
Other Thoughts: If the gates to hole 1 are closed you can park at the baseball field parking lot and walk about 500 ft to hole 1 basket. Or you could park at 4 and just start with hole 4 and end with 3 to end where you parked if by chance the baseball field gate is closed.

Holes 4, 13, 14, 15, and 17 require very accurate drives and approach shots or else you could get into some difficult shots.

Holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, and 18 are the open holes with the others being all wooded or mostly wooded.

Hole 13 to me is the hardest hole because it starts out open and then does a 90 degree into the woods about 175 ft from the box. It's literally like an L, and for a lefty like me who's a newbie it kicks my butt.

Hole 4 is also difficult because you have a wall of trees about 75 ft from the box with narrow gaps to hit then opens up into a super long fairway.

It's a very nice course to play because it's big enough to where you don't have to worry about other disc golfers on a majority of the holes (4, 5, and 6 are really the only ones where others come into play) so it's a pretty safe place to play.

Disc golf is starting to take off in Morristown and we even have the Tennessee State Championships coming in June so if you are in the area I would definitely suggest checking it out if you're wanting something more than the Kiwanis course but not as long as the Cherokee Park course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

pro

5+    1/10/2013   1/10/2013
Review By: motownACEslinger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout nice mix of open and woods a few ace runs but not many takes around 2 hour per foursome.
Cons: Cons well the park service is very annoying always hassling you where you're going very strange for a city park and if you don't want to have to walk a 1/4 mile to hole 1 you will need to park at hole 4 it is the bottom parking lot they lock the gates to the skate park, soccer fields and disc golf course they have nice practice baskets at hole 1 but you have to park a 1/4 mile away very strange but the park service will park there company trucks at hole 1 one and play during the middle of the day and hold the vistors up

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another great MoTown Course

1    9/10/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: Chris A
Played: 52  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of land that was given. Long technically challenging par 4's. The flow of the course is really good. The course is listed as wooded, but most the woods holes have large open fairways.
Cons: The flow is good, but some of the tee pads are extremely close to fairways and on at least 3 holes I could see this as a problem during a large event.
Other Thoughts: Really looking forward to seeing this place in about 2 yrs after some tree trimming and solid play. Just like the other 2 H.B. Clark courses in this area he has really done a good job. Morristown has quickly become a DG destination!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.