Shelby, MI 
Shelby Road Baptist Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #6 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
new renovations- great course now

1    10/13/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -new cement teepads are long, level, and grippy. new baskets standout and catch well
-temporary crude maps on each teepost give distance and direction of fairway and basket (it seems like new, better maps are coming soon)
-lots of elevation change. just about every hole has some degree, many holes have a large change up or down. Hole 18 finishes on an open "top-of-the-world" teeshot
-several holes offer exciting ace runs. several baskets are risk/reward decisions sitting on hills
-great use of trees lining fairways and guarding baskets
-navigation is easy. almost impossible to get turned around.
-I am assuming this course got a total facelift and remodeling since the last reviewers have played, and from what I gather the improvements have been HUGE!
Cons: -hard to find the first tee. it is near a different entrance around the back of the property. You either walk far to the first tee from your car to start, or far from the 18th to car to finish
-I don't remember any true driver holes. This course rewards accuracy over distance for sure (not necessarily a con, but I like a few chances to "let it rip")
-it is on church property. not a con in itself but I imagine during church functions this course could be unplayable.
Other Thoughts: I stopped to play here as just another course to play on a road trip, and was blown away. Its rating will suffer because of the abundance of great courses in the area, but it too is a great course. simply not on the level of Flip, Ludingtons, Leviathan

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
-very easy to navigate and there is a mailbox near the first tee with scorecards that have a map on them.
-nice baskets. the yellow band at the top makes them easy to see.
-very good variety for 9 holes. you throw uphill, downhill left and right.
-elevation changes on pretty much every hole.
-very good "fun factor"
-tee pads are dirt/sand. some of them are very bad. 6, 8 and 9 come to mind. hole 9 is a sweet downhill shot but the angle of the tee pad makes it nearly impossible to get a good run up.
-when I played, the grass reallllllly needed to be mowed.
-it is not challenging. I would guess that the longest holes are around 250'... which brings me to...
-distances are not marked. I would appreciate knowing the distance of the hole, but it isn't a huge con really.
-I didn't notice any trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts:
-very fun course with a lot of birdie/ace opportunities. I would like to play the whole course with just a putter.

-my favorite hole was 9. it is the longest hole there and very downhill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Place Before Flip

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 82  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once you find the first hole this place is pretty easy to direct around. Most holes end where the next one starts or have a path there.

Baskets- They are brand new baskets all cemented into the ground.

They have a good amount of shots for a nine hole course. For being pretty short they still have a good amount of challenge here.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt/sand, hole 6 and 9 are pretty hard to drive on with a run up.

9 Holes, would like to have more.

Hole 7 has a large hole next to it, if you are playing glow disc here this would defiantly be a problem.
Other Thoughts: First Hole is in the bottom of the parking lot behind the ""Barnish looking this"

The course flows together pretty good, and it's easy to get a 30 minute warm up round before flip.

I am guessing there is no drinking here as it's on a church.

this would also be a nice place to play glow while camping at flip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/12/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Aesthetic- Chuch property is decent but shares some territory with probable field for church functions. I can see this being an "issue" at some point.

Routing/Nav-not an issue once at the first tee. Course flows nicely from pin to tee.

Challenge- Many blind holes that require scouting prior to throwing. VERY short course that doesn't provide much challenge as far as distance driving.

Baskets-brand new discatchers with bright yellow charity stripes. helps visibility on blind holes.
Tees- tees are natural and are VERY uneven and even dangerous (see #6 and #8) which are angled downhill and rutty, providing many tripping hazards.

Teesigns-while, at least they have them, they just list a tee number but no distance or anything else of use.

Challenge and risk v reward- not really any to speak of.

Only 9- rumor is that there will be 9 more holes eventually.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to warm up to Flip City without warming up AT flip city. we hit it on the way to leagues and had a good time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.