Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 5/2009)
5 / 455ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun Course

1    5/31/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice variety of holes.
Not much traffic other than disc golf.
Nice, big, open area just past hole 1 where you can throw some warm up throws.
Cons: Off the beaten path.
Carpet tees - when present - have seen better days. It would do wonders to this course to even put rubber down.
Other Thoughts: Nice, fun course with good variety. In my original review, I stated that Gulley is similar to Turtlecreek, and in some respects it is - mainly that there are a good mix of open and wooded holes. But I've played the course a few more times, and it does have it's own charm as well. Typically not as much dg traffic as Turtlecreek, which is nearly always crowded. I have thoroughly enjoyed my last few rounds at this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley

2-4    6/25/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent 18 hole course, with some challenging holes over and around trees mostly and mostly open fields.
Cons: A water hazard, and some woods deep enough to make it hard to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: really quiet, not too busy course, but extremely well done with enough variety.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Last chance northbound on I-71

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a bit off the beaten path, the Gulley disc golf course is a worthy trip for Cincinnatians to visit the Fort Ancient Valley area and get in a fun, relatively challenging round for the recreational to intermediate player. Its location is a bit removed from larger population centers, but it also represents the only course up this way for some of the folks who live here toward the Wilmington area.
Slightly rolling hills and a mix of woods and fields make for a variety of lines and shots. The course starts with a 200 footer to a raised pin, then has three holes angling across a big back field, returning into the woods for a long blind hyzer (rhbh) on #5, and a short anny, after which you're near the parking lot for the first time. 7 & 8 require precise left bends, and 9 comes back through a tight gap to an open basket by the lot for the second time. You get to air out the open #s 10 & 11, and hit an elevated basket on 12 before one of the four long-ish holes (in the neighborhood of 400'). 13 requires you to hit a gap halfway to the pin (or I suppose an advanced arm could go over?), while 14 uses the road as a mando to limit your choice of lines to the otherwise open basket. I love hitting 15 through the narrow gap (at 150' or so) with a flex shot to set up an approach round the small grove of trees to the 450' basket. Wish I could execute that shot all the time. 16 and 17 are traditional woods holes requiring control, while 18 finishes back near the lot with just enough trees out in the open to make it a challenge.
There is a very good course map, and the flow is not really confusing. Adequate (but not terribly fancy) tee signs accompany each hole, there are next tee signs when needed, and the baskets work just fine. Park maintenance is excellent.
It feels like the park was put in just for the DG course, but there are also a small shelter, ball fields and a play area onsite. These are deeper in the park than the DG course, so conflicting activities, rarely do. While there isn't a water fountain, there's a couple of well-kept port-o-lets next to the parking lot.
Cons: Tee pads are unfortunately just a carpet material at present. They are getting worn, rutted, and muddy, and need to be replaced soon. The last time I was there, the #7 tee pad had just been thrown in the trash. #18 has been missing for a while. This course would rise in the ratings quickly with the addition of concrete pads, and would really pop if multiple tees were done at that time.
Several areas get very marshy after a rain (the end of the fairway on 1, and the woods lanes on 16 & 17, in particular), and need better drainage/ water management devised.
I don't recall seeing trash barrels out on the course, but I also haven't seen much litter here (except folks use the timbered box raising the #12 basket as a trash bin. There aren't any benches, but the course plays fairly quickly, so I haven't felt much like resting, either. I mention these as missing amenities that would increase the appeal for some players.
Other Thoughts: With some local sponsorship, tee pad upgrades would make this course an interesting combination with the Mason Sports Park and the Lebanon 9 hole DG courses! Disc golfers would have a fun day hitting those three for a casual event or a tournament.
The course is nearby (but unfortunately not within view of) Fort Ancient Valley, which boasts beautiful vistas, especially in the fall.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the family

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 176  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome hole #1. I love starting out with a nice sig hole. You will shoot up to an elevated pin with a sharp design here.

Pretty solid balance. Diverse distances from touch mid's off the tee to nice drives. I'd have to say the course is a bit on the open side, but not too much so. These open holes are complimented with a host of well designed technical beauties.

Solid signage and easy navigation.

High fun factor. Low beat down factor.

The park was gorgeous and very well taken care of.
Cons: May not provide enough challenge for the advanced golfer. Ultimately, it's a gentle course.

Some of the pads were quite worn, torn and uneven. I can't recall playing on pads like these. They were basically wool-like rugs. I kind of liked the ones in good shape. They provided nice traction.

There were a few bland holes
Other Thoughts: I very much liked this course. It was simple and direct. The design never reached too far, while still utilizing the natural hazards well.

There are a few shots that aren't tunnel holes, yet you need to at least hit one gap to land safely. These are nice holes for rec players because they force you to release with accuracy but you don't have to hold long lines.

Cool course. I would play it often if it were local.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    11/17/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mostly isolated.
- Great mix of long holes, open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes.
- Elevated basket on a hole.
- Decent amount of ace runs.
Cons: - Scary drive through the "mountains" of south/central Ohio.
- No "signature" hole to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course on the way to Columbus for a weekend. It was quite a bit off the interstate but I like courses out in the middle of nowhere. There is a lot of room on this course for expansion and plenty of chances to change the layout and add extra holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Round

1    12/30/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A fun little layout that uses the space well.
- Good use of the creeks running through the course.
- Signage at holes was great, but lacking in directions from basket to the next tee.
- No one was out there and the course was very clean and well maintained.
- Even though the course had distance it was a pretty quick round.
Cons: - The carpet tee pads were pretty nasty after the snow had melted and the mud forced me to tee off from the grass.
- A few times I had to jump over flooded fairways or little creeks in order to get to the basket.
- After some of the holes it took some searching for the next tee pad due to lack of signage, yet some holes had nice signs pointing you in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course in the greater Cincy area if you want to get away from crowds and the tougher courses. The signs on the tee pads were great, but the tee pads themselves were pretty rough.
I would recommend playing this course on a dry day due to the lack of tee pads and the amount of muddy terrain on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 98  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun to be had here! Good for pros to work on their details, good for beginners to work on improving.
No holes are TOO tough. Some turns, some rolling hills, but no major elevation. There are some gaps you have to hit, but they are fair, and not many tunnel shots.
Well laid out.
Easy to navigate, and great tee signs.
No one here to get in the way(the two times I've played anyway). We played a group of 8 and had a blast.
Park and course seem well-maintained.
Cons: Muddy if there's rain.
Not much elevation change. I'm from the foothills of the Smokies, so I'm used to wooded courses with lots of up and down. This course is pretty flat(but fun).
Poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun here, definitely worth hitting if you live in the area. There are better courses around Cinci, but for a nice change of pace, or to better your game, or to just try something new, this course will satisfy that need to hit chains and feel good about it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley

5+    7/4/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers a variety of shots.
This course is a very good beginner friendly course.
Advanced players can work on their mids and putting for 2's here.
The last two holes are very wooded.
Several holes require players to manage to drive through some moderate to large gaps in woods.
A decent amount of elevation changes add some difficulty.
Cons: The parks department and/or the people who manage the park do not do a very good job of trimming you can easily lose several discs.
This course is on the short side for the majority of holes.
Most of the holes are very open and dont require any kind of line shaping.
Almost every hole does not have a concrete tee pad. Some have weird tees like carpets or other materials.
Water and restroom facilities are very lacking.
Other Thoughts: This course is somewhat in the middle of nowhere. It can be hard to find if it is your first time.

You can have an enjoyable round here if you just top by or if you want a break from the normal cincy parks. However this is not a park to plan a roadtrip too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden Gem

1    5/22/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 245  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained with a little elevation thrown in and a lot of shots that will challenge your placement and accuracy. Great signage through out the course including signs pointing you towards the next tee if it isn't immediately apparent where to go.

The course also looked to be well-maintained and quite clean. Also, I was the only person in the park for my entire stay so you probably won't have to worry about other park users or waits at tees.
Cons: Some holes are a bit on the short side. The dirt/carpet tee pads weren't the greatest and a few holes have you throwing near fenced off areas which might be a pain should you have a really terrible shot.
Other Thoughts: Despite its short-comings, I had a really enjoyable round at Gulley Park. The park had a great mix of open and wooded/semi-wooded holes. Some were on the short side as I mentioned above but almost all of the short holes involved a challenge of some sort, usually in the form of trying to hit a gap in the trees to make it to the basket.

The open holes were just that, very open and straight forward for the most part. There were quite a few that involved making it through a gap of some sort (#13 and #15 come to mind right now). Hole #12 had an interesting elevated basket to change things up a bit as well.

Overall, I'd recommend a round at this course. It won't knock your socks off by any stretch but it would be hard not to have a good time playing here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/25/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: # 16 was a beast as you had to throw your drive through a small (10 foot maybe) gap between trees and into an open area and then you had to turn your next shot around a group of tall skinny trees as the basket was in the rear of the trees. Good luck, and a good hole.

#13 basket was on a homade elevated platform (I wonder if this great idea is patened??)

# 1 and # 10 started in the same general area.

Port a johns available

plenty of parking

Cons: holes # 2, # 3 and # 4 are about the same thing as all you do is throw from one side of the field to the other. DIRT tees.
Other Thoughts: I lost a glove somewhere on the course the day I played this hidden gem as I see nothing but good things coming from this DG course and park (if you find the glove, you can have it). Beautiful country park

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.