Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    3/22/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: good course flow
good layout
decent faiways on every hole
good mix up of shots
400'0+ holes
tee signs
ace runs
smooth terrain
Cons: dirt tee pads
the rough is rough
16&17 get swampy (if its been rainy alot wear boots)
Other Thoughts: played this course alot and never got tired of it, great course to work on your rip and some finess shots. the only real thing i would change is put in some solid tee pads. if your in the area this is a great course to play a few rounds. also has a huge soccer field right next to the parking lot so you really stretch out your arm. also has baseball fields and a jungle gym for the kids.

 Gulley Park

2-4    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great flow, well designed course.
Great mix of trees and open fairways.
Great use of varying lengths.
Both technical and wide open.
Great use of the terrain and elevation changes.
Good use of directional signs.
Nice park setting with plenty of parking.
No very crowded the time I was there.
Cons: The only con would be the tees, they need some work. If they were concrete I would have rated this course .5 higher!
Other Thoughts: Very impressed with the layout of this course. Excellent design and use of the terrain. Enjoyed playing a course with more than just par 3's. This course had par 3's, 4's, and 5's. Warning this park is out in the middle of nowhere which may be why it is not so busy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley Park

2-4    8/28/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in a beautiful park. I've been four times so far, and it has never been crowded at all. Good variety of long/short, left/right, open/wood shots. I like going to this course because I know I can get a round in quickly (played two rounds 3 of the 4 times), and it is a quiet and peaceful park. Port o John's are nice to have around (just in case).
Cons: Can lose discs with errant throws in the woods, over fenced areas, or in tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are on the short side, but all in all this park offers a nice variety of shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better parks around Cincinnati

5+    6/7/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well designed

-Variety: The course goes through woods with heavy under brush, through some open type areas, and through another wooded area near the end with little under brush but not as much room to toss.

-Nice Tee Signs: Including par, distance to basket, and a picture to show which way to go. Also near the parking lot there is a large colored map.

-Memorable holes:

Hole 1 has a small creek that goes through it and the basket is on top of a bank that plateaus off. There are wood slat steps to help players get up the bank with ease.

Hole 7 is a shot through trees and over a creek that is neat.

12's basket is on a wooden pyramid.

15 has a shot through a gap in some trees. From there you have to go around a patch of trees which are extremely close together to get to the basket on the opposite side.

Pretty much all the holes at Gulley are fun and challenging.

I've only been playing around a year, but this park is easily one of the better ones around this area.
Cons: -No running water = no drinking fountains or sinks (there are portalets with hand sanitizer).

-May be a bit short for really good players. IMO the wholes are plenty long enough with the amount of woods and bends in most of the holes.

-Dirt Tee Pads (someone has put carpet down on a few of them)

-Hole 1's fairway can flood after a heavy rain. (someone put down some stone cylinders as a walkway to get through the area that floods)
Other Thoughts: I love this park.

Bring drinks, and enjoy this hidden gem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: kytopbutton
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the best designed courses that I have played with a nice mixture of open field holes and wooded holes. Even the wooded holes have wide fairways and allow you to let loose.
Cons: Many of the holes have flat fairways and water stands on them after a rain.
Other Thoughts: The park has portable toilets which is a nice feature.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.