Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: jeremiah h
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clearly posted map, excellent, custom-made metal hole signs on every hole. Most holes have "Next Hole" signs as well. The short, semi-wooded holes are well-designed. the more open holes feature the flowing elevation changes you like to see in these shots. The course was immaculately tended - I picked up one aluminium can in the entire course, very clean too. Beware of missing the fairway, as shanked shots may be in some seriously nasty, overgrown you-name-it. Perfectly tended fairways justify this in my opinion. Bring your game and your DEET, you'll need 'em.
Cons: Not a good choice for a first-timer, unless they're looking to throw away discs. Plenty of nasty off-fairway shots, during the mid-summer anyway. Probably a friendlier course for people new to DG in the fall. Bugs are bad, just bring repellent. EDIT The tees are carpet, if you're lucky (a couple are dirt). take that as you will. Taking a single step as I generally do didn't matter much. But slabs would make this a seriously event-class course.
Other Thoughts: We played disc golf here 7/5/14, and it was great. First time there with my buddies and we were all impressed with the care to detail that went into this amazing park. To whomever's in charge: well done! We will be back!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    5/31/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice variety of holes.
Not much traffic other than disc golf.
Nice, big, open area just past hole 1 where you can throw some warm up throws.
Cons: Off the beaten path.
Carpet tees - when present - have seen better days. It would do wonders to this course to even put rubber down.
Other Thoughts: Nice, fun course with good variety. In my original review, I stated that Gulley is similar to Turtlecreek, and in some respects it is - mainly that there are a good mix of open and wooded holes. But I've played the course a few more times, and it does have it's own charm as well. Typically not as much dg traffic as Turtlecreek, which is nearly always crowded. I have thoroughly enjoyed my last few rounds at this course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gulley

2-4    6/25/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent 18 hole course, with some challenging holes over and around trees mostly and mostly open fields.
Cons: A water hazard, and some woods deep enough to make it hard to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: really quiet, not too busy course, but extremely well done with enough variety.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Last chance northbound on I-71

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a bit off the beaten path, the Gulley disc golf course is a worthy trip for Cincinnatians to visit the Fort Ancient Valley area and get in a fun, relatively challenging round for the recreational to intermediate player. Its location is a bit removed from larger population centers, but it also represents the only course up this way for some of the folks who live here toward the Wilmington area.
Slightly rolling hills and a mix of woods and fields make for a variety of lines and shots. The course starts with a 200 footer to a raised pin, then has three holes angling across a big back field, returning into the woods for a long blind hyzer (rhbh) on #5, and a short anny, after which you're near the parking lot for the first time. 7 & 8 require precise left bends, and 9 comes back through a tight gap to an open basket by the lot for the second time. You get to air out the open #s 10 & 11, and hit an elevated basket on 12 before one of the four long-ish holes (in the neighborhood of 400'). 13 requires you to hit a gap halfway to the pin (or I suppose an advanced arm could go over?), while 14 uses the road as a mando to limit your choice of lines to the otherwise open basket. I love hitting 15 through the narrow gap (at 150' or so) with a flex shot to set up an approach round the small grove of trees to the 450' basket. Wish I could execute that shot all the time. 16 and 17 are traditional woods holes requiring control, while 18 finishes back near the lot with just enough trees out in the open to make it a challenge.
There is a very good course map, and the flow is not really confusing. Adequate (but not terribly fancy) tee signs accompany each hole, there are next tee signs when needed, and the baskets work just fine. Park maintenance is excellent.
It feels like the park was put in just for the DG course, but there are also a small shelter, ball fields and a play area onsite. These are deeper in the park than the DG course, so conflicting activities, rarely do. While there isn't a water fountain, there's a couple of well-kept port-o-lets next to the parking lot.
Cons: Tee pads are unfortunately just a carpet material at present. They are getting worn, rutted, and muddy, and need to be replaced soon. The last time I was there, the #7 tee pad had just been thrown in the trash. #18 has been missing for a while. This course would rise in the ratings quickly with the addition of concrete pads, and would really pop if multiple tees were done at that time.
Several areas get very marshy after a rain (the end of the fairway on 1, and the woods lanes on 16 & 17, in particular), and need better drainage/ water management devised.
I don't recall seeing trash barrels out on the course, but I also haven't seen much litter here (except folks use the timbered box raising the #12 basket as a trash bin. There aren't any benches, but the course plays fairly quickly, so I haven't felt much like resting, either. I mention these as missing amenities that would increase the appeal for some players.
Other Thoughts: With some local sponsorship, tee pad upgrades would make this course an interesting combination with the Mason Sports Park and the Lebanon 9 hole DG courses! Disc golfers would have a fun day hitting those three for a casual event or a tournament.
The course is nearby (but unfortunately not within view of) Fort Ancient Valley, which boasts beautiful vistas, especially in the fall.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the family

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome hole #1. I love starting out with a nice sig hole. You will shoot up to an elevated pin with a sharp design here.

Pretty solid balance. Diverse distances from touch mid's off the tee to nice drives. I'd have to say the course is a bit on the open side, but not too much so. These open holes are complimented with a host of well designed technical beauties.

Solid signage and easy navigation.

High fun factor. Low beat down factor.

The park was gorgeous and very well taken care of.
Cons: May not provide enough challenge for the advanced golfer. Ultimately, it's a gentle course.

Some of the pads were quite worn, torn and uneven. I can't recall playing on pads like these. They were basically wool-like rugs. I kind of liked the ones in good shape. They provided nice traction.

There were a few bland holes
Other Thoughts: I very much liked this course. It was simple and direct. The design never reached too far, while still utilizing the natural hazards well.

There are a few shots that aren't tunnel holes, yet you need to at least hit one gap to land safely. These are nice holes for rec players because they force you to release with accuracy but you don't have to hold long lines.

Cool course. I would play it often if it were local.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/22/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: good course flow
good layout
decent faiways on every hole
good mix up of shots
400'0+ holes
tee signs
ace runs
smooth terrain
Cons: dirt tee pads
the rough is rough
16&17 get swampy (if its been rainy alot wear boots)
Other Thoughts: played this course alot and never got tired of it, great course to work on your rip and some finess shots. the only real thing i would change is put in some solid tee pads. if your in the area this is a great course to play a few rounds. also has a huge soccer field right next to the parking lot so you really stretch out your arm. also has baseball fields and a jungle gym for the kids.

 Pleasant surprise

1    11/17/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mostly isolated.
- Great mix of long holes, open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes.
- Elevated basket on a hole.
- Decent amount of ace runs.
Cons: - Scary drive through the "mountains" of south/central Ohio.
- No "signature" hole to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course on the way to Columbus for a weekend. It was quite a bit off the interstate but I like courses out in the middle of nowhere. There is a lot of room on this course for expansion and plenty of chances to change the layout and add extra holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Country drive tight and open play

1    10/11/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: LightsOut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Today was my first time to play this course and I'll add it to my rotation of playable area courses! The fall day was sunny, dry and had winds gusting to 15 MPH at least when I started. Holes 2, 3, & 4 go west and they open into the prevailing WSW wind for this part of the country. It didn't look good for me today (starting bogey, bogey, bogey). Once I got over it and into the woods on the front nine things improved once I was protected from too much breeze.
More than half of the tee drives on the course require going through either tree line openings or through tunnels. A couple you can go over and a few suggested to me that I should be using controlled approach disc play off the tee. The effect of which is elation once you get a chance to let a couple discs fly when the opportunity for open play arrives.
The elevation changes are effective through the woods and out in the open. I liked open #12, as you check it out as you play up to it. There is a blind tee uphill drive 220 ft to an elevated basket (check out the photo). Hole 13 is a controlled window shot par 5 challenge over a ravine. The last 5 holes give you a chance to rip both drivers in the open, over, and around trees and controlled approach discs in the woods.
The wind was still gusting but after #4 the rest of the course was fairly well protected from the WSW winds on this day.
Course navigation was fairly straightforward. There is a course layout sign and an instructional sign off the lot on the way to the first tee. There are nice tee area signs for each hole with par and distance listed. The front begins and ends at the parking area and #10 begins there also. Basket #18 is a short distance from the lot. The park is in good shape and maintained well from what I can see from this visit. The tight front nine helps makes this a quick play course.
Cons: Other reviews have mentioned that the tees are either dirt or carpeted which could be problematic in wet weather. Other than the one disc course sign there isn't an office or general store at this Warren County Park that I noticed for scorecards, discs, or munchies. There is a Port-o-let onsite, but no running water that I saw.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great time playing Gulley Park as I finished strong today. The parking was ample and neat as was the picnic awning with tables and grills. There are soccer fields to the east of the course/picnic awning and I didn't go any further into the park to check out what else might be available.

I found and drove to Gulley Park using the DGCR website no problem. It's about a winding mile south, off of OH 350 between Ft Ancient and Clarksville. The next closest courses would be in Lebanon, Mason, Springboro, and Monroe. Not a spectacular course but offers play worth looking into if you want a light traffic course and a nice out of the way country drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley Park

2-4    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great flow, well designed course.
Great mix of trees and open fairways.
Great use of varying lengths.
Both technical and wide open.
Great use of the terrain and elevation changes.
Good use of directional signs.
Nice park setting with plenty of parking.
No very crowded the time I was there.
Cons: The only con would be the tees, they need some work. If they were concrete I would have rated this course .5 higher!
Other Thoughts: Very impressed with the layout of this course. Excellent design and use of the terrain. Enjoyed playing a course with more than just par 3's. This course had par 3's, 4's, and 5's. Warning this park is out in the middle of nowhere which may be why it is not so busy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/17/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 83  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes, good mix on distance, excellent flow, good use of what little elevation is available, well designed course.
Cons: Natural Tee Pads, that's the only thing I can say negative about the course.
Other Thoughts: Worth stoping and playing if you're out that way

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.