Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    10/17/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes, good mix on distance, excellent flow, good use of what little elevation is available, well designed course.
Cons: Natural Tee Pads, that's the only thing I can say negative about the course.
Other Thoughts: Worth stoping and playing if you're out that way

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley Park

2-4    8/28/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: vetonoshake
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course in a beautiful park. I've been four times so far, and it has never been crowded at all. Good variety of long/short, left/right, open/wood shots. I like going to this course because I know I can get a round in quickly (played two rounds 3 of the 4 times), and it is a quiet and peaceful park. Port o John's are nice to have around (just in case).
Cons: Can lose discs with errant throws in the woods, over fenced areas, or in tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are on the short side, but all in all this park offers a nice variety of shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wet Round

1    12/30/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A fun little layout that uses the space well.
- Good use of the creeks running through the course.
- Signage at holes was great, but lacking in directions from basket to the next tee.
- No one was out there and the course was very clean and well maintained.
- Even though the course had distance it was a pretty quick round.
Cons: - The carpet tee pads were pretty nasty after the snow had melted and the mud forced me to tee off from the grass.
- A few times I had to jump over flooded fairways or little creeks in order to get to the basket.
- After some of the holes it took some searching for the next tee pad due to lack of signage, yet some holes had nice signs pointing you in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course in the greater Cincy area if you want to get away from crowds and the tougher courses. The signs on the tee pads were great, but the tee pads themselves were pretty rough.
I would recommend playing this course on a dry day due to the lack of tee pads and the amount of muddy terrain on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Multiround Goodness

5+    8/9/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: LStephens
Played: 78  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best designed courses given the land available that I've seen. Some may say the tunnel shots are repetitive but I disagree. I find the course refreshing in the sense that it is different from the other courses I play and it forces me to slow down, hit my lines and not try to force shots. I think Hole #1 is a great starting hole that is tight and a great Ace opportunity straight from the car...while #2 is a tough follow up hole. Then the dance starts of deuce or die holes with #5 thrown in just to humble you. I feel the over the top shots of #13 and #15 force me to throw shots that I rarely throw anywhere else and can only elevate my game as a traveling tournament player.

The course plays extremely fast eventhough there is some distance here. The safety factor of next tee from basket is great. The elevation changes play nicely on the holes but your legs never feel it. You can play multiple rounds here without getting beat down. The course is always clean and rarely is it ever crowded. The baskets are in great shape and will hold an Ace.
Cons: I really wish this course would install some concrete tee pads. I'm just not a fan of dirt tees. If it has been raining all week this course will be very wet. Hole #1 will have a nice mini-pond before the basket. #16 and #17 can flood as well. The wooded holes have a lot of poison ivy as well...but that is being taken care of little by little and is no where near as bad as it was a few years ago.

From time to time #2 thru #5 can have super high weeds. Sometimes the parks will cut out 30' wide fairways and sometimes they will cut the entire field...you never know until you play. #7 & #8 can have high weeds and briars as well. When #15 isn't cut very well the up and over shot can have you looking for a while for your disc since you are throwing blind over the top right.
Other Thoughts: Gulley Park is an hour from my house. I rarely get to drive up and play but when I do I really enjoy myself. I always play atleast 5 rounds when I go. The rounds go quickly and I rarely feel tired afterwards and I'm 41 years old. If this park was close to my house I would most likely choose it to be my daily park before work. Three years ago this was my first exposure to elevated baskets(#12).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Suprised by how good it was

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the Land they had available to them
Very High Fun Factor
Visually great course
Clean, Maintained, Mowed
Nice flow not to hard to Navigate
It's beaten in pretty well, even if you throw you disk into the brush it's not hard to find.
Some great tunnel shots
Great for beginners and advanced players
Cons: Can be repetitious
There are some big holes here but for reasons I can't explain it just felt small

Other Thoughts: This course didn't look too exciting when I first pulled up, but I turned out to be very pleasantly surprised. The main thing that kept popping into my head as I was playing was how great of a design job this course has. The fun factor is Huge! A quick look around and you could see that the land they had to work with was not that good but they really made the best possible use of what they had. I think this is the best course I've ever seen in terms of squeezing all that you can out what you have to work with. Props to whoever designed this course. I loved the tunnel shots.

There is a good mix of shots here but there are also a lot of similar holes. It feels like you play the same hole several times.at one point you zig zag across a field and there are 2 or 3 identical holes. Also the tunnel shots are the bread and butter of this course but they may have gone to the well a few too many times

It seems hidden and out of the way but it's right off the highway. I would recommend it for both newbys and longtimeers and for locals and road trippers


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun to be had here! Good for pros to work on their details, good for beginners to work on improving.
No holes are TOO tough. Some turns, some rolling hills, but no major elevation. There are some gaps you have to hit, but they are fair, and not many tunnel shots.
Well laid out.
Easy to navigate, and great tee signs.
No one here to get in the way(the two times I've played anyway). We played a group of 8 and had a blast.
Park and course seem well-maintained.
Cons: Muddy if there's rain.
Not much elevation change. I'm from the foothills of the Smokies, so I'm used to wooded courses with lots of up and down. This course is pretty flat(but fun).
Poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun here, definitely worth hitting if you live in the area. There are better courses around Cinci, but for a nice change of pace, or to better your game, or to just try something new, this course will satisfy that need to hit chains and feel good about it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warren County's Best Course

5+    12/25/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

Variety in Hole Design
Never Crowded
Clear Signage
Good for Beginner to Advanced Players
Thoughful Course Layout
Cons: Muddy Tees
No Restroom Facilities
Other Thoughts: Gulley is a quality course hidden in the countryside of Warren county. I've taken both experienced and new players here and everyone has enjoyed it. The designers really did a good job of using the land they had to thoughtfully construct the course. Hole #1 is deceptively difficult especially in summer when foliage creeps in. #2-4 are open holes with a tree line close to the pins again requiring some control with approach shots #5 is unique and challenging with its risk/reward opportunities. #6 is a forehand Ace opportunity
7 and 8 are good risk reward and 9 requires a straight initial throw to get you out of the woods into the open field.

The back 9 are longer more open holes which is a nice change of pace from the tight 5-9 on the front 9.

10 is a reasonable par 3 with a deep bunker cut out just past the pin on the leftside. #11 is an open downhill hole good for practicing drives. #12 is uphill with an elevated basket that can cost you a stroke if you arent careful. #13 is probably the best hole on the course, it has an elevated tee through a narrow corridor of forest that opens up into a slow open uphill area with a few large trees. A well placed drive and/or approach shot gives you a chance for eagle. #14 is open with a very large tree that seems to grab your disc more than it should. #15 is the courses longest hole. It requires shot through a very narrow gap in the trees, then a wrap around an extraordinarily thick stand of trees that protects the basket. A good drive usually gets you a birdie. 16 and 17 are both through narrow corridors of woods. Both seem to have overgrown a bit from when the course was originally installed. 18 is open and somewhat long.

This course is a great course for people looking to get into disc golf and get some experience under their belt playing the game. Its a little easier than some of the other courses I have been to, but a lot less frustrating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Hidden Suprise

2-4    8/23/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Innovastar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This has a good mix of wooded and open holes. Small corridors off tee pads and in the fairways make what could be easy holes very challenging. It has a good mix of short ace-able holes and holes where you have a good sized approach shot or even another drive. The signage is great, only confusing spot was between hole 8 and 9.
Cons: This course doesn't not have concrete tee pads, not a big deal for me but would like to see more defined tee pads. Maybe add a board at the front of the tee or something. Some locals seem to use #9 basket as a practice basket so it got confusing when you come out of the woods and are trying to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all levels. I took guys out with me that is was their first time and they had a great time. The course can play tough but still be fun. There are some areas of rough that are just mean and thick with tall grass and briers. I would definitely recommend playing this course if you happen to be in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley

5+    7/4/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers a variety of shots.
This course is a very good beginner friendly course.
Advanced players can work on their mids and putting for 2's here.
The last two holes are very wooded.
Several holes require players to manage to drive through some moderate to large gaps in woods.
A decent amount of elevation changes add some difficulty.
Cons: The parks department and/or the people who manage the park do not do a very good job of trimming you can easily lose several discs.
This course is on the short side for the majority of holes.
Most of the holes are very open and dont require any kind of line shaping.
Almost every hole does not have a concrete tee pad. Some have weird tees like carpets or other materials.
Water and restroom facilities are very lacking.
Other Thoughts: This course is somewhat in the middle of nowhere. It can be hard to find if it is your first time.

You can have an enjoyable round here if you just top by or if you want a break from the normal cincy parks. However this is not a park to plan a roadtrip too.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better parks around Cincinnati

5+    6/7/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well designed

-Variety: The course goes through woods with heavy under brush, through some open type areas, and through another wooded area near the end with little under brush but not as much room to toss.

-Nice Tee Signs: Including par, distance to basket, and a picture to show which way to go. Also near the parking lot there is a large colored map.

-Memorable holes:

Hole 1 has a small creek that goes through it and the basket is on top of a bank that plateaus off. There are wood slat steps to help players get up the bank with ease.

Hole 7 is a shot through trees and over a creek that is neat.

12's basket is on a wooden pyramid.

15 has a shot through a gap in some trees. From there you have to go around a patch of trees which are extremely close together to get to the basket on the opposite side.

Pretty much all the holes at Gulley are fun and challenging.

I've only been playing around a year, but this park is easily one of the better ones around this area.
Cons: -No running water = no drinking fountains or sinks (there are portalets with hand sanitizer).

-May be a bit short for really good players. IMO the wholes are plenty long enough with the amount of woods and bends in most of the holes.

-Dirt Tee Pads (someone has put carpet down on a few of them)

-Hole 1's fairway can flood after a heavy rain. (someone put down some stone cylinders as a walkway to get through the area that floods)
Other Thoughts: I love this park.

Bring drinks, and enjoy this hidden gem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.