Clarksville, OH 
Gulley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Gully Park

5+    10/22/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 20  Reviewed: 15
Pros: * Nice mix of open and technical shots, good variety of distances and throw styles, and a bit of elevation
* Rarely crowded
* Nicely maintained, ample parking, and maintained port-a-potties on site
Cons: * Out of the way
* Poison ivy has been a problem at times, though I haven't noticed it recently. Others have complained about ticks, but I've never had any issues here.
* Marshy after rains
Other Thoughts: They finally got real tees in! The course sees a decent amount of disc golf traffic (though usually not so much you would call it crowded), and combined with the swampiness of the park in general, that put a lot of wear on the tee areas. And it looks like they have done some things to combat the marsh effect, especially on hole 1, although I would still be cautious about going after a soaking-type rain.

They mix the shots up nicely, with a nice selection of wide-open, lighly wooded, moderately wooded, and full-on forest, plus varying distances, and almost half the holes have some sort of elevation effect, though none have steep hills.

My ultimate judgement for any course is "How far is it worth driving to get to it?" And for Gully Park... it's worth going out of your way to play, but not worth making a special trip for, by itself (although combining it with the nearby Osage Orange course might be worth a special trip.) Definitely one for nearby players to add to their 'good course' rotation.

 

5+    4/20/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: Glorch
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Gulley has a great variety of holes ranging from heavily wooded that require control, to wide open holes that are good for beginners. Theres has a nice map that clearly shows the layout of the course. The crew does a nice job keeping the place in good shape. It's also never very busy, usually only 2-4 groups on any giving day. Gulley is all around really fun if you're looking for almost every type of holes in one course.
Cons: The tee pads are kind of a joke. They used to be carpet. None are intact anymore. Could really use concrete.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if there was some way they would let people sponsor holes to have new tee pads put in. I would certainly be willing to sponsor a couple.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    9/1/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very little traffic. Nice drive through country. Nice tee signs and easy to navigate. Nice variety of holes.
Cons: Tee pads could use some work. Looks like at one time they were carpet like. A lot appear to now just be gravel. Some holes require you to have a very straight shot or you will be in the woods.
Other Thoughts: We were very pleased with this course. It's about a 25 minute drive for us from Bellbrook. It's a really nice drive through the country and easy to find. We took a Friday off and there was only one other group on the course. They were starting hole 9 when we started so it felt like we had the course to ourselves. I've heard it doesn't get a lot of traffic so there's a good chance you won't feel rushed. If they updated the tee pads, I would have no problems giving this place 5 stars. I'm anxious to play it in the fall with the leaves changing colors. We will definitely play again! If you go through Waynesville on your way home, stop by and eat at Village Family Restaurant- great food!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/13/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: jeremiah h
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clearly posted map, excellent, custom-made metal hole signs on every hole. Most holes have "Next Hole" signs as well. The short, semi-wooded holes are well-designed. the more open holes feature the flowing elevation changes you like to see in these shots. The course was immaculately tended - I picked up one aluminium can in the entire course, very clean too. Beware of missing the fairway, as shanked shots may be in some seriously nasty, overgrown you-name-it. Perfectly tended fairways justify this in my opinion. Bring your game and your DEET, you'll need 'em.
Cons: Not a good choice for a first-timer, unless they're looking to throw away discs. Plenty of nasty off-fairway shots, during the mid-summer anyway. Probably a friendlier course for people new to DG in the fall. Bugs are bad, just bring repellent. EDIT The tees are carpet, if you're lucky (a couple are dirt). take that as you will. Taking a single step as I generally do didn't matter much. But slabs would make this a seriously event-class course.
Other Thoughts: We played disc golf here 7/5/14, and it was great. First time there with my buddies and we were all impressed with the care to detail that went into this amazing park. To whomever's in charge: well done! We will be back!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    5/31/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: remraf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice variety of holes.
Not much traffic other than disc golf.
Nice, big, open area just past hole 1 where you can throw some warm up throws.
FRIGGIN' TEES HAVE BEEN INSTALLED! They are turf, and they're short, and they're narrow, but they are SOMETHING. And they even elevated the tees on holes 5 and 12 - probably previously the worst 2 tees. Now when I'm standing on the tee at 12, I can actually see the tippy top of the basket (I am 6'), and the hole doesn't seem so up hill anymore.
Cons: Location - off the beaten path. However, Osage Grove is only a 20 minute drive from here, or vice versa, and the 2 together are nicely contrasting, and make for great back to back discin'.
Other Thoughts: Nice, fun course with good variety. In my original review, I stated that Gulley is similar to Turtlecreek, and in some respects it is - mainly that there are a good mix of open and wooded holes. But I've played the course a few more times, and it does have it's own charm as well. Typically not as much dg traffic as Turtlecreek, which is nearly always crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gulley

2-4    6/25/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent 18 hole course, with some challenging holes over and around trees mostly and mostly open fields.
Cons: A water hazard, and some woods deep enough to make it hard to find a disc.
Other Thoughts: really quiet, not too busy course, but extremely well done with enough variety.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Last chance northbound on I-71

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Though a bit off the beaten path, the Gulley disc golf course is a worthy trip for Cincinnatians to visit the Fort Ancient Valley area and get in a fun, relatively challenging round for the recreational to intermediate player. Its location is a bit removed from larger population centers, but it also represents the only course up this way for some of the folks who live here toward the Wilmington area.
Slightly rolling hills and a mix of woods and fields make for a variety of lines and shots. The course starts with a 200 footer to a raised pin, then has three holes angling across a big back field, returning into the woods for a long blind hyzer (rhbh) on #5, and a short anny, after which you're near the parking lot for the first time. 7 & 8 require precise left bends, and 9 comes back through a tight gap to an open basket by the lot for the second time. You get to air out the open #s 10 & 11, and hit an elevated basket on 12 before one of the four long-ish holes (in the neighborhood of 400'). 13 requires you to hit a gap halfway to the pin (or I suppose an advanced arm could go over?), while 14 uses the road as a mando to limit your choice of lines to the otherwise open basket. I love hitting 15 through the narrow gap (at 150' or so) with a flex shot to set up an approach round the small grove of trees to the 450' basket. Wish I could execute that shot all the time. 16 and 17 are traditional woods holes requiring control, while 18 finishes back near the lot with just enough trees out in the open to make it a challenge.
There is a very good course map, and the flow is not really confusing. Adequate (but not terribly fancy) tee signs accompany each hole, there are next tee signs when needed, and the baskets work just fine. Park maintenance is excellent.
It feels like the park was put in just for the DG course, but there are also a small shelter, ball fields and a play area onsite. These are deeper in the park than the DG course, so conflicting activities, rarely do. While there isn't a water fountain, there's a couple of well-kept port-o-lets next to the parking lot.
Cons: Tee pads are unfortunately just a carpet material at present. They are getting worn, rutted, and muddy, and need to be replaced soon. The last time I was there, the #7 tee pad had just been thrown in the trash. #18 has been missing for a while. This course would rise in the ratings quickly with the addition of concrete pads, and would really pop if multiple tees were done at that time.
Several areas get very marshy after a rain (the end of the fairway on 1, and the woods lanes on 16 & 17, in particular), and need better drainage/ water management devised.
I don't recall seeing trash barrels out on the course, but I also haven't seen much litter here (except folks use the timbered box raising the #12 basket as a trash bin. There aren't any benches, but the course plays fairly quickly, so I haven't felt much like resting, either. I mention these as missing amenities that would increase the appeal for some players.
Other Thoughts: With some local sponsorship, tee pad upgrades would make this course an interesting combination with the Mason Sports Park and the Lebanon 9 hole DG courses! Disc golfers would have a fun day hitting those three for a casual event or a tournament.
The course is nearby (but unfortunately not within view of) Fort Ancient Valley, which boasts beautiful vistas, especially in the fall.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the family

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome hole #1. I love starting out with a nice sig hole. You will shoot up to an elevated pin with a sharp design here.

Pretty solid balance. Diverse distances from touch mid's off the tee to nice drives. I'd have to say the course is a bit on the open side, but not too much so. These open holes are complimented with a host of well designed technical beauties.

Solid signage and easy navigation.

High fun factor. Low beat down factor.

The park was gorgeous and very well taken care of.
Cons: May not provide enough challenge for the advanced golfer. Ultimately, it's a gentle course.

Some of the pads were quite worn, torn and uneven. I can't recall playing on pads like these. They were basically wool-like rugs. I kind of liked the ones in good shape. They provided nice traction.

There were a few bland holes
Other Thoughts: I very much liked this course. It was simple and direct. The design never reached too far, while still utilizing the natural hazards well.

There are a few shots that aren't tunnel holes, yet you need to at least hit one gap to land safely. These are nice holes for rec players because they force you to release with accuracy but you don't have to hold long lines.

Cool course. I would play it often if it were local.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/22/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 105  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: good course flow
good layout
decent faiways on every hole
good mix up of shots
400'0+ holes
tee signs
ace runs
smooth terrain
Cons: dirt tee pads
the rough is rough
16&17 get swampy (if its been rainy alot wear boots)
Other Thoughts: played this course alot and never got tired of it, great course to work on your rip and some finess shots. the only real thing i would change is put in some solid tee pads. if your in the area this is a great course to play a few rounds. also has a huge soccer field right next to the parking lot so you really stretch out your arm. also has baseball fields and a jungle gym for the kids.

 Pleasant surprise

1    11/17/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Mostly isolated.
- Great mix of long holes, open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes.
- Elevated basket on a hole.
- Decent amount of ace runs.
Cons: - Scary drive through the "mountains" of south/central Ohio.
- No "signature" hole to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course on the way to Columbus for a weekend. It was quite a bit off the interstate but I like courses out in the middle of nowhere. There is a lot of room on this course for expansion and plenty of chances to change the layout and add extra holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.