Missouri City, TX
First Colony Aquatic Center Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Long Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Nice Change of Pace

5+    9/15/2012   8/7/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course tries to make the best use of the available land (which is pretty tight). The best thing you can say about the FCAC course is that it's unlike any other course in Houston. This course will test your ability to execute shots, control the height of your throws, and play smart around the water. Unlike the majority of Houston courses which are primarily sparse on trees and let you get away with bad shots, the FCAC course will punish those bad throws with extra strokes.

The tees are natural and are marked with painted cinder blocks in the ground. They're easily found with the use of the online map or the beautiful Houck course map located at the parking lot. The short tees are beginner-friendly and well suited for a neighborhood course. The long tees will challenge experienced players.

Has a cool sidewalk circle "island" hole which is more challenging that it looks from the 248' long tee.
Cons:
Water bordering four holes will get a lot of discs wet if you're not careful. During evening hours you need to be conscious of pedestrians on the sidewalks. Single chain baskets with very heavy chains have been known to reject a few putts. The course is RHBH friendly, especially all the holes close to the water.

Walking from #7 to #8 crosses #2, be careful. When teeing off on #9 you need to be conscious of players on hole #10.
Other Thoughts:
Not a destination course by any means, but a great change of pace from the grip-and-rip spray-drives-everywhere courses around town.

Parking at the clubhouse parking lot can be limited at times, overflow parking is available on the street.

Course Ground Rules:
The course is intended to be played with the following rules:
* All lake water is OB.
* All streets (including curbs) are OB.
* Sidewalks and non-basket side of sidewalks are OB (This means you must throw from the tee box to in-bounds territory on #5 Long and #6, or you must re-tee with a penalty stroke).
* Hole #7: your tee shot must come to rest inside the sidewalk circle or you throw from the Drop Zone with a penalty stroke
* Hole #10 Long: there's a Mando (pass left) of the right side tree beside the short tee box; Drop Zone is the short tee.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course but too punitive for the recreational player

1    5/7/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course near a lake in a nice neighborhood. The tees are well marked with distances. The holes are generally quite challenging due to low ceiling tree cover, narrow fairways, with OB on both sides (sidewalk and lake).

Were it not for the stiff penalty of losing discs in the water, this would be a really fun course. I know I am probably going to get hammered for this review, but I HATE water courses. That said, holes #6, 7, 8, and 9 allow for big hyzer bombs (RHBH) over the water, and that is fun. My issue with the water is on holes #1 and 2, where RHBH fade can put you right in the lake. You don't have much room on the right because of the OB. These two holes have cost me 6 discs over 2 rounds.

The Lightning DB-5 baskets seem really large compared to other baskets, and they don't have inner chains.

The Island hole #4 is quite a fun challenge and a change of pace from the regular holes on the course.

Hole #10 is a great (RHBH) anhyzer tunnel shot through the trees, with a mando that takes the hyzer shot out of play.
Cons: As the previous reviewer stated, you WILL lose discs in the water, unless you are VERY accurate. When you inevitably do throw a disc in the lake, it is probably gone for good, the lake bottom is lined with downward sloping cement blocks covered with algae. Your disc is gone... let it go. For me this is too stiff a penalty because I am not that good that I can help myself from throwing in the lake. Several baskets are next to downward sloping terrain that serves to help an unlucky role find itself in the water and gone forever. Even though I like the hyzer bomb holes, I lost 3 more discs on those holes as well... so frustrating.

This course is in a neighborhood. In my opinion it is much more challenging than you would expect from a "neighborhood" course. In addition, you have a chance of hitting cars, pedestrians, cyclists, babies in strollers... you get the point ... with slightly errant throws.

I am really a recreational level player, but I also know of a few advanced amateur and pro players that don't like to come out to this course because of the punitive water hazards.
Other Thoughts: I applaud Neal and Eric for designing a challenging course with limited area between sidewalk and lake. If you can afford to lose a lot of discs in the water, this would be a great course for practicing accuracy. Unfortunately, I am too big of a risk taker for my playing ability, and so I am banning myself from this course until I improve my skill level substantially or until I win the lottery. This course is fun but costly if you don't have a high level of skill or a high level of self control. I played 2 rounds and lost 9 discs in the water. (in all fairness 5 of them were on practice shots, but that doesn't make it any easier to stomach).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Prepare to donate some plastic...

5+    5/6/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A so-so course if you have a noodle arm but are very accurate.
If you like sacrificing discs to the water gods....this course is for you!
If you happen to live in the neighborhood, 3 or 4 holes are decent to play/practice.
Cons: Firstly, the ground slopes pretty hard toward the lake on many holes and basket placement is pretty tight so you WILL lose discs. Even a pretty good shot has a decent chance of getting wet.
Secondly, the low canopy present on almost all holes makes for pretty boring, mundane shot selection. Hyzer bombs and long anyhyzers are highly unlikely on this course.
Lastly, the frequent cars, walkers/joggers and oncoming player traffic makes interrupted play a common occurence here.
Other Thoughts: I think the course designers did as good a job as was possible considering the location and shape of land that they had to work with. In the end however, perhaps a different location would have lead to a much more enjoyable course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short yet tricky course

1    9/28/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: >It is very easy to find and even with just the flags in the ground as of right now it is easy to follow the flow of the course.

>This course will keep you honest. Most of the shots off the tees have low hanging trees so you need to be able to keep your shots low to get them within birdie distance of the holes.

>A few of the holes have big risk/reward type shots where either you go for the long putt towards water or lay up for a par. A course with water in play as much as this one gets the heart racing and can be exciting.

>The course really was designed well on such a small piece of land.

>The "island" hole at #4 I think was very unique and challenging
Cons: >There are no super long holes and sometimes the holes can feel repetitive.

>If a disc goes in the water the only thing you can do is salute your lost friend and move on because the water is murky in every sense of the word and it is illegal to wade in the water.
Other Thoughts: The course is brand new so I did not take points away for not being designated signs and tee pads because I believe those should be installed within a few weeks and I will be back to try the course with those in.

The course does well on the small land that it is on. If you are nearby come play but it is not a destination stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.