Disc Golf Store
Decatur, AL
Flying Dragon Share
Uploaded By: f'in draggin' Hole #5
3 / 338ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun in the Shade

2-4    6/2/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: tunamba99
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Well layed out, challenging, map on each hole.
Cons: Lots of undergrowth if you get off course. Watch out for poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Short course because entire course is layed out in dense woods. Narrow fairways but a fun course to play, even for a beginner as long as you don't become frustrated.

Definate Potential

1    3/22/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a new course. Newly cut into the woods, new baskets, new tees. The tees are astroturf-covered gravel beds for the most part. Most of the fairways were "paved" with wood chips which is an excellent idea. There are tiny garbage cans scattered throughout the course. Navigation is easy with the provided signage/indicators. The hole signs are great and provide all the necessary info. The holes so far are pretty balanced from a righty/lefty standpoint and reward line-shaping with many birdie opportunities. The underbrush exists, but it isn't overwhelming and wayward discs were located (it was still technically winter though so it could change during the upcoming season). I'm always a fan of hanging basket and the one on 6 was a surprise that I enjoyed!

The course is nominally flat with some typical north Alabama rocks and scrub throughout. The last two holes featured this terrain. Not sure where the hole #11 in the photo on this site was as I didn't see it during my visit.
Cons: Still unfinished and in-progress (still had some ash-piles from a recent fairway burn when I was out there). No real benches after the first hole. The choice to use the astroturf-on-gravel for the tee design is somewhat questionable as I know from experience that this construction can deteriorate quickly and provide a somewhat hazardous tee in the future. Currently, the bulk of the tees are level and in like-new condition (seeing as they are, you know, new).

There is some real proximity issues in the front 9 as several tees/fairways/baskets are really close to each other. However, I believe the course designer/workers are addressing this with some options currently under consideration. There were a couple of standing water/mud issues around the 8, 9, 10 are as it appeared the wood chips hadn't been spread or had consolidated recently. Not a big issue though and it had rained heavily the day before.

The operating hours for the soccer complex may turn off a few people, but parking outside of the gate and walking in wasn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: The bulk of this partially-complete course is of the short, technical, line-shaping quality through the woods. The two newest holes (11 & 12, I think) feel "signature" with their terrain and difficulty. I'm excited to see where this course ends up as I feel the on-going discussion about the remaining holes and possible re-working portions of the front 9 show a level of dedication and passion by the course workers. I'm excited to see where the potential of this course takes it and I finally have a course within a few minutes of my in-laws!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

landscaped with Rocks!

1    3/12/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: Terry 44
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Placement, a technical course. Very nice looking landscape, the fairways were paved with wood chips. The rocks are very cool and unique to the course. Very nice local players! Great signs, best I have seen, and new baskets. More than one basket (usually) per hole.
Cons: Shorter course, no longer open holes. No water hazards, still not completed. (as of 3-12-13).
Other Thoughts: I gave this a 3 disc rating, but will be surprised if this course does not shoot higher as soon as the final 18th hole is put in. There were two new holes in the ground when I played. They were great holes, using the natural terrain with the rock formations, it was beautiful. The rocks (and they were profuse) add some difficulty as they can stop a drive dead or they can give it a serious skip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Finally a course in Decatur

5+    9/1/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: hyzerout29
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets
Short for new players
Great for working on accuracy instead of distance
Informative map a beginning
Most holes have multiple 2 basket locations
Practice basket outside of course
Cons: Put at Jack Allen Complex which is only open 7-5 Mon-Fri...closed on weekends when most can play. So on weekends must park at gate and walk uphill to the course to the left.

Will be a whole lot better when the other holes are completed.

Can be a little rough in the summer with the vegetation...a lot of thorns.

Needs concrete pads instead of outdoor carpet.
Other Thoughts: Nice course that's not yet completed (only 10 holes)...if u do not have a lot of time its a good place to go with a good mid range and putter and be done within a hour or could play twice. Again would be nice of the city to actually put it somewhere that was 7 day accessible but hey it is a start, would have gave it 3 instead of 2.5 cause of this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.