Des Moines, IA 
Southwoods Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 159ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Sign/Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
  Tough course, better courses in DSM area

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: strippr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wooded and hilly, it definitely gives you a run for your money and tests all of your best throws. Challenging for sure. No wait on tees, not many people playing it.
Cons: Very challenging. Throw accurately or you'll lose your disc. Only the paths are mowed...not any of the nearby (two-foot-tall) grasses, weeds, and ivies. Many woods; discs easy to get stuck in low trees. Not recommended for a hot day...the grade on the hills is deathly in the heat/humidity. Seems like mud might be a problem, too, but it was dry when I played. There's no map of the course, and the tees/baskets can be difficult to find. I said too often, "Uhh..where next?"
Other Thoughts: Easy to find in West Des Moines. Right across from a middle school and next door to the police station. A cop was even 'nice' enough to circle us as we pulled into the parking lot and wait for us to leave [/sarcasm].

The cons outweigh the pros. I'd say go somewhere else unless you have a disc-spotting/retrieving dog to find your lost discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not a bad 9-hole course

1    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: neocenturion
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of open and wooded holes. Excellent use of elevation change. Several holes (4 for example) really make you work for it. 6 of the holes, especially #6, are fantastic!
Cons: Don't play it after a rain. Very difficult terrain to negotiate when its muddy. As others have said, make sure you stay on the fairways! The woods are almost guaranteed to eat your discs! Three holes are incredibly difficult. This would be a 'pro' to some, but to a beginner or someone in the process of tweaking this for, those three holes can be rough!
Other Thoughts: This is a very interesting course. The variety of holes is excellent and it is a pretty course. The use of terrain is as good as any course you will find in this area!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 snow play

1    12/25/2008   11/17/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i used to live in west des moines, and this was a cool park back in the day. good to see a disc golf course here. i played here while visiting over christmas...needless to say its IOWA and there was about a foot of snow on the ground. my first snow round, first throw...lost disc.
Cons: there was so much snow on the ground i couldnt find actual tee pads except for a few holes, so i played from the signs. pretty steep hills and i had no snow shoes
Other Thoughts: cant wait to play this when the weather is better. i met someone walking their dog, and they looked at me like i was crazy for playing in the snow, but i couldnt pass up getting out from the in laws house to play. i went back the next day when the snow was melting and found my disc, so it was worth the expierence.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/10/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: Swisher Streets
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Variety of Holes (Short, Long, Uphill, Downhill, Left, Right, etc.)
-Few Long bombs
-Hole 6 is always fun
-Start with 1 disc and leave with 10 after looking on holes.
-Usually never a wait
Cons: -Nearly impossible to find shots thrown in the woods in the heart of summer
-Poison Ivy
-Trash pretty much everywhere
-Lose a disc there and youll never get it back. Common spot for high schoolers at the nearby Valley High School
Other Thoughts: Worth a play every now and again, much better courses in the area though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stay on the Fairway...

2-4    5/26/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: jdggna
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes great use of the elevation and space that was available.
The shots are varied, but nothing too challenging.
Two concrete tees on most of the holes. The pro tee for hole 7 is from the bike path.
Cons: Litter can be a problem, though the last time I played it wasn't. I believe it had been cleaned for a small event that day though.
Poison ivy is a concern if you're off the fairway and in the trees.
I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the undergrowth off the fairway yet. It is some of the thickest I've seen on a course. Its not uncommon to loose multiple discs if you struggle with keeping them on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: The sketchy bridge isn't an issue anymore. It was removed and replaced with a gravel path over a drain pipe this spring.
It should be noted that you'll probably find several discs if you toss yours in the woods here and are persistent in finding yours.

This course is acceptable if you need a short round, but if you have time for 18 I would advise playing one of the other metro courses (Ewing, Pickard, Grandview, or Walnut Ridge).

EDIT: Played it again today after writing my review hoping to find some discs...ended up spending an hour and a half looking for my own. Probably won't be coming back for at least the rest of the summer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9 holers out there

5+    2/15/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 66  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 13.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for a 9 hole course. It has multiple tee pads on 8 out of the 9 holes. Has one hole that might be one of the toughest 150 ft. It is a fair hole to play, but I have seen scores vary from 2-5.
Cons: The course is right next to a middle school, so trash is definitely a problem. Vandalism is also a problem. Most of the players there are rec players and damage the signage a great deal. I don't know how many signs are left out there.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I am a bit biased about it. I do believe though if you get past the trash and vandalism, that this is one of the best 9 hole courses in the US. And others have made the same comment.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course once you get past its condition

5+    7/15/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 192  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 20.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of interesting elevation. Good balance. Flows fairly well. Multiple concrete tees on each hole.
Cons: Litter is often a problem. The bridge from #2 to #3 is collapsed and unsafe to cross. Many missing signs. Forced to walk back along the final fairway to get back to parking lot.
Other Thoughts: One of the more interesting 9-holers around, there are even a few legitimate par 4 holes. A challenging and fun course to play, but unfortunately is showing its age with litter and missing signage.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.