Des Moines, IA 
Southwoods Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
4 / 470ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Sign/Tee/Approach



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
9 holes that feel like 12

5+    5/15/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: JmanJoshua
Played: 96  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.3 Years
Pros: I cut my teeth on this course, back in the day and it has gone through some changes and improvements. It is a surprisingly difficult 9 hole course. My friend and I use to drive over here after school almost every day and play the course a few times. It was nice to come back and see they seem to be keeping up on the course.The first hole starts up to the right of the parking lot and shoot way down to the bottom of the hill. When you first look at the fairway it looks huge, but it is easy to have your disc turn into the thick woods which border both sides of the fairway. ( I have found a lot of discs in these woods over the years withouth names. Please write your name and number on your discs people! A lot of people will call you back to give it to you.)This fairway in the middle of the trees continues for the next two holes and you make your way back up the other side of the decently steep hills. The next hole is in the woods back down the hill and take a left after the huge bushes that guard the path to hole 3 on the right side. Hole #4 is a shock after the first three holes with a tight fairway to the basket. It is easy to get nocked off the fairway and into the woods. This hole makes you practice throwing your disc verticle to get out of trouble. Hole five contines up and to the left of the basket almost to the road. #5 is merely a warm up for my favorite hole, #6, but it is a fun one to have in the mix. If you play late int he day you migth see a lot of bats here. This is a long one and you have to place your drive carefully to avoid the nasty water hazzard. It is a wonderful view from up on top. Hole #7 is a flat smaller version of hole #1 and continues to add a nice variety to the holes. #8 is a dog leg right 3/4ths of the way down the fairway with tall grass along the fairways, and some trees guardign a shortcut to the basket. Hole #9 is a short hole with ace potential, but probably just a nice birdie, as long as you hit your line. Overall a very nice course, one of the best 9 hole courses I have ever played. There are also shorter pads to throw from on each hole if you don't have a big arm
Cons: If you have not played here before the next hole can occationally be hard to find. Years ago, after #3 I tried to keep going up the hill through the small path and couldn't find hole #4. Once you know the layout or read other reviews telling you where they are, it is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy the course and leave it cleaner than when you arrived. Also, there path between hole #1 & #9 which leads back int he woods and you can go hiking and crossing the river a couple times. It is a fun place to hike and full of hills.

Surprising 9 hole

1    7/21/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: - Convenient location for golfers in the west des moines/urbandale area.

- Surprisingly long for a 9 hole course

- holes are creative and have a fine mix of ruffage/openness/trees.

- Great use of landscape and elevation, really adds character and challenge.

- Fairways are tight but well groomed.
Cons: - Ruff areas have quite a bit of heavy ground coverage and tall weeds. A wild disc may take a while to find.

- Right behind a police department but that is only on 2 holes, so not a problem for the majority of the course.

- a few of the hole's connecting paths through wooded areas are a bit overgrown and hard to find for the first timer.
Other Thoughts: I thoguht this course did a wonderful job on the 9 holes it has. They could have easily added a few holes on the land, but it seems like they really put thought into the course rather then overloading it with short holes. This is a course that will also test a great deal of your different techniques. A few downhill shots and a few killer uphill shots, not to mention tightly wooded fairways and one very small, but vicious water hazard. Took me and a friend just under an hour to get through it on our first time.

 Play if you must

1    10/13/2011   4/19/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another course on my list, some good elevation use great elevation use. the par 4s were a lot of fun, multiple teepads on a couple holes.
Cons: Teepads inconsistent. Right next to the copshop.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course enough i thought the elevation was a sweet challenge

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It will grow on you if you let it

5+    8/23/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of shot variations from wide open to tunnel shots in the woods, good exercise because it is pretty hilly overall, not usually crowded,
Cons: Starts out well maintained in the spring but the prairie grasses start to get a little out of control by fall so easy to lose a disc, Not all pads have signs so can be hard to figure out the layout the first time through
Other Thoughts: I used to hate this course but because it's like 5 minutes from my house and only 9 holes I tend to play it a lot when I don't have a big block of time to drive somewhere else. It will grow on you, my biggest gripe was not knowing the layout, but once you're familiar with that its not really that bad of a course, plus they just put in two new pads which shows the parks department is interested in improvements and maintenance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very fun for only 9 holes!

5+    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Shine11
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The first hole is breath taking view. hole 6 is long with a creek to cross in the middle. all around very fun course
Cons: Big park, wish they could have done 18 holes. Need to be able to throw straight or u could have a troubling day

  Tough course, better courses in DSM area

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: strippr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded and hilly, it definitely gives you a run for your money and tests all of your best throws. Challenging for sure. No wait on tees, not many people playing it.
Cons: Very challenging. Throw accurately or you'll lose your disc. Only the paths are mowed...not any of the nearby (two-foot-tall) grasses, weeds, and ivies. Many woods; discs easy to get stuck in low trees. Not recommended for a hot day...the grade on the hills is deathly in the heat/humidity. Seems like mud might be a problem, too, but it was dry when I played. There's no map of the course, and the tees/baskets can be difficult to find. I said too often, "Uhh..where next?"
Other Thoughts: Easy to find in West Des Moines. Right across from a middle school and next door to the police station. A cop was even 'nice' enough to circle us as we pulled into the parking lot and wait for us to leave [/sarcasm].

The cons outweigh the pros. I'd say go somewhere else unless you have a disc-spotting/retrieving dog to find your lost discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not a bad 9-hole course

1    5/13/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: neocenturion
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of open and wooded holes. Excellent use of elevation change. Several holes (4 for example) really make you work for it. 6 of the holes, especially #6, are fantastic!
Cons: Don't play it after a rain. Very difficult terrain to negotiate when its muddy. As others have said, make sure you stay on the fairways! The woods are almost guaranteed to eat your discs! Three holes are incredibly difficult. This would be a 'pro' to some, but to a beginner or someone in the process of tweaking this for, those three holes can be rough!
Other Thoughts: This is a very interesting course. The variety of holes is excellent and it is a pretty course. The use of terrain is as good as any course you will find in this area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 snow play

1    12/25/2008   11/17/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: i used to live in west des moines, and this was a cool park back in the day. good to see a disc golf course here. i played here while visiting over christmas...needless to say its IOWA and there was about a foot of snow on the ground. my first snow round, first throw...lost disc.
Cons: there was so much snow on the ground i couldnt find actual tee pads except for a few holes, so i played from the signs. pretty steep hills and i had no snow shoes
Other Thoughts: cant wait to play this when the weather is better. i met someone walking their dog, and they looked at me like i was crazy for playing in the snow, but i couldnt pass up getting out from the in laws house to play. i went back the next day when the snow was melting and found my disc, so it was worth the expierence.

Southwoods

5+    8/10/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: Swisher Streets
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of Holes (Short, Long, Uphill, Downhill, Left, Right, etc.)
-Few Long bombs
-Hole 6 is always fun
-Start with 1 disc and leave with 10 after looking on holes.
-Usually never a wait
Cons: -Nearly impossible to find shots thrown in the woods in the heart of summer
-Poison Ivy
-Trash pretty much everywhere
-Lose a disc there and youll never get it back. Common spot for high schoolers at the nearby Valley High School
Other Thoughts: Worth a play every now and again, much better courses in the area though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stay on the Fairway...

2-4    5/26/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: jdggna
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes great use of the elevation and space that was available.
The shots are varied, but nothing too challenging.
Two concrete tees on most of the holes. The pro tee for hole 7 is from the bike path.
Cons: Litter can be a problem, though the last time I played it wasn't. I believe it had been cleaned for a small event that day though.
Poison ivy is a concern if you're off the fairway and in the trees.
I'm surprised nobody has mentioned the undergrowth off the fairway yet. It is some of the thickest I've seen on a course. Its not uncommon to loose multiple discs if you struggle with keeping them on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: The sketchy bridge isn't an issue anymore. It was removed and replaced with a gravel path over a drain pipe this spring.
It should be noted that you'll probably find several discs if you toss yours in the woods here and are persistent in finding yours.

This course is acceptable if you need a short round, but if you have time for 18 I would advise playing one of the other metro courses (Ewing, Pickard, Grandview, or Walnut Ridge).

EDIT: Played it again today after writing my review hoping to find some discs...ended up spending an hour and a half looking for my own. Probably won't be coming back for at least the rest of the summer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.