Wausau, WI 
John Muir Middle School Share
Uploaded By: JeremyAD   (Taken 8/2012)
Typical 2' x 2' tee pad



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
quickie course

2-4    7/6/2014   7/16/2014
Review By: nobotious
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very good for being a little quickie course. good course for practicing the basics of putting, and midrange throws. only a couple places requiring a long-ish drive.
Cons: as others have said, a badly placed launch could end you in a neighbors yard, the basket going into the track area I don't believe is a great idea (though i understand the space requirement).
Other Thoughts: overall a good course to play for a quick round, or just introducing friends to disc golf. grass is always well maintained, and there isn't much to consider "rough".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty decent middle school course

2-4    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 137  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around the north end of the school property. Nice brand new disccatcher baskets on all holes. There are Approximately 2'x2' stone blocks sunk into the ground serving as the tee pad area. Hole number and an arrow toward the basket are painted onto every block. The first hole starts north of the tennis and basketball courts and south of the storage shed throwing east. Once you find the first hole navigating the rest of the course is pretty simple. We did end up missing hole seven the first time through. Hole sixs basket is located behind the stand of trees and is blind from the tee but you sevens basket to the right and past the stand of trees. This was the only navigation glitch that we encountered here. They do an excellent job using the elevation and few large trees on the hillside to make it as challenging as they really could for the land available. Wouldn't seem to be overly busy ever either, there were 3 other groups playing when we played but groups would tend to move through fairly quickly. There are no benches or trash cans but it is only a nine holer so sitting down or having excessive amounts of trash you can't pack out shouldn't be a problem here. This is an awesome course to just work on different shots or techniques. Course also seemed nicely mowed and maintained.
Cons: Holes 8 and 9 are located right next to the track with both throwing over the track which can scrape your discs up pretty good. These also wouldn't be playable if the tracks were in use but again its a school course so its not playable during school hours anyhow. The numbers and the arrows on the stone tees are already fading on quite a few holes. An errant shot on either hole 2 or 4 could end up in a neighbors yard. Just something to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a pretty nice middle school course. I wish i'd have had a course like this at my school. Nice little addition to the other 2 nearby courses making for a solid day of disc golfing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

John Muir = nature which is lacking on this course

1    10/28/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice quick course which can be played in 15 minutes if you hustle. Perfect for a quick round at recess or anytime you don't have an hour to dedicate to disc golf in one day.
2) Nice use of elevation on this course. There are 4 or 5 holes that go up down, or across a decent slope. It alters your shot, stance, and how you want to execute the hole.
3) Tees are marked by a small concrete block in the ground with the hole # and an arrow directing you to your next basket.
4) Nice Discatchers . . . the yellow band surely stands out when driving by the course from either side. Maybe that can be a new marketing feature of Innova's . . . our baskets are the most visible baskets on the market.
5) Beginner friendly course because the obstacles are not overwhelming. The slopes will provide the challenge that the lack of obstacles is missing. There is however virtually no way to lose a disc here.
6) I threw a roller down the hill, through the ditch, across the track and it circled the basket. I was so pumped after this shot because it did exactly what I wanted it to do. It was a thing of beauty to throw a perfect roller like that. This course will stand out in my mind as one of my best rollers ever thrown. Now if only they worked more frequently.
Cons: 1) One section of the course is on nice lush turf, then the other section is very thin and spotty turf. Overall I would say the conditions need to improve on the upper section or this will remain a con.
2) The lack of obstacles is an issue for me. I wish the trees were more in play because the slopes alone do not create enough interest in the shots.
3) Course will be closed during school hours . . . this will not factor into the rating but worth noting that he course is not always available for play. Commons sense should tell you that however since it is inside a fenced in area on school property.
4) No benches, signs, or any of the standard amenities on disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: While there aren't a lot of cons on this course it can only be an average course in my opinion. There are some redeeming values and the design incorporated the best areas on the property which is all you can really ask for. Overall it is just average but still is a lot of fun to throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great "Beginner/Learning Course

2-4    10/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: Jannus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located is at an intesection of two highly traveled streets in town. Definitely a great course to which to learn the basics of disc golf. Lots of wide open holes (it's basically contained in a big field). Some elevation comes ito play as the back of the property has a slope that a number of the holes play both "up" and "down." A few holes play around individual trees and a small "grove of trees break up two of the holes,
Cons: It's on a "school property" and can't be played during school hours of operation by anyone whois not a student there (middle school). The "tee pads" (if you can call them that) are concrete, but only as big as 20 in.X 20 in. Two of the holes play over portions of the asphalt "track" and can give your plastic some "road rash". that same track is also used by walker/joggers who become incidental obstructions/targets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.