Perrysburg, OH 
Woodlands Park Share
Uploaded By: hoyle7780 Hole #7 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Woodlesslands Park

1    8/10/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 98  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Good place to go to get your tan on
2) Lots of women walking and jogging around
3) concrete tees
Cons: 1) lack of trees and elevation
2) no pro tees
3) pedestrian paths are dangerously close on quite a few holes
Other Thoughts: There's not a whole lot to say about this course. It's got a few holes where trees come into play. There's virtually no elevation changes. There's quite a few holes where you can air out a drive.

The design has some S shots, some lefty and righty shots, and a few shot shaping shots as well. Even so, after playing it, I just felt that it was "ok." Not very impressed. I don't recommend traveling very far to play this, especially when Ottawa Park is only 15 minutes away. If you're in the area and have some time to kill, then hit it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Play Perrysburg :)

1    5/10/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1155  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 26.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: young developing park with a variety of flowering trees that appear like they we're planted just for a disc golf course.

good enough sized tee pads

I appreciated the arrows that pointed (me, the tourist visiting and playing this course for the first time) to the next tee area. Each arrow was easily found near the crown of the basket on the main pole :)

Though most holes seemed to be in the straight up the main fairway variety. Each hole had it's own particular kind of charm. I really liked # 14 as it appeared that the hole was developed big mound of dirt the whole fairway (and then some) by placing and then planting beautiful rows of pine trees to on the outside of the mound to build a natural fairway (at least it appeared as such)

very clean park, with highly visible police presence (not that it was needed, as Perrysburg is a very nice community)

good directions to the park.

I liked the main shelter that was between hole # 1 and basket #




18. It had great potential for a future Ice Bowl tournament as it had a pretty large fireplace and plenty of picnic tables.

2 kiosks on the course.
Cons: only one tee pad per hole

on the kiosk, (and this is a very correctable problem) the distances we're displayed in a light green color. So even to the naked eye it was hard to see the distances. I would suggest keeping everything as is on the kiosk, but use a black color to identify the distances so it would stand out better.
Other Thoughts: I don't think this course is geared for the top pro player, but then again. I don't think the top pro's would shy away from playing this course as it was a very nice grip and rip type of course. That as the park/trees matures so will the courses challenges (as mentioned above the trees seemed like they we're planted in mind of the course)

Playground and walking path at park for family usage.

clean restrooms.

close to interstates (highways)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

An OK Park Course

2-4    5/4/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well manicured park is very beautiful. Especially in the spring when the trees are blooming.
-Some well designed holes that make you think.
-Lots of benches and water fountains.
-Nicely sized, concrete tees.
-Good signage and easy navigation.
Cons: -Too many holes are just wide open field shots.
-Busy park and the course comes close to the playground. I've had people in the way on hole 14 numerous times. They've always moved for me, but it's still a hazard.
-Busy path and road come into play at several places.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, but it has limitations. Unless it's a very windy day (which is fairly common in this area) it is very easy. There are a number of fun and interesting shots through tunnels of trees. However, the large number of wide open holes is why I gave this course a 2.5. Still, it's a nice play and a great course to take new players to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clean, well manicured course

2-4    12/23/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 52  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -clean, well manicured park
-concrete tees with hole #'s and lengths
-a few longer holes to heave it on
-baskets are newer and in good shape
-solid front 9 and closing holes
-restrooms located near the 1st hole
-navigating the course is quite easy
Cons: -not a lot of shot variety needed
-really just a 2-3 disc course in my opinion
-most of the back 9 is somewhat monotonous
Other Thoughts: Worth a visit if your in the Toledo area. One of the safer places to play from what I read in other reviews compared to Ottawa Park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

2-4    12/4/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: Coal train
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A brand new course.
A good course for beginers.
Located in a well maintained park.
Playground for those with kids.
As of 12-08-12 theay have added a practice basket!
Cons: Lack of trash cans along the course.
Some of the holes are close to walking trails and benches. You really got to watch for other people.
Other Thoughts: My friend and I are not the most expireanced dg'rs but we both had fun playing this course! I recomend going and checkin it out! It's mostly par 3 course with a few par 4 holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good addition to the area

2-4    11/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice well kept park in a friendly suburb.

A handful of challenging holes with serious potential to improve the rest of the course.

Abundant parking and facilities including water, restrooms and playground equipment to keep the kiddies busy.

Zero chance of loosing a disc makes this a great course to introduce people to the game.
Cons: Full potential has yet to be realized, but the course is less than a year old.

Conservative suburban setting means "sodas" on the course are a seriously bad idea.

Course is in a busy park, and certain holes play a little too close to walking paths for comfort.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course in an area that suffered from a lack of options previously. Previously Toledo area residents had the choice of driving to Bowling Green to play Carter Park (not worth it), playing Ottawa Park in Toledo (kind of in the hood and sketchy), or driving to Michigan or Findlay to find a decent course. While Woodlands at this stage of it's development is not an overly challenging course, it is as good if not slightly better than Carter, and as it's in an upscale, safe and friendly suburb of Toledo, so I'd feel better leaving my kids on the play equipment there while playing a quick 18 holes than I would up at Ottawa Park. Due to the amount of traffic this course gets from non-DG'ers, it will hopefully drive some traffic to the game. I look forward to seeing Woodlands progress and improve as it will be my course of choice when I'm in the Toledo area visiting friends and family.

Update: Lowered my review to 3 stars upon further reflection and playing again. The course has significant potential to be a 3.5 star course (at best) but my original review was too strongly based on potential, and not enough on what's there now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/9/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice DGA baskets and concrete tees with a small sign listing the hole number, par and distance set into the concrete. Navigation is easy and there are arrows on the baskets pointing you to the next hole.

About half the holes have some large, mature trees that are used very well to create some great holes. There's an ok shot variety here with a few of these holes forcing turnover shots. There is a good variety of distances ranging from 200 to 410 feet.
Cons: About half the course is wide open and flat.

The road come into play on hole 5, a parking lot on 12 & 16, the walking path on a handful of holes, and picnic benches and shelters on a few other holes. Individually, none of these are a big deal, but together there is a lot to watch for so please keep an eye out for other people on the course.

While there is a good variety of hole distances, 13 of the holes are less than 300 feet long. That combined with so many open holes on a mostly flat park makes the course a little boring.

There isn't really a line up the middle on hole 6 because there are so many branches sticking out into the fairway. The only route I could find what a big, wide hyzer shot that could bring the walking path or road into play.
Other Thoughts: The park is rather open, but the course uses the available trees well.

This is a great course for newer players (with the exception of the safety hazards mentioned above). There's not much challenge here for the more advanced player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice little course

2-4    10/2/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 8 play though a slightly wooded area and really make you think about what shot to take.

The park was clean and really nice pleasant People all throughout the park

Nice tees

Area around has plenty to do and there's a nice park at the park for the kiddos

I really liked how 18 finished the course
Cons: Lack of tees are marked distances I found myself over shooting a few holes because the looked longer
A few holes really close to the walking running path

The back 10 holes are short open hyzer holes and are mostly alike and are just to easy . I went from -2 after the front holes to finishing -7 the first time out
(I heard a there a longer set of tees in the works so If that happens it could help

could be a pain if the park is busy i went to 9am and was pretty busy of a weekday
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job on what the had to work with ,a few trees here are there could really improve the back holes .
had a good time playing here

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Come for the front, stay for the birdies on the back...

5+    9/19/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodlands is a definite city course, and as such there are limiting factors in play. Considering those limiting factors: the course is nice. It opens with a wonderfully designed first eight holes.

You begin on hole 1 with a green protected by a heavy ceiling and mature trees. Hole 2 has a tricky angle, and no direct route. Hole 3 is similar, providing multiple options - each of them risk-reward. Hole 4 is a relatively simple hole, with a nice set of low guardian trees that make the angle to the park job tricky. Hole 5 is has some OB in play, a nice risky forehand and an up the middle route with ceiling. Hole 6 is similar to hole 2 - no straightforward route. Hole 7 allows the arm to open up with a 410-20 foot open field bomb. Hole 8 forces you to rein it back in with a short forehand requiring you to skirt the foliage to park it in a tucked in green.

Beyond the opening stretch of holes - the course has a lot to offer in terms of simple pleasures. It is a very well manicured course - the lawns are mowed, treated, and healthy. There is a very active local community that utilizes the well maintained trail loop around the park. Restrooms near the first hole are clean and pleasant (as restrooms go). There is also a water fountain at the seventh hole that has clean and tasty water. The park is kept free of bad elements by the presence of an elementary school next door to hole eight. The local police are definitely a presence - and have been spotted on multiple occasions.

It is also the only course between Ottawa Park in Toledo and Carter Park in Bowling Green. The gap isn't massive, but at the same time - it is more than the local community would like to see. For those living in Perrysburg - the drive to either locations is at the least an inconvenience. This presence should help to bring about a boost in the local golfer population, as well as a boost to the playing level of many that weren't able to get out as much before.
Cons: As has been stated - this is a city park with limitations. The same things that make it nice, also get in the way. The number of people that spend time at the park, and could therefore be exposed to the game also make it difficult at times to throw. This fall they have not been in the way thus far, but in the summer one could imagine copious numbers of people in the open fields that several holes play across.

The open fields also make the final 10 holes somewhat boring. There is some room for improvement - but overall without planting more trees that is limited. Holes 9-18 all are relatively open field shots, anything in the repertoire is available on any of the holes, with no limiting factors around the teepads to close off angles. Several holes could have been placed closer to nearby bushes or trees to at least force a certain line. Hole 9 is longish, and therefore not a deuce-or-die - but after that it gets down to fairly simple golf until hole 18, which at least provides a berm to force a slightly elevated shot and guardian trees to limit the hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Please don't consider the 2.0 rating an indictment - keep in mind that when rating courses each number value is given a label as well. A 2.0 rating is described as "Reasonable." - that describes Woodlands Park well. It is a reasonable course. If you are in the area and are jonesing for some golf? It is definitely worth throwing. If you're local and need a local course the front 9 provides some challenge and variety, and the back 9 demands perfection. As a course for hosting leagues? It is nice. A great place for a league which will provide positive reinforcement for new players with a real chance to contribute to the round on the shorter holes.

It will even provide a nice site for tournaments - giving NW Ohio disc golf one more location to host tournaments without having to deal with the insanity of the MDGO scheduling meeting (I believe Michigan has somewhere around 379 clubs at this point, all looking to host events on the same weekend you are).

Definitely give Woodlands a play. It is a fun little place, and I enjoyed my time there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a Manicured Course

2-4    9/21/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: wjt83082
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Manicured course, very well maintained when comparing it to the other courses in this area
-Drinking fountains and bathrooms!
-Some very challenging holes, there are two holes I am trying to wrap my head around still
Cons: -Yes the back 9 could use a little spicing up but it's not that bad
-No practice basket!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: I hope they plan on putting a practice basket in at some point because I hate no being able to warm up. You can use 18 if no one is on the hole but that's kind of lame.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.