Perrysburg, OH
Woodlands Park Share
Uploaded By: hoyle7780 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Clean, well manicured course

2-4    12/23/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -clean, well manicured park
-concrete tees with hole #'s and lengths
-a few longer holes to heave it on
-baskets are newer and in good shape
-solid front 9 and closing holes
-restrooms located near the 1st hole
-navigating the course is quite easy
Cons: -not a lot of shot variety needed
-really just a 2-3 disc course in my opinion
-most of the back 9 is somewhat monotonous
Other Thoughts: Worth a visit if your in the Toledo area. One of the safer places to play from what I read in other reviews compared to Ottawa Park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good addition to the area

2-4    11/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice well kept park in a friendly suburb.

A handful of challenging holes with serious potential to improve the rest of the course.

Abundant parking and facilities including water, restrooms and playground equipment to keep the kiddies busy.

Zero chance of loosing a disc makes this a great course to introduce people to the game.
Cons: Full potential has yet to be realized, but the course is less than a year old.

Conservative suburban setting means "sodas" on the course are a seriously bad idea.

Course is in a busy park, and certain holes play a little too close to walking paths for comfort.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course in an area that suffered from a lack of options previously. Previously Toledo area residents had the choice of driving to Bowling Green to play Carter Park (not worth it), playing Ottawa Park in Toledo (kind of in the hood and sketchy), or driving to Michigan or Findlay to find a decent course. While Woodlands at this stage of it's development is not an overly challenging course, it is as good if not slightly better than Carter, and as it's in an upscale, safe and friendly suburb of Toledo, so I'd feel better leaving my kids on the play equipment there while playing a quick 18 holes than I would up at Ottawa Park. Due to the amount of traffic this course gets from non-DG'ers, it will hopefully drive some traffic to the game. I look forward to seeing Woodlands progress and improve as it will be my course of choice when I'm in the Toledo area visiting friends and family.

Update: Lowered my review to 3 stars upon further reflection and playing again. The course has significant potential to be a 3.5 star course (at best) but my original review was too strongly based on potential, and not enough on what's there now.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice little course

2-4    10/2/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 50  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 8 play though a slightly wooded area and really make you think about what shot to take.

The park was clean and really nice pleasant People all throughout the park

Nice tees

Area around has plenty to do and there's a nice park at the park for the kiddos

I really liked how 18 finished the course
Cons: Lack of tees are marked distances I found myself over shooting a few holes because the looked longer
A few holes really close to the walking running path

The back 10 holes are short open hyzer holes and are mostly alike and are just to easy . I went from -2 after the front holes to finishing -7 the first time out
(I heard a there a longer set of tees in the works so If that happens it could help

could be a pain if the park is busy i went to 9am and was pretty busy of a weekday
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job on what the had to work with ,a few trees here are there could really improve the back holes .
had a good time playing here

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf comes to Perrysburg

1    9/20/2012   9/21/2012
Review By: Pete Kwaz
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand new course in a park that has been just screaming for a course.
- Concrete tee pads and Mach 3 targets.
- Easy to navigate. No hole or distance signs yet but can see where they will be installed when finished.
- Good mix of shots and hole layouts, given what the park had to work with
- Great course for wide range of players. Course will test the limits of beginners, while appealing to vets that will have to use more than their standard shot to get around some obstacles.
- Clean course in a nice area. Wide open well landscaped park with other features to offer.
- Great use of limited terrain and features to get a respectable 18 hole course in a municipal park.
Cons: - Could use some more trashcans placed closer to tee pads in some areas. There are some near a few tee pads that are closer to shelter houses or pavilions, but could always use more.
- Some holes play rather close to the large running track that winds around the large open field in the park, though given the space they had to work with this is probably unavoidable. Players need to use common sense and a bit of caution to avoid plunking runners. Same for the playground.
- Back 9 holes are mostly short and wide open and can get monotonous compared to the front nine which used large standing trees and shrubs to introduce a challenge to the holes. A few well placed trees and shrubs could easily fix this though.
Other Thoughts: - Designers did an excellent job with what they had to work with. Defiantly room for improvement and growth of the course once it breaks in a little. Could add some flavor to the back 9 holes eventually with a few strategically placed trees and shrubs, to break of the "vanilla" fell of the holes currently.
- Great to see a healthy interest in Disc Golf in the NW Ohio culminate in another badly needed course.
- Overall, it's a very nice course that will appeal to most players. Big arm players may not find as much thrill in this course as its rather short compared to other courses in the region, but it's a welcome addition none the less.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Course to NW Ohio

2-4    9/18/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Dirty Frolf
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new and badly needed course to NW Ohio. This is a "City Park" style course that wraps clockwise around the perimeter of the park.
-Clean well manicured park. Although if some trash cans aren't installed I can see that changing as DG'ers aren't really known for packing out their litter. Keep it clean people!
-New tee pads and chain disc catchers.
-Good mix of holes required different types of throws.
-Variety of long and short holes.
-Easy to navigate even without a map.
Cons: -Can get windy (I know there is nothing that one can do about this, but it still sucks).
-The three longer holes (7,9,and 12 I believe) are just out in the open field. There is no trouble to get into whatsoever, making for some pretty bland holes. A few trees/bushes would easily remedy this.
-There's a possibility to hit people using the track on the interior of the park on a couple of holes.
-Lack of water and elevation (again nothing one can do about this).
Other Thoughts: Understandably there are budgetary limitations to what the designers could do with the park (as well as geographical). With that being said, if money were not a constraint I think this course could easily be improved some with a few well placed bushes and trees. In addition, secondary pin placements could add a lot of variety.
All in all the designers did a great job carving an 18 hole disc golf course out of a municipal park in the heart of Pburg. Well done.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.