Liberty, MO 
William Jewell DGC Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #7 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Tricky and long but fun to have around

5+    6/5/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: Eric Babcock
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro of this course is that it is close to my home. It has a lot of fun yet tricky shots that keep my on my toes. The bulk of the course is mowed and the holes are well marked.
Cons: There is a small stream that snakes around the course and always seems to catch my discs and make everything a muddy mess. The trees have a deal with the stream and I will sometimes spend as much time in the trees as I do out of it. Poison Ivy is native to the area and the mgmt isn't known for getting rid of it. There is some tall grass in places that can make disc retrieval quite annoying.
Other Thoughts: The conditions on Hole 1 are nice. The tee is taken care of and there is little chance of losing your disc. The throw itself however is not an easy one to start with. You have to throw up or around a hill to start and the basket is not visible from the tee. I usually throw right towards the road or start of with a hammer throw. If I don't warm up though, I'll often chuck it about 10 feet, straight into the hill and begin to cry. There is also a soccer field next to the hole, which also has a habit of eating discs I have to then retrieve. Hole 2 is sneaky but wonderful, if you can thread the needle of trees to the open field behind it. I have smacked many a disc into the trees on the left and the fence on the right. The Basket for hole 2 is right in front of a set of trees and I have found more than one disc in those trees while searching for my own. Hole 3 is a longer put with a formidable set of trees to get through. The trees are on the edge of the stream and I often smack a tree and send my disc right into the mud. Additionally the grass behind and to the left of the basket get tall and I have wasted a lot of time looking for my mid-range or putter there. The tee on hole 4 is absolutely unusable. Other than that, hole 4 is a long, upward sloping hole with little in the way. The hardest part about this hole is the upward slope. Hole 5 has a decent tee and tricky course design. You can't see the tee from the basket because of the downward slope and the basket is hard to hit as the disc has to travel a good distance before curving to the right to get into the alcove containing the basket. All around and behind the basket are the trees that eat discs. Hole 6 is a relatively straight shot from the tee to the basket with a grove of shrubs in between. Hole 7 is a long shot with the stream snaking about 10 feet in front of the basket. Landing in the stream used to be the biggest concern but now the grass around the stream hasn't been mowed in ages and is quite tall, I nearly lost my dog, not to mention my disc in it. Hole 8 calms down but the stream and the grass are still problems and there is a bit of a tree element around the basket too. Hole 9 however is just a long straight shot after a comparatively trick course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So spreadout

2-4    3/20/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 363  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good signage and 2 sets of pins for each hole. There are gravel tees and bag hangers at every hole. The course is litter free and well kept. Also there is a decent mix of short and moderate length holes as well as decent elevation change.
Here are my hole observations to the yellow pins:
1-uphill shot, soccer field to the left
2-downhill shot with moderate length and tree lined off of the box
3-downhill shot that crosses a stream
4-uphill shot with the left side being wide open
5-downhill shot, slight dog leg right
6-uphill shot with trees upon approach
7-straight shot that has a gap to hit
8-trees on the left, stream behind the basket
9-uphill, left side is open
Cons: This course is too spread out. It plays around a soccer field and a baseball field so long walks between holes and to your car after finishing your round are very lengthy.
Example would be 1's basket to 2's tee, 2's basket to 3's tee, 8's basket to 9's tee and 9's basket to the parking lot.
With the above stated some holes might not be playable because of parked cars or people in lawn chairs etc. if there were games in progress.
Wind could be a factor during your round.
4's tee holds water in the box.
There aren't any amenities here like restrooms, benches, playgrounds etc.
Other Thoughts: This course does provide a decent challenge on a few of its holes. It is a good playing course and if you are in the area check it out. Would be fun to play after classes as its close to the campus.
Not a must play course but it does provide you with the opportunity to get out and play so thats a plus in my book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but could be better

1    7/25/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Dale W
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.5 Years
Pros: For a 9 hole course, it has great distance, elevation change, and use of trees. Extremely clean (as you would expect on a college campus), and relatively easy to navigate once you find hole 1. Excellent signage
Cons: Tee pads are small and uneven gravel. Layout was not really thought out very well, especially on 8 and 9 - you throw down a hill and then walk back past the tee to 9's pad. Some trash cans, but no benches.
Other Thoughts: Could easily be a 12-18 hole course. Most holes have a 300' + walk between pads. Would love to have seen this course designed like that. I would have given it at least a 3.0 to 3.5 if that were the case.

 

1    7/13/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 58  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: +for a 9 hole course, there is decent distance and good elevation changes
+holes 2, 5 are very fun to play; downhill tunnel shots
+tee signs are very good, the visual indicators match exactly what is there
+mowed and maintained
Cons: -tee pads are terrible. mix of gravel or some other loose rock. They are worn in and in some cases not even flat. Straight dirt or rubber pad would be better
-only 9 holes, plenty of room for 18. all they have to do is take out the super long walks from pin to next tee
Other Thoughts: good practice course

 Good little course

1    5/25/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: justactnormal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the land that they have. Most, if not all, holes are around 350' but there are 2 placements per hole. Little bit of water comes into play. Good use of elevation changes and trees. It may be short, but it ain't easy! Plus there's plenty of room to park and multiple soccer and baseball fields to warm up or just practice shots on. Oh, and the signage is in the same style as a lot of other KC area courses, so it's very good. It's the best 9 hole that I've ever played and is close to home. I could only wish for 9 more! (oh, and a practice basket)
Cons: Gravel teepads were washed out and very rutted. This could be remedied fairly easily. No practice basket. The course plays around several fields which I have seen being used for baseball or soccer practice. It might be tough to play on a gameday, although I admit that I haven't tried. Flow is pretty weird until you've played it a few times. There are walks between holes that are longer than the holes themselves to begin with and then 7, 8 and 9 are all wonky. 1 bench at hole #1, but no others anywhere around unless you count the bleachers by the big baseball field, which may or may not be locked. No water fountains, either, so bring some water in with you.
Other Thoughts: A very good little course on a beautiful, well-kept college campus. I see security driving around every time I've been there, so that's good or bad depending on your point of view. 1 and 2 play up to the frat houses, so no wonder why they're always around. Any spots down by the creek or even the flat spots close to it on 3, 6, and 7-8 were swamps. Like flooded wet, but there had been an uncommon amount of rain recently. It's not always that way, so I can't say it's a con. With a little redesign and/or playing back around the field where 9 ends, there could easily be another 9 put in. Maybe that's in the long-term plan? I dunno, but I would work on filling in the teepads with concrete before all else. There's a fairly busy little road that the course winds around, so while security is cool with dogs being out there and off leash, definitely keep an eye out when you play by the road.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/11/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: tedkeith
Played: 155  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful piece of land. Nice tee areas. Really well placed greens! Two pin placements on every hole.
Cons: Not a lot of variety in hole lengths. Walk between some holes.
Other Thoughts: Liberty finally has a course! Liked holes 1, 2, 5, and especially 6. I think pin locations are the best thing about the course as there is trouble possible on every approach. For 350+ throwers it will be more fun but for my 270ft arm it is pretty much a bunch of threes. I would rate higher but for the walks. After 8 you turn around and walk all the way back past the pad to 9. I will play the course again for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Golf course

1    11/24/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 121  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent terrain usage, baskets with red flag easy to follow, tee signs and course map help with flow, tee pads where gravel but well leveled.
Cons: Gravel teepads, the criss cross of hole 7,8,9. one could easily redesign and improve course flow
Other Thoughts: I always think about courses that would convert a ball golfer and i think this course would do just that. Links style golf that is fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 More challenging than it first looked

1    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: pauldst
Played: 65  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some good use of the terrain (including man made). Road, fences around sports fields, trees, brush, and hills are all used to good effect.
Wide variety of shots needed. I used most of the discs in bag. (10 discs)
Nice tee signs.
Not crowded.
Lots of parking.
New and easily visible baskets. I loved that they all had flags on top.
Nice tee pads.
It was not hard to follow the course.
Nice map at the beginning.
Cons: Tee pads, though nice, were compacted sand and gravel mix.
No signs pointing to next tee.
No provision to have a copy of the map.
Other Thoughts: None of the negatives were all that big a deal. I did not rate the course higher because it just was not great, not because it was bad. I definitely plan to play it again some time soon when I am passing through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the walk

2-4    10/14/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 67  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Grounds well kept, on college property so clean and will probably stay that way. Nice use of elevation and the few trees on the course. Distances are decent albeit, nothing over 500 ft. Surprisingly quick play for the overall distance walked.
Cons: Distance between pin and next tee as you seen in previous reviews. Not a ton of challenges here even bad drives were easy pars.
Other Thoughts: The town of Liberty finally gets a dg course. Being one of Kansas City's larger suburb it was strange. The course itself was typical and quite a delight. Probably my favorite hole was number 5 a nice downhill with a well protected basket to the right.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great 9 Hole Course

2-4    10/7/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: Lthoma1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New course with a lot of variety for 9 holes. Makes you play a lot of different shots. Well maintained grass and grounds. Not a lot of trees, but enough to make it interesting.
Cons: Gravel tee boxes are already eroding even though this course is only a few months old.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have a lot of time, this course is great because you can play it in an hour or less. Best 9 hole course in KC!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.