Disc Golf Store
Montevideo, MN 
Lagoon Park Share
Uploaded By: edricMN Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 cheetah169

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: cheetah169
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The concrete tees are nice along with the signs. The park was well groomed and there were workers trimming around trees while I played. There are a couple of areas you can lose a disc if you aren't careful.
Cons: It is only a 9 hole course. It doesn't have any elevation changes. The distances between holes is not very far. I overthrew some baskets on my first throw. I believe all holes are only par threes.
Other Thoughts: I am originally from Monte and am glad to see the sport come to town. I started playing in college up in Moorhead in the late 80's and have since move to Texas and played many courses in the Dallas area. I think with some creative thought, you could play the course back on itself and make it an 18 hole course, or at least add some difficulty with longer shots.

Flat, shady, a bit of water

2-4    6/7/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few holes have legitimate water hazzards. 8 is the most challenging because of the meandering path of the river.
-Very shady for a hot day with lots of great mature trees.
-Nice concrete pads
-Great signage and flow. No doubt where to go next on any of the holes. Signs were detailed and look to be built to last.
-Not too crowded in this smaller town.
-Easy to find just off 212/7
-Adequate parking, camping, a few other amenities for families.
-It was scenic and well maintained. Good to look at.
-Good course to start players at before moving them to more challenging courses.
-Nice innova baskets.
Cons: -Not a ton of variety in length, most holes between 200 and 300.
-No elevation at all.
-Not overly challenging to even most beginners. None of the holes really made you hit a line, many options for lines.
-Could lose a disc in the stream/river if not careful
-Mosquitos, this is a breeding ground with all the water around
Other Thoughts: This is a course that I did enjoy playing but can't give it a super high rating due to the ease of the course and how flat the land is. It is well designed and maintained. It is the only course in town and better than Clarkfield to the south. I would recommend coming here to play but don't expect an overly challenging course. It is a good fun, family friendly 9 hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    12/2/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: Weakest Link
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage and concrete tee pads.
Nice flow to the course. Nice throwing over water to add a little excitement to it.
Cons: Tricky to get to if it's your first time there.
On the short side with no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The water channel that runs thru it was dry for the most part when we played there.
Nice rec course. Definitely will go back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A very pleasant surprise!

2-4    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: DerekTonn
Played: 345  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Design maximizes the use of available land. Lots of technical finesse shots weaving in/around the matures trees on the property.
- Good concrete tees.
- Excellent signage.
- Very well maintained park with beautiful mature trees.
- Lots of access to fresh water and access to camping within feet of the course.
Cons: - Short...VERY short!
Other Thoughts: I heard great things about this course before playing it, but having experienced it for myself, I came away incredibly impressed. It's always going to have issues related to its lack of length off the tee. But to me, that problem is overcome by how excellent everything has been done to make it the best it can be with the land that was available. Great job with the design and install, Jason!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun by the River

5+    9/22/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: andrewbjur
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Beautiful Signage
Great Baskets
Design allows players to flow through the course
Great Tree Coverage and Shade
Potable Water and Restroom on site
Camping on site.
Cons: Current set up is for a recreational course. Great for bringing in new players. If long pins are installed at a later date, I see this course attracting competition players.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I drive about 40 mins to try it out every now and then. Good for hunting Aces.
The shots are technical through the trees. Good shots are rewarded bad shots are punished. Most of the time a player should be able to recover a par after a bad shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.