Disc Golf Store
Birdseye, IN 
Patoka Lake State Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #1 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/4/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of all types of shots and distances. Great use of terrain and elevation. Tight fairways on the back nine really test your ability to throw accurately. Well maintained and very picturesque. Tee Pads are huge and gripy.
Cons: Could use some new baskets. The ones on the front nine are horrible and spit out shots that were money. Also water runoff is bad, however it is at a lake and all the runoff has to go somewhere, so I don't think this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: A very fun place to play. Even though my scores were crap I really enjoyed the course. It is well designed and very challenging. If you happen to be in the area stop in and play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Why didn't I play this sooner?

1    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, technical city! Not a 'simple' hole anywhere; yet if you can place your drives, birdie opportunities are available on most holes. Several holes it would pay to be able to throw a roller; and there are multiple RHBH Annies that will be loved by left handers; and a little to the chagrin of righties.
Cons: Aside from a couple of holes, there aren't any wide opens with which to grip and rip. My only regret is this course were less than the 85 mile trip it takes me to get there...
Other Thoughts: While Idylwild and Bank Lick in Northern Kentucky are 5's, this course is a 4.5. The undulations are excellent; and no two holes are even remotely alike. If making the trip to this area of Indiana, there are some primo camping (some free of charge) campsites nearby; and, if only going on a day trip, then be sure to play the Old English course as well. Old English is on a ball golf course; so it's grip and rip the entire time!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/30/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful couse in a state park. Everything about this course is well thought out and executed. The concrete tee pads, tee signs, and baskets are in good condition (although a couple of them are rusted). The tee signs were very helpful providing hole distance as well as tree placements in relation to the hole and where to walk to the next hole. The latter came in handy fairly often.

The variety of holes and different shots are the best part. Uphill, downhill, around the bend, through the trees, across a creek… The usage of the land is very well done. Hole #9 is certainly a standout. 400ft of tree branches inline with the hole force you to throw down the hill so that you can throw back up the hill towards the hole. That said, if you throw off the fairway, you're going to be in trouble. I went in the fall, but I can imagine this being a bigger problem in the summer time when things are overgrown (only speculation). The fairways are very well maintained - in fact I was pleasantly surprised at how well it was maintained especially in the middle of the woods in the back.
Cons: What would make this course a 5 star (disc?) course:
-Benches throughout - it's a hike. You'll cover a good amount of land while playing the course. People may like a rest at some point.
-A water fountain somewhere out there.
-More accessible parking lot.
Other Thoughts: From my understanding this is a newly renovated course. With that I will make an assumption that they will be further improving the course.

After the first couple holes, it becomes fairly technical. Beginners might find themselves in the rough or hitting trees more than they would like. A couple of the short holes (5 and 6), you are literally throwing between small openings between trees. And the longer holes, you are hoping as much for good placement to set up your next shot in avoidance of obstacles as much as you are hoping for distance.

It's a great, fun course. It is definitely worth driving to and playing the $5 bucks to get into the state park for. I did. :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best overall Facility

5+    3/21/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical with some demand for a big arm. The park is very well maintained and the course is as equally well thought out. Plays fairly quick (1hr 20min 2 people) but stays fun and challenging when played multipl times in a day.
Cons: The rough is very rough and will make you pay. Course can be muddy which makes compounds tricky footing on uneven lies. (plenty of elevation change)
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in Indiana; Especially considering the other amenities (ie camping, lake, trails)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

New 18 holes, a beautiful masterpiece.

5+    9/1/2012   2/19/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New pin placement on hole 12 is a lot nicer than the old pin placement, a practice basket has been added with local volunteer funds, and also benches on a lot of holes have been added giving you a rest at some of the holes in the back is definitely needed. I believe 9 or 10 of them were put in with volunteers and assistance from the local boy scouts.

Great course layout, challenging and will make you hit gaps to score well. Keep it in the fairway at all times, if not you could pay dearly. Concrete pads are now in, its beautiful. They are huge as well!

Cons: Tee signs are weathered and need updated, the locals are working on this though, probably in the spring of 2013.

Debris around the course isn't bad but with storms and the seasons changing you'll have the occasional limb in the fairway, which is usually cleaned up by the locals.
Other Thoughts: I decided to update my review since its been since Nov 1, 2008, I can be a bit biased as Patoka is my home course and I have put hundred and hundred of hours of my volunteer time into it. I moved the course from a 4.0 to a 4.5, it's more like a 4.25 to me but that wasn't available.

Locals are also in the works of adding some elevated baskets on some of the holes to add to the challenge. There has also been discussions of a few alternate tee's, so this might be something coming in the near future.


Its nice to go down to the lake after a hot summer round, take a dip and cool off.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center