Disc Golf Store
Birdseye, IN 
Patoka Lake State Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Fun course!

2-4    4/26/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging, and has all kinds of different holes. With the addition of 9 holes, this course has a great mix of holes with nice fairways and punishing rough, and holes that play through fairly dense woods. There are right/left curving holes, and straight holes in a fairly good mix, which keeps it interesting throughout a round.

The tees are a reasonable size, and are fairly newly poured concrete so they are in excellent shape. The tee signs are very nice handmade wooden signs with par and distance for each hole. The signs seemed to be pretty accurate, and were easy to follow even when holes weren't visible from the tee.

The course is easy to navigate, it's nice when you don't have to spend time looking for the next hole. It also flows well, especially considering that 9 holes were added on after the initial design. It also seems to be well maintained, as all the fairways were kept nicely cleared, and all the baskets/tees/signs were in great shape.
Cons: This course can get buggy, especially in warm ant wet weather. Definitely bring the bug spray, or you'll be sucked dry by the mosquitoes and ticks. Though the fairways were well cleared, there was some pretty nasty rough on a few holes where it was pretty easy to lose discs.

The first time we came, it took a little looking to find the parking area, and then there is a walk from here to the first tee. Some signage, both on where to park and which way to head toward the course might be helpful here.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun, and accessible to all levels of players. It also provides holes that challenge all types of throwers. It has never been crowded when I have played, and the few people I've run into have been very friendly!

The whole area is nice, and provides camping, hiking, and water sports all in the same park. This could be a great place to take a family trip that would include disc golfing. It does cost to get in to Patoka Lake ($5-7), but this was well worth it for a fun course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to Grow with

5+    12/13/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 11/9/2009
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course will give you a workout! The course makes great use of the surrounding trees and elevation changes. Hole 9 stands out in this regard as it is a 400 ft wooded shot over the creek. The course is all about placement for your next shot. You have to hit the gaps to shoot well. Shots into the rough are difficult to overcome (especially for a beginner). The course looks great except for some branches in some of the fairways, but that's unavoidable.
Cons: The baskets on the original 9 look very much like they were installed when the course was installed and some of them have issues (although for the most part I believe they have been fixed). The new 9 baskets only have one set of chains so be careful with your putting (keep it low). Left handed players and sidearm players will have an advantage as most fairways curve from left to right (although there are instances of the opposite). The ticks are bad in the spring and summer, but they seem to retreat in the fall and winter.
Other Thoughts: The pros definitely outweigh the cons in this instance. The locals put a lot of time into keeping this course in great shape! It's great to play the course in any season. It's definitely one of a kind! It makes me feel like a hunnert dollars every time!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/4/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Went back for more the 09 Petoka Open was a great time. Upon my return I first noticed the cement tee pads have been installed. Good job guys. This course is very challenging. Lost of challenging holes of all varieties, seems to favor folks who are acurate with the anhyzer. Accuracy is very important on this course. The rough is some of the roughest make you bleed type I have encountered. My group lost 4 discs and found 5. Easy to lose your disc on many holes. It can be frustrating but it will make you a better shooter. Lost of fantastic elevation changes.
Cons: Couple tees need leveling bad.
Other Thoughts: This course is going to be top notch in a few years.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Almost finished

5+    2/2/2008   2/28/2008
Review By: Benny V1Time
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2008
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Will test your game! Nice course that is never crowded. It has been updated with an addition of nine more holes and concrete tee pads.
Cons: Still rough from the new addition. Stay in the fairway!
Other Thoughts: In the near future this course will be a 5 rating

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

New 18 holes, a beautiful masterpiece.

5+    9/1/2012   2/19/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2012
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New pin placement on hole 12 is a lot nicer than the old pin placement, a practice basket has been added with local volunteer funds, and also benches on a lot of holes have been added giving you a rest at some of the holes in the back is definitely needed. I believe 9 or 10 of them were put in with volunteers and assistance from the local boy scouts.

Great course layout, challenging and will make you hit gaps to score well. Keep it in the fairway at all times, if not you could pay dearly. Concrete pads are now in, its beautiful. They are huge as well!

Cons: Tee signs are weathered and need updated, the locals are working on this though, probably in the spring of 2013.

Debris around the course isn't bad but with storms and the seasons changing you'll have the occasional limb in the fairway, which is usually cleaned up by the locals.
Other Thoughts: I decided to update my review since its been since Nov 1, 2008, I can be a bit biased as Patoka is my home course and I have put hundred and hundred of hours of my volunteer time into it. I moved the course from a 4.0 to a 4.5, it's more like a 4.25 to me but that wasn't available.

Locals are also in the works of adding some elevated baskets on some of the holes to add to the challenge. There has also been discussions of a few alternate tee's, so this might be something coming in the near future.


Its nice to go down to the lake after a hot summer round, take a dip and cool off.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.