Disc Golf Center
Birdseye, IN 
Patoka Lake State Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    3/4/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of all types of shots and distances. Great use of terrain and elevation. Tight fairways on the back nine really test your ability to throw accurately. Well maintained and very picturesque. Tee Pads are huge and gripy.
Cons: Could use some new baskets. The ones on the front nine are horrible and spit out shots that were money. Also water runoff is bad, however it is at a lake and all the runoff has to go somewhere, so I don't think this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: A very fun place to play. Even though my scores were crap I really enjoyed the course. It is well designed and very challenging. If you happen to be in the area stop in and play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Prickly Patoka

5+    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 91  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This challenging course combines well defined yet narrow fairways with frequent elevation change for great effect and considerable fun factor. Fly along rolling hills, up and down through woods, across and along a creek, over ravines… Although a little more open on the front than the back there's good variety in length and shot shape with woods, abundant cedars and punishing rough throughout; technical ability is a must. Although most is off the tees, some pins add risk and reward with placements on mild to steep inclines; come up short on uphill putts and potentially suffer punishing roll-aways (9 & 12 particularly). Advanced players will enjoy the handsful of birdie ops and the few ace runs while beginners will no doubt find themselves frustrated by the tight lines. Nearly half the holes being moderate to dogleg anhyzers gives this course a fair balance, although the final 4 or 5 can leave you feeling the course favors these lines. However, the mix of straight, left and right shot shapes shouldn't lend to a lefty scoring any better. Personal favorites are #3 with its narrow gap, #12 being tight and straight along the creek with steep pin placement, and #13 with its uphill anny, rocks and protected basket.
Being a single loop the course flows well and is easily navigable. The concrete tees are in good shape and of adequate size. Half or more baskets are newer while some are 25yrs old; all function as expected. Various holes have good benches and nice vistas.
This course is in a recreation area adjacent to Hoosier National Forest serving disc golfers, campers, hikers, boaters, swimmers and yes hunters. As such $5 per car for Indiana residents and $7 for non is a reasonable entry fee. Patoka Lake is an excellent destination for a weekend with golfers and family alike, but if the lake isn't enough entertainment, French Lick casino and resort is a mere 20mins away - never mind Holiday World within 30mins.
Cons: Aside from a couple tees not being level there's little else negative about this course. No water nearby can be a con and the rough is certainly rough with plenty of thorns. There's no signature hole. And although legible now the signs are weathering and winter is upon us; some fresh paint will be needed next year I think. A few more benches could be good too; some might like to sit more between traversing the elevations.
Wear blaze orange after Dec. 1; hunting season is in!
Other Thoughts: The addition of 9 holes a few years ago turned this (maybe) 2.5 course into a challenging 4 disc experience. While I tend to favor woodsy technical courses I play Patoka mainly during Fall or Winter due to the rough; When grown, this course can be a prickly beast if you're not in fairways!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/13/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Stlstevejr
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super fun course with a variety of holes.
The locals are great:
-Superpassionate about DG!
-Care about their course. They work hard at keeping it in good shape.
Some of the best concrete pads ive thrown off of.
Course is easily navicable and flows really well.
Close proximity to in-laws provides me a great escape when im in town.
Cons: $7 non resident ($5 resident) fee per car to enter park.
Course sets up well for a lefty or sidearm thrower. Im neither.
Could use trash cans, however its a DNR park so no dice (carry your trash out - unless playing with your mom and she'll do it for you).
Could use fresh paint on a few boards.
Incorporate the lake!
Campgroung is close to a few holes. Camper kids might be present.
Notice my nitpicky 'cons'. Should tell you how good the course is.
Other Thoughts: Several holes are narrow! The rough is, well, rough!
Better have control or the course will eat discs! (Theres a Buzz and a Star Beast in the woods on hole 4 of mine, finders keepers).
After entering the park, head past the modern campground, you will see a wooden sign saying 'Disc Golf' on left, past the road going to campground. Park in gravel lot up on right. Walk back to sign and hole 1.
Help keep the course nice, carry your trash out!
Theres a nice beach in the park to go for a swim after a hot round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sidearmer's Delight

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice compliment to the wide open Old English course 10 miles up the road. Old English is set on a ball golf course, so that course is grip and rip. This course is technical and through tight fairways. Benches are on every hole, and fantastic teepads are as well. The scenery is fantastic. Hole #9 is amazing. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: By far the most right handed sidearm friendly course ever. At least 70% of the holes are HARD doglegs to the right. I know that most courses cater to RHBH throwers, so it is nice that you sidearmers have a course catered to you. That being said though, this course is a bit TOO catered to that throw. Other than that tho,not much I can say bad.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the $5 per car to enter and park in this state park. The course is well laid out, and it's scenery is good enough to stand alone. It is the perfect compliment to the wide open Old English course, so with that this course is a destination course, to be played with Old English on the same day. Highly recommended for an enjoyable full day of disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lefty's Revenge

1    7/12/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signs and teepads were good. Park was nicely kept and fairways were mowed. Good blend of semi-wooded and fairly open holes. Flow from hole to hole was good, we didn't have any trouble navigating the course as first-timers.
Cons: The biggest gripe I have with this course is the number of doglegs it has. I think 9 doglegs in 18 holes is excessive and started feeling repetitive. 7 of the 9 are doglegs right, and some of these are HUGE fish hook type curves. If you are a RHBH thrower and can't reliably flick, then you are going to have some trouble. Several of these curves are just too big to anny around.

More benches would be a welcome improvement as well.
Other Thoughts: It seems like more thorns must grow in Indiana than anywhere else, because the thorniest roughs I've ever encountered (Patoka, Cavan, English) were all in that state. I'm not listing this as a "Con", because I don't think the fairways were unfairly narrow, and if you stay on the fairway then you don't have to worry about the rough! That being said, I would not recommend playing this course alone. With so many blind dogleg holes, you really need to employ a spotter to see where your throws go. You do not want to be stomping around in THIS rough any longer than is necessary!

We played a doubleheader of English and Patoka. They are completely different from each other and make for a good day of golf.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Why didn't I play this sooner?

1    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, technical city! Not a 'simple' hole anywhere; yet if you can place your drives, birdie opportunities are available on most holes. Several holes it would pay to be able to throw a roller; and there are multiple RHBH Annies that will be loved by left handers; and a little to the chagrin of righties.
Cons: Aside from a couple of holes, there aren't any wide opens with which to grip and rip. My only regret is this course were less than the 85 mile trip it takes me to get there...
Other Thoughts: While Idylwild and Bank Lick in Northern Kentucky are 5's, this course is a 4.5. The undulations are excellent; and no two holes are even remotely alike. If making the trip to this area of Indiana, there are some primo camping (some free of charge) campsites nearby; and, if only going on a day trip, then be sure to play the Old English course as well. Old English is on a ball golf course; so it's grip and rip the entire time!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    9/30/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: bilemshious
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful couse in a state park. Everything about this course is well thought out and executed. The concrete tee pads, tee signs, and baskets are in good condition (although a couple of them are rusted). The tee signs were very helpful providing hole distance as well as tree placements in relation to the hole and where to walk to the next hole. The latter came in handy fairly often.

The variety of holes and different shots are the best part. Uphill, downhill, around the bend, through the trees, across a creek… The usage of the land is very well done. Hole #9 is certainly a standout. 400ft of tree branches inline with the hole force you to throw down the hill so that you can throw back up the hill towards the hole. That said, if you throw off the fairway, you're going to be in trouble. I went in the fall, but I can imagine this being a bigger problem in the summer time when things are overgrown (only speculation). The fairways are very well maintained - in fact I was pleasantly surprised at how well it was maintained especially in the middle of the woods in the back.
Cons: What would make this course a 5 star (disc?) course:
-Benches throughout - it's a hike. You'll cover a good amount of land while playing the course. People may like a rest at some point.
-A water fountain somewhere out there.
-More accessible parking lot.
Other Thoughts: From my understanding this is a newly renovated course. With that I will make an assumption that they will be further improving the course.

After the first couple holes, it becomes fairly technical. Beginners might find themselves in the rough or hitting trees more than they would like. A couple of the short holes (5 and 6), you are literally throwing between small openings between trees. And the longer holes, you are hoping as much for good placement to set up your next shot in avoidance of obstacles as much as you are hoping for distance.

It's a great, fun course. It is definitely worth driving to and playing the $5 bucks to get into the state park for. I did. :)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/12/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Patoka is a challenging, technical course with some nice elevation changes that is almost entirely in the woods. The front nine has well manicured fairways with a great combination of long, medium and short holes including one pro par 4. The back nine is a little shorter, but not necessarily easier. The fairways are tighter making it easy for the strokes to pile up. Overall, this is a pretty technical course that will really challenge your game.

There is a nice variety of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots, but overall I think the course favors left handed and side arm players. As a RHBH player, that makes this a great course to practice anhyzers.

Navigating the course is relatively easy. The concrete tee pads and signs are in excellent condition.
Cons: The tee signs are attached to the back edge of the tee pads on most holes and might get in the way of your run up depending on how you're going to throw. I didn't have an issue with this, but I see how other people might.

There's a $5 for Indiana residents to play the course, but it's well worth the money.
Other Thoughts: New players will find this course very difficult with the narrow fairways, dense rough, and abundance of trees and evergreens. A more experienced player should find this course to be a great challenge.

I highly recommend going out of your way to play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best overall Facility

5+    3/21/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical with some demand for a big arm. The park is very well maintained and the course is as equally well thought out. Plays fairly quick (1hr 20min 2 people) but stays fun and challenging when played multipl times in a day.
Cons: The rough is very rough and will make you pay. Course can be muddy which makes compounds tricky footing on uneven lies. (plenty of elevation change)
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites in Indiana; Especially considering the other amenities (ie camping, lake, trails)

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Apoc315
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: For a Novice I find the course very challenging. The New Concrete pads are awesome and the addition of the back 9 holes was just amazing! This course will challenge even the best of players!
Cons: The back nine still needs a little work! Path from 16 to 17 is just that a path at best so BE CAREFUL! Don't fall in the ditch like I did! LOL
Other Thoughts: Take a bath in the BUG Spray as the TICKS will carry you away if you do not!


You will want to stay in the fairways on this one. Hard to stand in the rough much less play from it!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.